Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby S_2NR » May 6th, 2022, 9:28 pm

I had covid three weeks ago. Wasn't that big a deal. Was mildly ill for five days and then things improved quickly. Just vaxxed with AZ, No booster.

Half my family got it around the same time and everybody normal now. Most without boosters. Even the unvaxxed minority is fine, but they had symptoms longer.

Covid done, time to move on.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » May 6th, 2022, 10:13 pm

S_2NR wrote:I had covid three weeks ago. Wasn't that big a deal. Was mildly ill for five days and then things improved quickly. Just vaxxed with AZ, No booster.

Half my family got it around the same time and everybody normal now. Most without boosters. Even the unvaxxed minority is fine, but they had symptoms longer.

Covid done, time to move on.

COVID done? Covid never even start

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » May 6th, 2022, 10:16 pm

De Dragon wrote:All these morons talking about "it hard tuh geh Covid", re the same morons who bawling in hospital when dey get it

Many of us got it and ain't know what the inside of a hospital look like.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » May 6th, 2022, 10:18 pm

redmanjp wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Well done Trinis.

0 deaths.

To hell with 500+ cases. That is just due to continued braying and mild infections.

Jackasses

we had 0 deaths a couple weeks ago, then 5 deaths 2 days ago. anything is possible.

And this is kinda dotishness that in Trinidad counts as being a national hero, being Knowledgeable and brave

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 7th, 2022, 12:14 pm

adnj wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:case and point why the daily stats aren't useful. Today 0 deaths, ppl gonna run with that. tomorrow 5 deaths people gonna panic. Put the same information in a weekly format and it will be far more useful to the population. Is just a matter of time till Terry agrees with me.
*Case in point:

I have have no idra how we would survuve without the grammar police ob this thread!

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 7th, 2022, 12:17 pm

redmanjp wrote:
drchaos wrote:
redmanjp wrote:2 vaxxed 22 unvaxxed deaths in the past week. this could have been a total of only about 4 for the week if the other half of the population was vaxxed.

Yup we should put a gun to their heads and if they dont get vaccinated then we should shoot them.

That should solve the problem with all the unvaxxed deaths ... Ohh wait :?

ways, who say anything about forcing ppl to take it? all i doing is laying out facts. what they do with it is their choice.

sorry sorry ... I classed you with all the mandatory vaccine clowns on this thread.

Postby adnj » May 7th, 2022, 6:48 pm

hover11 wrote:Children get long Covid, too, and it can show up in unexpected ways.

paid_influencer wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
Children have no vaccine. Are we going to leave thousands of children to die?

well not thousands, probably a few dozen kids will dead. society has accepted that, even tho nobody has the balls to put it into words. instead we get this bullchit story about washing hands and "being safe" when we know damn well we going to sacrifice some kids.

Antivaxxers bitcch about the results of not vaccinating. The best way to protect the vulnerable is for everyone to vaccinate.

Postby sMASH » May 7th, 2022, 7:04 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:Children get long Covid, too, and it can show up in unexpected ways.

paid_influencer wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

well not thousands, probably a few dozen kids will dead. society has accepted that, even tho nobody has the balls to put it into words. instead we get this bullchit story about washing hands and "being safe" when we know damn well we going to sacrifice some kids.

Antivaxxers bitcch about the results of not vaccinating. The best way to protect the vulnerable is for everyone to vaccinate.

ur mistaking immunity with vax... the vax is not the ONLY way to trigger an 'immunological response'

this virus mutates too fast for vax to work. by the time they come up with boosters tailored to any particular strains, there would be others. and its mild enough now that community spread is the way to go to get the immunity. regular exposure to the newest varients will keep ur immune system current. while the vaxes play catch up with last quarter's variants

(im dumb, im stupid, i dont know how vaccines work, i fraid needles, i see alians every night. thought is spare u the kilojoules.)

Postby sMASH » May 7th, 2022, 7:06 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
hover11 wrote:UpdateFB_IMG_1651955236878.jpg

Lockdown! Lockdown! Lockdown!

We will not see any more lockdowns

why, cause its not necessary, or cause they give up?

Postby sMASH » May 7th, 2022, 7:11 pm

drchaos wrote:
adnj wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:case and point why the daily stats aren't useful. Today 0 deaths, ppl gonna run with that. tomorrow 5 deaths people gonna panic. Put the same information in a weekly format and it will be far more useful to the population. Is just a matter of time till Terry agrees with me.
*Case in point:

I have have no idra how we would survuve without the grammar police ob this thread!

u would most likely die from complications with covid, but not from covid.

are those deaths and cases FROM covid, or merely WITH covid?

cause MoH said all school covid cases were incidental. i suspsect the same with the over all population... people merely testing positive, when they go hospital, inflating the figures.

Postby adnj » May 7th, 2022, 8:28 pm

sMASH wrote:
adnj wrote:

paid_influencer wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

ur mistaking immunity with vax... the vax is not the ONLY way to trigger an 'immunological response'

this virus mutates too fast for vax to work. by the time they come up with boosters tailored to any particular strains, there would be others. and its mild enough now that community spread is the way to go to get the immunity. regular exposure to the newest varients will keep ur immune system current. while the vaxes play catch up with last quarter's variants

(im dumb, im stupid, i dont know how vaccines work, i fraid needles, i see alians every night. thought is spare u the kilojoules.)

"Omicron by itself is not a great vaccine. Just because you were infected does not mean you have a lot of protection from what's coming next." - Alex Sigal, Africa Health Research Institute

Researchers in South Africa tested the ability of antibodies in blood to disable BA.4 and BA.5 viruses in a lab. In people who were unvaccinated but recently recovered from a BA.1 infection, they saw a more than seven-fold drop in the ability of their antibodies to neutralize BA.4 and BA.5 viruses. In people who'd been vaccinated but recently had a breakthrough infection caused by BA.1, the drops were smaller, about three-fold lower.

By way of comparison, the World Health Organization uses an eight-fold drop in neutralization as the threshold for the loss of protection that requires an update to seasonal influenza vaccines.

The study results led the researchers to write that "BA.4 and BA.5 have potential to result in a new infection wave," making Covid-19 vaccinations and booster shots crucial to stopping the next wave.

"Our conclusions from this are, first, that Omicron by itself is not a great vaccine, right?" said Alex Sigal, a virologist at the Africa Health Research Institute who led the study. "Just because you were infected does not mean you have a lot of protection from what's coming next."

https://edition.cnn.com/2022/05/03/heal ... index.html

Postby alfa » May 7th, 2022, 9:12 pm

"Omicron by itself is not a great vaccine. Just because you were infected does not mean you have a lot of protection from what's coming next." - Alex Sigal, Africa Health Research Institute

The vaccine by itself apparently is not a great vaccine either

Postby sMASH » May 7th, 2022, 9:13 pm

adnj wrote:
sMASH wrote:
adnj wrote:

paid_influencer wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

Researchers in South Africa tested the ability of antibodies in blood to disable BA.4 and BA.5 viruses in a lab. In people who were unvaccinated but recently recovered from a BA.1 infection, they saw a more than seven-fold drop in the ability of their antibodies to neutralize BA.4 and BA.5 viruses. In people who'd been vaccinated but recently had a breakthrough infection caused by BA.1, the drops were smaller, about three-fold lower.

By way of comparison, the World Health Organization uses an eight-fold drop in neutralization as the threshold for the loss of protection that requires an update to seasonal influenza vaccines.

The study results led the researchers to write that "BA.4 and BA.5 have potential to result in a new infection wave," making Covid-19 vaccinations and booster shots crucial to stopping the next wave.

"Our conclusions from this are, first, that Omicron by itself is not a great vaccine, right?" said Alex Sigal, a virologist at the Africa Health Research Institute who led the study. "Just because you were infected does not mean you have a lot of protection from what's coming next."

common sense will tell u, the previous strain will be alot closer to the next strain, and train ur immune system a lot better than a vax made for the first strain with only one marker.

but keep on cutting and posting paid advertisments for big pharma.
#notvaxed
#alaive

Postby adnj » May 7th, 2022, 9:41 pm

sMASH wrote:
adnj wrote:
sMASH wrote:
adnj wrote:

paid_influencer wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

common sense will tell u, the previous strain will be alot closer to the next strain, and train ur immune system a lot better than a vax made for the first strain with only one marker.

but keep on cutting and posting paid advertisments for big pharma.
#notvaxed
#alaive

Common sense would tell you not to post.

Postby sMASH » May 7th, 2022, 11:16 pm

adnj wrote:
alfa wrote:"Omicron by itself is not a great vaccine. Just because you were infected does not mean you have a lot of protection from what's coming next." - Alex Sigal, Africa Health Research Institute

No. It's just better than infection.

In people who were unvaccinated but recently recovered from a BA.1 infection, they saw a more than seven-fold drop in the ability of their antibodies to neutralize BA.4 and BA.5 viruses. In people who'd been vaccinated but recently had a breakthrough infection caused by BA.1, the drops were smaller, about three-fold lower.

7 fold and 3 times is like what out of 0.1 and .5??? talking about small numbers an increase of 1 will show up big in 'folds'

the numbers ur talking about 5 times and 7 times, is on really small amount of cases... since omicron hit, vax uptake plateaued and was omicron keeping deaths low. before omicron, ur vax rate wasnt doing much.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 8th, 2022, 12:28 am

adnj wrote:
alfa wrote:"Omicron by itself is not a great vaccine. Just because you were infected does not mean you have a lot of protection from what's coming next." - Alex Sigal, Africa Health Research Institute

No. It's just better than infection.

In people who were unvaccinated but recently recovered from a BA.1 infection, they saw a more than seven-fold drop in the ability of their antibodies to neutralize BA.4 and BA.5 viruses. In people who'd been vaccinated but recently had a breakthrough infection caused by BA.1, the drops were smaller, about three-fold lower.

The flaw in your data is obvious.
A recently recovered patient has not completely seroconverted from IgM to IgG. So comparing a recently recovered covid patient with IgM with a person vaccinated perviously who then got covid and would have completely seroconverted to IgG (ent the vaccine supposed to protect against this?) is stupid at best.

Postby redmanjp » May 8th, 2022, 1:41 am

New study finds omicron no less severe than earlier variants

https://www.marketwatch.com/story/new-study-finds-omicron-no-less-severe-than-earlier-variants-and-not-just-more-transmissible-11651847345

the difference is there is more immunity in the population now than with earlier strains, but if u were never vaxxed nor infected - u still just as at risk of severe covid as u were in 2020-2021. only the delta strain was more severe- all the others including omicron have a similar level of severity as one another.

Postby aaron17 » May 8th, 2022, 7:24 am

"Although the unadjusted rates of hospital admission and mortality appeared to be higher in previous waves compared to the Omicron period, after adjusting for confounders including various demographics, Charlson comorbidity index scores, and vaccination status (and holding the healthcare utilization constant), we found that the risks of hospitalization and mortality were nearly identical between periods,” the authors wrote."

Oh ok. So they have their own calculation...smh

Postby paid_influencer » May 8th, 2022, 10:12 am

redmanjp wrote:New study finds omicron no less severe than earlier variants

https://www.marketwatch.com/story/new-study-finds-omicron-no-less-severe-than-earlier-variants-and-not-just-more-transmissible-11651847345

the difference is there is more immunity in the population now than with earlier strains, but if u were never vaxxed nor infected - u still just as at risk of severe covid as u were in 2020-2021. only the delta strain was more severe- all the others including omicron have a similar level of severity as one another.

so it not mild??

i was told it was mild
85xXj57.jpeg

Postby hover11 » May 8th, 2022, 10:17 am

paid_influencer wrote:

so it not mild??

i was told it was mild
Trust the science, they would never do anything to put lives at risk. Hard luck JnJ
FB_IMG_1652019427169.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » May 8th, 2022, 10:22 am

well, they didn't say not to use it. they just said it was less-safe than the mRNA vaccines, and for pharmacists not to give it unless the person specifically couldn't take an mRNA vaccine for some reason.

the FDA knew that it was less-safe for almost a year before they changed the recommendation tho. lol
Last edited by paid_influencer on May 8th, 2022, 10:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » May 8th, 2022, 10:23 am

hover11 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

so it not mild??

i was told it was mild
Trust the science, they would never do anything to put lives at risk. Hard luck JnJFB_IMG_1652019427169.jpg

Mainstream media and science is bought and paid for. See video below :

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=QAkQlZgnbUQ

Postby adnj » May 8th, 2022, 7:14 pm

"The reason for [Omicron] being 'milder' [in South Africa] was because of the evolution of immunity mainly inadvertently from natural infection and complemented by modest vaccine uptake."

So how does this square up with earlier findings that Omicron was milder, in particular those coming from South Africa, where the variant was first identified?

There, the West's initial disbelief about the data indicating mildness was a major source of irritation for figures such as Shabir Madhi, a professor of vaccinology at the University of the Witwatersrand and a top World Health Organization adviser.

On Thursday, Madhi told Fortune that he agreed Omicron was "not necessarily less deadly than earlier variants, as evident from the experience in Hong Kong."

Nonetheless, in the South African context, the Omicron wave caused around 7% of all COVID deaths since the start of the pandemic, as opposed to the preceding Delta wave, which caused around 45%.

"The reason for [Omicron] being 'milder' was because of the evolution of immunity mainly inadvertently from natural infection and complemented by modest vaccine uptake, rather than necessarily from intrinsic lower virulence of the variant," Madhi said.

The World Health Organization said Thursday that about 14.9 million people around the world were likely to have died from COVID by the end of 2021—nearly three times the official death toll, which was around 5.4 million.

The WHO based its calculation on "excess mortality" statistics that count how many more people died during the pandemic than could otherwise have been expected to die.

The toll includes not only those who directly succumbed to COVID, but also those who died because overwhelmed health care systems could not sufficiently treat them for other conditions.

https://fortune.com/2022/05/05/omicron- ... th-africa/

Postby S_2NR » May 8th, 2022, 10:02 pm

sinopharm is the least effective vaxx. ask any doctor working in the covid hospitals.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 9th, 2022, 12:25 am

S_2NR wrote:sinopharm is the least effective vaxx. ask any doctor working in the covid hospitals.

Data shows it doesn’t work for older folks but produces a good antibody response in younger folks.

So it protects the people who don’t need it and fails in the at risk groups.

Postby alfa » May 9th, 2022, 12:40 am

drchaos wrote:
S_2NR wrote:sinopharm is the least effective vaxx. ask any doctor working in the covid hospitals.

Data shows it doesn’t work for older folks but produces a good antibody response in younger folks.

Didn't the 'science ' say any vaccine is better than no vaccine and Rowley was using that to berate people who wanted to hold out for phizer saying we should take anything? Now they want people to take boosters for what wasn't working well to begin with. Not me and this COVID vaccine nonsense again nah. Two years into COVID and I good

Postby redmanjp » May 9th, 2022, 12:52 am

drchaos wrote:

is that for 2 doses? cuz ppl over 60 were advised to get a 3rd dose as a primary dose. or is it still ineffective after 3? if it is effective how many ppl who died didn't get the 3rd dose?

Postby redmanjp » May 9th, 2022, 1:06 am

alfa wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Didn't the 'science ' say any vaccine is better than no vaccine and Rowley was using that to berate people who wanted to hold out for phizer saying we should take anything? Now they want people to take boosters for what wasn't working well to begin with. Not me and this COVID vaccine nonsense again nah. Two years into COVID and I good

science evolves, especially when it involves something new like this virus - early last year we didnt have all the data and WHO had not yet recommended an additional dose. also availability was an issue prior to august last year so when we got the sinopharm and the gamma/brazilian variant was raging to the point we had to have ah SOE, if the only vaccine available was sinopharm what u wanted ppl to do? wait? at risk elderly who were dying 20 and 30 a day?

now however that we HAVE a choice of vaccines and we know the efficacy of sinopharm the MOH should now recommend pfizer above sinopharm, both as a booster and as the preferred choice for primary doses as well.

Postby Kenjo » May 9th, 2022, 10:03 am

redmanjp wrote:
alfa wrote:
drchaos wrote:

science evolves, especially when it involves something new like this virus - early last year we didnt have all the data and WHO had not yet recommended an additional dose. also availability was an issue prior to august last year so when we got the sinopharm and the gamma/brazilian variant was raging to the point we had to have ah SOE, if the only vaccine available was sinopharm what u wanted ppl to do? wait? at risk elderly who were dying 20 and 30 a day?

now however that we HAVE a choice of vaccines and we know the efficacy of sinopharm the MOH should now recommend pfizer above sinopharm, both as a booster and as the preferred choice for primary doses as well.

Thanks for explaining to men who are using January 2021 logic

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 10th, 2022, 12:48 am

Kenjo wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
alfa wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Thanks for explaining to men who are using January 2021 logic

Actually the science was not evolving ... It was already evolved.
From the Get go before T&T purchased Sino the data was available that the efficacy studies were only done in under 60ties. The over 60 at risk group were avoided in the Trials ... They left the people most likely to die from the virus out of the vaccine trial ...

Thats a big freaking alarm bell, and if you weren't aware .... it had nothing to do with the fact that the "Science was Evolving"
It meant you had your head up your arse and you weren't paying attention to the Government freaking you.