1 Year Anniversary - RIP! Andrea Bharatt kidnapped, murdered

Re: Arima woman kidnapped, ransom demanded

Postby aaron17 » February 1st, 2021, 9:44 am

pete wrote:How many more must this happen to before people can get pepper spray to protect themselves? Government really dragging their arses on this simple thing.

Even the police get it b4 we

Postby aaron17 » February 1st, 2021, 9:47 am

Did they even get a deadline for the money?

Postby The_Honourable » February 1st, 2021, 10:05 am

This story getting a bit bizarre... :|

More kidnap suspects held after chase, fight with police

Nine members of the Special Operations Response Team (SORT) are being treated for injuries after chasing a group of suspected kidnappers in Sangre Grande on Sunday afternoon.

Police said they were searching for clues to where 22-year-old kidnap victim Andrea Bharatt was being held when they tried to arrest a group of men.

The men ran into a forested area near Azalea Crescent.

Police said because of the terrain of the area, some officers fell and were hurt, but continued to chase the men.

During the chase, the men fought the police, who managed to subdue them without using weapons.

Police said the officers and suspects were taken to the hospital, where they remained up to Monday morning.

The men held were believed to be involved in Bharatt’s kidnapping by transporting and guarding her.

The exercise was led by Police Commissioner Gary Griffith, DCP Operations Joanne Archie, Insp Mark Hernandez and ASP Cuffie of the Anti Kidnapping Unit.

Bharatt was last seen getting into a car on Friday afternoon.

Her father Randolph Bharatt called her when she did not come home and a man answered her phone, demanding money for her safe release.

Police arrested four men in relation to Bharatt’s kidnapping on Saturday night in Malabar.

Source: https://newsday.co.tt/2021/02/01/more-k ... th-police/

Postby The_Honourable » February 1st, 2021, 10:40 am

Forest search for Andrea

The area of the search

A search is underway in the forests near Sangre Grande, for missing 23-year-old Andrea Bharatt.

The search involves police officers, soldiers and tracker dogs.

The Anti Kidnapping Unit and Special Operations Response Team is involved.

Police believe Bharatt can be found in the forest near the North Eastern College.

Bharatt, who attended that school, is a clerk at the Arima Magistrates’ Court.

Last Friday, she got into a taxi at King Street, Arima, with a co-worker.

The taxi, a Nissan Versa, carried false "H" plates.

Bharatt and her friend were in the back seat. There was a man in the front passenger seat.

The friend dropped off shortly after at Cleaver Heights, Arima.

Bharatt never made it to her home at 110 Arima Old Road, Arima, where she lived with her father Randolph.

He called his daughter’s phone but a man answered saying she was not available.

The father pleaded to hear his child’s voice but the man responded, “This is about money. If you don’t pay the ransom I will cut off your daughter’s ears and send it to you.”

An investigation led to the arrests on Sunday of five men.

The suspects are not cooperating, police say.

Police believe Bharatt was taken by the men in a random crime.

Bharatt’s father said he was not in debt to anyone and there no dispute between himself and anyone. His wife died in 2012.

He said his daughter spends 95 percent of her downtime at home. She goes to work and then returns home and did not “lime”.

Source: https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/f ... 94e04.html

Postby Gladiator » February 1st, 2021, 10:40 am

The_Honourable wrote:This story getting a bit bizarre... :|

And truly frightening. This seems to be a very well orchestrated human trafficking ring...

Postby aaron17 » February 1st, 2021, 10:45 am

Damn!

Postby MaxPower » February 1st, 2021, 10:45 am

Sigh, my heart races every time i open this thread...

Really hoping to hear some good news.

Postby MG Man » February 1st, 2021, 10:51 am

Gladiator wrote:

And truly frightening. This seems to be a very well orchestrated human trafficking ring...

what you talking about? The government said there is no human trafficking in this country

Postby Spitfir3 » February 1st, 2021, 10:53 am

not cooperating?? where the ignorant hot tempered cops when you need em

Postby aaron17 » February 1st, 2021, 11:21 am

Gladiator wrote:

what you talking about? The government said there is no human trafficking in this country

and they had an article the other day that to police helping the trafficking...

Postby bluefete » February 1st, 2021, 11:36 am

Gladiator wrote:

I remember the days of the container on the port.

Everyone said - "That was a lie." Ent?

Postby aaron17 » February 1st, 2021, 12:00 pm

Postby bluefete » February 1st, 2021, 12:33 pm

Remember Tuners: Innocent until proven guilty.

Postby Les Bain » February 1st, 2021, 12:36 pm

bluefete wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

I remember the days of the container on the port.

Everyone said - "That was a lie." Ent?

That was some kind of hoax. I used to rent in a spot overlooking the bus route. When that news broke I have, never before nor since, seen that level of emergency and protective service vehicles back and forthing on the bus route for an extended period of time.

For a hoax.

Postby MG Man » February 1st, 2021, 12:39 pm

again, we have had two prime ministers say there is NO human trafficking in this country, and women who disappear are not trafficked
What else allyuh need to understand?

Postby matr1x » February 1st, 2021, 12:40 pm

The venes are at the heart of this issue.

Postby MaxPower » February 1st, 2021, 12:50 pm

matr1x wrote:The venes are at the heart of this issue.

Slim,

Post this is my forum na, not here bro.

Postby SMc » February 1st, 2021, 12:52 pm

MG Man wrote:again, we have had two prime ministers say there is NO human trafficking in this country, and women who disappear are not trafficked

They definitively have human trafficking in T&T- and any right-minded person would think so (and I know MG would agree with this- but even more surprised he didn't react to a quote by one his partners on pg1 of this thread)

I do think sometimes things don't go as planned and sometimes what was intended to be a 'simple' act of crime (which I don't agree with or condone ) gets way out of hand and we end up with a situation like this- I hope she is found alive and well.

In other news- MAx have a forum?

Postby MG Man » February 1st, 2021, 1:00 pm

SMc wrote:
MG Man wrote:again, we have had two prime ministers say there is NO human trafficking in this country, and women who disappear are not trafficked

They definitively have human trafficking in T&T- and any right-minded person would think so (and I know MG would agree with this- but even more surprised he didn't react to a quote by one his partners on pg1 of this thread)

I do think sometimes things don't go as planned and sometimes what was intended to be a 'simple' act of crime (which I don't agree with or condone ) gets way out of hand and we end up with a situation like this- I hope she is found alive and well.

I skipped to page 3
but when two PMs can say unequivocally that there's NO human trafficking in T&T we in deeper sht than we can imagine

Postby bluefete » February 1st, 2021, 1:03 pm

SMc wrote:

I skipped to page 3
but when two PMs can say unequivocally that there's NO human trafficking in T&T we in deeper sht than we can imagine

So you saying 2 PM's LIED to us? Come nah man MG. You know better than that. No PM has EVER lied to the citizens of T&T. None!

Postby gastly369 » February 1st, 2021, 1:12 pm

Les Bain wrote:Not much hope I'll be proven wrong but nothing will come of this regardless if the young woman is found, or found at all.

Remember some years back with the family from Brasso Seco being abducted and murdered? The killers were detained then what? Sean Luke was one of the most disturbing murders in the country and his 2 killers about to hit 30 in a youth detention facility.

Seems all you can do in this country is to rely on useless hopes and prayers that no crime is ever perpetrated against your loved ones.
Sorry sir we are using alot of our resources for road blocks to ensure your tint, parklight bulbs etc are in working order, as well please remember don't speed pass 101km as well on our highways thanks

Postby Rovin » February 1st, 2021, 1:37 pm

hope they didnt harm her & she still alive yes .... its a sickening ordeal to be going thru

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 1st, 2021, 1:40 pm

sad to say...but the area being searched atm is a known dumping ground. Hopefully this is not the case

Postby aaron17 » February 1st, 2021, 2:19 pm

Postby K74T » February 1st, 2021, 2:33 pm

February 1st, 2021
MEDIA RELEASE

5 detained for kidnapping...Search continues for missing Clerk

Commissioner of Police, Gary Griffith, is asking the public and the media to be careful about the information they post concerning the kidnapping of 23-year-old Andrea Bharatt.

The CoP notes the media frenzy over this incident and points out that too much information on this case could jeopardise the investigations and place the life of the victim in further danger.

Commissioner Griffith says the media has its role to play in society but when it comes to kidnapping the least said, the better.

The CoP also notes that even police officers are over zealous and are giving out sensitive information to the media. He also noticed that media photographers found their way among police officers at a scene on Sunday.

This, he says can bring more harm to the victim. He said that based on the technology available to the TTPS, police have been able to detain five suspects for questioning.

The CoP says that police have received certain information and are pursuing it.

Ms Bharatt, a clerk at the Arima Magistrates' Court, went missing after boarding a car in Arima last Friday afternoon.

Corporate Communications Unit
February 1st, 2021

END

Postby pugboy » February 1st, 2021, 2:52 pm

a wild west in that area with all them illegal quarry characters

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:sad to say...but the area being searched atm is a known dumping ground. Hopefully this is not the case

Arima woman kidnapped, ransom demanded

Postby MaxPower » February 1st, 2021, 3:09 pm

Team,

As fathers, husbands, brothers, fiancés and boyfriends.....try your utmost BEST to keep your girls OUT of public transportation or secluded areas.

Use what is happening as motivation to provide better security and awareness for them.

Continue to emphasize and reiterate the importance of safety and take NO chances.

The vultures and predators are out there prowling and we must position ourselves away from them.

Safety is not guaranteed for any of us, but the decisions we make can save our lives and increase our chances to survive.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 1st, 2021, 3:58 pm

This sounds correct
Gladiator wrote:

Postby redmanjp » February 1st, 2021, 4:23 pm

they should of traced that phone call as soon as the male voice answered - ent they did it for someone chile?

Postby bluefete » February 1st, 2021, 4:46 pm

This is just so heartbreaking, especially when you read the end of the story!

No sign of Andrea: Family clings to hope, as T&T prays
Carolyn Kissoon Feb 1, 2021 Updated 40 min ago

The search for missing 23-year-old Andrea Bharatt has ended in the forest around Crocrobar Road, Fishing Pond, Sangre Grande.

At around 1.45p.m. soldiers and police officers ended a three-mile radius search of the area that began at 7a.m.

They searched the area around a gravel road leading to a dead end leading into the forest that extends to the east coast of Trinidad.

Several houses were also searched.

Told that police had gone into a forested area in search of her niece, aunt Wendy Williams said she packed a hospital bag and sat by her telephone waiting.

“I got all her things ready because I knew as soon as they find her we will have to go to the hospital. Look I have the bag here with me. I just waiting for the call,” she said.

And to the “devils” who took Bharatt, Williams said, “Please, I am begging you. Give me back my child. That is my baby. I cannot go one my night without her. My heart cannot take anymore.

Williams said the family held a prayer service on Sunday night.

She said, “We are praying together. Her father said he knows in his heart she is alive and will come home.”

Williams said she was heartbroken that the search in the Crocrobar Road, Fishing Pond, Sangre Grande, had ended without her niece being found.

Express Photo Editor Robert Taylor, who is among media personnel following the search off Nonpariel Road, said that soldiers and police officers were involved in the search.

The Anti Kidnapping Unit and Special Operations Response Team is involved, and Police Commissioner Gary Griffith oversaw the operation.

Police earlier searched a forested area near the North Eastern College, Sangre Grande.

Bharatt, who attended that school, is a clerk at the Arima Magistrates’ Court.

Last Friday, she got into a taxi at King Street, Arima, with a co-worker.

The taxi, a Nissan Versa, carried false "H" plates.

Bharatt and her friend were in the back seat. There was a man in the front passenger seat.

The friend dropped off shortly after at Cleaver Heights, Arima.

Bharatt never made it to her home at 110 Arima Old Road, Arima, where she lived with her father Randolph.

He called his daughter’s phone but a man answered saying she was not available.

Police searched an area t the end of Crocrobar Road. Photo: Robert Taylor

The father pleaded to hear his child’s voice but the man responded, “This is about money. If you don’t pay the ransom I will cut off your daughter’s ears and send it to you.”

An investigation led to the arrests on Sunday of five men.

The suspects are not cooperating, police say.

Police believe Bharatt was taken by the men in a random crime.

Bharatt’s father said he was not in debt to anyone and there no dispute between himself and anyone. His wife died in 2012.

He said his daughter spends 95 percent of her downtime at home. She goes to work and then returns home and did not “lime”.

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/n ... 94e04.html