Bank ATM deposit function not working..a conspiracy?

Re: Bank ATM deposit function not working..a conspiracy?

Postby bluefete » March 4th, 2024, 10:00 pm

Your complaints reached the papers: Tomorrow's Express - Letters to Editor

Polymer problems at Scotia
J Deering Maraval 9 mins ago

SINCE the change to the polymer notes, Scotiabank ATM machines have consistently been unable to process these notes for customers making deposits at their branches.

On any given day at any time, even during working hours, you will see long lines of people attempting to make deposits and often being turned away because the machine is refusing to accept the notes. The staff are fully aware of these issues.

Meanwhile, the bank is continuously pushing customers to use ATMs and provides minimal in-person line-up services.

Having customers being turned away with cash to deposit at their ATMs is a highly unsafe scenario, since they would be open to being robbed, more so at certain times of the month when people have been paid or have to pay their bills or credit cards at the machine.

It is time the bank does better.

https://trinidadexpress.com/opinion/let ... d85a9.html

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 4th, 2024, 10:13 pm

^ Well now that the cat is officially out of the bag as the news headlines has made it public that customers are being turned away with their large lumpsums of cash, the robberies to those customers might end up occurring even more now. smh.

Postby redmanjp » March 4th, 2024, 10:48 pm

Chimera wrote:It's just something to take note of. I realized it myself and wanted to see if anyone else had the same issues.

Imagine one working machine in the whole of Central on credit card due date and it not even working properly. 30 mins I lock down that one atm.

That cud never be a coincidence.

I does pay my CC via online banking.

However if i have to get cash and i go trincity mall on a Saturday or Sunday half the time both ATMs empty. End up going to the nearby branch on Trincity central Rd.

I feel they should have a $200 bill or somèthing so u could have twice the amt of cash in $100 bills or more so it can last through a weekend.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 5th, 2024, 8:30 am

This has again been ventilated in the public arena .

Over to the banks to improve cash transactions

Postby pugboy » March 5th, 2024, 8:38 am

safest scotia is ellerslie as the car park watchmen does be liming right between scotia and starbucks

Postby Chimera » March 5th, 2024, 9:46 am

Does scotia have a fast deposit envelope option like other banks?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 5th, 2024, 9:52 am

Chimera wrote:Does scotia have a fast deposit envelope option like other banks?

They had one for years but stopped it and directed customers to the new ATMs

Postby Chimera » March 5th, 2024, 10:58 am

and all the other banks kept their fast deposit box options as well as upgraded their atms to accept deposits?

interesting

Postby redmanjp » March 5th, 2024, 3:35 pm

I see the trincity mall ATMs just got upgraded tho still not accepting deposits. But you can scan your card now instead of having to insert it.

Postby pugboy » March 5th, 2024, 4:12 pm

look what allyuh cause

IMG_2838.jpeg

Postby bluefete » March 5th, 2024, 5:16 pm

^^ LOL. So now you have to go in the bank to deposit so they can charge you $25.00 or whatever the fee is for in-person deposits.

Meanwhile in the USA, the Biden administration just restricted banks to charging no more than US$8 for credit card late fees.

Never happen in T&T under PNM or UNC.

Postby pugboy » March 5th, 2024, 5:31 pm

i using rbl instead now and transferring online

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 5th, 2024, 5:46 pm

^ $1.25 to transfer money between banks online, at least at Scotia starting on Mar. 8 :sad:

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 8th, 2024, 9:24 am

Heads up no machine from the Red bank at Tunapuna is accepting notes. I was told in bank that facilitated over the counter deposit. That it's a Regional issue.

One can only hope this sorted out very soon.

Postby pugboy » March 8th, 2024, 9:35 am

steups, it’s a polymer issue

cornfused wrote:Heads up no machine from the Red bank at Tunapuna is accepting notes. I was told in bank that facilitated over the counter deposit. That it's a Regional issue.

One can only hope this sorted out very soon.

Postby Chimera » March 8th, 2024, 10:02 am

bluefete wrote:^^ LOL. So now you have to go in the bank to deposit so they can charge you $25.00 or whatever the fee is for in-person deposits.

do you really have to pay a fee for over the counter transactions?

Skanky

Postby Skanky » March 8th, 2024, 11:46 am

Chimera wrote:
bluefete wrote:^^ LOL. So now you have to go in the bank to deposit so they can charge you $25.00 or whatever the fee is for in-person deposits.

do you really have to pay a fee for over the counter transactions?

So Chimera when they call you to do the survey about their service why don't you tell them there that their service is crap and they need to do better? Have you told them before?

Postby Chimera » March 8th, 2024, 12:15 pm

cant say i ever get that call but most of the time when people call me to survey i does tell them i busy as i does think is scammers calling to finesse info.

now as much as yuh might think i ranting here my point was to draw it to other people attention what could be going on with their ATM

i mite cuss up a random bank worker or two but i does get my benefits from them when i need it.

i like to go do deposits in the night or early morning when it have no traffic and the place empty.....even if i have premium banking and could quickly get a teller.....thats still 20 minutes in a crowded bank with a set of people seeing what yuh doing at the counter during working hours when i could be doing something else.

and is flabbergastery on a large scale when people gone to do a quick atm transaction and then have to line up 2 hours to get a teller especially when they eh budget for that kinda time

Postby 88sins » March 8th, 2024, 1:29 pm

Crazy idea here eh
But why not just stop banking with them?
I kno some ppl only have one bank account, amd others may have existing legally binding obligations, but generally speaking it's better for a person to have accounts with at least 2 different banks. So, if one screwing around, give them a pause.
But daz jes my thinking

Postby Chimera » March 8th, 2024, 1:37 pm

with foreign exchange being the way it is i banking with all banks

i use to get 80k usd a month from fcb on my credit cards...thats down to around 20k now

so over the years i take cards from all the banks to be able to continue doing business

scotia is still a extra 20k usd for the month

so yes yuh idea crazy in my case

Postby pugboy » March 11th, 2024, 6:34 am

Postby Chimera » March 11th, 2024, 10:20 am

glad that more people are noticing it and publicizing it

Postby goalpost » March 22nd, 2024, 5:50 am

Saw a sign in Scotia saying they trying to fix the deposit feature and to utilize the in person deposit and all fees waived for now until it is rectified.

Postby pugboy » March 22nd, 2024, 6:40 am

the previous sign was upgrades

goalpost wrote:Saw a sign in Scotia saying they trying to fix the deposit feature and to utilize the in person deposit and all fees waived for now until it is rectified.

Postby Chimera » March 22nd, 2024, 7:24 am

They still only have 2 or 3 tellers and a hour or two or more wait for in person transactions though

Postby eliteauto » March 22nd, 2024, 9:20 am

For Red customers, the ATM at Trincity Mall seems to be accepting deposits easily. Used it yesterday and today around 4AM and got through easily compared to the one at Ellesrlie

Postby goalpost » March 23rd, 2024, 7:39 pm

There is one atm in Arima branch working just fine for deposits. It just takes $100 less than how much you wanna deposit ie if u wanna deposit 3000, it will take 2900. Try as hard as u can after it will never take that remaining 100.

Postby Chimera » March 23rd, 2024, 8:14 pm

eliteauto wrote:For Red customers, the ATM at Trincity Mall seems to be accepting deposits easily. Used it yesterday and today around 4AM and got through easily compared to the one at Ellesrlie
4am you saying ?

Postby nervewrecker » March 24th, 2024, 5:51 pm

Chimera wrote:
eliteauto wrote:For Red customers, the ATM at Trincity Mall seems to be accepting deposits easily. Used it yesterday and today around 4AM and got through easily compared to the one at Ellesrlie
4am you saying ?
Not unheard of. That's the hours I used to move when I worked port of Spain. By 5am everyday I reach port of Spain.

Never been in a road block, never saw traffic, never been in a line to get fuel when it had panic buying and never been in a line at the bank or doubles place. From 5am was to do my studies, browse tuner or take a lil snooze cuz class was 5pm. Used to walk to school because walk was 10 to 15 minutes and drive was 45 mins to one hour with traffic to get to the next block.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 26th, 2024, 3:38 pm

12a5f364-154b-4dd6-a593-8a2e212950bf.jpg