paid_influencer wrote:Phone Surgeon wrote:It easy to get around the rules though. All them liquor marts hadda do is start to sell bread and snacks and phonecard...and they're now a mini mart.
yup. it was a stupid measure to start with. People could buy drinks and water, but if it have alcohol in that water then suddenly it is a COVID19 health issue and will cost lives, etc.
The only reason it is in the regulation is because a police occifer thought the regulation was against the sale of alcohol, and locked up a liquor mart owner. The administration, rather than admit the mistake, doubled down and added it to the regulation.
assassin wrote:The framework of the existing, ancient, Health Ordinance was amended for most of the restrictions. This can be done with the signature of the Minister of Health
I am not sure that public consultation is a mandatory requirement for any legislation
Dohplaydat wrote:There are many many people who are too old to cook. My uncle lives alone, he had a stroke over a year ago. There's a wonderful business that he subscribes too that drops off healthy meals for him daily.
They tried and lobbied to stay open, but they were told no exceptions, unless it was bakery items (weird AF).
So right now, different family members have to drop food for him everyday. People asking why so much ppl on the road? This is f*cking why, when leaders make stupid counter productive decisions that ultimately lead to no change but more suffering.
paid_influencer wrote:nah doh trivialize dis man. drinking alone is a depressing thing![]()
plenty people lossing they livelihood and reading the news on trinituner. 4 months of no income while other people dollar safe
supercharged turbo wrote:What is allyuh predictions when bars and restaurants come back into operation wrt prices and time?
Lets say the government give bars and restaurants 4 days to open and a certain time period to sell within,do you think the prices going up to compensate for the lost revenue or they should just be grateful to still be getting some days rather than none?
paid_influencer wrote:what typically happens in a recession is consolidation. With less money to go around, the smaller operations shut down and get absorbed by the larger operations.
so we might see the same crowds by the doubles man, but not realize that it have less doubles men around in general.
supercharged turbo wrote:What is allyuh predictions when bars and restaurants come back into operation wrt prices and time?
Lets say the government give bars and restaurants 4 days to open and a certain time period to sell within,do you think the prices going up to compensate for the lost revenue or they should just be grateful to still be getting some days rather than none?
elec2020 wrote:assassin wrote:The framework of the existing, ancient, Health Ordinance was amended for most of the restrictions. This can be done with the signature of the Minister of Health
I am not sure that public consultation is a mandatory requirement for any legislation
To mind they did so for the marijuana and ammendments to severak acts like the freedom of information and non profit organizations acts mid last year... so idk if that is custom... or not... since the bahbal Kamla and them tried with section 34
pugboy wrote:all them place have long lines to buy the takeout food, I had to buy a 6" sub in Adams maraval last saturday for $50
both maraval massy had extremely long lines
dont see why they also cant sell a "doubles kit" channa, bara and condiments
Dizzy28 wrote:pugboy wrote:all them place have long lines to buy the takeout food, I had to buy a 6" sub in Adams maraval last saturday for $50
both maraval massy had extremely long lines
dont see why they also cant sell a "doubles kit" channa, bara and condiments
There was a rant on Facebook last week by a doubles vendor in Arima protesting Hearty Foods selling of doubles kits.
But its not a bad idea and a few of the doubles vendors in the east selling them that way where you getting everything disassembled and you put it together.
Ted_v2 wrote:not everybody could cook right thru, Plenty ppl out here cant cook more than a couple meals. Sometimes its easier to pickup a meal than go thru the effort to purchase, prepare and cook. Its not that healthy but everyone busy these days.
it have a two doubles man that i know of personally, that does orders on the weekend. One is organised and has stuff properly perpared, one person making doubles, one collecting change and another dropping the bag to the person. Yes its order but doubles make on the spot when u reach. Roadside pickup.
the other person however, i heard theres a huge crowd by his house, like a regular sunday morning jazz, had 30+ people there this sunday at one time.
i not against it because, these people hadda live and a one or two day job is fair enough to keep their cash flow running for the week because everybody hadda eat.
right now
massy selling chicken wings, subs ,rotisserie chicken and their usual deli lunches.
pricemart selling pizza and fry chicken, rotisserie chicken
and a few places selling fry chicken under their bakery location, i saw a place went from 27 for a two peice and fries to 30$, mad thing.
another place is 23$ for a two piece chicken alone.
NR8 wrote:Ted_v2 wrote:not everybody could cook right thru, Plenty ppl out here cant cook more than a couple meals. Sometimes its easier to pickup a meal than go thru the effort to purchase, prepare and cook. Its not that healthy but everyone busy these days.
it have a two doubles man that i know of personally, that does orders on the weekend. One is organised and has stuff properly perpared, one person making doubles, one collecting change and another dropping the bag to the person. Yes its order but doubles make on the spot when u reach. Roadside pickup.
the other person however, i heard theres a huge crowd by his house, like a regular sunday morning jazz, had 30+ people there this sunday at one time.
i not against it because, these people hadda live and a one or two day job is fair enough to keep their cash flow running for the week because everybody hadda eat.
right now
massy selling chicken wings, subs ,rotisserie chicken and their usual deli lunches.
pricemart selling pizza and fry chicken, rotisserie chicken
and a few places selling fry chicken under their bakery location, i saw a place went from 27 for a two peice and fries to 30$, mad thing.
another place is 23$ for a two piece chicken alone.
PriceSmart's fast food section was closed when I was there a couple weeks ago. La Romaine at least, dunno if all branches are.
MaxPower wrote:Little by little, Trinis are opening back the country on their own. They are taking these little inches here and there and being extremely cautious about it. Their fellow countrymen are even complying and working together. I like this.
Lets not forget the inevitable. That same inch allyuh taking to make ends meet, remember allyuh Trinis love to fight down eachother, somebody will want to take a mile and make it bad for everyone else. It’s just a matter of time.
Dohplaydat wrote:To be fair, many places in the world are doing this including in the US. My cousin said many businesses are unofficially 'open', and will pull down shutters and turn off lights when police patrols are approaching (using watchmen to warn them).
Many will take clients privately by appointment. Many are doing so in Trinidad already.
NR8 wrote:PriceSmart's fast food section was closed when I was there a couple weeks ago. La Romaine at least, dunno if all branches are.