All Things US Politics Related: Biden pardons Hunter

Re: All Things US Politics Related: Trump indicted.

Postby maj. tom » February 8th, 2024, 6:48 pm

paid_influencer wrote:apparently so
goods guys and bad guys
they even have letters next to their names so you know which team they are on
you need to capitalize the letters also

Oh no both sides are the same. Both sides rolled back Roe v Wade. Both sides banning books. Both sides passing laws to stop transgender care. Both sides blame drag queens for grooming kids and molesting them.

Postby paid_influencer » February 8th, 2024, 6:54 pm

maj. tom wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:apparently so
goods guys and bad guys
they even have letters next to their names so you know which team they are on
you need to capitalize the letters also

Oh no both sides are the same. Both sides rolled back Roe v Wade. Both sides banning books. Both sides passing laws to stop transgender care. Both sides blame drag queens for grooming kids and molesting them.

i see how important it is to you

Postby maj. tom » February 8th, 2024, 6:56 pm

nah. You should take some UWI courses to learn more about things and stop coming off as a retard across these forums with the constant lame trolling attempts.

Postby paid_influencer » February 8th, 2024, 6:58 pm

maj. tom wrote:nah. You should take some UWI courses to learn more about things and stop coming off as a retard across these forums with the lame trolling attempts.

bro I have my opinions about you too, but I don't insult you. It is bro code

Postby maj. tom » February 8th, 2024, 7:01 pm

Facts aren't an insult. Not sorry to ignore you going forward.

Postby paid_influencer » February 8th, 2024, 7:04 pm

fella could give but cyar take

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 8th, 2024, 7:14 pm

Trini tuner civil war

Postby maj. tom » February 8th, 2024, 7:17 pm

Sooo he admitting it was an insurrection.... but someone else did it.

Washington
CNN

Former President Donald Trump lied Thursday that Nancy Pelosi caused the insurrection at the Capitol on January 6, 2021, making a claim that has no basis in reality. He also repeated a previous false claim that the rioters had “no guns.” And he continued to omit critical context about what he said in his speech at a rally prior to the riot.

In comments to reporters on Thursday, Trump blamed the January 6 riot at the Capitol on Pelosi, the Democrat who served as speaker of the House at the time.

“I think it was an insurrection caused by Nancy Pelosi,” Trump said.

Facts First: This claim is complete fiction – an abject lie. Pelosi did not cause a mob of pro-Trump supporters inspired by Trump’s lies about the 2020 election to storm the Capitol.
https://edition.cnn.com/2024/02/08/politics/fact-check-trump-january-6/index.html

Postby Les Bain » February 8th, 2024, 8:34 pm

Better tone it down before the forum's girlymen for trump show up to showcase the survival skills their mother's taught them, Tom. They think it's innocent commander worship.

Postby maj. tom » February 10th, 2024, 8:04 am

Legal opinions have already summarized from the hearing last Thursday that the SCOTUS will not bar Trump from the General Elections ballot as a candidate. They already indicate that they are going to push that determination of qualification off to Congress to act on the 14th Amendment. Their argument shows the true State of the Union and where it will inevitably lead to in the coming years.

A group of voters sued to keep Trump off the ballot last year, arguing that his role in January 6 amounted to participation in an insurrection. The Colorado Supreme Court agreed in December in a 4–3 decision. The U.S. Supreme Court swiftly agreed to hear the case on an accelerated schedule.

“We have been told that if what Colorado did here is sustained, other states are going to retaliate and they are going to potentially exclude another candidate from the ballot,” Justice Samuel Alito said, in apparent reference to Biden.
https://newrepublic.com/article/178890/supreme-court-disqualify-trump-ballot

A sitting President planned an insurrection to retain power illegally after an election https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trump_fake_electors_plot#The_plot_to_use_their_own_electors
and used his influence to instruct and incite his followers to storm the Capitol as part of that plot. Trump called the Secretary of State of Georgia (R) and told him he just needs 11,780 more votes. A recorded phone call.

A worse part of this story is how it was spun in the media mostly about the Jan 6th traitors storming the Capitol as a simple protest, but the actual plot of insurrection was Trump and his cronies attempting to change the electors in R States for the certification vote on Jan 6th 2021 and convincing VP Mike Pence to count them as legal votes. They were going to hang Mike Pence in a gallows constructed outside the Capitol if he didn't do this very illegal thing. Mike Pence chose to certify the actual legal results of the 2020 elections instead and decided not to abandon his post on that day. He saved the United States that day.

It's mind-blowing how many people are not even aware of this very serious crime, people who still support "Commander Trump" knowing this happened, and that nothing was done about it. This was just practice for the next time, because legal precedent will have been clearly set with the SCOTUS decision.

NB: Ginni Thomas, wife of sitting SCOTUS Judge Clarence Thomas participated in this coup plot. On November 9, Ginni Thomas emailed 29 Arizona lawmakers, encouraging them to pick "a clean slate of Electors."

This should give some context behind Tucker Carlson and the interview with Putin. And the overwhelming support Putin has had from the right-wing in America.

Good luck with democracy USA.

Postby maj. tom » February 11th, 2024, 6:28 am

Day after day and this traitor still walking free.

Trump says he would encourage Russia to attack NATO allies who do not pay their bills
https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-68266447

Donald Trump has said he would "encourage" Russia to attack any Nato member that fails to pay its bills as part of the Western military alliance.

At a rally on Saturday, he said he had once told a leader he would not protect a nation behind on its payments, and would "encourage" the aggressors to "do whatever the hell they want".

Members of Nato commit to defend any nation in the bloc that gets attacked.

The White House called the comments "appalling and unhinged".

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » February 14th, 2024, 10:32 pm

The Master is coming back.

Postby Habit7 » February 14th, 2024, 11:22 pm

maj. tom wrote:Day after day and this traitor still walking free.

Trump says he would encourage Russia to attack NATO allies who do not pay their bills

Donald Trump has said he would "encourage" Russia to attack any Nato member that fails to pay its bills as part of the Western military alliance.

At a rally on Saturday, he said he had once told a leader he would not protect a nation behind on its payments, and would "encourage" the aggressors to "do whatever the hell they want".

This feels like 2016 all over again. Trump says something and the media goes crazy. Warning that his presidency would be total chaos. It ended up being peace through strength and stable.

I remember them grasping at their pearls when he said lock her (Hillary). As soon as he came into office he said that is not an objective of his. Now Biden’s DoJ and NYC trying all how to lock him up. It is kinda funny how the Georgia case falling apart. I am sure those who pled out already seeing how they can take it back.

Postby MaxPower » February 14th, 2024, 11:26 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:The Master is coming back.

Correct.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 15th, 2024, 12:15 am

Postby MaxPower » February 15th, 2024, 1:30 am

SuperiorMan wrote:The Master is coming back.

https://www.newsweek.com/donald-trumps- ... gh-1863502

Postby adnj » February 15th, 2024, 5:29 am

Habit7 wrote:

This feels like 2016 all over again. Trump says something and the media goes crazy. Warning that his presidency would be total chaos. It ended up being peace through strength and stable.

I remember them grasping at their pearls when he said lock her (Hillary). As soon as he came into office he said that is not an objective of his. Now Biden’s DoJ and NYC trying all how to lock him up. It is kinda funny how the Georgia case falling apart. I am sure those who pled out already seeing how they can take it back.

Total peace and stability with just a hiccup or two along the way.

Postby Habit7 » February 15th, 2024, 7:14 am

Jan 6th supposed to be some effigy of Donald Trump’s presidency. Despite the fact he told the people to march peacefully. And Pelosi and the DC mayor refused his attempts to beef up security days before.

All while we ignore the George Floyd riots which did much more significant damage, included a protest that almost stormed the White House and sent the president into a bunker. While they burned down the church next door. All while they were being egged on by Democrats including the current VP who created a fund to bail out violent protesters.

The US public knows what the media is trying to railroad them to believe. It isn’t working this time.

Postby adnj » February 15th, 2024, 7:36 am

Habit7 wrote:Jan 6th supposed to be some effigy of Donald Trump’s presidency. Despite the fact he told the people to march peacefully. And Pelosi and the DC mayor refused his attempts to beef up security days before.

All while we ignore the George Floyd riots which did much more significant damage, included a protest that almost stormed the White House and sent the president into a bunker. While they burned down the church next door. All while they were being egged on by Democrats including the current VP who created a fund to bail out violent protesters.

The US public knows what the media is trying to railroad them to believe. It isn’t working this time.

Come November 5th, people like you, if they are citizens of the US, will still be able to vote for whosoever they choose to vote for. Even though you apparently have no actual understanding of the issues that you believe matter to you most.

Postby maj. tom » February 15th, 2024, 7:54 am

It's either they're choosing to cultly survive on the misinformation that they want to be fed,

or that the colour of fascism is what tickles them true so that the wannabe dictator will get back to hurting the right people.

Postby Habit7 » February 15th, 2024, 10:39 am

Wow so House Speaker Pelosi, leads an investigation that scrutinises herself. Selects only Democrats and Trump-hating Republicans to sit on it. And surprise surprise their conclusions absolve her so the left-leaning media caries it as fact.
Habit7 wrote:And Pelosi and the DC mayor refused his attempts to beef up security days before.

nevertheless, I have receipts, and unlike you, you can read beyond the headlines of mine.

On Thursday, December 31, says the current accepted narrative, the District of Colombia mayor rang an alarm about protests at the Joint Session of Congress. In fact, the opposite is true. What the mayor did, was ask for the minimal number of National Guardsmen and women to help out the Metropolitan Police Department, and she warned that those troops should be unarmed and not directly involve themselves in any protests.

Mayor Muriel Bowser sent a letter on New Year's Eve to Maj. Gen. William Walker, commanding general of the District of Colombia National Guard, requesting support on January 5 through 6. She said Guard personnel would support the MPD and the District Fire and Emergency Medical Services. "[N]o DCNG personnel shall be armed during this mission, and at no time, will DCNG personnel or assets be engaged in domestic surveillance, searches, or seizures of [U.S.] persons," she wrote.
https://www.newsweek.com/dc-mayor-murie ... ed-1661320

The U.S. Capitol Police declined the Pentagon’s offer of support — twice
Three days before the mob overtook the Capitol, DOD contacted the U.S. Capitol Police to confirm that the force was not requesting backup in advance of the scheduled protests, according to the timeline. The next day, the memo says, USCP officials participated in a phone call with Army Secretary Ryan McCarthy and once again confirmed they did not need the Pentagon’s support.

That position only changed at 1:49 on Wednesday afternoon, when USCP Chief Steven Sund called requesting immediate assistance. By then, members of Congress were sheltering in place, with the mob minutes away from breaching the Capitol steps.

It remains unclear what intelligence the Capitol Police, which boasts more than 2,300 employees and a budget of over $400 million, gathered in anticipation of Wednesday’s events or why Sund declined to bolster the Capitol’s defenses. Sund’s resignation was announced on Thursday, and he will leave his position on Jan. 16. Sund and the USCP did not immediately respond to a request for comment.

Washington’s mayor and the Pentagon offer conflicting accounts of the lead-up to the protests
After Bowser sent her New Year’s Eve request for help from the D.C. National Guard, the DOD memo says it approved sending 340 Guard members to support local officials. It further says that on Tuesday, Bowser delivered a letter confirming that Washington officials had all the support they needed.

But a spokesperson for Bowser’s office told NBC News that it was McCarthy, not the mayor, who made the key decisions about the National Guard’s response, including setting the number of personnel and establishing “that the guard members were not to move East of 9th Street NW,” blocks away from the Capitol itself.

https://www.propublica.org/article/befo ... dent-trump

Ex-Capitol Police Chief Says Requests For National Guard Denied 6 Times In Riots
The former chief of U.S. Capitol Police says security officials at the House and Senate rebuffed his early requests to call in the National Guard ahead of a demonstration in support of President Trump that turned into a deadly attack on Congress.

Former chief Steven Sund -- who resigned his post last week after House Speaker Nancy Pelosi called for him to step down -- made the assertions in an interview with The Washington Post published Sunday.

Sund contradicts claims made by officials after Wednesday's assault on Capitol Hill. Sund's superiors said previously that the National Guard and other additional security support could have been provided, but no one at the Capitol requested it.
https://www.npr.org/2021/01/11/95554891 ... -during-ri

Postby Dizzy28 » February 15th, 2024, 1:53 pm

Because he is unhinged the point he is trying to make was not made.

Europeans shid on Americans all the time for not having health care etc however Europe can maintain their lifestyles because the American taxpayer subsidizes European National Security. In 2014 only 3 NATO members had a defense spend of 2+% of GDP and it was agreed that each nation in the alliance would achieve the 2%.
This year they would reach 18 countries (last year it was 11 countries) at the 2%, in large part attributable to the Russian invasion of Ukraine. Prior to Putin's madness even large economies like Germany under-spent. In fact for a large economy Germany spends very little on defense and has done so for decades.

1.JPG

2.JPG

3.JPG

Postby adnj » February 15th, 2024, 1:59 pm

Habit7 wrote:Wow so House Speaker Pelosi, leads an investigation that scrutinises herself. Selects only Democrats and Trump-hating Republicans to sit on it. And surprise surprise their conclusions absolve her so the left-leaning media caries it as fact.
Habit7 wrote:And Pelosi and the DC mayor refused his attempts to beef up security days before.

nevertheless, I have receipts, and unlike you, you can read beyond the headlines of mine.

On Thursday, December 31, says the current accepted narrative, the District of Colombia mayor rang an alarm about protests at the Joint Session of Congress. In fact, the opposite is true. What the mayor did, was ask for the minimal number of National Guardsmen and women to help out the Metropolitan Police Department, and she warned that those troops should be unarmed and not directly involve themselves in any protests.

Mayor Muriel Bowser sent a letter on New Year's Eve to Maj. Gen. William Walker, commanding general of the District of Colombia National Guard, requesting support on January 5 through 6. She said Guard personnel would support the MPD and the District Fire and Emergency Medical Services. "[N]o DCNG personnel shall be armed during this mission, and at no time, will DCNG personnel or assets be engaged in domestic surveillance, searches, or seizures of [U.S.] persons," she wrote.
https://www.newsweek.com/dc-mayor-murie ... ed-1661320

The U.S. Capitol Police declined the Pentagon’s offer of support — twice
Three days before the mob overtook the Capitol, DOD contacted the U.S. Capitol Police to confirm that the force was not requesting backup in advance of the scheduled protests, according to the timeline. The next day, the memo says, USCP officials participated in a phone call with Army Secretary Ryan McCarthy and once again confirmed they did not need the Pentagon’s support.

That position only changed at 1:49 on Wednesday afternoon, when USCP Chief Steven Sund called requesting immediate assistance. By then, members of Congress were sheltering in place, with the mob minutes away from breaching the Capitol steps.

It remains unclear what intelligence the Capitol Police, which boasts more than 2,300 employees and a budget of over $400 million, gathered in anticipation of Wednesday’s events or why Sund declined to bolster the Capitol’s defenses. Sund’s resignation was announced on Thursday, and he will leave his position on Jan. 16. Sund and the USCP did not immediately respond to a request for comment.

Washington’s mayor and the Pentagon offer conflicting accounts of the lead-up to the protests
After Bowser sent her New Year’s Eve request for help from the D.C. National Guard, the DOD memo says it approved sending 340 Guard members to support local officials. It further says that on Tuesday, Bowser delivered a letter confirming that Washington officials had all the support they needed.

But a spokesperson for Bowser’s office told NBC News that it was McCarthy, not the mayor, who made the key decisions about the National Guard’s response, including setting the number of personnel and establishing “that the guard members were not to move East of 9th Street NW,” blocks away from the Capitol itself.

https://www.propublica.org/article/befo ... dent-trump

Ex-Capitol Police Chief Says Requests For National Guard Denied 6 Times In Riots
The former chief of U.S. Capitol Police says security officials at the House and Senate rebuffed his early requests to call in the National Guard ahead of a demonstration in support of President Trump that turned into a deadly attack on Congress.

Former chief Steven Sund -- who resigned his post last week after House Speaker Nancy Pelosi called for him to step down -- made the assertions in an interview with The Washington Post published Sunday.

Sund contradicts claims made by officials after Wednesday's assault on Capitol Hill. Sund's superiors said previously that the National Guard and other additional security support could have been provided, but no one at the Capitol requested it.
https://www.npr.org/2021/01/11/95554891 ... -during-ri

You've yet to get much of anything right.

Postby Habit7 » February 15th, 2024, 2:30 pm

Nothing you post there refutes what I said. She stacked deck and in response McCarthy pulled out. It still doesn’t deny the fact that she selected only Democrats and Trump-hating Republicans to sit on it.

Pelosi rejected Jim Jordan and Jim Banks because she wasn’t confident that they would come to a conclusion in her interest.

Postby adnj » February 15th, 2024, 2:34 pm

Habit7 wrote:Nothing you post there refutes what I said. She stacked deck and in response McCarthy pulled out. It still doesn’t deny the fact that she selected only Democrats and Trump-hating Republicans to sit on it.

Pelosi rejected Jim Jordan and Jim Banks because she wasn’t confident that they would come to a conclusion in her interest.

Wrong.

Postby The_Honourable » February 15th, 2024, 5:12 pm

Habit7 wrote:Wow so House Speaker Pelosi, leads an investigation that scrutinises herself. Selects only Democrats and Trump-hating Republicans to sit on it. And surprise surprise their conclusions absolve her so the left-leaning media caries it as fact.

Habit7 wrote:Nothing you post there refutes what I said. She stacked deck and in response McCarthy pulled out. It still doesn’t deny the fact that she selected only Democrats and Trump-hating Republicans to sit on it.

Well said

Postby adnj » February 16th, 2024, 4:53 am

[quote="The_Honourable"][quote="Habit7"]Wow so House Speaker Pelosi, leads an investigation that scrutinises herself. Selects only Democrats and Trump-hating Republicans to sit on it. [b]And surprise surprise their conclusions absolve her[/b] so the left-leaning media caries it as fact.
[/quote]

[quote="Habit7"]Nothing you post there refutes what I said. She stacked deck and [u]in response[/u] McCarthy pulled out. It still doesn’t deny the fact that she selected only Democrats and Trump-hating Republicans to sit on it.

Pelosi rejected Jim Jordan and Jim Banks because she wasn’t confident that they would come to a conclusion in her interest.[/quote]

Well said[/quote]

Well said? Not the highlighted part, but I suppose that there is nothing wrong when two people are blissfully ignorant.

Security for the US Capitol is the responsibility of the The United States Capitol Police.

The Capitol Police fall under the office of the Architect of the Capitol, but is managed by the Capitol Police Board, which consists of the Sargeants-at-Arms of the House and the Senate, along with the Architect of the Capitol.

Both the House and the Senate elect their respective the Sargeants-at-Arms, and appoint the Architect of the Capitol by a bicameral commission.

I struggle to understand why anyone would choose to believe that the US Capitol's security would be controlled solely by the Speaker of the House when the Senate Chamber and the House Chamber are on the northern and southern wings of the same building. Especially so when the the US Vice President is the person that is responsible for presiding over the Senate, just as VP Mike Pence was on January 6th.

[img]https://i.imgur.com/8Pxphvm.png[/img]

[img]https://i.imgur.com/2nhhbhP.png[/img]

Postby Habit7 » February 16th, 2024, 11:11 am

adnj wrote:I struggle to understand why anyone would choose to believe that the US Capitol's security would be controlled solely by the Speaker of the House when...

Nobody said that.

You are fighting a prefabricated argument that nobody is making

Postby adnj » February 16th, 2024, 11:40 am

Habit7 wrote:
adnj wrote:I struggle to understand why anyone would choose to believe that the US Capitol's security would be controlled solely by the Speaker of the House when...

Nobody said that.

You are fighting a prefabricated argument that nobody is making

It is abundantly clear to me that you don't even understand what you post.

Your specific erroneous statements have been previously highlighted in reply.

Feel free to reflect upon them when, or indeed if, you wish to walk away from this just a little bit smarter.

Postby The_Honourable » February 16th, 2024, 12:50 pm

I'm sorry if i am blissfully ignorant adnj, and I am not here to help you figure out your own struggles. As usual in the past three years or so you are arguing with persons who couldn't care less about your opinion.