nick639v2 wrote:Maybe the opening of the bigger section will help them out…
Anyway tho…. Bowling alley with pool hall > ice rink… Lavo lanes in Grenada has a proper lil setup like this
Rovin wrote:so it close already ...![]()
https://www.facebook.com/photo?fbid=166 ... 8896381688Uncutt News
60 ICED employees were terminated with immediate effect on Thursday, two weeks after the company opened its doors to the public.
But the axed employee are not happy as they have not been paid their salaries. Even though the termination notices state that 46 employees were sent home, Uncutt News was reliably informed that the total is 60.
The company, which opened an indoor ice skating rink in San Fernando on April 14th, in termination letters to the affected employees, said the "cost of operating far exceeds its revenue which is not financially nor operationally viable at this time."
The company had initially projected an influx of customers at the rink but this has not been the case forcing it to scale back on its operations by changing its two-shift system to one which would be from 1 pm-5 pm, Uncutt News understands.
The termination of the employees took effect on Thursday 27th April 2023 and they were told that they would be paid their salaries the following day but that has not happened and the affected employees are unhappy.
To "add insult to injury" $1,200 would be deducted from everyone's salary to cover the cost of their uniforms, Uncutt News was told.
One former employee told Uncutt News: "They laid off 60 workers in total. We were told that we were getting paid on the 28th. When we were thinking we going to work, they told us to come to head office and laid us off. A lot of people were crying because they left their jobs to join this new one."
"They even said we should be grateful for the Disney Land training we received. We have to pay $1200 for our uniforms from the one month's pay which we still haven't received. They only have 30 employees remaining. they giving us a set of run around. We were supposed to get paid through the bank, but now they saying it's cheques."
One employee was fired for eating a tamarind ball inside the building within the first week of operations.
Uncutt News Media was told that a directive was given to block the terminated employees from entering the compound later today who have plans on entering the compound in an attempt to get their salaries.
They informed the HSE officer not to allow any of the previous ICED employees on the compound tomorrow (Saturday 29th April 2023) because most are planning on coming in at 4 PM to get their money.
"I started to get irritated and emotional. I feel like I got scammed. People came from all over and it's unfair," another worker told Uncutt News.
pugboy wrote:take care asa wright have to furlough workers too with the kinda prices them charging
nick639v2 wrote:pugboy wrote:take care asa wright have to furlough workers too with the kinda prices them charging
Well for the meals included and the way it’s set up, to me the prices asa put out not that bad, 99% of the people never give a fuark to think about asa center, now is all kinda beatup bout price.
Dave wrote:ASA Wright is more patronised by foreign tourists.
I have been up there to work a few times and it was always foreigners and yes they do have local experts with them.
Ever so often they find snakes and grab them to show them off! That's when I make an about turn lol.
pugboy wrote:yeah, hadco has basically said hard luck for locals, we going after foreign dollars
doh be surprised the scarlet ibis fellas start jacking up their prices tooDave wrote:ASA Wright is more patronised by foreign tourists.
I have been up there to work a few times and it was always foreigners and yes they do have local experts with them.
Ever so often they find snakes and grab them to show them off! That's when I make an about turn lol.
st7 wrote:pugboy wrote:yeah, hadco has basically said hard luck for locals, we going after foreign dollars
doh be surprised the scarlet ibis fellas start jacking up their prices tooDave wrote:ASA Wright is more patronised by foreign tourists.
hmmm what's the ratio of locals to tourists who take those tours?
from my experience,whenever i've gone, there seems to be about tourists in half of one boat, and the rest is locals (or could be brown skin foreign too lol).
Rovin wrote:so it close already ...![]()
60 ICED employees were terminated with immediate effect on Thursday, two weeks after the company opened its doors to the public.
But the axed employee are not happy as they have not been paid their salaries. Even though the termination notices state that 46 employees were sent home, Uncutt News was reliably informed that the total is 60.
The company, which opened an indoor ice skating rink in San Fernando on April 14th, in termination letters to the affected employees, said the "cost of operating far exceeds its revenue which is not financially nor operationally viable at this time."
The company had initially projected an influx of customers at the rink but this has not been the case forcing it to scale back on its operations by changing its two-shift system to one which would be from 1 pm-5 pm, Uncutt News understands.
The termination of the employees took effect on Thursday 27th April 2023 and they were told that they would be paid their salaries the following day but that has not happened and the affected employees are unhappy.
To "add insult to injury" $1,200 would be deducted from everyone's salary to cover the cost of their uniforms, Uncutt News was told.
One former employee told Uncutt News: "They laid off 60 workers in total. We were told that we were getting paid on the 28th. When we were thinking we going to work, they told us to come to head office and laid us off. A lot of people were crying because they left their jobs to join this new one."
"They even said we should be grateful for the Disney Land training we received. We have to pay $1200 for our uniforms from the one month's pay which we still haven't received. They only have 30 employees remaining. they giving us a set of run around. We were supposed to get paid through the bank, but now they saying it's cheques."
One employee was fired for eating a tamarind ball inside the building within the first week of operations.
Uncutt News Media was told that a directive was given to block the terminated employees from entering the compound later today who have plans on entering the compound in an attempt to get their salaries.
They informed the HSE officer not to allow any of the previous ICED employees on the compound tomorrow (Saturday 29th April 2023) because most are planning on coming in at 4 PM to get their money.
"I started to get irritated and emotional. I feel like I got scammed. People came from all over and it's unfair," another worker told Uncutt News.
ruffneck_12 wrote:Rovin wrote:so it close already ...![]()
THey hadda pay for their own uniforms? And is 1200 big ones?
Wda
solarkh wrote:What happened to ICED Skating Facility and Snow Playground?
pugboy wrote:anybody gone to the bar/food indoor beach on mucurapo rd
st7 wrote:pugboy wrote:anybody gone to the bar/food indoor beach on mucurapo rd
waz that one now? lol
alfa wrote:st7 wrote:pugboy wrote:anybody gone to the bar/food indoor beach on mucurapo rd
waz that one now? lol
https://trinidadexpress.com/business/lo ... 5e557.html
Syberfraggle wrote:Having read that article. Some ppl really living in their own reality yes.