Windows 10

Cross Blood

Re: Windows 10

Postby Cross Blood » August 9th, 2015, 11:09 am

maj. tom wrote:No the reset doesn't fix the bugs. I did it 4 times and 4 times my start menu and taskbar stopped working randomly and never worked again.

Do a clean install.

And you are still going to have a lot of folders remaining on your disk taking up space that you can't access or delete because of permission issues.

Windows.old
Windows.old(1)

etc.

even when you gain permission in security tabs, it's still a mess. And the registry will still be in a mess. Do a clean install.

Had that same permission problem with the 10240 build. I installed the official version and it was solved. So try a different version.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 9th, 2015, 11:55 am

maj. tom wrote:boy you not understanding what i telling the man. do a backup and then clean install. A clean install is the "keep nothing" option.

If you don't backup and want to keep personal files but not settings, that doesn't fix things. So he has to use another drive to copy the personal files and then do the clean install.

Where you does get this "argue about everything because i'm always right" woman mentality in all the threads from?

I don't have time for this nah.

No this is not me always being right, this is Microsoft being right. This is direct from them, thats why they invented the reset option.

I cant speak for you all I could tell you is I put what I needed on a flash drive and then do a full reset and wipe the entire SSD, kept absolutely NOTHING.

And I got full clean install. This is like physics, but if you say you did exactly what I mentioned and it did not work for you but a clean install worked then go for it.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » August 9th, 2015, 12:01 pm

Did a clean install and everything works like a charm. Man selling computer parts n think he knws best. Reset to me is a gimmick cus i still believe old files/folders hidden n still on hdd. Hey but if ya'll having no complaints with ur method of install...then we on the same boat just skinned the cat in diff ways. Delete old partition, create new, format, clean install and voila. Brb, pyonging ut99 online.
Last edited by INHUMAN on August 9th, 2015, 12:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 9th, 2015, 12:02 pm

just got the upgrade, going thru with it. backing up right now.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 9th, 2015, 12:15 pm

INHUMAN wrote:Did a clean install and everything works like a charm. Man selling computer parts n think he knws best. Reset to me is a gimmick cus i still believe old files/folders hidden n still on hdd. Hey but if ya'll having no complaints with ur method of install...then we on the same boat just skinned the cat in diff ways. Delete old partition, create new, format, clean install and voila. Brb, pyonging ut99 online.

I don't think I know best and I don't sell new computer parts I might sell some old stuff I have instead of throwing it away when I am upgrading my PC but thats about it my knowledge is limited in computers.
At most I reach as far as checking an email or using youtube thats as advanced as I get when it comes to these computers and internet gizmos.

According to microsoft there should be no need for a clean install with the reset option but who knows maybe its just marketing on their part.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 9th, 2015, 12:49 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 9th, 2015, 12:29 pm

These links should explain about a reset and clean install, works for me dunno about allyuh.
Who knows maybe some bugs are fixed with a manual clean install.

http://www.howtogeek.com/224342/how-to- ... indows-10/

http://www.cnet.com/how-to/clean-install-windows-10/

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/lib ... 2147217396

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » August 9th, 2015, 1:35 pm

maj. tom wrote:boy you not understanding what i telling the man. do a backup and then clean install. A clean install is the "keep nothing" option.

If you don't backup and want to keep personal files but not settings, that doesn't fix things. So he has to use another drive to copy the personal files and then do the clean install.

Where you does get this "argue about everything because i'm always right" woman mentality in all the threads from?

I don't have time for this nah.

Noticed this as well....so I leave it be. But to me, format--->clean install is still the best option.

brickman

Postby brickman » August 9th, 2015, 1:52 pm

Best thing when installing an os is a clean install,majority of the people who are having issues with Windows 10 just did the upgrade instead.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » August 9th, 2015, 2:01 pm

In everything you do... thoroughly IS always bettr. Ppl just take shortcuts due to time constraints and either hit or miss. For a surefire way...do it from scratch so you'd be better off in the long run..well thats my motto.

Postby stev » August 9th, 2015, 2:43 pm

i must say....the install is very messy when using the upgrade option....performance and overall feel was very good when upgraded but can't compare to a fresh install.

to prove this, I had the chance to work with 2 identical lenovo yoga 13 laptops....one had a fresh, untouched windows 8.1 which was upgraded to 10...the other was formatted with a fresh win10.

both are identical...even partition sizes...it was hard to tell a difference at first however i noted the following:

upgraded version used 6GB+ more space even after temporary installation files and the windows.old folder was removed.

upgraded one lagged at startup by at least 5 seconds+

no difference in app opening speeds however the 'save as' dialog box lagged at times on the upgraded version....from office and acrobat.

upgraded version used a tab bit more ram however random CPU usage when idle is another story. lol

Postby Ted_v2 » August 9th, 2015, 2:48 pm

I just clicked upgrade on my pc. Everything else did for itself. Didn't have a option to click clean reset.

So far everything working pretty good. I had a previous audio problem in Windows 7. This automatically solved it.
Working effortlessly.
I like it.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » August 9th, 2015, 4:54 pm

Anybody went back to 8.1 having problems with netflix? Gonna do a fresh install of 10 some other time

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » August 9th, 2015, 5:08 pm

back to windows 8.1 and things normel normel, especially with windows classic shell installed.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 9th, 2015, 5:11 pm

lost to all wrote:back to windows 8.1 and things normel normel, especially with windows classic shell installed.

You see yourself sticking to 8.1?

I would not mind 8.1 but honestly Killer Instinct will only be available on windows 10 Microsoft said.

They said they will unify Xbox One and Windows 10, and windows will become an XBOX console so to speak. Meaning yeah you can play with xbox one players online even though you are on a PC, cross platform they call it.

Postby stev » August 9th, 2015, 8:11 pm

i think u can even stream your games to your PC from your Xbox One as well....read that a while now, not sure if still possible....u dont necessarily have to play the games on a monitor / TV connected to the console

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » August 9th, 2015, 9:09 pm

Yeah but there is a loss in video quality.

http://wccftech.com/xbox-one-native-windows-10-streaming-graphics-comparison/

I only try out windows 10 preview a few months ago and didn't like it too much.
Edge was working real fast but my GPU was not recognised so I was stuck using a shitty resolution. I know they make more changes from then until now, but I not seeing any major benefit to switch right now.

The main programs I use, work fine on W7 and are not tested on W10 and I don't have time to troubleshoot/rollback/reinstall windows if I get any problems. etc
I might consider it when more DX12 games start coming out.
But I might take the chance with my phone if/when the update is ready since that already have WP 8.1.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » August 9th, 2015, 9:38 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
lost to all wrote:back to windows 8.1 and things normel normel, especially with windows classic shell installed.

You see yourself sticking to 8.1?

I would not mind 8.1 but honestly Killer Instinct will only be available on windows 10 Microsoft said.

They said they will unify Xbox One and Windows 10, and windows will become an XBOX console so to speak. Meaning yeah you can play with xbox one players online even though you are on a PC, cross platform they call it.

my iddy biddy n2830 processor cyah handle the demands of windows 10, aside from all the bug issues, cpu idling normal now.

fa-er bun dat windows 10!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 9th, 2015, 9:50 pm

well I don't want to stream anything. I don't own a XBOX One and I won't spend $3500 for one plus $50 USD a year to play online. When, I can use my PC for free and play online for free and use a PS4 controller hence avoid the ridiculous xbox controller.

PC is the only way to use a PS4 controller for killer instinct since KI is currently a xbox exclusive game.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » August 10th, 2015, 7:20 am

So let me get it straight. Upgrade to 10 then do a factory reset on the machine and things would be ok?

Postby Ted_v2 » August 10th, 2015, 9:00 am

^ yeah basically.
I didn't do a factory reset and mines works fine, and I got a pc that's built with plenty different parts.
didn't have to look for any drivers noting.

Anyone else EDGE randomly closing or opening the tab in another window randomly?
It works perfectly with one tab open but once I step up pass 5 tabs trouble.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 10th, 2015, 9:01 am

trinidrift wrote:So let me get it straight. Upgrade to 10 then do a factory reset on the machine and things would be ok?

yes but select the option to remove every single thing just backup on a flash drive and do a full clean reset.

No need for full format on the HDD cause it can take 12 hours and you not selling your PC anyways.

Don't waste time formatting and doing clean install, not needed anymore in this day and age. Reset does it automatically according to microsoft.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » August 11th, 2015, 4:07 pm

My old Core 2 giving me beans to upgrade to 10. Tried the USB from the main computer but kept getting, "Something happened" (ya think?) window for forget that.

It's doing a bunch of updates now so I hope it's ready to do the Windows 10 update when it restarts, otherwise it's a fresh Windows 7 then straight upgrade to Windows 10.

Postby skylinechild » August 11th, 2015, 9:10 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
trinidrift wrote:So let me get it straight. Upgrade to 10 then do a factory reset on the machine and things would be ok?

yes but select the option to remove every single thing just backup on a flash drive and do a full clean reset.

No need for full format on the HDD cause it can take 12 hours and you not selling your PC anyways.

Don't waste time formatting and doing clean install, not needed anymore in this day and age. Reset does it automatically according to microsoft.

do you sir know the different between a full format and quick format.??
and also why a full format is preferred way (at least for me anyways) when now installing a new HDD or doing a new O.S installation.??

Postby skylinechild » August 11th, 2015, 9:13 pm

DTAC wrote:My old Core 2 giving me beans to upgrade to 10. Tried the USB from the main computer but kept getting, "Something happened" (ya think?) window for forget that.

It's doing a bunch of updates now so I hope it's ready to do the Windows 10 update when it restarts, otherwise it's a fresh Windows 7 then straight upgrade to Windows 10.

my laptop is an inctel core 2 duo T5450....i got the update to windows 10 icon already but i havent gone up to windows 10. i plan on swapping out processors to a higher one - install a new cooling fan, THEN upgrade to windows 10.

i recently maxed out my ram to 4Gb and replaced my defective keyboard.

soon i'll be with a more modern laptop. 8-)

Postby Spitfir3 » August 11th, 2015, 10:25 pm

DTAC wrote:My old Core 2 giving me beans to upgrade to 10. Tried the USB from the main computer but kept getting, "Something happened" (ya think?) window for forget that.

upgraded an old dell system with a core 2 without problems, download the correct windows 10 iso using another pc and try it out....i was getting that "something happened" error with certain pc's when trying to download but in certain systems it worked in one shot

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 12th, 2015, 12:28 am

skylinechild wrote:

my laptop is an inctel core 2 duo T5450....i got the update to windows 10 icon already but i havent gone up to windows 10. i plan on swapping out processors to a higher one - install a new cooling fan, THEN upgrade to windows 10.

How do people manage to continue using those old heavy fat hot laptops?

First time I used a ultrabook I knew I would never go back especially with the SSD.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 12th, 2015, 9:40 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

First time I used a ultrabook I knew I would never go back especially with the SSD.

cause his plan costs a couple hundred dollars and it will work well enough for him (and most ppl), while a new lappy can cost over a thousand dollars and he (ppl) dont need new bells an whistles to do spreadsheets and facebook?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 12th, 2015, 10:17 am

^
http://www.amazon.com/Acer-S3-391-6046- ... +ultrabook

$392 for a new Ultrabook lets round it off to $400. thin as a smartphone and light as a tablet. The prices have been dropping, if you using a old fat laptop in one spot yeah might not be much of a use for an ultrabook.

Once you carrying it around? nah I is ah big hardback man and cannot even lift them old laptops for more than 1 minute.

Postby skylinechild » August 12th, 2015, 11:34 am

original_lollybob wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

cause his plan costs a couple hundred dollars and it will work well enough for him (and most ppl), while a new lappy can cost over a thousand dollars and he (ppl) dont need new bells an whistles to do spreadsheets and facebook?

well....i make out just fine with my "fat old heavy hot laptop"
it works for me.

my upgrade is wayy cheaper than a couple hundred actually.
new crucial DDR2 $50 USD
replacement keyboard - free (i have alot of spare laptop parts)
replacement processor from ebay -$8 usd (that was the last price of it when i checked a week ago.processor speed is 2.2GHZ 4Mb l2 cache in case anyone was wondering)

thats it. 8-)

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 12th, 2015, 12:44 pm

^ you should put in a SSD, it will scream