matr1x wrote:Allyuh red and ready yet?
sMASH wrote:i got notified some stuff came through, not a significant delay, and not much higher than i imagined it would be. if any thing, i was thinking a 350 skybox fee, but is a lil over 400, package total 10lb weight. they labeled it as motorcycle parts.
1% are behind this and they get their cargo through the back doortoyolink wrote:Compliance with the new rules aint no big thing.
Customers would just have to wait longer for orders and may have to pay more.
If the 1% is behind this and presently they have tons of cargo stuck in the bond, I really wonder what they were thinking.
BTW, courier companies may very well close-up shop since they would be providing no delivery benefit.
paid_influencer wrote:nah, tax collection will tumble. The number of packages will drop dramatically so the overall tax collection will be far and away below normal levels.
I don't see why they should though if what I'm reading is correct customs just reverted back to the old clearance method where businesses need to declare goods via a broker for goods more the $1000. They didn't pass the savings onto customers then did they? Worse yet is Dooks pass a budget 7 years ago and didn't even consult the Ministry lawyers to determine if he could make such an amendment to the customs act without going through proper protocol : (Kenjo wrote:sMASH wrote:i got notified some stuff came through, not a significant delay, and not much higher than i imagined it would be. if any thing, i was thinking a 350 skybox fee, but is a lil over 400, package total 10lb weight. they labeled it as motorcycle parts.
If it’s not a business account then it’s not affected. Aeropost worked normal for me . A package reached Monday evening Miami and delivered home Friday morning in my hands . The businesses will eventually increase prices to consumers
boxy wrote:I don't see why they should though if what I'm reading is correct customs just reverted back to the old clearance method where businesses need to declare goods via a broker for goods more the $1000. They didn't pass the savings onto customers then did they? Worse yet is Dooks pass a budget 7 years ago and didn't even consult the Ministry lawyers to determine if he could make such an amendment to the customs act without going through proper protocol : (Kenjo wrote:sMASH wrote:i got notified some stuff came through, not a significant delay, and not much higher than i imagined it would be. if any thing, i was thinking a 350 skybox fee, but is a lil over 400, package total 10lb weight. they labeled it as motorcycle parts.
If it’s not a business account then it’s not affected. Aeropost worked normal for me . A package reached Monday evening Miami and delivered home Friday morning in my hands . The businesses will eventually increase prices to consumers
This is why customs clamped down on this whole thing businesses have been abusing the courier loophole.
"what we are being told is that some firms were bringing in multiple shipments of $19,000- 20 shipments each valued at $19,500—to avoid the customs entry procedure,"
nervewrecker wrote:So if I dont have a business acc with the skybox company and bringing in stuff in decent numbers, will it pull attention?
matr1x wrote:All this to cover that red party out of ideas
boxy wrote:Remember when the yellow party said surveillance cameras would be tax free? Guess what happened?
The two sides full of the same sheit.matr1x wrote:All this to cover that red party out of ideas
pete wrote:Got word that they may be allowing the shippers to clear <20k invoices again now.
VexXx Dogg wrote:SeaboxTT sent an email
CUSTOMS CLEARANCE FOR BONDED ITEMS
Dear Valued Customers,
As we have previously advised, the Customs and Excise Division of Trinidad & Tobago has continually been streamlining the existing import procedures, and has mandated that ALL Courier companies adhere to the policies being implemented. The focus is mainly on Commercial Goods being imported, regardless of size or value. That is, all goods which Customs has deemed for commercial use - whether for retail, or for use within your personal office or place of business.
If my items are bonded, what’s next?
▪ SeaBox will communicate with you as soon as possible (usually the next business day, as many times we clear during the night).
▪ SeaBox does not employ in-house Customs Brokers, however we do have several Brokers whom we have worked closely with who provide our customers with preferential rates, and we are happy to recommend same to you if needed. You may also appoint your own preferred Broker if you wish to do so.
▪ Necessary paperwork will be provided to you – Freight certified Bill of Lading & Sub-Delivery.
▪ Once Customs has bonded your items, SeaBox will guide you as to your process, however, it is in your best interest to keep on top of the appointed broker for early processing and clearance.
▪ Swissport (the Customs-Bonded facility that SeaBox clears at in Piarco) allows 2 RENT FREE days from unstuffing for Courier Cargo.
When SeaBox attempts clearance, Customs will make the final decision on whether any items are to bonded. Once items are bonded, the cargo owner will have to make arrangements to clear. SeaBox will issue invoices for Freight and Handling charges only, and provide the shipping documents (Bill of Lading) required for clearance.
IMPORTANT NOTICE:
All importers, with the exception of individuals declaring Non-Commercial imports with a CIF value of less than TT $20,000, must be registered with Customs and Excise before importing goods into Trinidad and Tobago. Any cargo that is imported for personal use, SeaBox effects customs clearance on our individual client’s behalf. Shipments deemed “Commercial Goods” as well as personal shipments valued over TT $20,000 will be bonded and a Customs entry must be filed for clearance.
NOTE: All Imports over the value of US $2,500 MUST be filed with US Customs before leaving the United States. This is called a Shipper’s Export Declaration (SED). An SED can take up to two working days to be filed. To avoid delays on these types of shipments, please forward a copy of your invoice to SeaBox once your order has been placed with the supplier.
We encourage each client to RESEARCH your item before importing; as many items may need different permits or permission to enter the country. If an item is imported without the relevant permit(s) or license, it would be held by Customs. Customs’ website http://www.customs.gov.tt has useful information for Importers.
SEABOX IS HERE TO ASSIST AND GUIDE YOU.
WE RECOMMEND THAT WHERE THERE IS DOUBT, PLEASE CONTACT US.
Imbert brings temporary relief for couriers
Carla Bridglal
CUSTOMS clearing constraints have been temporarily resolved, following Minister of Finance Colm Imbert's intervention this week.
Although the ministry has not given businesspeople formal notice, TT Chamber of Industry and Commerce CEO Gabriel Faria told Newsday on Friday it appears that customs will allow all couriers who provide an advanced electronic manifest immediate delivery of their goods.
"This would only apply to courier companies who file advanced electronic manifests. However, a formal customs entry will still have to be made for all imports by companies I believe within 14 days," he said.
This provides an interim but expensive solution for low value imports such as samples and other imports say under $10,000, as the cost to do the necessary customs declaration and have a broker would mean increased costs to businesses and ultimately an increase in consumer prices.
"I would like to acknowledge the prompt action by the minister, he committed to responding today to provide an interim solution to expedite the shipments and he did that."
The customs confusion started in February, the Customs and Excise Division implemented a rule they had initially waived for “items for companies” coming into the country, where goods valued at less than $20,000 would be allowed to enter and be cleared without the need for a broker. For the last nine years, since the rule waiver was first announced in a budget presentation by former finance minister Winston Dookeran, who had said no formal change of the rules was required, customs had honoured the agreement. But in February, Customs took the decision to apply the rule because, among other things, it was losing revenue. Businessmen claimed there was no formal announcement of the change, leading to havoc on the clearance system, including long delays of up to ten days, an overcrowded bond and additional costs to hire a broker.
While Faria was grateful for the minister's intervention, he said a more sustainable solution was needed that would not increase the cost to consumers.
"We are cognisant of the concern about revenue leakage and challenges to national security, however, we cannot penalise the compliant for the actions of the non-compliant. We also have to ensure as a country we are competitive with other markets in the region which provide a much easier and less expensive process to clear goods bought in by couriers. We look forward to further collaboration with the the various stakeholders."
Buy at 1%Phone Surgeon wrote:One of my padnas had to pay a broker $1000 to clear some eco friendly plate and knife and fork samples
Free samples, 2 plate 2 fork 2 spoon 2 knife.
$1000 lol
Phone Surgeon wrote:One of my padnas had to pay a broker $1000 to clear some eco friendly plate and knife and fork samples
Free samples, 2 plate 2 fork 2 spoon 2 knife.
$1000 lol
devon4786 wrote:I on serious toat level right now. Company sent me a car part free of charge for a review. Product value $150US, weight 7lbs. Cost to clear...$2071.90 with Tropical Express which is usually very reasonably. Customs fees alone in the breakdown is over $1500. From what I've heard so far it doesn't make sense trying to query it as that'll take a long while. tough pill to swallow but I may have to suck it up and just pay the price.