Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thread

Sumana.00

Re: Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thre

Postby Sumana.00 » June 12th, 2012, 2:51 pm

I don't exactly remember posting that this was a total salad. I said Ravioli, Side Salad & Grilled Chicken - Sorry you didn't see all green but I didn't create that expectation.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » June 12th, 2012, 2:57 pm

Sumana.00 wrote:Option for those working in POS & Environs: https://www.facebook.com/groups/greatsalads/

Ravioli with side salad & grilled chicken

:sick: :sick: :sick: :sick: :sick:

lettuce looks like it wasn't washed

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » June 12th, 2012, 2:57 pm

RapToR wrote:
Sumana.00 wrote:Option for those working in POS & Environs: https://www.facebook.com/groups/greatsalads/

go eat yuh kiss cake :P

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 12th, 2012, 3:03 pm

Here's a light lunch that works well for me.

4-6 leaves lettuce, chopped
1 large tomato, sliced
3 pimentos, chopped
1/2 green pepper, choppped
8-10 raisins
1 tin thai chili tuna from Pmart. (160 cal per tin)

If you need more protein take 2 tins thai tuna instead.
No salad dressing.
Even if you take 2 tins tuna, it still works out to under 400 calories, not bad for lunch.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » June 12th, 2012, 3:03 pm

Sumana.00 wrote:
RapToR wrote:

go eat yuh kiss cake :P

last time i ate that cake

had a roach in it

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » June 12th, 2012, 3:05 pm

Sumana.00 wrote:I don't exactly remember posting that this was a total salad. I said Ravioli, Side Salad & Grilled Chicken - Sorry you didn't see all green but I didn't create that expectation.

One would expect that soliciting information on a place catering to "Gourmet Salad Lunch Boxes" and doing business as "Just Salad" would sell meals reflective of just that: salads.

Those "salads" look no more healthier than your Subway, but hey, whatever floats your boat. :lol:

Postby X_Factor » June 12th, 2012, 3:43 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Here's a light lunch that works well for me.

1 large tomato, sliced
3 pimentos, chopped
8-10 raisins

No salad dressing.
Even if you take 2 tins tuna, it still works out to under 400 calories, not bad for lunch.

i wish i could eat like that and be full for more than 1hr!!

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » June 12th, 2012, 3:58 pm

subway sea food 6 inch before gym...wo yo. :/ when you have no option to make something and need something for weights workout what other choice is there? coming from work! subway conveniently under gym.

Postby AllTrac » June 12th, 2012, 4:11 pm

1 large tomato, sliced
3 pimentos, chopped
8-10 raisins

No salad dressing.

im a little iffy about those flavored tunas, how much is the sugar content and carb content in a tin?

Postby AllTrac » June 12th, 2012, 4:14 pm

btw, im asking because those things a are special things i look at with my diet, might not be an issue with your diet because of your purpose and aims.

Postby AllTrac » June 12th, 2012, 4:15 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Sumana.00 wrote:I don't exactly remember posting that this was a total salad. I said Ravioli, Side Salad & Grilled Chicken - Sorry you didn't see all green but I didn't create that expectation.

One would expect that soliciting information on a place catering to "Gourmet Salad Lunch Boxes" and doing business as "Just Salad" would sell meals reflective of just that: salads.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 12th, 2012, 5:01 pm

X_Factor wrote:

1 large tomato, sliced
3 pimentos, chopped
8-10 raisins

No salad dressing.

i wish i could eat like that and be full for more than 1hr!!

X that is not for a fella like you.....dais my kinda meal (except my tuna would be the flaked in water that I squeezed out the water and give a quick fry and no tomato nor raisins)

when you eat something like that you start to sweat not too long after....

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 12th, 2012, 9:20 pm

Trac, I use the calorie count to manage my meals and snacks.

The breakdown is here http://www.livestrong.com/thedailyplate ... hai-chili/

not bad at all, esp if you skip the salad dressing, that's where those hidden calories add up.

Postby sharkman121 » June 12th, 2012, 10:56 pm

i used to use livestrongs cal counter, however in the past cpl weeks i shifted to http://www.myfitnesspal.com/.

They have a lot of local food in their database containing the exact calorific content and portion sizes which is more specific to what we eat including, crix, arawak chicken, kiss bread etc etc.

Aside from that theyre basically the same though.

Scoop

Postby Scoop » June 13th, 2012, 12:05 am

prepped lunch for tom..two grilled salmon fillets seasoned with oregano and blackpepper with one grilled hash brown

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 13th, 2012, 1:35 am

^^^yum...except for the hash brown....low carbs for me thank you...lol

2sweet

Postby 2sweet » June 13th, 2012, 1:52 am

Has anyone sent a treadmill using their skybox or freight service for ocean shipping? I know there are no duties or VAT on fitness and exercise equipment. However, I was wondering what freight charges are like with ocean shipping as these treadmills are generally around 250 lbs.

I have bought two treadmills locally within the past couple years and sold both of them soon after with barely any use. I paid 7k for one and 5.5k for the other and liked neither of them. It seems that all the good quality treadmills here are in excess of 12k and places here usually stock older models. There are some excellent, quality machines for about $1000usd which is significantly less than what is sold here, even taking the freight into consideration I think.

Also, if anyone knows where I can get a high quality, non flimsy treadmill for less than 10k locally and one that is a newer model with that manufacturer, please let me know. I am looking for one with lots of functions, different programmed target workouts, proper functioning and fairly accurate heart rate monitor and at least 15 levels of incline, etc.
Last edited by 2sweet on June 13th, 2012, 2:37 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby sharkman121 » June 13th, 2012, 2:28 am

2sweet wrote:Has anyone sent a treadmill using their skybox? I know there are no duties or VAT on fitness and exercise equipment. However, I was wondering what was the freight charges like. Is it better to ship via ocean?

I have bought two treadmills locally within the past couple years and sold both of them soon after with barely any use. I paid 7k for one and 5.5k for the other and liked neither of them. It seems that all the good quality treadmills here are in excess of 12k and places here usually stock older models. There are some excellent, quality machines for about $1000usd which is significantly less than what is sold here, even taking the freight into consideration I think.

i dont think u wanna ship in a treadmill via skybox, you'll get raped sans grease and end up paying a couple thousand in shipping alone especially if its measured volumetric. Yr best bet is to buy it locally.

I bought one at courts about 5 years now takes a serious beating and its still going strong. Cost me about 5K.

2sweet

Postby 2sweet » June 13th, 2012, 2:43 am

sharkman121 wrote:
2sweet wrote:Has anyone sent a treadmill using their skybox? I know there are no duties or VAT on fitness and exercise equipment. However, I was wondering what was the freight charges like. Is it better to ship via ocean?

i dont think u wanna ship in a treadmill via skybox, you'll get raped sans grease and end up paying a couple thousand in shipping alone especially if its measured volumetric. Yr best bet is to buy it locally.

I bought one at courts about 5 years now takes a serious beating and its still going strong. Cost me about 5K.

Thanks a lot, I had subsequently edited my post before I read yours. Used a freight calculator and it would cost in excess of 4k just for freight, so you are right! I would get some estimates on ocean shipping still. I hope I can find one that suits my needs locally.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 13th, 2012, 8:49 am

1 Week in on my healthier diet and finally decided to do the dreaded task and weigh myself this morning....250 lbs.
Ultimate Goal is to reach 200-210 by December.

Scoop

Postby Scoop » June 13th, 2012, 8:57 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:^^^yum...except for the hash brown....low carbs for me thank you...lol

yea boy..trying the low carb too..but finding it very difficult to cut it out so i am gradually reducing it

Postby AllTrac » June 13th, 2012, 9:13 am

Dizzy28 wrote:1 Week in on my healthier diet and finally decided to do the dreaded task and weigh myself this morning....250 lbs.
Ultimate Goal is to reach 200-210 by December.

how much did you weigh in before the diet?

Postby Dizzy28 » June 13th, 2012, 9:29 am

Actually didn't weigh myself before starting last week but I have been averaging around 250-255 for the last year.

Pants are a bit slacker between last week and this week though :D

Postby AllTrac » June 13th, 2012, 9:33 am

awesome

Postby 1UZFE » June 13th, 2012, 9:38 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Actually didn't weigh myself before starting last week but I have been averaging around 250-255 for the last year.

good job bro..
Trac i started to eat a little diffrent today . I had multi grain bread (2 slices) with some shark..for lunch would be some bananas and an apple, later i have no idea any suggestions??

Postby AllTrac » June 13th, 2012, 11:00 am

1UZFE wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Actually didn't weigh myself before starting last week but I have been averaging around 250-255 for the last year.

good job bro..
Trac i started to eat a little diffrent today . I had multi grain bread (2 slices) with some shark..for lunch would be some bananas and an apple, later i have no idea any suggestions??

u sure the bananas and apple for lunch would carry you? You should add some protein and fats to that to feel fuller for longer cause by de time 2-3pm your stomach doing somersaults. Let your protein and fats intake be significantly higher than your carbs, thats what i do, should throw in a tuna salad or the pmart flavored tuna vexx dog posted about. Ease up on the bananas yet, one banana has 24g of carbs and its gonna spike your glucose levels, replace with protein and probably come macadamia nuts for good fats, they are normally fulling for me when added with some protein for lunch.

If you gonna work out later then you should carb up an hour before so you would use all the energy available from the carbs that way you wont store it and you wont feel tired and sleepy while working out plus your exercise wont be to stressful on the body releasing cortisol. Post workout meal/dinner for me is normally a protein drink, no milk, with some grounded flax seed and peanut butter. If not protein drink some eggs with shredded cheese or a can of tuna. I have eliminated the banana from my protein drink if its gonna be the last thing im gonna consume for the night. Thats how I would do it, you can see how it works for you.

Postby 1UZFE » June 13th, 2012, 11:08 am

for the past couple of years most of my lunch has been fruit. I will be goin for a hopefully 1-2 mile walk later or might go around d QPS. Will try d protien drink..

vimal_vs

Postby vimal_vs » June 13th, 2012, 12:46 pm

this is a great app for tracking food, for those who find it difficult to count calories, this app presents it in a simpler way, by classifying foods as red, yellow or green.. green foods are the healthiest and should be the majority of your diet..
http://www.noom.com/
weight loss has been one helluva journey for me, i found that setting small goals the most preferential. started on 290+ plus about 2 years ago, on 190 now. so yep 100 lbs down but still not there yet.. it kinda frustrating to lose soo much yet feel soo far away from your target.
diet is key.
umm anybody ever make protein shakes with yogurt in it? wondering if it worth a try

Postby sharkman121 » June 13th, 2012, 12:51 pm

1UZFE wrote:for the past couple of years most of my lunch has been fruit. I will be goin for a hopefully 1-2 mile walk later or might go around d QPS. Will try d protien drink..

why not turn that walk into a jog. If not a full fledged jog then maybe walk for 1min, then jog for 1min and repeat. you'll burn twice as much cals. :wink:

Postby 1UZFE » June 13th, 2012, 1:04 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
1UZFE wrote:for the past couple of years most of my lunch has been fruit. I will be goin for a hopefully 1-2 mile walk later or might go around d QPS. Will try d protien drink..

why not turn that walk into a jog. If not a full fledged jog then maybe walk for 1min, then jog for 1min and repeat. you'll burn twice as much cals. :wink:

will try usually at the end we usually job the last 5 min, but d last time i did this was abt a mth ago...hope d weather holds up though...