The proclamation from President George Maxwell Richards was for a National State of Emergency!!! Not a Limited State of Emergency that is being reported by the Gov't! The curfew is limited to certain areas, but the State of Emergency is 24hrs a day for the entire country! Our constitutional rights have been suspended!! For the duration of this National State of Emergency we have NO RIGHTS, not limited rights as being told to us!! Whatever courtesies the police and army extend to us is solely at their whim and fancy!
A National State of Emergency is always a LAST RESORT! It is not simply a tactic or initiative that can be used at the whim and fancy of the Gov't. The Gov't has declared (by this National State of Emergency) that they cannot manage the crime problem under lawful conditions, remove the law (rights of citizens) and solve the problem?! WTF!!
Computerman wrote:The proclamation from President George Maxwell Richards was for a National State of Emergency!!! Not a Limited State of Emergency that is being reported by the Gov't! The curfew is limited to certain areas, but the State of Emergency is 24hrs a day for the entire country! Our constitutional rights have been suspended!! For the duration of this National State of Emergency we have NO RIGHTS, not limited rights as being told to us!! Whatever courtesies the police and army extend to us is solely at their whim and fancy!
A National State of Emergency is always a LAST RESORT! It is not simply a tactic or initiative that can be used at the whim and fancy of the Gov't. The Gov't has declared (by this National State of Emergency) that they cannot manage the crime problem under lawful conditions, remove the law (rights of citizens) and solve the problem?! WTF!!
Computerman wrote:Yuh could cut grass or clean drain?rfari wrote:Computerman wrote:I am a founding member of the COP! Don't speak of what you don't know little boy!
U could geh meh a guberment wuk orwah dawdi???
zcarz wrote:this should actually be allowed to continue for at least a year
S_2NR wrote:zcarz wrote:this should actually be allowed to continue for at least a year
u want to live with a curfew and ur civil rights suspended for a year so the police could do regular police work.
DSM_05 wrote:S_2NR wrote:zcarz wrote:this should actually be allowed to continue for at least a year
u want to live with a curfew and ur civil rights suspended for a year so the police could do regular police work.
my thoughts exactly. fellas who ask for the SOE to continue for a year clearly don't understand what the SOE entails in terms of loss of rights or recourse.
Yuh speaks de truth dere sonny!rfari wrote:Computerman wrote:Yuh could cut grass or clean drain?rfari wrote:Computerman wrote:I am a founding member of the COP! Don't speak of what you don't know little boy!
U could geh meh a guberment wuk orwah dawdi???
I ha meh school leaving certificate pal. I find yuh rell disrespecful. Just say that COP eh have any weight in de guberment and hymc nah dawdi.
[/sarcasm]I don't understand the problem. Ent Egypt was in a SOE for 20+ years? Everyting was fine, no 'crime' and happy citizens![/sarcasm]S_2NR wrote:a self imposed curfew is still very different to a government imposed one.
in one instance u choose to stay in ur house, in the other, it is illegal to leave ur house.
sentraman wrote:after that smile and hand shake it sound like the AG start to cuss hahaha
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:So this whole suitation involving people who have already booked flights to leave trinidad- many people are going to the police stations that have to drop and pickup people from the airport and are being denied a pass, some police stations are telling them that they have to go to the airport from the night before and stay there overnight if their flight is early.
So WTF, how do people get to the airport or home if Taxis are not even being given passes as well?
WILL PIARCO airport start putting beds there in their compound?
Some people have booked and paid for vacations for months now and what happens to them?
cacasplat3 wrote:i'm not a supporter of Annand, however the reporter was a complete moron.......
the AG was becoming aggravated by Dominic(sp?)
he asked a question, then while answering, he jumps in and then changes the question........seems like he was intent on making it a debate........
then the Ag says he cannot comment on a matter because he is the AG, Dominic makes an absurd remark like "well AG cap off then" what kind of jackass says that?
Stephon. wrote:DSM_05 wrote:I'm eager to hear from the head of Doma - Aboud is it? Did he say anything on this yet?
he was calling for an LSOE years now - I'd love to hear him complain about "loss of business" to DOMA members now.
Gregory Aboud is in full support of the SOE to be quite honest.
DOMA sees negative effect
The 9 pm curfew imposed will cause substantial disruption for the business community. So said president of the Downtown Owners and Merchants Association (DOMA) Gregory Aboud during a telephone interview yesterday.
He said it was obvious the curfew would have a dramatic effect. “The negative effect of these provisions, however, need to be balanced against the terrible loss of life that has been occurring so frequently in the past several weeks,” said Aboud. He reflected that the business community would need to be patient as they awaited further information on details of the initiative.
Aboud also raised concerns for law-abiding citizens who resided in areas deemed “hotspots”. “We wish to highlight the need for discretion in dealing with the thousands of law-abiding citizens when searches and others initiatives take place in these areas,” Aboud said. Following an emergency meeting with members of the National Security Council on Sunday, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar announced a limited state of emergency in areas deemed as crime hotspots. The state of emergency took effect from midnight on Sunday. The Prime Minister said it would be reviewed daily.
Sumana.00 wrote:22 Gang leaders Apprehended
TEMPERS flared and emotions ran high on Nelson Street, Port of Spain, after police detained 22 residents from the area yesterday.
Officers said they detained the suspects for questioning in connection with criminal offences including robberies and gang-related activities.
AbstractPoetic wrote:Stephon. wrote:DSM_05 wrote:I'm eager to hear from the head of Doma - Aboud is it? Did he say anything on this yet?
he was calling for an LSOE years now - I'd love to hear him complain about "loss of business" to DOMA members now.
Is where you getting your information from
The 9 pm curfew imposed will cause substantial disruption for the business community. So said president of the Downtown Owners and Merchants Association (DOMA) Gregory Aboud during a telephone interview yesterday.
He said it was obvious the curfew would have a dramatic effect. “The negative effect of these provisions, however, need to be balanced against the terrible loss of life that has been occurring so frequently in the past several weeks,” said Aboud. He reflected that the business community would need to be patient as they awaited further information on details of the initiative.
Aboud also raised concerns for law-abiding citizens who resided in areas deemed “hotspots”. “We wish to highlight the need for discretion in dealing with the thousands of law-abiding citizens when searches and others initiatives take place in these areas,” Aboud said. Following an emergency meeting with members of the National Security Council on Sunday, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar announced a limited state of emergency in areas deemed as crime hotspots. The state of emergency took effect from midnight on Sunday. The Prime Minister said it would be reviewed daily.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2011/08/ ... ive-effect
Cops, residents in standoff as 22 arrested
By Akile Simon
Story Created: Aug 23, 2011 at 11:50 PM ECT
Story Updated: Aug 23, 2011 at 11:50 PM ECT
TEMPERS flared and emotions ran high on Nelson Street, Port of Spain, after police detained 22 residents from the area yesterday.
Residents faced off with heavily armed officers as police led those detained into waiting vehicles before they were carted off to the Besson Street CID.
The drama unfolded just after 3 p.m. after officers from the Port of Spain CID, Court and Process Branch, Inter-Agency Task Force, Guard and Emergency Branch and the Police Canine Unit swooped down on the area.
The crowd moved in on police who were placing the suspects into vehicles and in some cases attempted to prevent the officers from leaving the area with the men.
Police immediately took up strategic positions and ordered the irate residents, who hurled abuses at the officers, to step back and allow them to do their jobs.
Officers said they detained the suspects for questioning in connection with criminal offences including robberies and gang-related activities.
The suspects, as they were being led away by police, protested their innocence and accused the officers of wrongfully detaining them.
"Better all you shoot me and kill me here today because I ain't do nothing and just so all you locking me up," one of the men shouted at police.
The residents said they were fed up with being targeted by police officers. They called the names of several police officers who they claim have been constantly abusing Nelson Street residents.
As a police helicopter circled overhead, the screams of injustice and police brutality grew louder as police attempted to secure the suspects and leave the area.
Inspector Sahadeo Singh of the Besson Street CID, who led the exercise, was heard pleading with the suspects to calm themselves.
"It doesn't mean that you are under arrest because we are leaving the area with you. We have outstanding enquiries and investigations which we want to interview you in connection with, and soon as we have completed that and based on the outcome, you will be allowed to go home," Singh told two suspects, who refused to go into the tray of an unmarked police vehicle.
Nelson Street falls within one of the country's major crime hot spots under a 9 p.m.-5 a.m. curfew effective from Monday night after Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar announced on Sunday a limited State of Emergency in the country.
Police have been afforded powers to arrest people and search homes without warrants and the Anti-Gang legislation has also been enforced which gives police powers to detain people suspected to be involved in criminal gangs and gang-related crimes.
Before the drama involving police, residents and the detained suspects, George Street resident Felix Edwards, 46, claimed he was savagely beaten about the body with a steel baton by a police officer while sitting outside a friend's home on Nelson Street.
Edwards said he was involved in repainting a primary school in the area all day and decided to take a take a seat just before he left from his home around 8.30 p.m. Police officers, he said, pulled up in a vehicle and questioned him about his whereabouts.
He said after he told the officers that he had just completed painting and was taking a rest before he headed off to his home, one of them drew his baton and began to beat him about the body.
"It one of them who had on the badjohn uniform (Task Force clothing), flick out he steel baton and start to beat me all over my body. He said 'we in charge now'.
"We know what we does be going through inside here when them badjohn police pass through. Is licks like peas we does get and they only playing nice now because all you (members of the media) around here. If all you wasn't here, the amount ah blows we would have been getting you swear licks going out of style," Diaz said.
Diaz said he decided to speak out on the actions of the officers because he wanted them to stop and change their ways toward residents of East Port of Spain.
... Meanwhile, Minister of National Security John Sandy said yesterday that 22 gang members, including several gang leaders, were arrested in east Port of Spain.
Sandy, accompanied by deputy Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams and Chief of Defence Staff Kenrick Maharaj, interrupted regular broadcasting with an emergency address to the nation yesterday just after 6 p.m.
He said this was just the start of the arrests and the joint police and army patrol would be "out there in all the areas, in particular those we pinpointed as hot spots".
"We are going to ensure that at the end of it we are successful," he said.
Sandy said the period of their discomfort would not be in vain and would in fact be a positive experience.
"While you will endure some inconvenience due to the curfew and in particular due to the type of operations that we would be conducting through our police and military, we want to ensure you that every effort is being made to ensure that you are comfortable and at the end of it you would be better for what you have done in this period," Sandy said.
Sandy confirmed all of Trinidad and Tobago is under a State of Emergency and not just in various hot spots.
eliteauto wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:Stephon. wrote:DSM_05 wrote:I'm eager to hear from the head of Doma - Aboud is it? Did he say anything on this yet?
Is where you getting your information from
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2011/08/ ... ive-effect
Actually Gregory Aboud is in support of the SOE he said so himself
16 cycles wrote:think people now start to understand how serious the SOE is....don't breeze in a hotspot area just before curfew....get inside....
White CZ4A wrote:*rumour mill*
petrotrin shut down?
AbstractPoetic wrote:16 cycles wrote:think people now start to understand how serious the SOE is....don't breeze in a hotspot area just before curfew....get inside....
Uhm, it was 3pm in the afternoon.
Aaron 2NR wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:16 cycles wrote:think people now start to understand how serious the SOE is....don't breeze in a hotspot area just before curfew....get inside....
Area deemed a hotspot...they can do it.....outside of a hotspot is a different story
AbstractPoetic wrote:Aaron 2NR wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:16 cycles wrote:think people now start to understand how serious the SOE is....don't breeze in a hotspot area just before curfew....get inside....
Area deemed a hotspot...they can do it.....outside of a hotspot is a different story
Do what, Aaron??
If curfew starts at 9pm you mean to tell me residents in "hot spot" areas are advised to not "breeze in a hotspot area" 6 hours beforehand???
So "just before curfew" now means 6 hours before?
AbstractPoetic wrote:16 cycles wrote:think people now start to understand how serious the SOE is....don't breeze in a hotspot area just before curfew....get inside....
Edwards said he was involved in repainting a primary school in the area all day and decided to take a take a seat just before he left from his home around 8.30 p.m. Police officers, he said, pulled up in a vehicle and questioned him about his whereabouts.