CARNIVAL 2021 CANCELLED! - PM announces

Re: CARNIVAL 2021 CANCELLED! - PM announces

Postby Kenjo » September 29th, 2020, 8:12 pm

death365 wrote:if yuh dont kno ... is level loans people does take to buy costumes

MaxPower wrote:I think even after Imbert rest the pipe on allyuh on budget day that Trinis should use the money they were going to find to pay for their Carnival costume constructively.

What is the repayment period people usually have for these loans ?ive always seen the ads but playing mas always seemed like an all or nothing . Either you can afford it or not . Or you take pipe to afford a costume

Postby adnj » September 29th, 2020, 8:17 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:the problem is their a LOT of ppl who not young & healthy- yes many young but certainly not healthy. u see d graph where men in dey 40s and even 30s died? and many more who survived but now have to live with long term health problems. it not just a matter of who will die.

we also can't isolate vulnerable ppl when some of those same young ppl live with their older vulnerable parents, and some older vulnerable ppl are still working (50s and maybe early 60s)

everything is not shutdown. but we can't expect a full back to normal especially if it means a thousands of ppl playin mas- because covid will play mas on us 2 weeks after- so even if we came out of community spread before we will go right back and then we back to shutting down bars/dining in etc. like now which will cause those sectors of the economy to suffer.

those other countries who going ahead with carnival- just watch what happens afterwards. there is life to be lived after carnival u know.

Yes I agree, that's why to young people who live with older vulnerable persons should not partake in these things. And if they are stay somewhere else for that time.

Btw I'm not advocating for Carnival in Feb 2021, I'm saying we need to find a way first to live with the virus and ease into these things slowly. Then, only then we announce a carnival date. Assuming it can be safely held anywhere from April to Aug.

T&T is living with it. Because public health guidelines were not followed adequately, restrictions were put in place. Then, once a vaccine program starts, restrictions can begin to be lifted.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 29th, 2020, 8:45 pm

adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:the problem is their a LOT of ppl who not young & healthy- yes many young but certainly not healthy. u see d graph where men in dey 40s and even 30s died? and many more who survived but now have to live with long term health problems. it not just a matter of who will die.

we also can't isolate vulnerable ppl when some of those same young ppl live with their older vulnerable parents, and some older vulnerable ppl are still working (50s and maybe early 60s)

everything is not shutdown. but we can't expect a full back to normal especially if it means a thousands of ppl playin mas- because covid will play mas on us 2 weeks after- so even if we came out of community spread before we will go right back and then we back to shutting down bars/dining in etc. like now which will cause those sectors of the economy to suffer.

those other countries who going ahead with carnival- just watch what happens afterwards. there is life to be lived after carnival u know.

Yes I agree, that's why to young people who live with older vulnerable persons should not partake in these things. And if they are stay somewhere else for that time.

Btw I'm not advocating for Carnival in Feb 2021, I'm saying we need to find a way first to live with the virus and ease into these things slowly. Then, only then we announce a carnival date. Assuming it can be safely held anywhere from April to Aug.

T&T is living with it. Because public health guidelines were not followed adequately, restrictions were put in place. Then, once a vaccine program starts, restrictions can begin to be lifted.

Closing gyms, restaurant dining, cinemas, concerts, plays, parties, beaches, schools and limits on public gathering is CERTAINLY NOT living with it. We are in a lockdown, there's no way to sugar coat it.....living with it I'd say would be if most if not all of the above were allowed, but measures put in place to prevent rampant spread. Many countries are doing that so that some sense of normality can return.

We have rampant spread because the idiots in power held an election despite seeing evidence of community spread.

killercow

Postby killercow » September 29th, 2020, 10:52 pm

IMG-20200929-WA0022.jpeg

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 30th, 2020, 3:51 am

so he close carnival monday and tuesday does that mean all the fetes will not take place ?

Postby De Dragon » September 30th, 2020, 7:14 am

screwbash wrote:so he close carnival monday and tuesday does that mean all the fetes will not take place ?

Yes, those would violate the number persons allowed to congregate in a space, unless someone hosts one at Bayside Towers for free :|

Postby adnj » September 30th, 2020, 11:23 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Closing gyms, restaurant dining, cinemas, concerts, plays, parties, beaches, schools and limits on public gathering is CERTAINLY NOT living with it. We are in a lockdown, there's no way to sugar coat it.....living with it I'd say would be if most if not all of the above were allowed, but measures put in place to prevent rampant spread. Many countries are doing that so that some sense of normality can return.

We have rampant spread because the idiots in power held an election despite seeing evidence of community spread.
............Image

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 1st, 2020, 9:57 am

adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

............Image

I think you misread, but fine maybe you do lack basic comprehension skills. We have rampant spread due to a multitude of factors and the time to contain has long passed. That's why I'm advocating and proposing many ways we can have some normality in the midst of a pandemic. No sense now in screwing over the economy and thus putting many many lives at risk or through great adversity when all that's called for a smarter management. This has nothing to do with carnival....yet .... Though I still hold the view that carnival can be safely held if we were smart about it. But literally everything the government has done has been laced with stupidity so far.

Waiting for a vaccine before lifting restrictions is a ludicrous suggestion.

Postby Redman » October 1st, 2020, 11:01 am

We have rampant spread?

Postby redmanjp » October 1st, 2020, 11:25 am

living with it doesn't mean letting it rage like some other countries are doing- that would be more like dying with it or tens of thousands of ppl living with 'long covid' (long term health issues/damage) some of whom may not be able to work especially if that work involves manual labour where u need a good pair of lungs!

we have to go about our business but wear masks- most places allow that- but certain places masks are not practical i.e. bars/dining/beaches so they are high risk- u can't have high risk places open while u have community spread or u are asking for trouble- deaths, hospitalizations, and 'long covid' could be 10 times the amount we have now. and yes young healthy ppl get 'long covid' too.

we could perhaps open back places of worship and maybe cinemas (no eating/drinking) and make sure everyone wearing masks

also if u are Vitamin D deficient (or insufficient) take some supplements or spend some time in your yard each day.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 1st, 2020, 12:17 pm

redmanjp wrote:living with it doesn't mean letting it rage like some other countries are doing- that would be more like dying with it or tens of thousands of ppl living with 'long covid' (long term health issues/damage) some of whom may not be able to work especially if that work involves manual labour where u need a good pair of lungs!

we have to go about our business but wear masks- most places allow that- but certain places masks are not practical i.e. bars/dining/beaches so they are high risk- u can't have high risk places open while u have community spread or u are asking for trouble- deaths, hospitalizations, and 'long covid' could be 10 times the amount we have now. and yes young healthy ppl get 'long covid' too.

we could perhaps open back places of worship and maybe cinemas (no eating/drinking) and make sure everyone wearing masks

also if u are Vitamin D deficient (or insufficient) take some supplements or spend some time in your yard each day.

I do totally agree with you, but keeping all of those things closed for months can also have lots of negative fall out as well.

If we want to wait for a vaccine, fine, but just keep in mind the economic, social, mental health consequences.

I do think we can open beaches (limit crowd sizes) and everything else once we ensure mandatory mask wearing except when eating and drinking in restaurants, bars, gyms, cinemas.

And yes we do have rampant spread (with our lackluster testing, it may look otherwise), last week when on a few days we averaged 200 cases a day.....that's equivalent to the US having over 40K cases per day.

I do agree right now keeping things closed is the right choice. But other 2nrs like adnj think restrictions can only be lifted once a vaccine program is in place.

Postby redmanjp » October 1st, 2020, 12:48 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:living with it doesn't mean letting it rage like some other countries are doing- that would be more like dying with it or tens of thousands of ppl living with 'long covid' (long term health issues/damage) some of whom may not be able to work especially if that work involves manual labour where u need a good pair of lungs!

I do totally agree with you, but keeping all of those things closed for months can also have lots of negative fall out as well.

If we want to wait for a vaccine, fine, but just keep in mind the economic, social, mental health consequences.

I do think we can open beaches (limit crowd sizes) and everything else once we ensure mandatory mask wearing except when eating and drinking in restaurants, bars, gyms, cinemas.

And yes we do have rampant spread (with our lackluster testing, it may look otherwise), last week when on a few days we averaged 200 cases a day.....that's equivalent to the US having over 40K cases per day.

I do agree right now keeping things closed is the right choice. But other 2nrs like adnj think restrictions can only be lifted once a vaccine program is in place.

that exception alone cover 5000 bars, and hundreds of restaurants- that can only be lifted if we had sporadic cases, all of which can be traced and not any pending investigation- i wouldn't even say open them back with cluster spread as that is just 1 step away from community spread.

Postby redmanjp » October 2nd, 2020, 7:42 pm

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 2nd, 2020, 8:32 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

that exception alone cover 5000 bars, and hundreds of restaurants- that can only be lifted if we had sporadic cases, all of which can be traced and not any pending investigation- i wouldn't even say open them back with cluster spread as that is just 1 step away from community spread.

Look I agree, if we didn't lockdown so unreasonably hard before elections, businesses wouldn't be under this level of stress. I fear the long term consequences of this will be worse

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 11th, 2021, 8:27 pm

17660e1b-9b24-4d58-91f4-87a5ce3b321e.jpg

ac3cf37e-384b-483d-90b1-b10359a94bc4.jpg

a1ea15d8-4a27-458c-b085-f7fa78eb4ace.jpg

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 11th, 2021, 8:35 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:17660e1b-9b24-4d58-91f4-87a5ce3b321e.jpg

ac3cf37e-384b-483d-90b1-b10359a94bc4.jpg

a1ea15d8-4a27-458c-b085-f7fa78eb4ace.jpg

This while I guess, noble, doesn't really help the carnival economy much. It's the party mas that everyone wants.

I'm totally on board with showcasing the cultural and artistic parts of mas. But the real Monday/Tuesday mas can't happen, no point attempting it.

Postby sMASH » January 11th, 2021, 8:43 pm

if u fraid covid, stay home.
string in a bumsee is life.

Postby redmanjp » January 11th, 2021, 8:47 pm

^ and ban on alcohol too right? and who going to do all that supervision that they can't seem to do even at bars and other gatherings?

Postby redmanjp » January 11th, 2021, 8:49 pm

sMASH wrote:if u fraid covid, stay home.
string in a bumsee is life.

u cud do it virtually this year, might save hospital beds

pornhub

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 11th, 2021, 10:04 pm

I think he means radius not diameter?

Postby Kenjo » January 11th, 2021, 10:31 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I think he means radius not diameter?

Lol yes. But that’s the most annoying thing of girls playing in costumes which are featured around birds with wings that obstruct close contact

Postby sMASH » January 11th, 2021, 11:04 pm

home schooling them chirren have u sharp..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 11th, 2021, 11:38 pm

sMASH wrote:

home schooling them chirren have u sharp..

lol seems so!

Postby stev » January 12th, 2021, 1:32 am

Trinidad news getting like the onion articles...

Postby shogun » January 12th, 2021, 1:33 am

Yeah, seems kinda pointless. The mas aspect of Carni should not be attempted this year. Wouldn't mind if they attempted the Caiso monarch/more cultural elements and maybe presenting of the kings and queens costumes though. Doubt that viable enough for the mas makers though.

brickman

Postby brickman » January 12th, 2021, 2:59 am

Trinis getting really f'n slack now,many places that had to sanitize (wash your lands or had someone spraying sanitizer on your hands) have started slacking off or have stopped to the point were people walk in normal while i am standing in front of them with my hands waiting for them to spray me with the sanitizer spray bottle in their hand & they watch me like they are confused or the self service dispenser that is always empty.Or the places with the sinks who water down the liquid soap so much it's basically just water.They really want carnival gatherings after they admitted cases spiked after Xmas in a place where depending on the color of your skin or zeroes in your bank account police will "arrive" to shut it after an amount of time equal to the aforementioned "shut it down" qualifications.Trinis seem to want another few months of lockdown before & to curfew to start to realize what is going on.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 12th, 2021, 8:32 am

Not sure why Guardian front page states it like it’s not just a suggestion
EDIT: Apparently an altered version of the Guardian front page is being shared around. The actual front page reads "DOMA lists suggestions for,,,"

Postby MaxPower » January 12th, 2021, 9:04 am

T&T sure have their priorities straight.

Trinis asses continue to remain happy and unconcerned.
Last edited by MaxPower on January 12th, 2021, 9:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Les Bain » January 12th, 2021, 9:48 am

Seems like Covid could mutate into something from SyFy channel original movie and trinis would still say it safe to have Carnival.

The same Trinis that cah make it to the office when it drizzling or if they sneeze twice when they dressing for work.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 12th, 2021, 10:59 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Not sure why Guardian front page states it like it’s not just a suggestion

sure that's not altered?

look at the mask and there's a faint text "DOMA LISTS SUGGESTIONS FOR"