Landlords - Moratorium on Rent Payment ?

Re: Landlords - Moratorium on Rent Payment ?

Postby rspann » April 15th, 2020, 4:40 pm

The_Honourable wrote:He's lurking...

Probably looking from across the road...

He get ban from there too .

The mods in my area doh play . :D :D :D

No two weeks business.
Last edited by rspann on April 15th, 2020, 4:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Landlords - Moratorium on Rent Payment ?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 16th, 2020, 9:54 am

Businesses struggle to pay rent

“In March I would have paid my full rent and I am hoping to get a credit back,” said Tannous. “In April we seem to be getting a 75 per cent discount. Unfortunately, I don’t think that that is going to be sufficient. We are going to be requesting that we get 100 per cent, because we have not opened for April at all.”

"Rent-free is what most businesses are looking for. We can’t operate our business now. It should be rent-free.”

As far as official government policy goes, that question remains unanswered. As it stands, the businesses likely to survive covid19 are the ones that get as much support as possible over the coming weeks from landlords and other creditors.

http://newsday.co.tt/2020/04/16/busines ... -pay-rent/

What about landlords though - they have bills to pay also

Postby Dizzy28 » April 16th, 2020, 10:00 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Businesses struggle to pay rent

“In March I would have paid my full rent and I am hoping to get a credit back,” said Tannous. “In April we seem to be getting a 75 per cent discount. Unfortunately, I don’t think that that is going to be sufficient. We are going to be requesting that we get 100 per cent, because we have not opened for April at all.”

"Rent-free is what most businesses are looking for. We can’t operate our business now. It should be rent-free.”

As far as official government policy goes, that question remains unanswered. As it stands, the businesses likely to survive covid19 are the ones that get as much support as possible over the coming weeks from landlords and other creditors.

I think a lot of businesses and institutions in Trinidad missing the point about sharing the burden. It is crazy to think rent free anything is ok. Wasn't getting through with Scotia online but finally got though Tuesday night after calling the call centre. First thing when logged on was a message with the loan deferral they offering. They had two examples of how the programme works. Most critically the interest never stops.

Rent free would be fine if everybody in the entire chain was also going to be offering free (but in reality it cannot work that way). Interest still accrues, utilities have to be paid, salaries have to be met.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » April 16th, 2020, 10:42 am

Dem focusing on big boy business in movietowne wa about d small business man or individual.

Landlords have money, let dem dip into da money dey save by not declaring income years now only ducking tax an bussin price on men head because the have the means and access to capital. Plus too dey have collateral dem could go bank an take a small loan to survive for di hour while we plebs suffer home at least not havin to worry about rent.

come rowley make it rent free for 6 months for all residential rentals too.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 16th, 2020, 10:52 am

daxt0r wrote:

Dem focusing on big boy business in movietowne wa about d small business man or individual.

Landlords have money, let dem dip into da money dey save by not declaring income years now only ducking tax an bussin price on men head because the have the means and access to capital. Plus too dey have collateral dem could go bank an take a small loan to survive for di hour while we plebs suffer home at least not havin to worry about rent.

I am certain there is no existing law the PM can draw powers from to compel private property owners from not collecting rent.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » April 16th, 2020, 11:00 am

let we hope d link strong with d CJ still so dey could concoct some type of legislation quick to allow this. Maybe as part of the mortgage deferrals dey can get a small interest free loan from same bank to cover there expenses during the period.
ah find d AG should lead by example an giv the government rent free on his properties to kick in d legislation to, we all in this together after all.

Postby 88sins » April 16th, 2020, 11:06 am

daxt0r wrote:Dem focusing on big boy business in movietowne wa about d small business man or individual.

RedVEVO v2.0 spotted.
So lemme ask you sumn.
If yuh landlord worked hard in his youth, saved his money, suffered and went without things he wanted and needed, learned from observation, exercised careful planning and critical thinking, leveraged his savings and income to get "access to capital" to start his business of property rentals, exactly what part of all that makes your sufferer ass feel you of all people have any right or authority to query or question whether or not he paying taxes on his rental income, and what business is it of yours if he doesn't? If he not paying tax you want him give the money to you? If he not paying taxes, yuh want him to cut down on the rent? And if he lower the rent, how he maintaining the place? Or yuh rather he declares the rental income, pay what due in taxes, then he jack up yuh rent to make up for the shortfall? You go enjoy yuh landlord paying tax as much when he raises yuh rent by 25%?

What happn? Sumn wrong with you mentally or what? Landlord bullin yuh gyul and u hadda waiting on d road till he finish and yuh cyan handle it no more owa?
Boi, pay yuh rent, and humble yuh bumbles and be GLAD the situation it's what it is before yuh get what yuh want and realize too late that what you want have some consequences that you ain't want at all.

Postby rspann » April 16th, 2020, 11:18 am

He ignoring the fact that the gov't is offering to pay the rent . Or is it the "plebs" too lazy to go line up for the form , fill it out and access the grant ? That's why some people never rise out of their situation . They don't have a clue what it takes to reach the position of owning a building , probably that's why they stay being tenants. I must take a loan so that your lazy ass could stay at home and relax.

Postby The_Honourable » April 16th, 2020, 11:40 am

Many landlords that I know do pay their taxes. I have seen a lot of rental properties under an LLC as the landlord treats rental properties as a business. They lower their taxes but don't evade them. Many landlords are wise to do this not because they like paying taxes (who does?) but they know they will be made scapegoats and some tenants like to use "dey doh pay dey tax" excuses to try and put the landlord in trouble.

Until you actually become a landlord you will never understand the territory looking from the outside. The uninformed will usually bawl "dem landlords have money and doh pay tax". A lot of these persons from my observation live above their means or have their financial priorities all wrong. Then there is the poor due diligence of landlords who find themselves with troublemakers like this.

Maybe the landlord you have is a money satan but you also have the option to leave.

Postby zoom rader » April 16th, 2020, 11:51 am

daxt0r wrote:

Dumb arse Daxt0r.

Most landlord are paying multple mortgages and loans so you jack arse folk can afford a roof over you heads.

Just how you living hand to mouth they often live the same way for many years. They can't go to banks and demand a grace or seek the goverment grant.

You and the other clowns can get the goverment grant which is provided for qualified citizens, landlords can't do this.

As for landlords paying taxes on income, they can't pay any if they are not marking a profit while paying back the bank and maintenance. Same any other bussiness .

As one tuner said landlords not paying taxes is none of your bussiness. Your business is to secure a roof over your head.

I paid multple mortages and loans for over 20 years. I did not buy Jordans, kfc and brands. Those things are for you sorry arse lazy PNM ppl.

Postby 88sins » April 16th, 2020, 12:26 pm

daxt0r mentality = #foreveratenant
But to besides all d ole talk, it have PLENTY young people that, for want of their own way and playing adult, jump outta themselves and leave their parents home to go pay rent, or even more common their parents fed up of them sitting home scratching, smoking weed all day, forever on a block, with zero movement towards anything constructive. Then they move out/get put out, they bawling when they realize renting ain't as nice as what they see on tv. Some humble themselves and move back home, but many burn that bridge on the way out.

I does tell ppl, if yuh renting and you can pay yuh rent, do so and be glad you can. Because they extremely lucky they renting in Trinidad where ppl still somewhat relaxed. In some countries, if the landlord find out today you lost your job today, you getting a eviction notice tonight on the door.

Postby rspann » April 16th, 2020, 3:38 pm

Stop buying food outside three times a day , use the money to pay rent .

Sell all your gold / jewelry and pay the rent .

Sell your latest sneakers and pay the rent .

Sell the chrome rims and pay the rent .

Use the weed / cigarette / alcohol money and pay the rent .

Use the party / boat ride money to pay the rent .

The money you spend on outside women use it for rent .

Download the rent with that $7000 phone you have

Sell the big screen TV and pay rent .

Sell all the expensive outfits and pay rent .

Sell the music from the car and pay the rent .

Sell the Isuzu pickup and pay 6 months at once

Go line up and get the forms to get the gov't rent money .

See how much options there are before you make excuses not to pay the rent ?

It is understood the times are hard , but be responsible for your own life and don't blame / hate on the landlord for his own thing .

Tenants often spend more money and live a more luxurious life than some landlords .

See that last line in Duane's post ?
Last edited by rspann on April 16th, 2020, 6:02 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby rspann » April 16th, 2020, 3:42 pm

daxt0r wrote:let we hope d link strong with d CJ still so dey could concoct some type of legislation quick to allow this. Maybe as part of the mortgage deferrals dey can get a small interest free loan from same bank to cover there expenses during the period.
ah find d AG should lead by example an giv the government rent free on his properties to kick in d legislation to, we all in this together after all.

Why should someone get a loan to cover YOUR expenses ? What about the grant the gov't has offered ? Why mustn't the tenant use this to pay the rent .

What legislation they could bring to take peoples property away from them and do what they like with it ?
Last edited by rspann on April 16th, 2020, 3:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » April 16th, 2020, 3:43 pm

These PNM ppl have life too easy

Postby rspann » April 16th, 2020, 4:04 pm

This thread would have been better if there were genuine tenants here who were interested in finding out how to get out of the rent trap and get your own , possibly even being a landlord one day too.

Postby adnj » April 16th, 2020, 4:12 pm

Tenant @ $0/month = Empty apartment @ $0/month.

Postby rspann » April 16th, 2020, 4:22 pm

...but no wear and tear . No bills . No repairs .

Postby rspann » April 16th, 2020, 6:00 pm

RedVEVO , what happen? You not banned but you abandon the thread? You supposed to give one month notice otherwise you can't get a refund of your security deposit.

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » April 16th, 2020, 6:58 pm

rspann wrote:^^^
I taking over this thread . I not paying no rent for it either .

I levy on the owner and he move out .

Free for the next six months . :D :D :D

The former owner have no rights again . These are DIFFERENT times . :D :D :D

RedSPANN.

Lol how much account RedVEVO have

abducted

Postby abducted » April 16th, 2020, 7:09 pm

Sauce stopped paying rent, landlord changed locks holding equipment to ransom claiming 3 months rent due

https://www.facebook.com/77517351616960 ... 766614618/

D'Original Sauce Hot Doubles: "my sister who owns the chase village branch her landlord do not want to wafer the rent and said to her if she cannot pay the rent in full he want her out she had decided she will leave because since she opened there 3 years now the landlord had rise the rent 4 times.....when she went yesterday to move her stuff he changed the locks at the premises so she couldn't enter she had made previous reports to the police so she went back to them they told her its a civil matter she needs to get a lawyer so she went to a lawyer he the lawyer gave her a letter to serve him to allow her to get her stuff at the premises he refused the letter and wanted to hit her husband with a brick i will upload the videos showing exactly wat happened"

Postby rspann » April 16th, 2020, 7:09 pm

Yeah boy MDtuner70 , that is true.

Postby rspann » April 16th, 2020, 7:16 pm

The brick he took up was in the street ?

Gary really warn us that there would be roadblocks all over.

Postby gastly369 » April 16th, 2020, 7:20 pm

rspann wrote:Stop buying food outside three times a day , use the money to pay rent .

Sell all your gold / jewelry and pay the rent .

Sell your latest sneakers and pay the rent .

Sell the chrome rims and pay the rent .

Use the weed / cigarette / alcohol money and pay the rent .

Use the party / boat ride money to pay the rent .

The money you spend on outside women use it for rent .

Download the rent with that $7000 phone you have

Sell the big screen TV and pay rent .

Sell all the expensive outfits and pay rent .

Sell the music from the car and pay the rent .

Sell the Isuzu pickup and pay 6 months at once

Go line up and get the forms to get the gov't rent money .

See how much options there are before you make excuses not to pay the rent ?

It is understood the times are hard , but be responsible for your own life and don't blame / hate on the landlord for his own thing .

Tenants often spend more money and live a more luxurious life than some landlords .

See that last line in Duane's post ?
Screenshot_20200416_191943.jpeg

Postby pugboy » April 16th, 2020, 7:22 pm

wow
a big belly injun in a wife beaters

Postby maj. tom » April 16th, 2020, 7:23 pm

what's all dem hand movements? Patrajesh doing a classical indian dance interpretation?
If the story is true as reported he is a real scumbag. And from his actions and the way he looks, seems like it too.

Postby Chimera » April 16th, 2020, 7:45 pm

Rofl. Pundit sharma yes. One of the nastiest individuals you will come across in life

Postby Chimera » April 16th, 2020, 7:48 pm

Longtime that pundit use to have a show on tv on how to be a good hindu. I almost die from laughter when I see he is the man have that show.

Postby 88sins » April 16th, 2020, 7:58 pm

Fatman say they owing 3 months rent, and we're about 1 month into this shutdown. So unless they have evidence to prove that their rent payments up to date, I can't say he totally in d wrong for changing the locks. You want your equipment, he want his back rent. Pay what you owe, collect your jahaji bundle and go. He fully well within his rights to refuse to accept whatever used toilet paper letter from whatever bush lawyer they walk with as well. So what reason they have for not paying the rent for January to March? And what evidence they have to prove they did? And why should he allow them entry to the premises to move out while they still owe him? So they make the money, keep the profit, and he gets the shaft?

Where he went very wrong was to threaten them with that block on the road tho. Very stupid.

Postby Chimera » April 16th, 2020, 8:02 pm

Knowing that man....them ppl not owing any rent. He does go in your place and mash up the stuff inside and pelt down your car with bricks if yuh eh pay a month. His son is a lawyer. Hes a accountant and conman/pundit.
88sins wrote:Fatman say they owing 3 months rent, and we're about 1 month into this shutdown. So unless they have evidence to prove that their rent payments up to date, I can't say he totally in d wrong for changing the locks. You want your equipment, he want his back rent. Pay what you owe, collect your jahaji bundle and go. He fully well within his rights to refuse to accept whatever used toilet paper letter from whatever bush lawyer they walk with as well. So what reason they have for not paying the rent for January to March? And what evidence they have to prove they did? And why should he allow them entry to the premises to move out while they still owe him? So they make the money, keep the profit, and he gets the shaft?

Where he went very wrong was to threaten them with that block on the road tho. Very stupid.

abducted

Postby abducted » April 16th, 2020, 8:04 pm

Probably there is a clause where stopping rent suddenly will incur a 3 month rent payment?