Re: Funding Cepep as important as awarding scholarships

Postby sMASH » December 5th, 2020, 6:41 pm

toyota2nr wrote:
nemisis wrote:Too add to this a lot of these people on cepep are low to no skill. That's a reality that cannot change any time soon. Better they are managed than left up to their own devices. This is a problem that needed to be fixed 20 -30 years ago.

But after even up to now this problem still hasn’t been fixed. Cepep is simply a way for PNM to funnel money to its criminal supporters.

Fixed it for you
GG is dat u?

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » December 6th, 2020, 8:20 am

CEPEP/URP contracts formed the ground work for gangs in Trinidad and is a direct slush fund for party supporters and ah red and ready anytime election crowd, that and that alone is the only use of such programmes.

Everytime a murder/rape occurs thank PNM as they led to country into this place that we are, but hey Rowley say to d GP hold strain man while criminals get swimming pools to bathe, get to ride off with 2billion an ded, get weave and phone privileges, get millions in rent, drive 3.0 Mustangs and Benzs, eating apples and strawberries sipping fine champagne. Yea hold strain red sheep an applaud your gubbernment they working for you, and doh forget yall core supporters live in squalor and in a toilet according to yuh pm.

Postby Redman » December 6th, 2020, 8:30 am

586 million and 500 million in 2013 and 2014 respectively suggest that UNC was funding more criminals than at any time in history.

Postby zoom rader » December 6th, 2020, 8:57 am

Redman wrote:586 million and 500 million in 2013 and 2014 respectively suggest that UNC was funding more criminals than at any time in history.
Then how do you explain Marlene and Burke?

Postby Redman » December 6th, 2020, 9:38 am

Well if it is as people here state Cepep is funding PNM criminals....then what changed 2010 to 2015.
Given that the allocations increased, no one was arrested....etc.

To think that bobol...stops and starts with any specific party .is really stupid.

Postby zoom rader » December 6th, 2020, 10:00 am

Redman wrote:Well if it is as people here state Cepep is funding PNM criminals....then what changed 2010 to 2015.
Given that the allocations increased, no one was arrested....etc.

To think that bobol...stops and starts with any specific party .is really stupid.
Good , cause you and others beilieve the Red goverment is righteous and omit the wrong doings and rampant corruption spanning from them

Postby Redman » December 6th, 2020, 10:52 am

Zoom you pretending to be neutral is assinine

Get off that horse you making yourself look even worse.

Take a rest.

Postby zoom rader » December 6th, 2020, 11:01 am

Redman wrote:Zoom you pretending to be neutral is assinine

Get off that horse you making yourself look even worse.

Take a rest.
When you can point out the ills and misdeeds in your red Goverment then my view on you will change.

Until then you are a kant

You make yourself an arse each day, non red Goverment not in power and they not important.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » December 6th, 2020, 4:23 pm

Trinis have become to entitled.

It's bad enough that people still rely on their parents after the age of 18 but worst yet the parents relying on the government to take care of their children educational needs.

This culture needs to seriously reset if we are to survive going forward. The only education that gov't should fund is education that create employment opportunities. Too many people are educated to be employed.

Who creates the jobs? Any UWI alumni ever make a forbes list? We need to stop fooling ourselves that this is what progress looks like.

Postby zoom rader » December 6th, 2020, 5:42 pm

Redress10 wrote:Trinis have become to entitled.

It's bad enough that people still rely on their parents after the age of 18 but worst yet the parents relying on the government to take care of their children educational needs.

This culture needs to seriously reset if we are to survive going forward. The only education that gov't should fund is education that create employment opportunities. Too many people are educated to be employed.

Who creates the jobs? Any UWI alumni ever make a forbes list? We need to stop fooling ourselves that this is what progress looks like.
What resets would you like to see happen ?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » December 6th, 2020, 6:38 pm

In terms of education I would leave it free up to a'levels. Those who leave school without a full certificate would have to pay back the gov't for schooling from forms 1 to 5 including meals if they took part in food nutrition programme. This will go on until the debt is paid or until they get their full certificates which ever come first. This wouldn't include ppl with genuine learning disabilities though.

University would need to be restructured because the freeness has off balanced the labour market. We have highly qualified persons who are earning low incomes due to over supply of certain professions.

Will do away with undergraduate schorlarships entirely and focus on using the money to improve the facilities and make tuition available via affordable loans etc. GATE would still be available but it will be for the sectors that allow for the country to diversify the economy. Agriculture, computer science, data science etc. So they could get Gate but it will not be random courses. It'll be STEM based.

Postby zoom rader » December 6th, 2020, 7:02 pm

Redress10 wrote:

In terms of education I would leave it free up to a'levels. Those who leave school without a full certificate would have to pay back the gov't for schooling from forms 1 to 5 including meals if they took part in food nutrition programme. This will go on until the debt is paid or until they get their full certificates which ever come first. This wouldn't include ppl with genuine learning disabilities though.

University would need to be restructured because the freeness has off balanced the labour market. We have highly qualified persons who are earning low incomes due to over supply of certain professions.

Will do away with undergraduate schorlarships entirely and focus on using the money to improve the facilities and make tuition available via affordable loans etc. GATE would still be available but it will be for the sectors that allow for the country to diversify the economy. Agriculture, computer science, data science etc. So they could get Gate but it will not be random courses. It'll be STEM based.
I can't agree with the forms 1 to 5 paying back if they fail to get certs cause I think the law requires you to be in school till 16.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » December 6th, 2020, 7:15 pm

I'm trying to remove delinquency in the system as well as neglectful parents. The payback will be by the parents if the child is under age 18 and this responsibility will be taken up by the person when they reach 18.

I think this places the burden of parenting back on the parents to ensure that their child focuses and achieves the bare minimum required to function in society. Also this removes the appeal of dropping out, liming on the block whole day and slowly graduating into a criminal.

Remember paying back oy occurs until ya get ya full certificate. Once that occurs then there is nothing to pay back.

I'd also make biology and economics compulsory at o'levels alongside maths and english. I'll use biology to add sex ed to the curriculum to inform the youths as much as possible. Economics is necessary because plenty ppl here seem to think that money grows on trees or that it always have a "wuk" somewhere. They need to become familiar with terms such as job creation, gross domestic product, productivity, subsidies, direct and indirect taxes etc.
Last edited by Redress10 on December 6th, 2020, 7:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » December 6th, 2020, 7:30 pm

and if they dont pay?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » December 6th, 2020, 7:32 pm

What happens when you don't pay any other loan?

Postby zoom rader » December 6th, 2020, 7:41 pm

Redress10 wrote:I'm trying to remove delinquency in the system as well as neglectful parents. The payback will be by the parents if the child is under age 18 and this responsibility will be taken up by the person when they reach 18.

I think this places the burden of parenting back on the parents to ensure that their child focuses and achieves the bare minimum required to function in society. Also this removes the appeal of dropping out, liming on the block whole day and slowly graduating into a criminal.

Remember paying back oy occurs until ya get ya full certificate. Once that occurs then there is nothing to pay back.

I'd also make biology and economics compulsory at o'levels alongside maths and english. I'll use biology to add sex ed to the curriculum to inform the youths as much as possible. Economics is necessary because plenty ppl here seem to think that money grows on trees or that it always have a "wuk" somewhere. They need to become familiar with terms such as job creation, gross domestic product, productivity, subsidies, direct and indirect taxes etc.
While all this is a step in the right direction, I don't think any other country have these measures in place.

Plus there are alot of folks that are not academic inclined..They may be able to read and write but that's as far as they reach.

You also have to understand that the teachers are also a part of the problem. Some teachers just don't teach or care, they sign in to get pay and that's it.

Teacher should be given some sort of incentive to get a percentage of passes for their students.

It's time teachers get reprimanded for not teaching.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » December 6th, 2020, 7:54 pm

Zoom

This is mainly aimed at reducing teenage delinquency. Obviously you would have to make available options for those who are not too academically inclined.

I want to raise the general level of intelligence in the country. You shouldn't be able to look at a Cepep worker and think that person can't read or write which is the case alot of time.

Too many people have slipped through the cracks then go abt living their lves impacting others whether it's by crime or even voting based on sh*t policies.

Most other countries have private schools that rival public schools or the public schools are funded by the taxes of the people in the area. Alot of wastage take place because parents and students don't understand that tax payers dollars fund their education. Our schools would be more disciplined if it was the parents funding their children education. Bet they would take a greater interest in their children progress if it was money coming from their own pocket.

I agree that teachers need to be held more accountable but before we get there let us also acknowledge that we living in a place where students brave to ask miss to "show her breast" etc.

Postby sMASH » December 6th, 2020, 8:32 pm

Redress10 wrote:What happens when you don't pay any other loan?
they seize the asset used as collateral. whats the asset they gonna seize here?

Postby Redman » December 6th, 2020, 9:03 pm

Modify the curriculum,
Get private sector management to run every single school.

Get govt out of education...it will improve

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » December 6th, 2020, 10:10 pm

Redman wrote:Modify the curriculum,

Still need gov't involved especially if is taxpayers money being used. Gov't needs to focus on infrastructure and getting value for money and leave the micro managunf ro the pros.

Need to do away with prestigious vs gov't school thing though.

Postby Gladiator » December 6th, 2020, 10:49 pm

If the solution is to privatize everything ... then why even have a Govt. It seems as though they cant run anything or fail at everything they run!!!

Postby Redman » December 7th, 2020, 6:31 am

Redress10 wrote:

Still need gov't involved especially if is taxpayers money being used. Gov't needs to focus on infrastructure and getting value for money and leave the micro managunf ro the pros.

Need to do away with prestigious vs gov't school thing though.

We need to bring govt schools up to prestige level, in terms of quality of education delivered.

Tender out the management of a school....based on some relevant KPI s
The cost is paid by govt...no cost to the public.
Govt has over site and monitors performance.

Outside of the religious influence....how different is the model for denominational schools

Gladiator...sadly what does reality show?......

Read Farrell's article on service commissions

Postby sMASH » December 7th, 2020, 8:38 am

must... fund.... cepep.... cro cro... muss.... eat... ah... foood.
cannot.... drive... no small... car......

Re: UNC in govt 2025-2030!!!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 27th, 2025, 5:32 pm

Rhoda said 10500 employees from cepep to get the axe... Any truth to that?

Postby hover11 » June 27th, 2025, 5:39 pm

In reality they will be laid off to be rehired under UNC contractors.....cepep and urp hadda run because it tends to the needs of the grass root supporters on both sides forget how much money is wasted on both initiatives
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Rhoda said 10500 employees from cepep to get the axe... Any truth to that?

Postby pugboy » June 27th, 2025, 5:48 pm

these make work schemes encourage
ghost gang racket and folks willing get enrolled to have their nis secured

Postby pugboy » June 27th, 2025, 5:50 pm

Postby j.o.e » June 27th, 2025, 6:32 pm

pugboy wrote:these make work schemes encourage
ghost gang racket and folks willing get enrolled to have their nis secured

I agree 100% but UNC has to remember they campaigned on milk and honey so be careful with giving purge.
Free laptops
Raise of pay for public servants
No property tax
Cheap foreign used (older cars allowed)
Etc

Hadda balance the treats with licks

Postby paid_influencer » June 27th, 2025, 7:44 pm

rhoda said it best...

Red Wedding/Night of the Long Knives behaviour.

Postby alfa » June 27th, 2025, 8:07 pm

CEPEP was always a work for vote program which is a massive drain on the economy. When it first came out around 2002 its aim was to have people work during the day and go to school on afternoons to gain a skill with the aim of sustainable employment. Unfortunately this became a full time job for everyone and the school part went out the door. This shidz should have been revamped decades ago.

However the UNC did promise milk and honey for all and they should not try to do in one quarter what wasn't done in over a decade. 10000 unemployed is a shock on the economy.

Bad move if they don't plan on rehiring those people until it can be phased out gradually