COVIDIOTS in Trinidad & Tobago

Numb3r4

Re: COVIDIOTS in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Numb3r4 » August 22nd, 2020, 6:59 pm

Vitamin D deficiency as a predictor of poor prognosis in patients with acute respiratory failure due to COVID-19

G. E. Carpagnano, V. Di Lecce, V. N. Quaranta, A. Zito, E. Buonamico, E. Capozza, A. Palumbo, G. Di Gioia, V. N. Valerio & O. Resta

https://link.springer.com/article/10.10 ... 20-01370-x

Brief Summary

Abstract
Purpose
Hypovitaminosis D is a highly spread condition correlated with increased risk of respiratory tract infections. Nowadays, the world is in the grip of the Coronavirus disease 19 (COVID 19) pandemic. In these patients, cytokine storm is associated with disease severity. In consideration of the role of vitamin D in the immune system, aim of this study was to analyse vitamin D levels in patients with acute respiratory failure due to COVID-19 and to assess any correlations with disease severity and prognosis.

Results
Eighty one percent of patients had hypovitaminosis D. Based on vitamin D levels, the population was stratified into four groups: no hypovitaminosis D, insufficiency, moderate deficiency, and severe deficiency. No differences regarding demographic and clinical characteristics were found. A survival analysis highlighted that, after 10 days of hospitalization, severe vitamin D deficiency patients had a 50% mortality probability, while those with vitamin D ≥ 10 ng/mL had a 5% mortality risk (p = 0.019).

Conclusions
High prevalence of hypovitaminosis D was found in COVID-19 patients with acute respiratory failure, treated in a RICU. Patients with severe vitamin D deficiency had a significantly higher mortality risk. Severe vitamin D deficiency may be a marker of poor prognosis in these patients, suggesting that adjunctive treatment might improve disease outcomes.

Postby adnj » August 22nd, 2020, 7:56 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Vitamin D deficiency as a predictor of poor prognosis in patients with acute respiratory failure due to COVID-19

G. E. Carpagnano, V. Di Lecce, V. N. Quaranta, A. Zito, E. Buonamico, E. Capozza, A. Palumbo, G. Di Gioia, V. N. Valerio & O. Resta

Brief Summary

Abstract
Purpose
Hypovitaminosis D is a highly spread condition correlated with increased risk of respiratory tract infections. Nowadays, the world is in the grip of the Coronavirus disease 19 (COVID 19) pandemic. In these patients, cytokine storm is associated with disease severity. In consideration of the role of vitamin D in the immune system, aim of this study was to analyse vitamin D levels in patients with acute respiratory failure due to COVID-19 and to assess any correlations with disease severity and prognosis.

Results
Eighty one percent of patients had hypovitaminosis D. Based on vitamin D levels, the population was stratified into four groups: no hypovitaminosis D, insufficiency, moderate deficiency, and severe deficiency. No differences regarding demographic and clinical characteristics were found. A survival analysis highlighted that, after 10 days of hospitalization, severe vitamin D deficiency patients had a 50% mortality probability, while those with vitamin D ≥ 10 ng/mL had a 5% mortality risk (p = 0.019).

Conclusions
High prevalence of hypovitaminosis D was found in COVID-19 patients with acute respiratory failure, treated in a RICU. Patients with severe vitamin D deficiency had a significantly higher mortality risk. Severe vitamin D deficiency may be a marker of poor prognosis in these patients, suggesting that adjunctive treatment might improve disease outcomes.
Trinidad has a UV index that averages between 8-10. You only need to walk outside in short sleeves for about 20 minutes to gets all of the vitamin D that the average adult can use.

Skin color does play a part, also. Older, darker people need more sun exposure.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 23rd, 2020, 12:07 am

I only posted it on account of the whole sunlight killing COVID thing, the sunlight probably doesn't kill COVID out right but it does have a certain effect on your bodies' that helps in the fight against it.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » August 23rd, 2020, 1:07 am

Now got these from a WhatsApp group, fb live pumping at least 10 people there walking around and not a mask in sight
IMG_20200823_005500.jpeg
IMG_20200823_004624.jpeg

Catastrophist

Postby Catastrophist » August 31st, 2020, 10:03 pm

how much money will ttps gather from these people

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 1st, 2020, 12:24 am

With regards to that video I really don't know what to think, when I saw it the first thing that came to mind was just a fed-up teacher dealing with a delinquent student.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 1st, 2020, 3:07 pm

dat officer hadda learn some respect. he point up the offender with his hand like if it is he padna he talking to is no wonder he getting resistance. GG hadda teach dem to have respect for the civilians out there, he aint know if the offender fall in the bracket to not wear a mask but he want to talk up in he arss to the person like if they guilt. under Gibbs them cud ah never get on so. i doubt he cud talk to he son so

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 1st, 2020, 3:18 pm

screwbash wrote:dat officer hadda learn some respect. he point up the offender with his hand like if it is he padna he talking to is no wonder he getting resistance. GG hadda teach dem to have respect for the civilians out there, he aint know if the offender fall in the bracket to not wear a mask but he want to talk up in he arss to the person like if they guilt. under Gibbs them cud ah never get on so. i doubt he cud talk to he son so

To me I heard one side of the conversation. You don't know how the civilian responded.

I have dealt with several officers, even in stop/search situations and I always treat them with respect and it is returned.

If you want to jackass the scene, you will likely be treated like one.

Postby redmanjp » September 1st, 2020, 3:25 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Vitamin D deficiency as a predictor of poor prognosis in patients with acute respiratory failure due to COVID-19

Brief Summary

Abstract
Purpose

Results

Conclusions

how does being elderly and having comorbidities affect this? let's say your Vit. D level is >= 10ng/ml but your are 70, diabetic & hypertensive?

rebound

Postby rebound » September 1st, 2020, 3:31 pm

True, from what the Officer said, its appears that the passenger stueps when questioned..

If so, the Officer right
VexXx Dogg wrote:
screwbash wrote:dat officer hadda learn some respect. he point up the offender with his hand like if it is he padna he talking to is no wonder he getting resistance. GG hadda teach dem to have respect for the civilians out there, he aint know if the offender fall in the bracket to not wear a mask but he want to talk up in he arss to the person like if they guilt. under Gibbs them cud ah never get on so. i doubt he cud talk to he son so

To me I heard one side of the conversation. You don't know how the civilian responded.

I have dealt with several officers, even in stop/search situations and I always treat them with respect and it is returned.

If you want to jackass the scene, you will likely be treated like one.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 1st, 2020, 6:04 pm

redmanjp wrote:

Brief Summary

Abstract
Purpose

Results

Conclusions

how does being elderly and having comorbidities affect this? let's say your Vit. D level is >= 10ng/ml but your are 70, diabetic & hypertensive?

To be honest I couldn't find out if they said anything with regards to age, what I do know is that other studies recommend treatment with additional dosages of vitamin D3.

I assume that given what we know any little bit helps.

Postby redmanjp » September 1st, 2020, 8:22 pm

^ i have been studying vitamin D to build some resistance and many studies are showing positive results for vitamin d so i bought some Nature Made 1000 IU tabs for my mom who is diabetic & hypertensive. Yeah u can make it naturally but persons with darker skin and elderly ppl don't make much even though she may go outside and do some gardening it's not everyday.

Postby MaxPower » September 1st, 2020, 8:59 pm

Hello screwbash,

I agree they should be taught to respect civilians.

But what about the civilians themselves? The lawlessness, stink attitude, lip, steupsin, cussin, walking off? Who addressing that?

And yes, even under Gibbs they got on so.

Trinis are usually the main problem, they continue to do their sheit, and when they do NOT get a bligh, they get VEX thus making the situation worst.

Trinis need to get rid of their complacent mentality.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 1st, 2020, 9:11 pm

redmanjp wrote:^ i have been studying vitamin D to build some resistance and many studies are showing positive results for vitamin d so i bought some Nature Made 1000 IU tabs for my mom who is diabetic & hypertensive. Yeah u can make it naturally but persons with darker skin and elderly ppl don't make much even though she may go outside and do some gardening it's not everyday.

I hear you, I mentioned this a while ago but no one has really been educating or informing the public on this particular side/aspect of the disease.

When it first came out that those with compromised systems should be careful, I took it upon myself to get a better vitamin regime and diet in place. Yet the messaging from the authorities seemed to just panic folks. Why not try to help folks and give them something productive to aim for? Try to get them onto a better diet, vitamins, get rest and stay hydrated, even while indoors.

I would argue if you told them about things like yoga and meditation, or just having to lie down for a while after lunch, it may have eased a lot of stress related to being indoors for a prolonged period of time, at the very least advise them to get a lot of rest, don't stay up too late and binge watch things online, if they do stay in bed and make up for the late bed time, 6-7.5hrs of sleep.

Who knows how the stress of all the added measures affects the persons' immune system and what happens when they have to go back out to work.

Also with vitamin D persons who are inside apartment buildings and condominiums, would be less likely to get a fair amount of natural sunlight, they may think that because the lights are on it's good, no, open as much of the windows as possible, preferably in the morning and let the light and air enter the room. Sunlight won't cure he COVID but the benefits to your mood and subsequent immune system, however little might go a long way.

Postby paid_influencer » September 1st, 2020, 9:45 pm

I'm taking the Alive! multivitamin gummy designed for women. Expensive, but it works fine and I can share a bottle with the spouse.

The main problem I've found with other multivitamins is they load up on B12. Not a health risk, but for me B12 in those quantities (>1000% of RDA) create a 'high' that wears off and affects my mood. The Alive brand is more reasonable at 375% RDA on B12. The Vitamin D is at 200% RDA, for reference.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 2nd, 2020, 6:15 am

Hello screwbash,

I agree they should be taught to respect civilians.

But what about the civilians themselves? The lawlessness, stink attitude, lip, steupsin, cussin, walking off? Who addressing that?

And yes, even under Gibbs they got on so.

Trinis are usually the main problem, they continue to do their sheit, and when they do NOT get a bligh, they get VEX thus making the situation worst.

Trinis need to get rid of their complacent mentality.

commissioner gibbs started 'To Protect and Serve with Pride" an the officers were told about customer service etc,
the civilian in the video stupes because the officer said ' what going on with you in the back " and point up he hand at the civilian. if the officer had said " sir in the back, the law now requires mask be worn in public, where is your make" or some version of respect to the civilian i am sure the civilian would not have reacted in the same manner. immediately the officer appeared hostile like he ready to assault the civilian and violence does be met with violence, respect will be met with respect. if you tell a man morning more often than not he will tell you morning in return.it is easier to catch more flies with honey than vinegar.
Last edited by screwbash on September 2nd, 2020, 11:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby maj. tom » September 3rd, 2020, 11:21 am

Truly remarkable how many people I'm observing today wearing their masks on the chin and not covering the nose. And they're so proud too.

Medicine really needs to examine this nose-to-asshole anatomy being discovered daily.

Postby maj. tom » September 4th, 2020, 2:52 pm

A small sample of our national covidiots with the nose-to-asshole anatomy.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/09/03/en-masse-in-masks/
10453888-1024x752.jpg
10463322-1024x641.jpg
10453885-1-1024x638.jpg

Postby De Dragon » September 4th, 2020, 3:01 pm

^^^ That's racist!

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 4th, 2020, 3:17 pm

maj. tom wrote:A small sample of our national covidiots with the nose-to-asshole anatomy.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/09/03/en-masse-in-masks/

"South people again", KCR.

Postby aaron17 » September 4th, 2020, 3:26 pm

Indian man in first pic.

Postby MaxPower » September 4th, 2020, 8:38 pm

Friends,

Why are there pics of only our BLACK brothers and sisters?

Is this suppose to be some sort of a statistic?

Postby maj. tom » September 4th, 2020, 8:45 pm

The credit is on each photograph in the link to the Newsday article. The photos are watermarked too. You will note there are more photographs in the link. I only posted the Covidiots. I really not sure how race came into this thread.

If any of you think it's racist or have a problem, contact the Newsday editor and photographer by email and explain your concerns. You can also report me to the Trinituner Admins and get the post removed if you are offended. I always humbly stand to be corrected and I value criticism.

Postby paid_influencer » September 4th, 2020, 9:11 pm

what's an appropriate response to somebody that comes into your workplace and immediately pulls down their mask to talk to you?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 4th, 2020, 9:14 pm

paid_influencer wrote:what's an appropriate response to somebody that comes into your workplace and immediately pulls down their mask to talk to you?

these days is to run yes.

Postby redmanjp » September 4th, 2020, 9:28 pm

paid_influencer wrote:what's an appropriate response to somebody that comes into your workplace and immediately pulls down their mask to talk to you?

tell them spit and droplets does fly when talking so pull back up yuh mask

Postby pugboy » September 4th, 2020, 10:08 pm

Take off yours and immediately cough or sneeze at them

redmanjp wrote:

tell them spit and droplets does fly when talking so pull back up yuh mask

Postby Rovin » September 5th, 2020, 8:39 pm

taken from DJ SHERIFF fb page ...

September 5th, 2020
MEDIA RELEASE

12 charged with gathering at Marabella Bars

Twelve persons were arrested and charged for the offence of the gathering of more than five persons in a public space in two separate incidents at bars. The arrests were made during an anti-crime exercise conducted in Marabella yesterday, Friday 4th September, 2020, between 2pm and 6pm.
GILBERT BREWSTER, 84, NORBERT GARCIA, 77, MARIO SALANDY, 49, MANIRAM DOOKIE, 56, ROGER SAMAROO, 29, HARRIDAN BACHAN, 28, LALCHAN MANUEL, 58, CALVIN TAMBIE, 50, KUMAR KAMAL, 57, KEITH JOSEPH, 57, TAMEEKA SIMMONS, 34 and EMILY FENG, 33, were arrested in two separate incidents at bars located on Tarouba Road and Union Road in Marabella. EMILY FENG the owner of one of the bars, was also charged with aiding and abetting.
FENG was released on a $15,000 bond, while the other 11 suspects were all granted bail in the amount of $10,000 and will all appear at the San Fernando Magistrates’ Court on Tuesday 10th November, 2020.
Snr Supt Yusuff Gaffar, of the Southern Division, noted that exercises of this nature will continue throughout the division and urged citizens to obey the law regarding gathering in public spaces in order to reduce the spread of the COVID-19 virus.
The exercise was supervised by Insp (Ag) Santana, coordinated by Sgt Ifil and Cpl Burke, and included officers from the Marabella Police Station, Marabella CID, Southern Division Task Force and the K-9 Unit.

Corporate Communications Unit
September 5th, 2020

END

Postby De Dragon » September 5th, 2020, 9:02 pm

maj. tom wrote:The credit is on each photograph in the link to the Newsday article. The photos are watermarked too. You will note there are more photographs in the link. I only posted the Covidiots. I really not sure how race came into this thread.

If any of you think it's racist or have a problem, contact the Newsday editor and photographer by email and explain your concerns. You can also report me to the Trinituner Admins and get the post removed if you are offended. I always humbly stand to be corrected and I value criticism.

I was being facetious tom. Up to this day, elitecorolla and Red Plastic Bag still trying to pin that racist tag on me, so I know how you feel. My apologies if you were offended.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2254 cases, 35 deaths, 1485 active, 734 discharged in T&T

Postby redmanjp » September 7th, 2020, 3:18 pm

September 7th, 2020
MEDIA RELEASE
61 Ticketed for Not Wearing Face Masks
Sixty-one fixed penalty tickets were issued to persons for breaching the COVID-19 regulations for failing to wear a face mask across three Policing Divisions between the period 6pm on Sunday 6th September, 2020 and 6am on Monday 7th September, 2020.
The majority of infractions, 56, occurred in the Eastern Division, where the Mayaro Police issued 52 tickets. The penalty for failing to wear a mask is $1,000 as a first offence. This is one of the measures implemented in the Public Health Ordinance regulations to combat the spread of the Covid-19 virus.
The Trinidad and Tobago Police Service would like to appeal to all citizens to adhere to all COVID-19 regulations by wearing face masks, not having gatherings of more than five persons in public places, and practicing social distancing, in order to reduce the spread of the COVID-19 virus.
Corporate Communications Unit
September 7th, 2020
END