st7 wrote:ent u have ah MBA and boast about it on tuner?
u izza expert at plenty thing, why u still wukkin for govt?
hover11 wrote:Finally someone said it, imagine men acquiring PHD and MBA to work for someone . All that knowledge simply wasted.FrankChag wrote:Steups. What a useless thread.
I've noticed that the underlying assumption for 3rd world people is often "I need a degree to get a job". I hardly ever hear Caribbean students saying "I need a degree to open my own business, or my own practice", or "... to make my business more innovative", unless they're aboard. Not saying 1st world students don't have this narrow-minded perspective also, but I hear it resoundingly from locals. This thread for example.
IMO, regardless of what field you study, if you can't profit from your education without always relying on someone (or the Gov't) to hire you (read as "give you your entitlement because you voted for them"), then... well, let's just say that's why TT is so disgustingly backward after 60+ years of oil revenues.
Worthless if you applying for an entry level position of a company like mostadnj wrote:hover11 wrote:Finally someone said it, imagine men acquiring PHD and MBA to work for someone . All that knowledge simply wasted.FrankChag wrote:Steups. What a useless thread.
I've noticed that the underlying assumption for 3rd world people is often "I need a degree to get a job". I hardly ever hear Caribbean students saying "I need a degree to open my own business, or my own practice", or "... to make my business more innovative", unless they're aboard. Not saying 1st world students don't have this narrow-minded perspective also, but I hear it resoundingly from locals. This thread for example.
IMO, regardless of what field you study, if you can't profit from your education without always relying on someone (or the Gov't) to hire you (read as "give you your entitlement because you voted for them"), then... well, let's just say that's why TT is so disgustingly backward after 60+ years of oil revenues.
PhD worthless? Not if you are working at a university or doing research or consulting.
hover11 wrote:Worthless if you applying if you applying for an entry level position of a company like mostadnj wrote:hover11 wrote:Finally someone said it, imagine men acquiring PHD and MBA to work for someone . All that knowledge simply wasted.FrankChag wrote:Steups. What a useless thread.
PhD worthless? Not if you are working at a university or doing research or consulting.
hover11 wrote:st7 wrote:ent u have ah MBA and boast about it on tuner?
u izza expert at plenty thing, why u still wukkin for govt?
STD,
First of all,learn to read I didn't get an MBA to work for someone ...I did it when I was younger shortly after my BSc, all while working. Anyway I learnt how to have a stable job and have a side business, government wuk pays the bills. Stop focusing on other ppl lives young man and try to make something of yours.
adnj wrote:hover11 wrote:Worthless if you applying if you applying for an entry level position of a company like mostadnj wrote:hover11 wrote:Finally someone said it, imagine men acquiring PHD and MBA to work for someone . All that knowledge simply wasted.FrankChag wrote:Steups. What a useless thread.
Not if you try to get an entry level job at a university in teaching or reasearch or consulting.
Where does a degree in linguistics get me in Trinidad?adnj wrote:I would wager that a hoe with all her teeth makes more than nearly any government worker in Trinidad.
It is common knowledge that you can't be an executive at nearly any German company without a PhD. Many German students go straight to a doctorate before becoming employed.
Get whatever degree you want in whatever field you want. Because If you're going to school to get a job, you're already screwed.
You may as well get a factory job and save your time and money instead of posting how people that get a degree and graduate to chase their passions are stupid.
FrankChag wrote:Steups. What a useless thread.
Yea but at the same time, thousands graduate per year to become unemployed. Why are the majority simply looking for wuk. All that education to become what? A good worker? Really. That's where we reach in TrinidadAlphaMan wrote:FrankChag wrote:Steups. What a useless thread.
The solution to mass unemployment after acquiring a University degree is not for everyone to open a business.
Who would buy from who?
hover11 wrote:Yea but at the same time, thousands graduate per year to become unemployed. Why are the majority simply looking for wuk. All that education to become what? A good worker? Really. That's where we reach in TrinidadAlphaMan wrote:FrankChag wrote:Steups. What a useless thread.
The solution to mass unemployment after acquiring a University degree is not for everyone to open a business.
Who would buy from who?
AlphaMan wrote:hover11 wrote:Yea but at the same time, thousands graduate per year to become unemployed. Why are the majority simply looking for wuk. All that education to become what? A good worker? Really. That's where we reach in TrinidadAlphaMan wrote:FrankChag wrote:Steups. What a useless thread.
Who would buy from who?
Aren't you a government worker yourself?
hover11 wrote:Where does a degree in linguistics get me in Trinidad?adnj wrote:I would wager that a hoe with all her teeth makes more than nearly any government worker in Trinidad.
It is common knowledge that you can't be an executive at nearly any German company without a PhD. Many German students go straight to a doctorate before becoming employed.
Get whatever degree you want in whatever field you want. Because If you're going to school to get a job, you're already screwed.
You may as well get a factory job and save your time and money instead of posting how people that get a degree and graduate to chase their passions are stupid.
If you're studying linguistics, you know where you need to go next.hover11 wrote:Where does a degree in linguistics get me in Trinidad?adnj wrote:I would wager that a hoe with all her teeth makes more than nearly any government worker in Trinidad.
adnj wrote:If you're studying linguistics, you know where you need to go next.hover11 wrote:Where does a degree in linguistics get me in Trinidad?adnj wrote:I would wager that a hoe with all her teeth makes more than nearly any government worker in Trinidad.
What are the local high demand degrees? Law, medicine, accounting, petroleum engineering, maybe. There is a glut of those graduates already.
If you want to be a police officer, WASA clerk or an office manager for Ministry of Whatever, a degree isn't necessary.
There's record low unemployment in the US, Canada and Europe. Get you shitt together and interview there. If some people are as good as they say they are, they will be given a sponsored visa.
If you want to believe that you don't need to leave the Caribbean to find work that involves many of the degrees being offered locally, then get your work gloves and your garden boots - you'll need them.
AlphaMan wrote:adnj wrote:If you're studying linguistics, you know where you need to go next.hover11 wrote:Where does a degree in linguistics get me in Trinidad?adnj wrote:I would wager that a hoe with all her teeth makes more than nearly any government worker in Trinidad.
What are the local high demand degrees? Law, medicine, accounting, petroleum engineering, maybe. There is a glut of those graduates already.
If you want to be a police officer, WASA clerk or an office manager for Ministry of Whatever, a degree isn't necessary.
There's record low unemployment in the US, Canada and Europe. Get you shitt together and interview there. If some people are as good as they say they are, they will be given a sponsored visa.
If you want to believe that you don't need to leave the Caribbean to find work that involves many of the degrees being offered locally, then get your work gloves and your garden boots - you'll need them.
If a particular field is saturated why are Tertiary Level Institutions still encouraging persons to become enrolled when they fully well know the field is saturated and no job opportunities exist post graduation for them.![]()
DMan7 wrote:AlphaMan wrote:adnj wrote:If you're studying linguistics, you know where you need to go next.hover11 wrote:Where does a degree in linguistics get me in Trinidad?adnj wrote:I would wager that a hoe with all her teeth makes more than nearly any government worker in Trinidad.
If a particular field is saturated why are Tertiary Level Institutions still encouraging persons to become enrolled when they fully well know the field is saturated and no job opportunities exist post graduation for them.![]()
That's not for the education institution to tell people, people have to figure that out for themselves. The institution is just there to teach you.
DMan7 wrote:AlphaMan wrote:adnj wrote:If you're studying linguistics, you know where you need to go next.hover11 wrote:Where does a degree in linguistics get me in Trinidad?adnj wrote:I would wager that a hoe with all her teeth makes more than nearly any government worker in Trinidad.
That's not for the education institution to tell people, people have to figure that out for themselves. The institution is just there to teach you.
nervewrecker wrote:DMan7 wrote:AlphaMan wrote:adnj wrote:If you're studying linguistics, you know where you need to go next.hover11 wrote:Where does a degree in linguistics get me in Trinidad?adnj wrote:I would wager that a hoe with all her teeth makes more than nearly any government worker in Trinidad.
The institution is just there to collect $$$.
To them you are just $ signs, your name on the roster, they get paid. Longer they keep you there more $$$ they get.
AlphaMan wrote:nervewrecker wrote:DMan7 wrote:AlphaMan wrote:adnj wrote:If you're studying linguistics, you know where you need to go next.hover11 wrote:Where does a degree in linguistics get me in Trinidad?adnj wrote:I would wager that a hoe with all her teeth makes more than nearly any government worker in Trinidad.
To them you are just $ signs, your name on the roster, they get paid. Longer they keep you there more $$$ they get.
100% Correct
The dumbest swimmer jumps off the sinking ship first.The smartest swimmer waits to see if the ones who jumped first get eaten by sharks.adnj wrote:AlphaMan wrote:nervewrecker wrote:DMan7 wrote:AlphaMan wrote:adnj wrote:If you're studying linguistics, you know where you need to go next.hover11 wrote:Where does a degree in linguistics get me in Trinidad?adnj wrote:I would wager that a hoe with all her teeth makes more than nearly any government worker in Trinidad.
100% Correct
There are diploma mills but not every university is a diploma mill.
They are called a University Career Center. Ranked universities in NA and Europe have required participation coursework and counseling. Many programs have internships with Fortune 500 companies as requirements for graduation.
Part of the ranking of a university is the percentage of graduates employed in the first year, the percentage recruited by Fortune 500 corporations, and the percentage that advanced to further studies or research.
It seems like the same Trinitrollers are unhappy with education and employment, too. No job in Trinidad? Leave - if you're good enough.
The strongest swimmer jumps off the sinking ship first.
edit: I have to wonder who would try to get a job in a field without knowing what the prospects are after graduation? Five years after? 10? Some folks just have to bitchh about being cheated because they can't handle living in the world.
Les Bain wrote:When would it be too late to learn a trade? I've been fascinated by woodworking, landscaping and fabrication for over a decade now. Although my degree has been useful, the general feeling is that its rewards were not proportionate to the time spent obtaining it.
Almost 40 and learning video editing.I learned welding when I was 32.Les Bain wrote:When would it be too late to learn a trade? I've been fascinated by woodworking, landscaping and fabrication for over a decade now. Although my degree has been useful, the general feeling is that its rewards were not proportionate to the time spent obtaining it.
timelapse wrote:Almost 40 and learning video editing.I learned welding when I was 32.Les Bain wrote:When would it be too late to learn a trade? I've been fascinated by woodworking, landscaping and fabrication for over a decade now. Although my degree has been useful, the general feeling is that its rewards were not proportionate to the time spent obtaining it.
Never stop learning.
AlphaMan wrote:Know someone who graduated at the top of their PPO class in UTT.
Working in a clothes store for minimum wage right now...
WTF