San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway

Numb3r4

Re: San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway

Postby Numb3r4 » March 8th, 2015, 9:37 pm

NR8 wrote:Can't wait for the M2 refurb to begin. That road is beyond horrible.

Yes I quite agree.

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » March 8th, 2015, 9:40 pm

The road that passes under the interchange in debe was open today!

Postby Ted_v2 » March 8th, 2015, 9:55 pm

Passed today. Too much roundabouts.

Debe people don't know the drive yet so stay alert. Had a few stopped in the middle of the road. Lost

mufasa10

Postby mufasa10 » March 8th, 2015, 10:15 pm

FOUR round about in such a small place.... In Debe... Allyuh could pass any time after 10 in the night to see drift. :-D:-D:-D

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » March 9th, 2015, 12:11 am

Calor wrote:The road that passes under the interchange in debe was open today!

Opened sometime Saturday. You wouldn't believed the chaos it had Saturday night. And the traffic. People was driving all over the place...

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 9th, 2015, 12:58 am

Wait they finished the part to point ahready?

Postby Ted_v2 » March 9th, 2015, 5:47 am

Nope.

The next part that might open is the berris trace to oroupouche road. Its already paved ect

Postby RBphoto » March 9th, 2015, 3:51 pm

Highway Re-Route wrote:The Case -:

*The Ministry of Works wants to build two (2) highways from Point Fortin. One goes from Point to Mon Desir, along the Mosquito Creek to San Fernando. We are not challenging this highway. This one is a bonus for the people of deep South who suffered for too long.

*The other one is a 6 foot high, 9.1 mile embankment through the Oropuche Basin, passing through thirteen communities from Mon Desir to Debe. This one will create massive dislocation, flooding, and alienate fertile lands.

* It will generate metropolitan sprawl in peaceful, well-knit, empowered communities. We are against this madness. This is highway robbery, make-work for contractors - make work to build it and make work to clean up when the floods hit.

* We want the repair and widening of roads in this area, as well as the use of outlying secondary roads to create connectivity in this area.

* This Mon Desir to Debe is overkill, unnecessary, too costly, corrupt, violent, bogus and frankly, a dumb deal for Trinidad and Tobago.

Opened this tread on the first page by accident and re-read this first post. Just quoting to point out the most epic thread backfire ever.

neexis

Postby neexis » March 9th, 2015, 9:09 pm

Richard Marshall wrote:
Calor wrote:The road that passes under the interchange in debe was open today!

Opened sometime Saturday. You wouldn't believed the chaos it had Saturday night. And the traffic. People was driving all over the place...

Well.. with a traffic scheme as dumb as that, what did they really expect?!

Two roundabouts... but they still have an intersection with stop signs going to San Fernando/Highway.. smh.. so basically no proper flow of traffic.
Also Trinis have no idea how intersections and stop signs are supposed to work.

Who's designing these things, really?

abbow

Postby abbow » March 10th, 2015, 10:05 am

^^ the guys who building the hw, dont have a clue ...much less for the guys who say they have a traffic plan....

Postby RBphoto » March 10th, 2015, 10:24 am

I don't have a problem navigating there. Just takes a little getting used to. People need to slow the fcuk down and read signs tho.

grad

Postby grad » March 10th, 2015, 11:53 am

anybody knows whats the deal with the house located at the junction of debe link road and suchit trace? the one house that hasn't been demolished from debe to penal? i saw a sign that said something along the lines of "we are not against the highway but...."
didn't make out the entire sign. anybody knows whats up with there?

btw two of those roundabouts should be temporary. the one in the ROW of the highway at the end would be moved when the highway continues. Same for the other one going to duncan village as well, since the exit on the right to enter the highway would be redundant when the interchange is built fully.

grad

Postby grad » March 10th, 2015, 11:57 am

RBphoto wrote:I don't have a problem navigating there. Just takes a little getting used to. People need to slow the fcuk down and read signs tho.

This! Same happened when Golconda interchange was opened. First few days saw lots of cars on mornings just coming down the southbound to the end of the highway, taking the roundabout and going straight back up like they missed the turnoff lol

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » March 10th, 2015, 12:01 pm

Of the new piece that opened this weekend, I think the RABs are permanent but the junctions are temporary. This contractor I believe, has no idea, or doesn't care enough, to do proper temporary works.
There is inadequate lighting, the lines fade away quickly or become covered in sand and the potholes cause me to worry, even with 65 series tyres on a pickup. I believe more should be done to the temporary works.

Postby RBphoto » March 10th, 2015, 12:02 pm

If you are using waze you will get messed up. The commands and the route shown don't exactly match what you have to do to navigate there. Either the route is too complex or too many other idiots just dove there like crazy ants and Waze has no idea how the road system works there judging from the paths they took.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » March 10th, 2015, 9:39 pm

I navigated it just fine. Simply slow down read the signs and drive.

Although it was at night so I didn't have the bother of traffic to distract. Still once you drive slowly you should be fine.

badandy

Postby badandy » March 11th, 2015, 7:59 am

grad wrote:anybody knows whats the deal with the house located at the junction of debe link road and suchit trace? the one house that hasn't been demolished from debe to penal? i saw a sign that said something along the lines of "we are not against the highway but...."
didn't make out the entire sign. anybody knows whats up with there?

It is alleged, that many years ago he heard about a h/way passing around there. Bought a couple acres and a few years ago wrote T&C for approval for a mall. T&C approved and now he is asking for a few million (20) dollars because he has approval for a mall. NIDCO doesn`t want to pay so much for just bare land but man has approval for a mall. So the man just being shrewd.

TriP

Postby TriP » March 11th, 2015, 7:01 pm

Roundabout at Debe

New Mosquito Creek Bridge 1

Mosquito Creek Bridge 2

Completed portion of the highway - St Mary's Junction to Mon Desir

Mon Desir to Grants Trace (Rousillac) - Expected to be completed by Mid April 2015

Postby nervewrecker » March 11th, 2015, 7:05 pm

St marys junction to mon desir open? :D

Postby rspann » March 11th, 2015, 7:25 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Passed today. Too much roundabouts.

Debe people don't know the drive yet so stay alert. Had a few stopped in the middle of the road. Lost

You stop all of them and make sure they show you proof that they from Debe? You have any idea how many people from all over Trinidad use that route?

Postby RBphoto » March 12th, 2015, 9:35 am

rspann wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:Passed today. Too much roundabouts.

You stop all of them and make sure they show you proof that they from Debe? You have any idea how many people from all over Trinidad use that route?

I am from there and I got stuck the first time too :lol:

Postby 3stagevtec » March 12th, 2015, 2:01 pm

I think the new routing opened is temporary.. When the overpass is finished, they will finalize the routing. I see no problem here, especially when you look at how awful it was a few years back. Traffic there used to drive me nuts!

Sundar

Postby Sundar » March 12th, 2015, 2:33 pm

3stagevtec wrote:I think the new routing opened is temporary.. When the overpass is finished, they will finalize the routing. I see no problem here, especially when you look at how awful it was a few years back. Traffic there used to drive me nuts!

soo true, is all dem food places that cause all d traffic slowing for ppl to reverse out.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » March 12th, 2015, 8:18 pm

I traveled through it and it was no problem I just read the signs and applied my knowledge of round a bouts.

Besides as someone mentioned before it is probably a temporary measure to help control traffic flow until the final structure is built.

Given how bad the roads were before this is a welcomed improvement. The route is a much easier drive...less stressful...saves time too...for me anyway.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » March 13th, 2015, 9:05 am

nervewrecker wrote:St marys junction to mon desir open? :D

Nope not yet but its almost complete :D

grad

Postby grad » March 13th, 2015, 9:31 pm

At debe link road/ suchit trace junction, it looks like they routing the highway around the house that hasnt been demolished yet.

Postby zoom rader » March 14th, 2015, 8:34 am

Seems south ppl pretty eager and happy for this highway.

Postby RBphoto » March 14th, 2015, 3:41 pm

Update, Waze seems to have adapted. Navigating there no problem now.

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » March 14th, 2015, 9:07 pm

Nut sure if it was posted before...

A view from Berridge Trace Overpass

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1426381594.043371.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1426381622.912226.jpg

Postby The_Honourable » March 14th, 2015, 11:30 pm