TSTT WiMax 4G/Hotspot and HSPA+ Thread

Re: TSTT WiMax 4G + Hotspot Thread

Postby S_2NR » May 5th, 2012, 7:21 pm

fouljuice wrote:
and when downloading files with a download manager, I always get more than 5 mbps. (Downloading 1 GB in about 25-30 minutes or less)

tell me more about this download manager and how much gains u get over using a browser?
and a link to download it would be gr8

Postby maj. tom » May 5th, 2012, 8:26 pm

nixonliketheprez

Postby nixonliketheprez » May 6th, 2012, 6:36 pm

Bought an iPhone 4s from bmobile over a month ago. Still waitin on meh damn hotspot. meanwhile someone who bought their own 2 days b4 got it 2weeks ago. fed up of bmobile

Postby nemisis » May 6th, 2012, 6:41 pm

nixonliketheprez wrote:Bought an iPhone 4s from bmobile over a month ago. Still waitin on meh damn hotspot. meanwhile someone who bought their own 2 days b4 got it 2weeks ago. fed up of bmobile

And in your wisdom decided to vent here and not in a branch office.........

Postby maj. tom » May 6th, 2012, 7:24 pm

↑↑

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » May 6th, 2012, 7:40 pm

Flows is the best cant go wrong with them

My download speed on torrents does be about 17MBps Connection is 100MB. Upload does be like 3MBps @ 17MB connection.

Works great.

On the other hand I have a Blink 4G box 2MB/1MB that i use when doing live broadcast for customers it works great. TSTT suppose to bring out something new this month.

Postby S_2NR » May 6th, 2012, 7:44 pm

^^ :shock:

why u need 100MB flow ?

Postby maj. tom » May 6th, 2012, 7:58 pm

S_2NR wrote:^^ :shock:

why u need 100MB flow ?

:mrgreen:

nixonliketheprez

Postby nixonliketheprez » May 6th, 2012, 8:29 pm

nemisis wrote:
nixonliketheprez wrote:Bought an iPhone 4s from bmobile over a month ago. Still waitin on meh damn hotspot. meanwhile someone who bought their own 2 days b4 got it 2weeks ago. fed up of bmobile

And in your wisdom decided to vent here and not in a branch office.........

I did that many times at the flagship store in town

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » May 6th, 2012, 9:06 pm

S_2NR wrote:tell me more about this download manager

yeah now I mostly use IDM (Internet Download Manager) and normally get at least 680KB/s download which then goes to like 700-725 depending on the site I downloading from.
Don't know if the new versions actually stop working after the trial period, or if is just a popup/reminder telling you to buy the full version. current version is 6.10 or 6.11 but I still using 6.03

I got my full version from a torrent site

I'll try out that firefox add-on that maj.tom posted and see how that works too.

demented

Postby demented » May 7th, 2012, 3:29 pm

Has anybone break their wimax iyp contract?? What are the implications??

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 7th, 2012, 4:35 pm

^^ I too would like to know!

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » May 7th, 2012, 4:45 pm

S_2NR wrote:^^ :shock:

why u need 100MB flow ?
my security system at home pulls alot of bandwidth. Plus i do alot of 1080P streaming, well i like my info to download fast.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » May 7th, 2012, 4:51 pm

Chiney wrote:^^ I too would like to know!

I was going to break my contract but I was told that I had to pay a 600.00TTD charge for breaking the contract, but i did not bother.

demented

Postby demented » May 7th, 2012, 6:40 pm

^^^ if its that easy...I will do that. Gonna visit TSTT soon. This month makes a year I had it.

brickman

Postby brickman » May 8th, 2012, 5:02 pm

Anybody tried to use the hotspot as a usb modem?

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » May 8th, 2012, 5:09 pm

brickman wrote:Anybody tried to use the hotspot as a usb modem?

i was scammed by that, you can only use it as a wifi hotspot, when u plug it into usb, it just charges :(

brickman

Postby brickman » May 8th, 2012, 6:08 pm

shaq090 wrote:

i was scammed by that, you can only use it as a wifi hotspot, when u plug it into usb, it just charges :(

In the states you get a disc with the hotspot that sets up all that for you,tstt cheap,half a$$ed stuff again.I believe you get it with the digicel hotspot(if digi brings it).

Postby maj. tom » May 8th, 2012, 6:16 pm

shaq090 wrote:i was scammed by that, you can only use it as a wifi hotspot, when u plug it into usb, it just charges :(

Try to manually search for drivers for the device. Check the brand and model number on the 4G dongle and go on Google. they must have something. It's just like any other device. Windows can't find drivers so the battery just charges.

For the kind of money you paying for that service, the tstt mafia should have given you this.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » May 8th, 2012, 8:57 pm

maj. tom wrote:
shaq090 wrote:i was scammed by that, you can only use it as a wifi hotspot, when u plug it into usb, it just charges :(

Try to manually search for drivers for the device. Check the brand and model number on the 4G dongle and go on Google. they must have something. It's just like any other device. Windows can't find drivers so the battery just charges.

For the kind of money you paying for that service, the tstt mafia should have given you this.

I got it " free " with my iPhone..... Even tho they probly charging for it :|

Postby maj. tom » May 11th, 2012, 11:23 am

Make sure your router using automatic DHCP settings. You can also set the DNS servers you want your router to use on the linksys router page. Make sure the BB wifi settings are on automatic.

After if that doesn't work, throw away your WRT54G router and get something good.

Postby maj. tom » May 11th, 2012, 11:46 am

yeah that's how to connect a router to a modem. nothing wrong with your BB since it working somewhere else. Check if the MAC is blocked, or if only certain ones are allowed, but if it's blocked you won't be able to connect in the first place. And then do the obvious: http://goo.gl/odVuu and read them all and try them all.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » May 11th, 2012, 5:03 pm

shaq090 wrote:
maj. tom wrote:

I got it " free " with my iPhone..... Even tho they probly charging for it :|

*pulls up bill and checks bundled minuites and text messages* nahhhhh we paying for that service brah

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 21st, 2012, 11:58 am

shaq090 wrote:

but why use it as a USB mobem when it is a wifi hotspot? Your laptop doesnt have wifi?

how is that getting scammed?

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » May 21st, 2012, 12:16 pm

shaq090 wrote:

but why use it as a USB mobem when it is a wifi hotspot? Your laptop doesnt have wifi?

how is that getting scammed?

no laptop has wifi, but thought i could have plugged it in the desktop and it would act like the blink on the go device... .well thats what they said on the site :( and csr making me feel like a dud when i ask them how to do it

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 21st, 2012, 12:24 pm

^ I'm very confused about what you are trying to do though.

it is a wifi hotspot. That means that it is a wireless modem that you access via wifi.

why would you want to plug it in for any other reason than charging it?

Postby maj. tom » May 21st, 2012, 12:30 pm

shaq090 you don't have to use the hotspot device as a usb modem for your laptop to get internet. All you have to do is plug it in the usb port to charge and turn it on the usual way to receive a wifi signal for your laptop.

plugging it in a usb port to charge is the same as plugging it in a wall socket. You want to use it for your desktop that doesn't have a wifi adapter, then either get a usb one (examples http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Networking/Wireless-USB-Adapters/abcat0503007.c?id=abcat0503007) or see if there are drivers available from the manufacturer's website to make it act as a usb modem.

Postby Stephon. » May 21st, 2012, 12:45 pm

When technology gets in the wrong hands.

Postby pete » May 21st, 2012, 10:00 pm

He wants to get internet access on a desktop with no wifi. Allyuh read what he posted?

Postby S_2NR » May 21st, 2012, 10:02 pm

buy a usb wifi adapter for ur desktop. they cheap.

problem solved.