Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

air wick

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby air wick » September 7th, 2013, 7:29 pm

I will check pet shop boys on Monday, where fishy bizniz located though?

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 7th, 2013, 9:00 pm

I went pet shop boys yesterday and they only have a little bit of stuff and they say how all the imported plants sell out but uh could call them and see when they get more stock

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 7th, 2013, 10:13 pm

nick639 wrote:Where pet shop boys is??? I looking to start a tank fellas

Opposite sando market. Smaller street on the right.

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 7th, 2013, 10:32 pm

Yea on de hill opposite sando market

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 7th, 2013, 10:32 pm

allyuh ever check Khans petshop in sando (price of whales st) She usually gets

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 7th, 2013, 10:34 pm

Fellars take this pic today
1378607605078.jpg

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 7th, 2013, 11:09 pm

HondaB20B wrote:allyuh ever check Khans petshop in sando (price of whales st) She usually gets

Long time since I've been to that shop yo.

It's somewhere opposite the church they were building or sum?

andre_959

Postby andre_959 » September 7th, 2013, 11:45 pm

bir123 wrote:Fellars take this pic today

Tank looking Bess bir

andre_959

Postby andre_959 » September 7th, 2013, 11:48 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:allyuh ever check Khans petshop in sando (price of whales st) She usually gets

Long time since I've been to that shop yo.

It's somewhere opposite the church they were building or sum?

They basically next door to the school, about two buildings before the church on the opposite side

Used to go there years ago but they never really had any health looking fish

My grandad used to buy me koi from there

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 8th, 2013, 10:50 am

Where that khans pet shop is never heard of it
Next to which school

andre_959

Postby andre_959 » September 8th, 2013, 10:56 am

bir123 wrote:Where that khans pet shop is never heard of it
Next to which school

Ah Lil hole in the wall place there years and years now,

I think the name of the school is St. Kevin's

Opposite faith center about two or three buildings b4

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 8th, 2013, 12:07 pm

Kool i never heard of them so i want to see how de place is

andre_959

Postby andre_959 » September 8th, 2013, 1:02 pm

bir123 wrote:Kool i never heard of them so i want to see how de place is

Is Aite

It's amazing how time does fly, I remember going there as a child like 1999 / 2000 and thing

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 8th, 2013, 2:15 pm

andre_959 wrote:

Is Aite

It's amazing how time does fly, I remember going there as a child like 1999 / 2000 and thing

X2, its been years I've been in that area. Didn't really expect that shop to still be in operation na.

Anyway, added some gouromis to my tank today, waiting to get them settled in. I'm hoping to get 2 more and some neon zebras for this tank, still can't stomach $10 per neon zebra.

air wick

Postby air wick » September 8th, 2013, 8:11 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1378685311.232776.jpg

This is the small tank, wanna add some more plants and some neon tetras. I've got 4 neon zebras, 4 hilaries, 4 platies and 4 chiclids so far

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 8th, 2013, 9:41 pm

andre_959 wrote:

Is Aite

that is joke, I started to go there around 80/81. Was the top petshop in south. Mr & Mrs Khan. Real top birds and fish. After that Natures world came and opened in the front of Southland Mall. That's where Dim Sum King restaurant is now.

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 8th, 2013, 9:48 pm

Nice saword man

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 9th, 2013, 12:59 am

Actually raj or the guy in grand bazzare can bring them in if you place the order

madman_devin

Postby madman_devin » September 11th, 2013, 12:06 pm

Looking for some of these for a project, think their named cobblestones. Anyone know where I can find them locally ?

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1378915536.501100.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1378915551.700535.jpg

Postby DVSTT » September 12th, 2013, 10:51 am

Yodins wrote:Some pics of my setup as of recently.

Symbiosis at its best. Baby Albino Bristlenose aka jumbie teta. paid 4 for $100 by fishy bizniz.

another baby

If you look closely you could see the eel's head

Odyssea twin T5 fluorescent lights. $50US on eBay

Ballast for the light I think. It has the on/off switch on it.

Here you can see how it can adjust from 36" - 40"

Lights on.

Lights off

when I just got them

Really nice to see how my tank setup has changed over the months...
First

Second [ driftwood added.]

Third. Had the most amount of plants here. Too bad not enough lighting to let them live.

Fourth and most recent.

Where'd you get that light? And will it fit a 4ft tank?

rx80

Postby rx80 » September 13th, 2013, 8:50 am

madman_devin wrote:Looking for some of these for a project, think their named cobblestones. Anyone know where I can find them locally ?

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1378915536.501100.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1378915551.700535.jpg

I was looking for those same stones some time ago.. There was one guy that brought a shipment but he apparently lost bcoz most plant places I checked all said a guy just dropped off some samples and never showed up again... Only place I saw with a decent size bag was undercover heading to Maracas.. And they wanted some ridiculous price for a pound..
Closest thing is to go shark river and get some grey river stones...

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 13th, 2013, 9:10 pm

Guys bit of help here, i think one of the gouramis i bought had babies, im guessing its the red dwarf since that one stays around the bubbles most.

Havnt been home the past week and just came home to see like little fry swimming around and the red dwarf in the courner with them, trying to get pics but its hard to really capture them.

Should i remove the parents from the tank? Its a fairly big tank (3ftx18x18) iirc and only the pair of gouramis i have ij that tank and a pleco who spends most of its time under the rocks.

andre_959

Postby andre_959 » September 13th, 2013, 10:21 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Guys bit of help here, i think one of the gouramis i bought had babies, im guessing its the red dwarf since that one stays around the bubbles most.

Havnt been home the past week and just came home to see like little fry swimming around and the red dwarf in the courner with them, trying to get pics but its hard to really capture them.

Should i remove the parents from the tank? Its a fairly big tank (3ftx18x18) iirc and only the pair of gouramis i have ij that tank and a pleco who spends most of its time under the rocks.

http://m.wikihow.com/Breed-Gouramis

Just a brief overview

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 13th, 2013, 10:48 pm

Right so I should remove the parents ASAP?

I'm noticing the mother constantly picking up the fry in her mouth and bringing them back to the corner by the bubbles.

I really didn't plan for this :/

cins

Postby cins » September 14th, 2013, 12:58 am

My experience is to keep the parents in the tank, but you could also keep an eye out for fry food to help nourish them.

I'm just getting back into setting up my tank and pond. I went through all my old gear and am looking for Aquarium pump diaphragm (used unit or parts) for
- Whisper second nature 700 (need 2)
- Elite 802
- Hartz
- Resun ac 360

Any suggestions where I may find these or an alternate?? Thanks for your help

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 14th, 2013, 8:42 am

I see brine shrimp looks popular, ill try to get some if that.

As for the parts, amazon+skybox maybe your bet bet

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 14th, 2013, 1:44 pm

andre_959 wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:Guys bit of help here, i think one of the gouramis i bought had babies, im guessing its the red dwarf since that one stays around the bubbles most.

Just a brief overview

That's real weird that they telling you to remove both parents one time. You usually remove the female right after spawning and the male remains in the tank to tend to the nest by taking the fry that's still struggling in its mouth and blowing it back into the nest. There is a difference between free swimming and wiggling and falling to the bottom. That's when the male has all his work cut out for him. All fish from the anabantid (bubble nest builders) do that.

andre_959

Postby andre_959 » September 14th, 2013, 1:48 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
andre_959 wrote:

Just a brief overview

That's real weird that they telling you to remove both parents one time. You usually remove the female right after spawning and the male remains in the tank to tend to the nest by taking the fry that's still struggling in its mouth and blowing it back into the nest. There is a difference between free swimming and wiggling and falling to the bottom. That's when the male has all his work cut out for him. All fish from the anabantid (bubble nest builders) do that.

I never kept gouramis, i've always had koi, cichlids, oscars and cat fish lol but it just goes to show you can't believe everything on the net

Postby DVSTT » September 14th, 2013, 3:34 pm

Saw an arapaima at nature's world today. $3000.00 though :/

andre_959

Postby andre_959 » September 14th, 2013, 3:46 pm

DVSTT wrote:Saw an arapaima at nature's world today. $3000.00 though :/

It's way over priced and looks unhealthy just sitting there in one place