Re: US Mega Millions Lotto jackpot goes to US$1 BILLION

Postby De Dragon » July 31st, 2022, 1:00 pm

Weyyss I real say I woulda get a chance next week to play :(

Postby De Dragon » July 31st, 2022, 2:51 pm

hover11 wrote:Men want to play for millions and don't want their public information out there. Bro lemme tell you sum you understand if you driving a vehicle and I want you information I can go licensing office and pull up your vehicle, do you know why because although it is your vehicle you are driving on the PUBLIC road. If you have an issue with your privacy then don't play a game funded by taxpayers simple as that. Even ppl who got HDC houses what u feel when you selected , feel you could tell them I not on that shine up thing to collect keys for any ceremony. They will move on to the next person and forget about you.

Your analogies, as they frequently are, makes no sense. What's private about a car? :?
Also, you do know that there are states in the US where you don't have to disclose sheit if you win the lottery above a certain amount right? :roll:

fallen_angel

Postby fallen_angel » July 31st, 2022, 6:40 pm

https://www.reuters.com/world/us/winnin ... 022-07-30/

1 person win…my uncle neighbour pardner cousins outside woman say it’s sheron wife

Postby Dizzy28 » August 2nd, 2022, 8:42 pm

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » August 2nd, 2022, 9:55 pm

There's a reason Trump doesn't pay taxes.

Postby maj. tom » November 8th, 2022, 8:35 pm

Well even after federal IRS tax of 24% they come out rel good. California doesn't tax lottery winnings.

A lone winning ticket for the record $2.04 billion Powerball lottery jackpot was sold in Altadena, California, lottery officials said Tuesday, making the lucky ticket holder the winner of the largest lottery prize ever.
https://edition.cnn.com/2022/11/08/us/powerball-lottery-record-delayed-drawing-tuesday-trnd/index.html

This person may currently be the ONLY honest billionaire in the entire world. #Tegridy

Postby adnj » November 8th, 2022, 8:40 pm

maj. tom wrote:Well even after federal IRS tax of 24% they come out rel good. California doesn't tax lottery winnings.

A lone winning ticket for the record $2.04 billion Powerball lottery jackpot was sold in Altadena, California, lottery officials said Tuesday, making the lucky ticket holder the winner of the largest lottery prize ever.
https://edition.cnn.com/2022/11/08/us/powerball-lottery-record-delayed-drawing-tuesday-trnd/index.html

This person may currently be the ONLY honest billionaire in the entire world. #Tegridy
That amount of winnings puts you in top Federal bracket of 37%.

The tax bill will be about $750 mln. But that would be fine by me.

Postby shogun » November 8th, 2022, 9:11 pm

Whew.

Just hope that the winner was someone that deserved a break.

Postby aaron17 » November 9th, 2022, 8:17 am

Majority of ppl would be jealous.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 9th, 2022, 10:32 am

Congrats IRS!!!

Postby redmanjp » November 9th, 2022, 10:42 am

how come this one getting less than 50% after tax and the $2 billion one has a lower 24% tax?

Postby Dizzy28 » November 9th, 2022, 10:52 am

redmanjp wrote:

how come this one getting less than 50% after tax and the $2 billion one has a lower 24% tax?

State taxes

Postby adnj » November 9th, 2022, 11:00 am

redmanjp wrote:

The US has a progressive Federal tax rate - your tax rate increases with income. You also have to consider the type of income: capital gains, gift, inheritance, proceeds from gambling, etc. Each state has an additional income tax that ranges from 0% to more than 13% with the same caveats. There is also local tax that can range between 0% and about 20% depending on the locale.

Where you reside, work, received the income or recently resided will determine which of those rates are applicable.

Postby Rovin » November 9th, 2022, 11:34 am

d jelly ppl be like oh gorrr 1 man win all dat it shoulda be like 5-10 win it

yea but if was u : u want all of d whole thing for urself ent ... typical human nature

Postby redmanjp » November 9th, 2022, 2:31 pm

^ i certainly wont mind sharing with 10 ppl or so- though in a news report lawyers recommended a written contract among a group of ppl who intend to share the winnings.

Zim

Postby Zim » November 10th, 2022, 12:57 pm

So daz where d USD gone

Postby 88sins » November 10th, 2022, 5:21 pm

Wtk/looking for info

How does one set up an irs? Dat lookin like one of if not the most profitable business models.

Postby teems1 » November 10th, 2022, 5:30 pm

88sins wrote:Wtk/looking for info

How does one set up an irs? Dat lookin like one of if not the most profitable business models.

By defeating the British and establish your own country seems to be the most commonly taken route.