400hp electric MG4 is just around TT$299K - beating supercars off the line

PariaMan

Re: 400hp electric MG4 is just around TT$299K - beating supercars off the line

Postby PariaMan » September 18th, 2024, 1:11 pm

Less gas savings and cost of oil changes

Plus all cars value will drop so you have to compare with a comparable ICE vehicle

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2024, 1:26 pm

the car companies try to artificially keep prices up
but eventually ev will commoditize and settle down

Postby gastly369 » September 18th, 2024, 1:31 pm

Duane when you go full EV could sell meh the obsolete gas drinking Mitsubishi for small money plz....

Postby Dave » September 18th, 2024, 1:36 pm

gastly369 wrote:Duane when you go full EV could sell meh the obsolete gas drinking Mitsubishi for small money plz....
^^what he said

Postby j.o.e » September 18th, 2024, 1:45 pm

Electric is the way to go. The only hold back for me is the prices still a lil too high compared to a like to like ICE car. But the fuel savings and maintenance are a no brainer and might justify it.
If BYD was selling closer to their foreign pricing i down dey. I believe in a 2 car household at least one should be electric at this point.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 18th, 2024, 2:11 pm

gastly369 wrote:Duane when you go full EV could sell meh the obsolete gas drinking Mitsubishi for small money plz....

that and my kerosene lamp I hope I will never have to sell
I'm sure VII regret he sold his

O and the Mitsubishi already have EV in the name :)

Postby gastly369 » September 18th, 2024, 3:10 pm

VII

Postby VII » September 18th, 2024, 3:59 pm

Regret is an understatement! My first son doesn't let me forget ! The Evo My Land Rover V8 and my dad old Benz Wagon I totally regret 'selling' (more like giving away!) .. :(

that and my kerosene lamp I hope I will never have to sell
I'm sure VII regret he sold his

O and the Mitsubishi already have EV in the name :)

VII

Postby VII » September 18th, 2024, 4:08 pm

For those doubting the quality etc, Chinese EVs are backed by unprecedented warranties.

And what Duane said is totally correct, all top manufacturers in all sectors utilize Chinese technology in their final products, from Daimler- Benz with the screen/interface tech from Huawei and batteries from BYD and Tesla with batteries from BYD and many many others not BYD and Huawei alone..many others supplying motors batteries and display interface tech etc...

I too was a doubter but after seeing what's going on in the industry and simply applying some basic reasoning and rationale seems like a no-brainer to me, and apparently millions of people around the world who went even further and are actually buying the vehicles daily .

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » September 18th, 2024, 4:17 pm

Not talking about costs to charge up. Talking about the ability to charge up. Right now There are more cars than charging stations. Then even if we had enough charging stations the grid can’t handle the extra load. Plus Chinese made electric scooters and bikes batteries catching fire all over NYC while charging battery packs in the cars are much bigger. You don’t want your market flooded with inferior tech because it cheap and out performs big brands. It does that because they leaving out a lot of software limiters.

Well known that in order to do biz in China using factories to make your stuff you are required to share your designs after a few years. It’s in the Chinese culture to copy.

Japs like to copy but they reverse engineer stuff and build it back better.

So go ahead play brave and by one of the millions of rushed chinese hacker craft

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ in T&T currently it costs around TT$20 to TT$30 to fully charge an EV at home.
All charge stations are free due to legislation as only T&TEC can sell electricity - that might change but legislation changes take ages.

These are from the BYD thread where the same things were argued
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=772547&hilit=BYD#p10403052

a5d37251-47b1-4ed5-881f-12ee7f736000-1.jpg

1ee421e4-fab1-48f3-a056-88673e8945a4-1.jpg

yes there are cheap poor quality things made in China but companies like Foxconn that makes chip for many high end smart phones are also based in China - it depends on the quality control

These Chinese EVs are new to our market and it will take some time before the brands build and consumers can report on longevity. But remember when the Korean brands like Kia and Hyundai were being trodden as inferior - those brands have become very popular locally after years in the local market.
Last edited by The Bamboo Online on September 18th, 2024, 4:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

VII

Postby VII » September 18th, 2024, 4:23 pm

Volvo and Polestar and Nio are all Chinese..

Check out brands like Avatr, BYD/Yangwang
Zeekr, Huawei, Xpeng ,Greely/GWM to name a few

They're already outperforming others at range, temperature, durability, safety and charging rates.

The batteries can be punctured and not ignite , and even still work !! China is where it's at now guys..
Last edited by VII on September 18th, 2024, 4:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby j.o.e » September 18th, 2024, 4:36 pm

The Bamboo Online wrote:Not talking about costs to charge up. Talking about the ability to charge up. Right now There are more cars than charging stations. Then even if we had enough charging stations the grid can’t handle the extra load. Plus Chinese made electric scooters and bikes batteries catching fire all over NYC while charging battery packs in the cars are much bigger. You don’t want your market flooded with inferior tech because it cheap and out performs big brands. It does that because they leaving out a lot of software limiters.

Well known that in order to do biz in China using factories to make your stuff you are required to share your designs after a few years. It’s in the Chinese culture to copy.

Japs like to copy but they reverse engineer stuff and build it back better.

So go ahead play brave and by one of the millions of rushed chinese hacker craft

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ in T&T currently it costs around TT$20 to TT$30 to fully charge an EV at home.
All charge stations are free due to legislation as only T&TEC can sell electricity - that might change but legislation changes take ages.

These are from the BYD thread where the same things were argued
https://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/vi ... #p10403052

a5d37251-47b1-4ed5-881f-12ee7f736000-1.jpg

1ee421e4-fab1-48f3-a056-88673e8945a4-1.jpg

yes there are cheap poor quality things made in China but companies like Foxconn that makes chip for many high end smart phones are also based in China - it depends on the quality control

These Chinese EVs are new to our market and it will take some time before the brands build and consumers can report on longevity. But remember when the Korean brands like Kia and Hyundai were being trodden as inferior - those brands have become very popular locally after years in the local market.

The public chargers is an American thing. Trinidad is small and electricity is cheap. I can charge at home. I will never pull a 400km drive in one day
Charging publicly is just a bonus and their are plenty of those already

VII

Postby VII » September 18th, 2024, 4:55 pm

Correct and when you think about the range and charging overnight it makes so much sense ! And no blasted maintenance! And the performance!

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 18th, 2024, 5:29 pm

I ready to buy but just not at the present prices

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2024, 5:53 pm

the byd prices ridiculous and them sales reps ain’t shame about dat

Postby nervewrecker » September 18th, 2024, 7:43 pm

VII wrote:For those doubting the quality etc, Chinese EVs are backed by unprecedented warranties.

And what Duane said is totally correct, all top manufacturers in all sectors utilize Chinese technology in their final products, from Daimler- Benz with the screen/interface tech from Huawei and batteries from BYD and Tesla with batteries from BYD and many many others not BYD and Huawei alone..many others supplying motors batteries and display interface tech etc...

I too was a doubter but after seeing what's going on in the industry and simply applying some basic reasoning and rationale seems like a no-brainer to me, and apparently millions of people around the world who went even further and are actually buying the vehicles daily .
Technology is changing fast. About a decade ago huawei wasnt much on the phone market. Now they stack up against Apple and Samsung and are better if anything. If you compare the latest Samsung and Apple to the honor magic v6 pro it's no comparison really. In fact my huawei p30 pro still wasn't outdated against Apple and Samsung phones that come out this year and it's a few years old. The tech incorporated in it was second to none and flawless.

I still don't believe Electric has settled in yet but it's evolving fast.

VII

Postby VII » September 18th, 2024, 9:50 pm

Yep..

VII wrote:For those doubting the quality etc, Chinese EVs are backed by unprecedented warranties.

Technology is changing fast. About a decade ago huawei wasnt much on the phone market. Now they stack up against Apple and Samsung and are better if anything. If you compare the latest Samsung and Apple to the honor magic v6 pro it's no comparison really. In fact my huawei p30 pro still wasn't outdated against Apple and Samsung phones that come out this year and it's a few years old. The tech incorporated in it was second to none and flawless.

I still don't believe Electric has settled in yet but it's evolving fast.

VII

Postby VII » September 18th, 2024, 9:51 pm

Check this ride out...very premium and priced from 40k..there are many other amazing cars for around 20k or less..

Please embed.
Last edited by VII on September 18th, 2024, 11:07 pm, edited 2 times in total.

VII

Postby VII » September 18th, 2024, 9:53 pm

And this one..

VII

Postby VII » September 18th, 2024, 9:59 pm

Blow your mind..can turn 180 degrees in it's footprint, among others..

These Chinese cars are the closest thing to bringing toy cars to life..as a yute I always wondered why they couldn't make real cars like cool toy cars, well the Chinese are !

Last edited by VII on September 18th, 2024, 10:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

VII

Postby VII » September 18th, 2024, 10:03 pm

The Chinese have democratized premium performance cars for all and they've only just begun..

VII

Postby VII » September 18th, 2024, 10:24 pm

16K !

VII

Postby VII » September 18th, 2024, 11:04 pm

Last edited by VII on September 18th, 2024, 11:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2024, 11:10 pm

all them cars is the same now
flat screen display etc

VII

Postby VII » September 18th, 2024, 11:47 pm

Shook these hard-core American truck guys .

Oh Toyota is working with BYD to adopt it's hybrid platform..

Last edited by VII on September 19th, 2024, 12:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

VII

Postby VII » September 18th, 2024, 11:49 pm

Well that's just the typical display, but it's a lot more than that...those cars doing all kinda things for small money, even talking to pedestrians etc .. :)

pugboy wrote:all them cars is the same now
flat screen display etc

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » September 19th, 2024, 2:14 am

Switched to EV as well and while early days, so far no regrets. Didn't go chinese as my fear is the motor, braking and suspension system longevity, as well as the interior bits (leather etc) where they are well known for minging. Their battery tech however definitely surpasses everyone else.

I find it interesting when people say they're waiting for EV prices to drop - its unlikely to ever in tnt as the government will at some point reimpose tax on electrics, which may increase the price significantly

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 19th, 2024, 5:33 am

Prices dropping all around the world for both new and used

Postby pugboy » September 19th, 2024, 7:32 am

that's what i mean
the actual car part(propulsion system) is a minor part of the car now

for traditional(non luxury) ice cars the engine power and consumption are a major issue
now the ev power and efficiency are not even a consideration anymore

VII wrote:Well that's just the typical display, but it's a lot more than that...those cars doing all kinda things for small money, even talking to pedestrians etc .. :)

flat screen display etc

VII

Postby VII » September 19th, 2024, 10:38 am

Yes boy, is a rel mind bend for most of us...but there is a whole new generation buying cars now that would've never driven or had to deal with ice with it's wick and oil lol.. they have so much room for other things now it's amazing and the possibilities are endless..

Even a legit proper working transformer can actually be built now !!

pugboy wrote:that's what i mean
the actual car part(propulsion system) is a minor part of the car now

for traditional(non luxury) ice cars the engine power and consumption are a major issue
now the ev power and efficiency are not even a consideration anymore

VII wrote:Well that's just the typical display, but it's a lot more than that...those cars doing all kinda things for small money, even talking to pedestrians etc .. :)

flat screen display etc