Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Kenjo » May 10th, 2022, 1:21 am

drchaos wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
alfa wrote:
drchaos wrote:
S_2NR wrote:sinopharm is the least effective vaxx. ask any doctor working in the covid hospitals.

Data shows it doesn’t work for older folks but produces a good antibody response in younger folks.

So it protects the people who don’t need it and fails in the at risk groups.

Didn't the 'science ' say any vaccine is better than no vaccine and Rowley was using that to berate people who wanted to hold out for phizer saying we should take anything? Now they want people to take boosters for what wasn't working well to begin with. Not me and this COVID vaccine nonsense again nah. Two years into COVID and I good

science evolves, especially when it involves something new like this virus - early last year we didnt have all the data and WHO had not yet recommended an additional dose. also availability was an issue prior to august last year so when we got the sinopharm and the gamma/brazilian variant was raging to the point we had to have ah SOE, if the only vaccine available was sinopharm what u wanted ppl to do? wait? at risk elderly who were dying 20 and 30 a day?

now however that we HAVE a choice of vaccines and we know the efficacy of sinopharm the MOH should now recommend pfizer above sinopharm, both as a booster and as the preferred choice for primary doses as well.

Thanks for explaining to men who are using January 2021 logic

Actually the science was not evolving ... It was already evolved.
From the Get go before T&T purchased Sino the data was available that the efficacy studies were only done in under 60ties. The over 60 at risk group were avoided in the Trials ... They left the people most likely to die from the virus out of the vaccine trial ...

Thats a big freaking alarm bell, and if you weren't aware .... it had nothing to do with the fact that the "Science was Evolving"
It meant you had your head up your arse and you weren't paying attention to the Government freaking you.

Multiverse

Postby st7 » May 10th, 2022, 11:10 am

source?

actually nvm -- this ched not relevant anymore. too much beat up

Postby sMASH » May 10th, 2022, 2:42 pm

drchaos wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
alfa wrote:
drchaos wrote:
S_2NR wrote:sinopharm is the least effective vaxx. ask any doctor working in the covid hospitals.

Data shows it doesn’t work for older folks but produces a good antibody response in younger folks.

Didn't the 'science ' say any vaccine is better than no vaccine and Rowley was using that to berate people who wanted to hold out for phizer saying we should take anything? Now they want people to take boosters for what wasn't working well to begin with. Not me and this COVID vaccine nonsense again nah. Two years into COVID and I good

science evolves, especially when it involves something new like this virus - early last year we didnt have all the data and WHO had not yet recommended an additional dose. also availability was an issue prior to august last year so when we got the sinopharm and the gamma/brazilian variant was raging to the point we had to have ah SOE, if the only vaccine available was sinopharm what u wanted ppl to do? wait? at risk elderly who were dying 20 and 30 a day?

now however that we HAVE a choice of vaccines and we know the efficacy of sinopharm the MOH should now recommend pfizer above sinopharm, both as a booster and as the preferred choice for primary doses as well.

From the Get go before T&T purchased Sino the data was available that the efficacy studies were only done in under 60ties. The over 60 at risk group were avoided in the Trials ... They left the people most likely to die from the virus out of the vaccine trial ...

Thats a big freaking alarm bell, and if you weren't aware .... it had nothing to do with the fact that the "Science was Evolving"
It meant you had your head up your arse and you weren't paying attention to the Government freaking you.
The best Vax is the Vax closest to u... And that people take the weak one, and end not not protected as they should, they end up in problems.

I was saying if u have to take, take the sinopharm, cause it's the weakest, and based on the old ways of making vaxes, so should not do as much harm as the MRNA vaxes.
If u wrong fur saying that, then govt at fault for making it available.

And then the govt was NOT allowing u to take a better shot, when u got it available to u.. But then promoting boosters. No mixing and matching.

People already signed indemnity waivers, so nobody was to blame for negative effects. So why prevent mixing?

Cause the govt and ALLL their doctors don't understand virus, and vaccines.

Postby redmanjp » May 10th, 2022, 2:49 pm

drchaos wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
alfa wrote:
drchaos wrote:

even so u know we waiting on WHO to come out and say something- they didn't change the dosing regimen guidelines for over 60s till late last year.

Postby MaxPower » May 10th, 2022, 3:24 pm

st7 wrote:source?

actually nvm -- this ched not relevant anymore. too much beat up

Yeh toppy this ched gone tru.

Re: Local anti-vaxxers

Postby adnj » May 12th, 2022, 11:23 am

Additional external review of this published paper raised several concerns. While a properly conducted clinical trial is certainly welcome, the experimental design of this study lacks sufficient details for some of the methods and approaches, uses inappropriate or inadequate statistical analysis, and presents unclear data interpretation.

The conclusions and statements of the authors cannot be readily supported by the information presented in the paper.

https://retractionwatch.com/2022/05/10/ ... retracted/

Postby redmanjp » May 12th, 2022, 12:13 pm

Postby Chimera » May 12th, 2022, 12:29 pm

Lol I thought north korea was in a constant state of lockdown

Postby adnj » May 12th, 2022, 1:24 pm

May 5 (Reuters) - The Omicron variant of the SARS-CoV2 virus is intrinsically as severe as previous variants, according to a preprint version of a large U.S. study that counters assumptions in other studies that it was more transmissible but less severe.

The findings, which estimated Omicron's severity after accounting for the impact of vaccines, should reinforce the importance of inoculations and booster shots, experts said. Vaccines helped keep hospitalizations and deaths relatively low during the Omicron surge compared with previous variants.

The study, which is undergoing peer review at Nature Portfolio, was posted on Research Square on May 2. The authors, from Massachusetts General Hospital, Minerva University and Harvard Medical School, declined to comment until peer review is completed.

"We found that the risks of hospitalization and mortality were nearly identical" between the Omicron era and times in the past two years when different variants were dominant, the researchers said in their report.

https://www.reuters.com/business/health ... 022-05-05/

Postby redmanjp » May 12th, 2022, 2:18 pm

sMASH wrote:woudl have been nice to have definitive figures, since they are recording figures. but, hey... narrative must narrate.

*lets lump people who not touching that vax with a 10ft pole, in the same category as 'partially vaxed' so it will look like every body on board.. jess a lil tardy*

the partially vaxxed would be a small fraction as they wont have that status once they get the 2nd shot, also would someone who got 1 dose be more, or less likely to get severe covid and dead? they have some antibodies, not enough, but not none either like the unvaxxed.

Postby sMASH » May 12th, 2022, 3:02 pm

yet, they decided to put both those figures in the same group. a more honest distinction would be to put them in the vaxed group... i.e. 'one or more jabs' and 'unvaxed'.

government propaganda

Postby De Dragon » May 12th, 2022, 4:54 pm

Suddenly the "mild" "harmless" "it doh affeck chirran" crew, is raving about Covid in schools? :rofl:
It seems the Antivaxfacks, have finally spun themselves 180 degrees. :lol:

Postby hover11 » May 12th, 2022, 4:56 pm

De Dragon wrote:Suddenly the "mild" "harmless" "it doh affeck chirran" crew, is raving about Covid in schools? :rofl:
It seems the Antivaxfacks, have finally spun themselves 180 degrees.
So it makes sense putting an entire class under quarantine every time a student tests positive....just asking?

snatman

Postby snatman » May 12th, 2022, 5:34 pm

For what its worth, 2 weeks ago both my wife and 8 yr old son tested positive.

My son had a sore throat and headaches with a mild fever for one and a half days.

My wife had mild coughs and fever for 4 days. Both her and I a vaccinated with boosters. Of course my son is not.

They are both symptom-free now.

I never had symptoms and I tested negative.
Of course, i followed the protocols and stayed home.

Postby De Dragon » May 12th, 2022, 5:39 pm

hover11 wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Suddenly the "mild" "harmless" "it doh affeck chirran" crew, is raving about Covid in schools? :rofl:
So it makes sense putting an entire class under quarantine every time a student tests positive....just asking?

But you and your crew were advocating for not putting even the positive child in quarantine :roll:
Ent it mild? Ent children unaffected?Ent 98%, and more for children, recover?

Postby sMASH » May 12th, 2022, 6:46 pm

sMASH wrote:Give it a week or so..

sMASH,

10 days pass since you stated this pa.

How long again?

Numbers nice.

We giving it a next week again?

:p

sooo, its a lot more than official numbers catching.
had said it might be closer to 100 x the official numbers, admj ctrlc/v master come and say most estimates might be 10 x....

govt system surpressing numbers, its a lot mroe...

but even still, its incidental, not causal, so is not really any ting to hold onto... if it was real, u would get a higher death rate.

Postby paid_influencer » May 12th, 2022, 6:53 pm

hover11 wrote:

But you and your crew were advocating for not putting even the positive child in quarantine :roll:

de dragon tho, for real, what you think about quarantining and entire class if one student test positive?

a positive child will be in isolation, not quarantine btw. quarantine is for ppl who are negative now but could become positive due to exposure.

Postby sMASH » May 12th, 2022, 9:37 pm

https://fb.watch/cZrTD-1EhB/

Managing it well.

If u worried about covee, stay home stay safe is still an option.

Postby paid_influencer » May 12th, 2022, 9:53 pm

sMASH wrote:https://fb.watch/cZrTD-1EhB/

Managing it well.

this is a good video.

Postby sMASH » May 12th, 2022, 9:57 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
sMASH wrote:https://fb.watch/cZrTD-1EhB/

Managing it well.

this is a good video.

like, follow, subscribe and share... that account i mean.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 12th, 2022, 9:59 pm

hover11 wrote:

It's funny, in my sons class everyone had a sudden "flare up of their sinuses" last week and the week before. Half of the class stayed home for 2 to 3 days. No one admitted to a viral illness, no one PCR tested, no one freaked the firetruck out, some did antigen tests and kept their private medical information to themselves.

We all ignored the new endemic virus making the rounds and went on with our lives ... It was a symphony of normal un-paranoid behavior

Oh and I forgot to mention ... No one died ...

Postby sMASH » May 13th, 2022, 10:46 am

Seems like moe attitude is to ostrich out the problems, till every ting even out.
MoH will bump gum bump gum till this becomes a memory.

Postby redmanjp » May 13th, 2022, 11:44 am

drchaos wrote:

It's funny, in my sons class everyone had a sudden "flare up of their sinuses" last week and the week before. Half of the class stayed home for 2 to 3 days. No one admitted to a viral illness, no one PCR tested, no one freaked the firetruck out, some did antigen tests and kept their private medical information to themselves.

We all ignored the new endemic virus making the rounds and went on with our lives ... It was a symphony of normal un-paranoid behavior

yet. deaths lag cases. oh and no i not talking about kids - kids may have immunocompromised family members. covid is also NOT the first virus they ask parents to keep your kids home for- measles & chicken pox comes to mind. sending kids to school knowing they are symptomatic and covid positive is just irresponsible. the school should test any kid like that to allow them back - if parents dont agree then keep them home.

Postby De Dragon » May 13th, 2022, 12:16 pm

redmanjp wrote:
drchaos wrote:

yet. deaths lag cases. oh and no i not talking about kids - kids may have immunocompromised family members. covid is also NOT the first virus they ask parents to keep your kids home for- measles & chicken pox comes to mind. sending kids to school knowing they are symptomatic and covid positive is just irresponsible. the school should test any kid like that to allow them back - if parents dont agree then keep them home.

AntivaxFacks//Covid downplayers feel once they personally are unaffected, then no one else could possibly be :roll:

Postby adnj » May 13th, 2022, 12:37 pm

redmanjp wrote:
drchaos wrote:

AntivaxFacks//Covid downplayers feel once they personally are unaffected, then no one else could possibly be :roll:
It's already been discussed in this thread: school-aged children are very efficient transmitters of COVID to siblings, parents and care givers.

Postby De Dragon » May 13th, 2022, 1:10 pm

adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
drchaos wrote:

It's already been discussed in this thread: school-aged children are very efficient transmitters of COVID to siblings, parents and care givers.

Death is the yardstick for AntiVax Facks and quacks it seems :roll:

Postby sMASH » May 13th, 2022, 6:08 pm

adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Death is the yardstick for AntiVax Facks and quacks it seems :roll:

so, is the moh policy on covid now appropriate?
is the policy lapse and need to stronger measures?
is the policy too strong and could have more things eased?

if covid is still a problem what shoudl the official measures be? are in a good place, too stringent or not stringent enough?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 13th, 2022, 8:53 pm

redmanjp wrote:
drchaos wrote:

No one cares ... the world belongs to the young fit and healthy.
Go lock yourself in your house if you are still afraid.

Cause you can't stop us from treating a mild illness like a mild illness.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 14th, 2022, 12:32 am

China thighten lockdown measures. Stop their people from travelling. Who will live to take over the world? China. Everybody is an expert on covid. What do the chinese know that they doing what they have too to stop covid while all experts like black baldhead say we have to live with it. Just like we have to live with the pnm, it is a blight on everything.

Postby redmanjp » May 14th, 2022, 1:01 am

That China lockdown is a bit too extreme. I mean u can't even go out to get food or groceries? When we had lockdown last year at least we were allowed out to get essential supplies. Groceries and medication. Chinese ppl were starving.

And that was everyone not just ppl in quarantine.