PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

2NR Smurf

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 2nd, 2012, 8:47 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:
2NR Smurf wrote:^nah 4 x 4GB vengeance. 2 with heat-spreaders 2 without.

Salt to my wound.........and from amazon as well :(

so you could imagine my fear in buying a performance gpu online. :skurry:

Postby M_2NR » December 3rd, 2012, 11:47 am

Smurfy I'm not sure if evga has the lifetime warranty on cards but look at a suppliers warranty. If u can get one with it, good to go! No fear man.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 3rd, 2012, 7:46 pm

anyone knows if there is a program/add on to allow a webpage to load from the top down?? just asking

xaira

Postby xaira » December 4th, 2012, 7:03 am

Have a used Scorpio Black 320gb for $320

pm or 345-7264

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 4th, 2012, 2:41 pm

Postby Trini Hookah » December 4th, 2012, 3:05 pm

ummm so...i'm looking for a VGA to HDMI connection "box" or any suitable cable if possible, I can have it ordered but if I can source locally I don't mind.

Saw one on the forum so far, but at a price of $375.

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » December 4th, 2012, 5:13 pm

yea they kind of expensive i bought one from radio shack a few months ago, you can check them

Postby Trini Hookah » December 4th, 2012, 5:15 pm

Could you remember on avg how much you paid?

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » December 4th, 2012, 11:25 pm

New chassis/cooler :D

@HCCA definitely a nice upgrade over the old phantom. The only thing I wished the top HDD cage was removable like the switch 810. It could come out but you nn to drill out some rivets.
Last edited by iM@st@1 on December 4th, 2012, 11:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » December 4th, 2012, 11:29 pm

M_2NR wrote:Smurfy I'm not sure if evga has the lifetime warranty on cards but look at a suppliers warranty. If u can get one with it, good to go! No fear man.

they have a 3yr warranty on their cards

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 4th, 2012, 11:39 pm

phantom 810!! bess!!!

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » December 4th, 2012, 11:42 pm

Is the 820, thanks...so like ya going for the 7950

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 5th, 2012, 8:50 am

^it looking like that.

I finally got win 7 x64 on the machine...and everything works great...except for my onboard sound.
I get no sound from media player or winamp, but i get sound watching youtube in IE. However, i dont get sound watching youtube on firefox...but i do get sound watching videos on hulu and amazon with firefox...

I've got the latest drivers realtek drivers installed...this one has me pretty stumped...everything worked just fine when i was running ubuntu

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 6th, 2012, 4:32 pm

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » December 6th, 2012, 5:21 pm

Any 7850 owners here?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 6th, 2012, 5:47 pm

^doh tell me yuh getting problems wid dat too :shock:

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » December 6th, 2012, 7:06 pm

NAN NAH LOL, I thinking of it

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 6th, 2012, 11:04 pm

^so was i....esp for the price...but take a read of this

http://www.hardware.fr/news/12705/ra...-solution.html

Chiney

Postby Chiney » December 8th, 2012, 10:56 am

Like i said... really good investment would be the gtx 670 or the gtx 680

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » December 8th, 2012, 1:13 pm

770 / 780 GTX out next year should be better according to sources so wait .

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 9th, 2012, 1:32 pm

http://videocardz.com/nvidia/geforce-700/geforce-gtx-770

If those rumoured specs are somewhat through then it aint gonna be cheap :|

Also
"The battle with manufacturing nodes continues." - This would be a summary of what our sources told us over the past couple of weeks. No manufacturer is having an easy time, and even Intel - known for its manufacturing excellence - pulled its 22nm Low Power node deeply into 2013, debuting about half a year later.

When it comes to Nvidia, the company is heavily engaged on increasing the yields for its products. With Kepler, Nvidia shifted to a new die strategy, and even though we've heard more rumors about the GK106 chips, the fact of the matter is that Kepler will remain a three GPU line-up: GK104 for performance, GK107 for mobile and entry-level desktop and the GK110 for high-end computational and visualization parts. Ultimately, GK104 served as the GTX 660/670/680/690, Quadro K5000 and Tesla K10, GK107 serves in numerous low-power mobile and desktop designs. GK110 will make a public appearance only in December as the Tesla K20, with a yet unannounced amount of video memory (according to our sources, NV is trying to secure different packaging to enable 12GB of GDDR5 memory, but realistically - prototype boards we saw utilized "just" 6GB).

Naturally, all of these movements don't hold much promise for the next generation GeForce cards. Given that the Maxwell, GM1xx parts won't be available until the first half of 2014, the GeForce and Quadro parts should continue to rely on refreshed/renamed GK104/107/110 parts. The GK110 is planned to expand and become available as the Quadro K6000 6GB, for those that require ultimate performance on a single piece of silicon.

In case you've doubted it, Maxwell is a 20nm part, capable of being manufactured in GlobalFoundries, IBM, Samsung and TSMC - 20nm Gate-Last HKMG will equalize between TSMC and Common Platform alliance - a move Nvidia and Qualcomm cannot wait to see come to frutition.

Availability of that part however, will not come sooner than the first half of next year. As far as the GeForce GTX 700 Series is concerned, the parts should repeat the same cadence as this year's lineup. However, the newer revised parts should offer further clock improvements, to the level where they can offer between 25-30% higher performance and power efficiency, while the company is working on parts based on the Maxwell GPU architecture, which should drive 2014 as one of key years in Nvidia's history. Maxwell will be the first top-to-bottom GPU architecture, powering everything from Tegra to Tesla. Furthermore, Maxwell should be the first GPU part to integrate the 64-bit ARM core which carries the codename "Project Denver". Putting the typically-bandwidth starved ARM cores onto an internal bus which in GPUs goes beyond 1.5TB/s should significantly change the playing game - a GPU capable of booting an operating system, regardless of what lies currently in public documents.

All in all, 2013 will see AMD's Sea Islands fight first versus Nvidia's Kepler refresh, and only then against the Maxwell. Real battle will come only in 2014.

Read more: http://vr-zone.com/articles/no-nvidia-g ... z2EZpyZSah

Read more: http://vr-zone.com/articles/no-nvidia-g ... z2EZprcNNQ

battlefield 3

Postby battlefield 3 » December 10th, 2012, 2:55 pm

Guys need some help building a small gaming system for my friend,but it`s basically for flight simulator and whats specs would you recommended.

specs i was considering:
amd dual core 270 3.4ghz/amd x4 945
8gig kingston/corsair 4gig 1600mhz
evga gt640 2gig ddr3/evga gtx650

?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 10th, 2012, 5:32 pm

Get a GTX 660 and go with the Phenom x4 945

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » December 10th, 2012, 6:14 pm

Just a few parts
20121210_181026.jpg
Last edited by AGENT RORO on December 11th, 2012, 11:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 10th, 2012, 6:17 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:Just a few parts

Is that an i5-3550?

Coulda put a $5 more and get the i5-3570k instead. :|

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 10th, 2012, 6:32 pm

HCCA has a good point there eh
The scout 2 is a beast case though xD

BTW
Started playing BO2 today(Pirated it :oops:)
Graphics is tewts :| Would play it out to see how the storyline is though...

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » December 10th, 2012, 7:07 pm

HCCA wrote:
AGENT RORO wrote:Just a few parts

Is that an i5-3550?

Coulda put a $5 more and get the i5-3570k instead. :|

Honestly only saw that after I ordered it, but nothing overclocking can't solve

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 10th, 2012, 7:34 pm

^got my 3570k @ 4.2Ghz so far. :)

wish i had put the extra money for some faster ram tho

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 10th, 2012, 7:45 pm

currently finishing up my custom build,you guys gonna laugh at the specs,but its the end product if what matters mostly to me.i'll post up specs and photos when i'm done