SEA 2023

Re: SEA 2023

Postby alfa » July 7th, 2023, 9:44 pm

paid_influencer wrote:i blame the cutbacks on the school feeding program. scores started falling and kept falling once the govt moved to the gatekeeper model for school lunches.

and a fillers is not lunch. the govt needs to give kids a reason to want to come to school in the morning

Free food is the motivation for coming to school and not wanting to better your life and make something of it? Sheesh, I hope you're being scarastic

Postby redmanjp » July 7th, 2023, 10:00 pm

if its poor kids yes free food would be a reason.

Postby paid_influencer » July 7th, 2023, 10:01 pm

why would you hope for that. seems like a silly thing to hope for. I don't like dashing people's hope, especially in me. I mean I have, done that, but I have stopped now.

I have experience with small kids. Small kids don't know anything about anything and abstract concepts like "better your life and make something of it" are hard to grasp for them. But a filling, tasty and healthy meal when they come to school is easy to understand. It gives the kids motivation to come to school and keep coming to school.

There is the nutritional aspect of it too. A first-year teacher had to tell her parents not to send kids to school with ramen noodles for lunch. Not all parents know about nutrition and not all parents are the best informed parents, but the kids should not be disadvantaged. All the kids should have access to good nutrition, no gate keeping, no forms, no shaming for public assistance. Kids want it they should get it no questions asked.

Postby paid_influencer » July 7th, 2023, 10:03 pm

redmanjp wrote:if its poor kids yes free food would be a reason.

yes, but I would say all kids. remove the shame. remove the gatekeeping. remove all the socioeconomic factors. let them all be the same within the school walls. first world countries that value their people do this. equity social justice progress

under the panday, manning and kamla we did it. but keith stopped it. we can fix this if we get the political will again

Postby alfa » July 7th, 2023, 10:47 pm

In my day we had box lunch but was only for the poor kids as a certain amount would be allocated to each class. Parents never knew much about nutrition but I can't recall it being a problem then. I remember my old man telling me a garbage truck driver has a little more education than the guy doing the picking up and as a result when the rain falls the driver could wind up the glass and stay dry while the man in the back has to take the soaking. Study hard and don't have to pick up garbage was his warning. From a kid to now it stuck with me as a motivation. Different times now I guess, shrugs shoulders

Postby paid_influencer » July 7th, 2023, 11:05 pm

counterpoint: garbage men provide a great and necessary service to the community. we should respect them and advocate for their empowerment in wages and working conditions under the principles of social justice and equity.

Postby nemisis » July 8th, 2023, 10:21 am

paid_influencer wrote:counterpoint: garbage men provide a great and necessary service to the community. we should respect them and advocate for their empowerment in wages and working conditions under the principles of social justice and equity.

Funny thing is with his line of thinking is that they provide an essential service while being looked down upon by those who don't

Postby Rovin » July 8th, 2023, 11:16 am

in my primary school days everybody used to get good food & it used to actually taste good like home cooked & as much as u can eat within reason of course ... obviously a full satisfied belly keeps ur energy level up & helps u concentrate on ur school work

hearing of nowadays only d poor kids getting kinda segregates them & u know kids find any reason to tease others .... wam d govt cutting down on cost or feel kids wasting good food or it still eh ha no $ cause kamla still teefin out d treasury

Postby Chimera » July 8th, 2023, 11:55 am

i believe that at the beginning of the term they ask how much kids need breakfast and lunch and then they bring according to those numbers

many times ppl would rush whatever food comes and it ends up being first come first serve because free food is free food

sometimes their breakfast is just a kiss muffin

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 8th, 2023, 12:14 pm

Alot of children also don't take box lunches as it depends on what comes. They normally clean out meat and flour based box lunches and everything else is left behind at the end of the day. One wonders if these children are actually in need of food to begin with.

Postby Chimera » July 8th, 2023, 12:30 pm

yeah if lame food come they does just leave it

i remember when men use to sell box lunch

$5 when roti and channa come

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 13th, 2023, 6:19 pm

Did the top 100 List come out yet?
Heard a guy whose daughter passed to SAGHS queried her results because he expected better
idk nah...the kind of pressure some parents put on kids is totally ridiculous

Postby maj. tom » July 13th, 2023, 6:49 pm

lolwut? he shudda put Harvard Medical School as the girl first choice instead.

Postby redmanjp » July 13th, 2023, 6:51 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:if its poor kids yes free food would be a reason.

yes, but I would say all kids. remove the shame. remove the gatekeeping. remove all the socioeconomic factors. let them all be the same within the school walls. first world countries that value their people do this. equity social justice progress

under the panday, manning and kamla we did it. but keith stopped it. we can fix this if we get the political will again

d oil money must be done we cyan afford it anymore :roll:

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » July 16th, 2023, 10:56 am

Congrats bro. 2nd in SEA in maha sabha schools.
358146734_6466518373404883_6679419950358416750_n.jpg
358146734_6466518373404883_6679419950358416750_n.jpg (32.69 KiB) Viewed 1724 times

Postby paid_influencer » July 16th, 2023, 1:19 pm

why no picture of who get 1st in maha saba schools

maybe that parent doh want their kid in a useless pappy show

Postby paid_influencer » July 16th, 2023, 1:21 pm

why is spanish, science, social studies not on the sea but on the syllabus . dotish me spent time teaching what was on the syllabus

Postby Gladiator » July 16th, 2023, 2:50 pm

paid_influencer wrote:why no picture of who get 1st in maha saba schools

You real have hurts and feels from Common Entrance days boy..

wing

Postby wing » July 16th, 2023, 3:00 pm

Gladiator wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:why no picture of who get 1st in maha saba schools

You real have hurts and feels from Common Entrance days boy..
Somehow you want to use kids as some sort of flex. Like those dance moms or pageant parents. Using the kids and putting pressure on them to achieve the top whatever then parading them like a prize horse to get some sort of attention or validation and compensate for perceived shortcomings.

dogg

Postby dogg » March 22nd, 2024, 8:05 am

Any scans of this year's exam available anywhere?