3ne2nr fishermen

Hyperion

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby Hyperion » November 27th, 2013, 7:01 pm

Daiwa BG reels real good, I saw the BG90 take out real monsters on the north coast back in the days when I used to jig. I had a Daiwa Silver 7000C years ago, bought it second hand. Good line capacity and smooth drag but the handle take-down screw got damaged from over tightening. This was pre-internet days and I couldn't source a replacement so I gave it away.
_MG_4446.JPG
The oldest reel in my collection, a Penn 704Z. The spool is short, and sits inside the cup unlike newer reels where the spool is skirted, so if u have slack line around the spool it sometimes slips down and gets tangled around the shaft. No infinite anti-reverse, and it's a noisy reel. But the drag is smooth like butter, and it's my lucky reel too, grantekai, cavalli, moonshine, all kinda thing. Penn stopped making the Z series a while ago. They only very recently relaunch this line, the new ones cost about $200 US.

30hz

Postby 30hz » November 28th, 2013, 9:33 pm

Tarpon finally make it as the major suspect on River Monsters. Jeremy never catch one before this episode. I beat him to that

Postby X_Factor » November 28th, 2013, 9:55 pm

that was a nice size fella he had though!

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » November 28th, 2013, 10:03 pm

Tobago trip!!

Tuna and wahoo!!

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1385690588.910805.jpg

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » November 28th, 2013, 11:00 pm

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:Tobago trip!!

Tuna and wahoo!!

what type of rig is this?

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » November 28th, 2013, 11:03 pm

kevin5211 wrote:
HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:Tobago trip!!

Tuna and wahoo!!

what type of rig is this?

It's called an umbrella rig.

You hook up your ballyhoo in the centre rig. And waits for the strike!!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 28th, 2013, 11:05 pm

Yea, attract fish...suppose to immitate ah fish chasing bait...i added hooks to all my squid incase tuna attack dem...lol

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » November 28th, 2013, 11:12 pm

ryan99tt wrote:Yea, attract fish...suppose to immitate ah fish chasing bait...i added hooks to all my squid incase tuna attack dem...lol

Yeh all this squids have hooks! That how they suppose to be rigged! With hook and a small sinker!!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 28th, 2013, 11:14 pm

Nah, plenty guys dont put hooks on d squid...i bought ah couple of these ah while ago an never got atound to using dem...may use dem wen we headin out for hoos...

Postby meccalli » November 29th, 2013, 6:23 am

Big wahoo will kink and bust off single strand in a one though.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 29th, 2013, 9:29 am

Wahoo doh really take d squid, dey usually take the ballyhoo behind the setup...

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » November 29th, 2013, 9:31 am

Even doh! The most will happen is that the wire comes unusable after!! It won't snap. That's 300lbs strain tooth proof!

30hz

Postby 30hz » November 29th, 2013, 10:10 am

Tried that rig before but had more luck with the blue squid and ballyhoo setup for wahoo. my boatman has a general rule of using bait colours same as target species when trolling. blue/greens for dolly, darker blues for wahoo, silver/pink for king/albacore. light n water clarity dictates lures colour also.

He say the fish sight is trained to look for their mates so like colours are easily noticed. i never questioned it, seems to work for him though i've seen the opposite work also.

Note, sometimes you just need to try em all to see whats biting.

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » November 29th, 2013, 10:12 am

30hz wrote:Tried that rig before but had more luck with the blue squid and ballyhoo setup for wahoo. my boatman has a general rule of using bait colours same as target species when trolling. blue/greens for dolly, darker blues for wahoo, silver/pink for king/albacore. light n water clarity dictates lures colour also.

He say the fish sight is trained to look for their mates so like colours are easily noticed. i never questioned it, seems to work for him though i've seen the opposite work also.

Note, sometimes you just need to try em all to see whats biting.

That's true. That's just one of the rig. We have about 5 umbrella set ups with different center bait.

Have to see which works best!

Postby meccalli » November 29th, 2013, 3:07 pm

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:Even doh! The most will happen is that the wire comes unusable after!! It won't snap. That's 300lbs strain tooth proof!

haha, well yeah you have a better chance with 300. Them things does chew off everything down to cable if they get their teeth to it :S. If you add a little flash to that rig you sure to get some good fish.

30hz

Postby 30hz » November 29th, 2013, 7:29 pm

Mankee selling these now. Hadda check him soon. Will work good on wahoo.
IMG_356011440371212.jpeg

Postby meccalli » November 29th, 2013, 8:32 pm

Nice, that's the thing self.

krazed

Postby krazed » December 2nd, 2013, 1:46 pm

Sabot wrote:With that budget the best buy may be a Daiwa BG60. Its a solid reel made for saltwater with a good drag. The Penns are a little pricier in the same class for not much more features since they use the same material for gears etc. Edit...just double checked..its actually more than your budget which puts it in the same range as the Penn Battle etc. Its a good reel though but if you gonna use braid go with the Battle.

Thanks Again guys.. ended up getting a penn pursuit combo.. Pursuit rod and Pursuit 8000 reel. for about 550 or something after discount... Looks like a nice set up.. didnt get any bite over the weekend to test it.

Postby X_Factor » December 6th, 2013, 7:48 am

anyone up for some over night banking in the gulf?( not too sure of the exact spots but i hear its around patos, first bocas and environs)

its on a big mother boat ( toilet etc)....have 7 ppl so far...and i need to get 12-15ppl
we'r leaving alcan between 7-8pm
comin back about 7-8am

125-130 a man (boat man takes 100 a head, and the 25-30$ is for bait(live, dead, shrimp), soft drinks(water etc) chicken pelau)

usual rules, walk with ur own gears, what u catch is yours

anyone interested call me 306 5816

i know its kind of last minute but we only decided last night

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » December 6th, 2013, 8:24 am

Boy that mother boat is trouble, my cousin went, and the paying customers had to pull the monster anchor by hand. I don't think he goes so far offshore as Patos at night, what he usually does is anchor any place he feels like and goes to sleep, when he should really be moving around and trying different banks. As an experienced boat man he should know a few good banks, but is either he keeping them secret or he just don't care.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » December 6th, 2013, 8:45 am

Now ask myself if x replying to his own post yes. Then i see it.lol by chance you know the boatman name. Have a padna organizing but not sure if is d samr boat

krazed

Postby krazed » December 6th, 2013, 9:46 am

Is that trip for tonight into saturday or saturday into sunday..?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » December 6th, 2013, 10:17 am

Dat boatman is surely tenneil...

Postby X_Factor » December 6th, 2013, 4:27 pm

nah, tenneil...yuh mad...stop goin on trips with him a long while now!!

someone who doesnt do the fishing trips for a living its a partner, partner kinda ting....

this guy fishes for a living
last time he carried us us on some good spots
its saturday into sunday

we'll see how it goes later

reelman

Postby reelman » December 6th, 2013, 4:41 pm

mankee --SHIMANO AX4000 REEL / SOLARA 6 1/2 FT 2PC ROD COMBO
$ 250.00 ah buy one today for my nephew and some storms hope he likes it
1417562_558054200937228_1317309080_o.jpg

Postby X_Factor » December 7th, 2013, 8:02 pm

so lastnight was hard, but it ended ok
falling tide was pressure!! the boatman was saying something to do with the change of the moon/tide

i only caught 2 bechin cause i fished live bait and did some cast and retieve using artificial hoping to hook up on something nice but it didnt happen
the guys who were banking got some decent action in the morning...between 430-6am in the bocas past scotland bay on the left and they caught a few decent reds, cro cro, salmon, lippe and shark

before that it was pain!!

Postby joker » December 7th, 2013, 8:19 pm

Went fully prepared ....cus last time we did not have enough coolers...pigtail bucket herring ....
Other tuners went with trolling gear.....just off our neighbour ....I gave up ....ryan 99 pull some nice fish ......kevin pull some also .....but we anchored over nine locations ....red fish, bechine, salmon, powa, carangrass, salmon, several pilotfish ....and well u know me feeding the birds ...and decided to catch a playgard....and the captain caught it before me .....lol we released it ...but not before it bit the captain .... but rellll pressure. Out in the gulf allyuh post up the instagram pics dey.. !

proton17

Postby proton17 » December 7th, 2013, 8:50 pm

Anybody know if d manzan road by d beach still full of water or it good to drive through To go and fish.

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » December 7th, 2013, 10:21 pm

proton17 wrote:Anybody know if d manzan road by d beach still full of water or it good to drive through To go and fish.

I highly doubt. Cause cars were passing just this week!!

On another note it was like this day after all the rain!
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1386469270.200329.jpg

Postby meccalli » December 7th, 2013, 11:40 pm

O.o wda lol.