Re: Gas prices to raise, again.

Postby Redman » January 7th, 2021, 7:29 am

The 65MW unit can run on NG or Diesel.

death365

Postby death365 » January 7th, 2021, 8:18 am

ok i stand corrected about the electricity thing. but the rest of goods will increase if diesel goes up to "Market value"

Postby zoom rader » January 7th, 2021, 8:40 am

death365 wrote:ok i stand corrected about the electricity thing. but the rest of goods will increase if diesel goes up to "Market value"
Well that's what 320000 kants voted for

Postby Habit7 » January 7th, 2021, 10:40 am

Habit7 wrote:
zoom rader wrote:I never said subsea cable is fuel

That stand by power is not entirely true. They run the diesel engines alongside the turbines. With turbines you have to run them for certain hours.

It all depends on the power demand for the island. It is not wise to run turbines for low Power demand. That's why the diesel engines are best suited for small power demands.

In T&T all electricity is produced using natural gas making our twin island state the second nation in the world to achieve this feat (the first being Qatar). https://energynow.tt/blog/understanding ... sidy-in-tt

Dummy I have worked in the following industries, Oil & Gas, Steel, water, Chem and Power. I am giving first hand knowledge on the operations on Power plants for smaller areas . Tobago cycles its operations depending on the power demand . They still use diesel.

At peak demand the turbines will be put on load, off peak they switch to diesel. They need to have the correct ratio on the Active Power to Reactive Power .

Producing 65Mega Watts and not having a load for it is not efficient. Smaller Units are better suited.

You lot sit and read articles and take that as gospel truth , which most of time are written by folk that have never worked in the field nor understand the inner workings

I care little for who you are. I have expertise in that area as well, but I don't want to do the same fallacy of authority you constantly commit. Me citing articles is me being not just a tuner running his mouth, I am pointing to the Ministry of Energy and the Energy Chamber agreeing with me.

Here is the Chairman of T&TEC, “This includes enhanced redundancy, diversification of the generation fleet, a de-rated 40-year-old cable capable of transmitting only 15 megawatts from Trinidad, two aged generators in Scarborough capable of generating only eight megawatts in standby mode and very importantly, the need for downtime to effect essential repairs and overhauls at Cove." https://newsday.co.tt/2017/12/06/power- ... o-economy/

The demand in Tobago is 56 MW, Cove can do 65 MW, the old diesel generators and subsea cable is for redundancy. So, nobody cares about your resume, especially when you are wrong.

The point is diesel pays little to no role in our electric energy generation.

Postby zoom rader » January 7th, 2021, 11:02 am

Habit7 wrote:

That stand by power is not entirely true. They run the diesel engines alongside the turbines. With turbines you have to run them for certain hours.

It all depends on the power demand for the island. It is not wise to run turbines for low Power demand. That's why the diesel engines are best suited for small power demands.

In T&T all electricity is produced using natural gas making our twin island state the second nation in the world to achieve this feat (the first being Qatar). https://energynow.tt/blog/understanding ... sidy-in-tt

Dummy I have worked in the following industries, Oil & Gas, Steel, water, Chem and Power. I am giving first hand knowledge on the operations on Power plants for smaller areas . Tobago cycles its operations depending on the power demand . They still use diesel.

At peak demand the turbines will be put on load, off peak they switch to diesel. They need to have the correct ratio on the Active Power to Reactive Power .

Producing 65Mega Watts and not having a load for it is not efficient. Smaller Units are better suited.

You lot sit and read articles and take that as gospel truth , which most of time are written by folk that have never worked in the field nor understand the inner workings

I care little for who you are. I have expertise in that area as well, but I don't want to do the same fallacy of authority you constantly commit. Me citing articles is me being not just a tuner running his mouth, I am pointing to the Ministry of Energy and the Energy Chamber agreeing with me.

Here is the Chairman of T&TEC, “This includes enhanced redundancy, diversification of the generation fleet, a de-rated 40-year-old cable capable of transmitting only 15 megawatts from Trinidad, two aged generators in Scarborough capable of generating only eight megawatts in standby mode and very importantly, the need for downtime to effect essential repairs and overhauls at Cove." https://newsday.co.tt/2017/12/06/power- ... o-economy/

The demand in Tobago is 56 MW, Cove can do 65 MW, the old diesel generators and subsea cable is for redundancy. So, nobody cares about your resume, especially when you are wrong.

The point was your statement was misleading saying that Trinidad is 100% on NG for fuel on Power. When in fact diesel generation is still in use in stand by or not.

Sit and read articles and believe it's all true.

At least tuners now know that diesel engines for Power generation is still active.

Until the diesels are decommissioned then you can say we are fully 100% running on NG

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » January 7th, 2021, 11:15 am

I understand what you're saying zoom but your terminology is wrong
Trinidad is in fact 100% NG for electrical generation. Cove has back up generators that are diesel but almost never put any electricity generated by them on the grid. Those generators aren't capable of supplying anything close to the required demand capacity and would only be used in emergencies such as a couple years back when NGC interlock valves failed and even then it's only to supply to critical resources and not domestic usage per say.
Most industrial downstream industries have backup diesel generators in the event of power loss but it's just to provide step downs to allow the plants to safely come offline.
Habit7 wrote:

The point was your statement was misleading saying that Trinidad is 100% on NG for fuel on Power. When in fact diesel generation is still in use in stand by or not.

At least tuners now know that diesel engines for Power generation is still active.

Until the diesels are decommissioned then you can say we are fully 100% running on NG

Postby zoom rader » January 7th, 2021, 11:38 am

jhonnieblue wrote:I understand what you're saying zoom but your terminology is wrong
Trinidad is in fact 100% NG for electrical generation. Cove has back up generators that are diesel but almost never put any electricity generated by them on the grid. Those generators aren't capable of supplying anything close to the required demand capacity and would only be used in emergencies such as a couple years back when NGC interlock valves failed and even then it's only to supply to critical resources and not domestic usage per say.
Most industrial downstream industries have backup diesel generators in the event of power loss but it's just to provide step downs to allow the plants to safely come offline.
Habit7 wrote:

I don't think you all understand that the turbines run on both NG & Diesel aside from the diesel piston engines.

It has dual fuel supply. Most Offshore oil Riggs use dual fuel in case of NG supply loss.

They have to switch them on either fuel s for preventative maintenance in order to make certain that the diesel supply is functional and vice-versa for NG.

What will happen if there is a loss of NG to Tobago?

Hope you all understand how small scale power plants work.

Smaller islands have to use two or more different fuels as they are too small to depend on one fuel.

Cayman Island uses , diesel, twin turbines and solar with an upgrade for NG .

Folks never work in industry but dem know cause they read an article on-line

Postby Redman » January 7th, 2021, 12:39 pm

if there is no NG then the whole of TnT would be diesel fired.

Its like saying that TnT homes are lit by candle-cuz we all have candles incase current goes.

Postby zoom rader » January 7th, 2021, 12:56 pm

Redman wrote:lol
if there is no NG then the whole of TnT would be diesel fired.

Its like saying that TnT homes are lit by candle-cuz we all have candles incase current goes.
We was part diesel and steam generation around the early 1900s

Its only because this Island "HAD" Industrial plants that there was a greater need for more power and then oil & gas came along which changed the development

Jah is a trini but the red government abuses him

Postby timelapse » January 8th, 2021, 6:26 pm

:roll: Yet nobody sees it necessary to harness alternative sources of energy for electricity , which we have plenty of, namely sun and wind. I wonder how fast T&Tec will look to shut me down if I set up a solar farm?

Postby sMASH » January 8th, 2021, 6:56 pm

Allyuh know Massey selling off assets in the other islands.

Postby Habit7 » January 8th, 2021, 7:56 pm

timelapse wrote::roll: Yet nobody sees it necessary to harness alternative sources of energy for electricity , which we have plenty of, namely sun and wind. I wonder how fast T&Tec will look to shut me down if I set up a solar farm?

https://www.loopcayman.com/content/imbe ... aribbean-0

Postby 88sins » January 8th, 2021, 9:16 pm

timelapse wrote::roll: Yet nobody sees it necessary to harness alternative sources of energy for electricity , which we have plenty of, namely sun and wind. I wonder how fast T&Tec will look to shut me down if I set up a solar farm?

Not T&TEC, the electrical inspectorate

Postby zoom rader » January 8th, 2021, 9:29 pm

Habit7 wrote:

https://www.loopcayman.com/content/imbe ... aribbean-0
Don't get conned with that.

Postby timelapse » January 11th, 2021, 7:15 am

Not T&TEC, the electrical inspectorate

Inspectorate just need their bribe.Normal thing for getting any house inspected. T&Tec plays for the long term, so I guessing they will be the ones to shut it down.

killercow

Gas prices to raise, again.

Postby killercow » March 7th, 2021, 9:28 am

redakkmooz58 wrote:govament goin an remover super gas n only allow premium gas in d cuntry.....
hahahahahahahahahahaahahaaa
ent most cars make dese days run on 88 to 92? now peeondem say meh ole 1996 civic need 95 gas hahahaahahaa

i rel laughin hre at how dis guvament rapin we like Balcon n we like dat. dey teefin all we money in road fine buh cyah fix d road now no mor super gas hahahahahahahaaaa read d sunday gardian papers..........
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/government-to-decide-on-removing-super-gasoline-6.2.1298435.dcc16294a2

Government to decide on removing Super gasoline

Postby sMASH » March 7th, 2021, 9:30 am

who cares at this point, pal. we dont know what is real austerity in this country. the point is to reduce the amount of driving cars on the road.
if the people begging for bread, let them eat cake. ur car goh drink nice gas from now on.

Postby paid_influencer » March 7th, 2021, 9:39 am

redakkmooz58 wrote:govament goin an remover super gas n only allow premium gas in d cuntry.....
hahahahahahahahahahaahahaaa
ent most cars make dese days run on 88 to 92? now peeondem say meh ole 1996 civic need 95 gas hahahaahahaa

i rel laughin hre at how dis guvament rapin we like Balcon n we like dat. dey teefin all we money in road fine buh cyah fix d road now no mor super gas hahahahahahahaaaa read d sunday gardian papers..........

jajajajajajaja

Postby bluefete » March 7th, 2021, 10:42 am

Remembers something about rich getting richer.

But as long as the poor man only care about his red gov't, no matter what they do to him, who am I?

Only when people really start to protest, then I will care because it means that others have seen the light.

Postby zoom rader » March 7th, 2021, 11:11 am

sMASH wrote:who cares at this point, pal. we dont know what is real austerity in this country. the point is to reduce the amount of driving cars on the road.
if the people begging for bread, let them eat cake. ur car goh drink nice gas from now on.
Eat cake and pay Arse Wari rents . Plus pay for Jeremy CCTV cameras .

The great red government con Job

What a jack arse country

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 7th, 2021, 11:15 am

So will they have to retrofit the pumps when there is only Premium? Or it would be Premium and Premium for both at each terminal?

Postby sMASH » March 7th, 2021, 11:44 am

could put KY in the former super pumps

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 7th, 2021, 11:54 am

First they tell you how to eat!!!! Now they telling you what gas they feel you need...

Right foot left foot
Take bull
Getting it done

Toyo1777

Postby Toyo1777 » March 7th, 2021, 11:56 am

Looks like things are going to be real hard this year

Postby paid_influencer » March 7th, 2021, 12:14 pm

from a gas station efficiency point this should be great though. Massive bump to peak capacity for any given vehicle type

gas station owners probably loving this

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 7th, 2021, 12:25 pm

paid_influencer wrote:from a gas station efficiency point this should be great though. Massive bump to peak capacity for any given vehicle type

Don't see how, in fact we just gonna end up with a ton of unused pump handles now.

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 7th, 2021, 12:35 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:from a gas station efficiency point this should be great though. Massive bump to peak capacity for any given vehicle type

Don't see how, in fact we just gonna end up with a ton of unused pump handles now.

Nope, nope, nope. Someone is going to get a billion dollar contract to change red handles to white.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 7th, 2021, 12:37 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Nope, nope, nope. Someone is going to get a billion dollar contract to change red handles to white.

Lol yea maybe, but it still don't matter in terms of gas station capacity, the pump fills one car at a time.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 7th, 2021, 12:44 pm

Zoom boi, couldn't agree with you more about this country.
SMH
People could never stand up for anything. State of the roads, supply of water, difficulty of doing business, list goes on.
When will people actually stand up? Oh wait, sorry this is Trinidad, as you were
sMASH wrote:who cares at this point, pal. we dont know what is real austerity in this country. the point is to reduce the amount of driving cars on the road.
Eat cake and pay Arse Wari rents . Plus pay for Jeremy CCTV cameras .

The great red government con Job

What a jack arse country

Postby Dave » March 7th, 2021, 12:51 pm

It might be repurposed as was done with the traffic lights that was removed years ago.
Dohplaydat wrote: