The official tropical weather thread - 2012

Re: The official tropical weather thread: FLOOD PICS pg 18

Postby rollingstock » August 11th, 2012, 1:04 pm

Had to call out my guys early this morning and headed out myself, just reached back home, WOW
Place really in a mess.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » August 11th, 2012, 1:04 pm

Well Sir Duane we can put things in place clean the drains and alot more to makesure and help the water drain faster. Build reinforcement walls where the land is caving down etc.

redman2k8

Postby redman2k8 » August 11th, 2012, 1:11 pm

Thank you very much Duane... Well said

redman2k8

Postby redman2k8 » August 11th, 2012, 1:11 pm

Thank you very much Duane... Well said

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » August 11th, 2012, 1:13 pm

Geeze, isn't the government seeing this sheit? Steups.

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » August 11th, 2012, 1:16 pm

wheeyyy....

i honestly feel sorry for those hard hit by all this.. gonna buy some candles and a better flashlight now yes..!

Postby Habit7 » August 11th, 2012, 1:19 pm

We can only mitigate.

That is a perennial problem that has be happening probably since before the Amerindians and will get worst as population density increases in these areas.

Let no politician fool you that they can solve flooding.

TriP

Postby TriP » August 11th, 2012, 1:21 pm

after the floodss
Fairways after flood.jpg
Lower Saddle Rd opposite Adams Bagels.jpg
Maraval Rd 1.jpg
Maraval Rd 2.jpg
Maraval Rd 3.jpg
Pizza Boys Maraval after flood.jpg
Royal Palm Plaza Maraval after flood.jpg
Saddle Rd.jpg

Postby rfari » August 11th, 2012, 1:24 pm

^^ways, i work a couple buildings away from royal palm plaza. i'm sure the carpark under water

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 11th, 2012, 1:27 pm

firstchoicett wrote:Well Sir Duane we can put things in place clean the drains and alot more to makesure and help the water drain faster. Build reinforcement walls where the land is caving down etc.
money doesnt prevent people from dumping garbage in water ways, money doesnt prevent people from squatting on hillsides or building large houses without infrastructure for heavy drainage.

there is large infrastructure for the Maraval river, however if there is too much rain the drainage system cannot handle it

the land was not caving down before it started raining this morning BTW, so I'm not sure what you wanted them to fix.

I'm not discounting that infrastructure is needed in Maraval and Diego Martin (even though both places already have massive drain systems). But simple physics dictates that valleys will flood when there is heavy rain.

We absolutely cannot survive a hurricane if a much smaller low pressure ITCZ activity caused this kind of damage - however the problem is not spending money - it may be getting thousands of people to relocate their houses since no proper planning was done prior.

TriP

Postby TriP » August 11th, 2012, 1:34 pm

car ..streets in mud/slush
mud.jpg
552758_10150981509491434_1546738697_n.jpg
427012_10150981516886434_1299528070_n.jpg
297092_10150981513996434_1163613996_n.jpg
315335_10150981507941434_1949454079_n.jpg
226374_10150981511661434_1209032610_n.jpg
208293_10150981515671434_257663979_n.jpg
189427_10150981511371434_1794185990_n.jpg

Postby wagonrunner » August 11th, 2012, 1:34 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:however the problem is not spending money - it may be getting thousands of people to relocate their houses since no proper planning was done prior.

bingo. everybody wanna be in the west. that's your population density / less ground absorption right there.

Postby pugboy » August 11th, 2012, 1:43 pm

history repeats itself
it was late last year when same flash flooding occurred and country club wall fell down

TriP

Postby TriP » August 11th, 2012, 1:50 pm

floodsss
Maraval 6.jpg
217856_10150981516761434_656521310_n.jpg
along the diego river.jpg
Maraval next to Fairways along Saddle Rd.jpg
Maraval Rd 7.jpg
Maraval Rd 8.jpg
this tree fell on a house apparentl.jpg
this tree fell on a house apparentl.jpg (27.69 KiB) Viewed 3518 times
Wood brook.jpg

Postby wagonrunner » August 11th, 2012, 1:50 pm

woohoo. they're ok, and mostly unaffected so far. YUSH!!!!!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 11th, 2012, 1:56 pm

Flood in Glencoe video

Postby tr1ad » August 11th, 2012, 1:57 pm

just wondering if the level of concern would be the same if it was south of the lighthouse

triniangie

Postby triniangie » August 11th, 2012, 1:58 pm

Glencoe pic

TriP

Postby TriP » August 11th, 2012, 1:59 pm

service update

The Fire Service has rushed to the assistance of several persons who have been trapped in a house at Morne Coco Road. According to the ODPM, six persons are in the house located at Clover Street. It is not yet known if any have sustained injuries
SERVICE UPDATE .jpg

mesue

Re: The official tropical weather thread: image updates on p

Postby mesue » August 11th, 2012, 2:05 pm

Habit7 wrote:marijuana is illegal

lololol!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 11th, 2012, 2:07 pm

Interestingly and despite the epic damage cause here in Trinidad, the tropical feature that we experienced this morning (somewhat related to TD7) was actually downgraded.

Imagine if it was an intensification!

T.D. 7 is no more
Stu Ostro, Senior Meteorologist, The Weather Channel
Aug 11, 2012 1:43 pm ET
Graphical tropical update: Tropics Watch
ATLANTIC
- Tropical Depression Seven has degenerated into a tropical wave as it heads toward the Caribbean.
- Convection (thunderstorms) has been flaring at times in the western Caribbean, and will be worth watching if it persists, but it has been erratic enough that no imminent tropical cyclone development is expected.

we are clearly not able to handle even a tropical depression, or worse a tropical storm or even worst, a hurricane!

Xplode

Postby Xplode » August 11th, 2012, 2:09 pm

@ the look of damages gov't money and man power will be put to good use this week.

Postby wagonrunner » August 11th, 2012, 2:15 pm

tr1ad wrote:just wondering if the level of concern would be the same if it was south of the lighthouse

valid. very valid.

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » August 11th, 2012, 2:31 pm

great job wit the pic and vids.. keep them coming.... the coverage is far better than any news station

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » August 11th, 2012, 2:35 pm

Habit7 wrote:We can only mitigate.

That is a perennial problem that has be happening probably since before the Amerindians and will get worst as population density increases in these areas.

Let no politician fool you that they can solve flooding.

nice waterfall.

Postby Monk BANzai » August 11th, 2012, 2:39 pm

firstchoicett wrote:Well Sir Duane we can put things in place clean the drains and alot more to makesure and help the water drain faster. Build reinforcement walls where the land is caving down etc.
money doesnt prevent people from dumping garbage in water ways, money doesnt prevent people from squatting on hillsides or building large houses without infrastructure for heavy drainage.

there is large infrastructure for the Maraval river, however if there is too much rain the drainage system cannot handle it

the land was not caving down before it started raining this morning BTW, so I'm not sure what you wanted them to fix.

I'm not discounting that infrastructure is needed in Maraval and Diego Martin (even though both places already have massive drain systems). But simple physics dictates that valleys will flood when there is heavy rain.

We absolutely cannot survive a hurricane if a much smaller low pressure ITCZ activity caused this kind of damage - however the problem is not spending money - it may be getting thousands of people to relocate their houses since no proper planning was done prior.

Co-sign. Well said.

Postby pioneer » August 11th, 2012, 2:40 pm

any xtrails were flooded out?...i lookin for some parts

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » August 11th, 2012, 2:44 pm

pioneer wrote:any xtrails were flooded out?...i lookin for some parts

Postby Monk BANzai » August 11th, 2012, 2:46 pm

TriP wrote:service update

The Fire Service has rushed to the assistance of several persons who have been trapped in a house at Morne Coco Road. According to the ODPM, six persons are in the house located at Clover Street. It is not yet known if any have sustained injuries

a bit lost.... back systems (which i assume is diesel run) ran out so soon?....Man heads would roll this week. You cant have a back up system failing lest than 12 ...no wait....SIX HOURS after it was initialized? If it was more of the western grid what would have been the backups use?.....

Anyone knows if ODPM has setup camps along the west corridor with the Defence Force or any other protective services? Im seeign a a setta BBM's and Facebook updates to call 4 numbers (which im sure gets blocked up due to the archaic trunk line system) but nothing much other than that.

This is really not a good "dry run" for something that could have been much more impacting...ESPECIALLY given that it happened nearly a year ago.....what lessons were learnt? What did the ODPM really do? cuz it looks like they've been caught with their pants almost down again.

Hadda give Chuna props though.... i think we're spreading more info right now than the ODPM and other offices combined... Even Facebook is not as fast as Tuner....

speedbird777

Re: The official tropical weather thread: image updates on p

Postby speedbird777 » August 11th, 2012, 2:53 pm

Parvin wrote:
speedbird777 wrote:
Parvin wrote:Serious lightning strike made a hole on the Piarco International Airport Ramp.

Saw a huge flash of light and though it was an explosion.

where you get that info from??

I was on jetbridge 5 when it happened. United Airlines was pulling into gate 4 when it happened too

ok i know which one of the lightening strikes that was. we had a few that strike d airport compound this morning. scary sheit from my point of view. the duty manager did inspection but didnt say anything :S