Free led light bulb

rebound

Re: Free led light bulb

Postby rebound » September 22nd, 2020, 11:57 am

Ttec pays the rate of the ministers share for ng... $1.00 I think...

Sidenote, aside from getting gas that cheap ttec still owes ngc alot of money.
Redman wrote:I have never been able to find prices of NG that NGC sells.
Have you?

Postby sMASH » September 22nd, 2020, 12:18 pm

when ttec increase prices, 4 tings could go on:
- ttec make more profit, keep the extra money, boost up thier infrastructure, employees etc.
- powergen gets paid more for what they sell, and they boost up them selves/workers, shareholders
- ngc gets paid more and boosts up them selves accordingly
- some or all of them take the extra monies in some agreed proportion.

but after that, it would be increased overhead for every single business and home owner. workers will have reduced disposable income and businesses will have to absorb or pass on that cost.

will the inflation of this price increase at THIS POINT IN TIME, result in an overall benefit to the country?

to me, i remember the biggest debtors to ttec was govt. so the increase in fares will go to pave over the holes that the ministries had created.

Postby Redman » September 22nd, 2020, 12:30 pm

Pg 34

http://www.ttparliament.org/reports/p11 ... 6-TTEC.pdf

Mr. Ramsook: Right. So, Chairman, that is correct. So at this point in time the price charged by the National Gas Company is $145 per MMBtu. We had initially pegged our budget even internally at $118, but we had to eventually go up to that $145. That has a 3 per cent escalation. Of course, that price of gas is not what the market price of gas it. In fact, that is less than one-half of the market price of gas.

Now the doc says 145.
I assume its supposed to be $1.45 per mmbtu
Which makes sense relative to the below.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/manufac ... 29146d92d5

The Sunday Guardian has learnt that at present manufacturers pay between US $2 to US $2.50 per million British Thermal Unit (mmbtu) and the NGC wants this price to escalate over time to US $4 per mmbtu.

Postby toyolink » September 22nd, 2020, 2:11 pm

Always wondered about quantity of bulbs per household.
4 bulbs each, for certain households may just provide lighting of 1 vanity light bar.
The hassle of making apptment to collect 4 bulbs to many makes no sense.
Tokenism vs reality never yields the best results.

Postby aaron17 » September 22nd, 2020, 2:14 pm

Lol prepare for covid rush? And spike in cases for free bulbs? Steups.

Postby bluefete » September 22nd, 2020, 2:51 pm

Do the math on the subsidy and prepare thine angus (as some tuners would say)

Bulbs cost taxpayers $8.8 million.

Pay your T&TEC bill, get four LED bulbs

SHARLENE RAMPERSAD

sharlene.rampersad@guardian.co.tt

Starting today, if you go into a T&TEC service centre to pay your electricity bill, you will be able to collect your four free LED bulbs, as promised to the population by Finance Minister Colm Imbert in the last budget.

The long-awaited announcement on the distribution of the bulbs came yesterday from Public Utilities Minister Marvin Gonzales and the chairman of T&TEC, Keith Sirju.

Both were speaking at a virtual press conference held.

Gonzales said the distribution is the Government’s first step in its multi-pronged and multi-tiered strategy for implementation of energy conservation and energy efficiency practices.

“The bulbs, which were supplied by Nova Lighting Trinidad and manufactured by Emitter Energy Inc, cost taxpayers a total of $8.8 million and their distribution will be facilitated by T&TEC,” Gonzales said.

He described the bulbs as an opening salvo, saying they are proof the Government is serious in pursuing this route to national development.

You can collect your bulbs when you pay your electricity bill at a T&TEC service centre. You must provide proof of identification to collect. If you do not pay your bills in person and utilise any of the other bill payment options, you can pay your bill as usual and visit the T&TEC website to book an appointment to collect your bulbs.

Gonzales said the Ministry is also undertaking an audit of energy use at Government buildings.

He said a pilot project was already done at Tower C of the International Waterfront Centre, which revealed that by just turning off lights in the building at night, the State can save $350,000 a year.

“If fully embraced by the national community, as it must be, our Energy Conservation and Efficiency Plan will lead to $1.2 billion in energy cost savings over the next five years and $2.72 billion by 2030.”

Gonzales said cutting down in energy use will also have a positive impact on this country’s carbon emissions, which are among the highest in the world, with a reduction of about six million tonnes of emissions over the next five years. He said by 2030, those emissions would be reduced by 18 million tonnes.

“We are fully aware that securing these benefits requires a turn-around in the ways in which we use electricity in Trinidad and Tobago. The truth is that we, the consumers, do not bear the full cost of the electricity that keeps our lights on and our appliances running,” he said.

Gonzales said the average account holder enjoys an 80 per cent subsidy on their bills because T&TEC pays less for natural gas and the full production cost is not passed on to customer.

“This, unfortunately, has led to a very cavalier and ‘entitled’ approach to our electricity usage, and that is something that we must change if we are to reap the benefits that I mentioned earlier,” he said.

The Minister said the Government is also implementing a number of construction projects to install solar generators across the country.

“These include the construction of a 1.4-megawatt alternating current (MWac) Solar Generator at the Piarco International Airport, the construction of a Utility-Scale Solar Project that consists of two Solar Photo Voltaic Plants: one at Brechin Castle and the other at Trincity, the construction of a Solar Photovoltaic project at the Queen’s Park Savannah, consisting of a 700 kilowatts peak (kWp) solar photovoltaic carport, two 50 kilowatts (kW) Level 3 Chargers, and three LED under-carport lighting systems.” He said the construction of the solar photovoltaic plants will begin in the latter half of 2021 and the contracts to build them were awarded in February to the consortium of BP, Shell and LightSource BP.

Gonzales congratulated T&TEC on their new project, an Energy Management Application.

T&TEC chairman, Keith Sirju said the application will allow registered account holders to track their energy consumption and much more. Those account holders who have already signed up for the Commission’s e-bills will be able to access the application by logging onto T&TEC’s website. New users can register their accounts online to access the application.

“Account holders will be able to, at their convenience, set goals for usage or bill total, monitor their usage habits and use a calculator to estimate the electricity consumed by their specific appliances. It also provides an animated representation of the level of carbon emissions a customer generates, to better inform you about greenhouse gases and how these relate to items used in everyday life,” Sirju said.

Sirju said customers can save approximately $25 a billing cycle by replacing four 60 watt incandescent bulbs with LEDs. He said LED bulbs also have a much longer life span- 15,000 hours- compared to the 1,000 hour-life spans of an incandescent bulb.

Sirju said LED bulbs also reduce carbon emissions by as much as 17 per cent.

https://guardian.co.tt/news/pay-your-tt ... 386a2a0710

rebound

Postby rebound » September 22nd, 2020, 3:09 pm

Yes and they are owing ngc billions.
Redman wrote:Pg 34

http://www.ttparliament.org/reports/p11 ... 6-TTEC.pdf

Mr. Ramsook: Right. So, Chairman, that is correct. So at this point in time the price charged by the National Gas Company is $145 per MMBtu. We had initially pegged our budget even internally at $118, but we had to eventually go up to that $145. That has a 3 per cent escalation. Of course, that price of gas is not what the market price of gas it. In fact, that is less than one-half of the market price of gas.

Now the doc says 145.
I assume its supposed to be $1.45 per mmbtu
Which makes sense relative to the below.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/manufac ... 29146d92d5

The Sunday Guardian has learnt that at present manufacturers pay between US $2 to US $2.50 per million British Thermal Unit (mmbtu) and the NGC wants this price to escalate over time to US $4 per mmbtu.

Postby Redman » September 22nd, 2020, 7:36 pm

That doc says TTEC owes NGC 3.2 B....

Now that meeting was held in 2018...but covered the period 2012-2015.

So I’m not sure how current that 3.2 is and there is a commitment to settle that debt by later in 2018.

Dunno what is current debt as of today.

Postby Redman » September 23rd, 2020, 7:11 am

I was told that TTEC owes about 4 B to NGC.

Postby sMASH » September 23rd, 2020, 7:26 am

trapped between a rock and a hard place. led bulbs will reduce ttec consumption from NGC and their overall future bill. and the price hike will try to cover the rest and repay the debts...
ngc have to pay its dues to NEL, so that the stock holders can get their monies in dividends, or pay out the 5 yr bonds etc.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » September 23rd, 2020, 7:56 am

4 bulbs gonna do nothing for me right now.
All my bulbs have been switched out to LEDs years now.
With the upcoming price hike from TTEC it'll take more than LEDs to reduce consumption.

Hopefully with the budget there will be provisions for removal of taxes on renewable energy systems

carluva

Postby carluva » September 23rd, 2020, 8:13 am

Ditto.

I use the Philips and the Hyperikon brand which I purchased from Amazon some years now. Slowly phased out the CFL at home to LED over about 3 years and now have a few more to get rid of once they quit.

So far, I have had a good experience with the Philips and the Hyperikon.

I also used the 4 ft tubes from Boodoo's, a brand called Green Energy. They work well thus far 3+ years outside in our shed and garage. A few weeks ago I bought two 50W LED floodlights from Boodoo's, the same Green Energy brand and they holding up nicely... Very bright.

I will highly recommend the Green Energy from Boodoo's and the Philips and Hyperikon brand from Amazon.
agent007 wrote:I have Philips, Sylvania and Satco in my house with no issues about a year now. I replaced the florescent self ballast bulbs to LED exactly a year ago with no issues either. I dont know the brand but all I know is that we got it from boodoos.

If the Sylvania and Satco ever decide to call it quits, I'll go 100% Philips.

Btw: I encourage you all to log into the T&TEC appointment system to reserve your bulb collection. I got a date in late October for pos branch.

carluva

Postby carluva » September 23rd, 2020, 8:17 am

Sounds like you have some insider intel... Anything else we can look forward to?
jhonnieblue wrote:4 bulbs gonna do nothing for me right now.
With the upcoming price hike from TTEC it'll take more than LEDs to reduce consumption.

Hopefully with the budget there will be provisions for removal of taxes on renewable energy systems

Postby zoom rader » September 23rd, 2020, 8:22 am

carluva wrote:Sounds like you have some insider intel... Anything else we can look forward to?

Take wood , TTEC rate increase comming.

Postby Dave » September 23rd, 2020, 8:34 am

Very inevitable as well as Wasa.

Postby Redman » September 23rd, 2020, 9:13 am

The problem here is that TTEC is on take or pay contracts.

The problem here is that past govts kicked the can down the road by not dealing with it....

The electricity we have is produced from NG.

Until the the revenue generated from the sale of a kwh of electricity is more than the all in cost to deliver that same kwh...we fked.

Postby zoom rader » September 23rd, 2020, 9:14 am

What people don't understand is when Electricity is produced you can use it or dont use it. You can't store AC it is prodouced at instant.

The power plants and TTEC will still be at a loss if people start to conserve energy. Unless if the rate increases are very high to cover their loss

A power plants will have to pay the same rate to run the generators if powe r is used or not use.

All of this rate increase is due to the bad planning of the smelter plant which was supposed to bail TTEC out. TTEC was has to pay TGU for on a fixed 20 year deal , at present TGU is only running at less than 55% . TTEC got shafted by PNM on a bad deal

A very bad deal for TTEC by PNM in assuming the smelter would have been built.

Here's the fvcked up parr the smelter plant was to be given free Nautral gas but they had to pay TTEC increased higher rates .

PNM totally clueless and can't run a parlour

Postby Redman » September 23rd, 2020, 9:30 am

While I was against the smelter.....the objective to use the NG to add value by creating downstream industries etc made sense.
Each step down stream creates value to the economy.

That is exactly the problem we have today- we using NG in ways that limit the total all in value to the economy.

Postby aaron17 » September 23rd, 2020, 9:31 am

Ent those bulbs with backup battery is a waste of time?

carluva

Postby carluva » September 23rd, 2020, 1:52 pm

aaron17 wrote:Ent those bulbs with backup battery is a waste of time?

I would think not especially if its a good brand such as GE or Philips.

Practically though, they may be better suited for a lamp and not so much a ceiling or wall fixture.

But the cost is a bit high so you may be better off with a regular LED bulb and a couple of decent flash lights for the same price.

Postby maj. tom » September 23rd, 2020, 2:10 pm

It can have its uses for emergency lighting in some places when power cuts.
But if you're buying, get the ones where you can replace the battery, because rechargeable batteries do go bad too. Then you paid all that money for a regular led bulb?

I would prefer to spend the money on a few 2AA Maglites instead.

Postby bluefete » September 23rd, 2020, 2:44 pm

Anyone collect 4 free bulbs yet?

Postby aaron17 » September 23rd, 2020, 3:37 pm

Cool.

Postby aaron17 » September 23rd, 2020, 3:38 pm

Those who have toaster....I think it does pull rel power even if you dont use it. I saw on a youtube video.

Postby maj. tom » September 23rd, 2020, 3:46 pm

where you read that? Post the source. Pull rel power? How that makes sense? Your house would burn down then?

Smart devices and electronic appliances use power constantly to remain connected to the WiFi, but the power consumption is so small it really makes no difference. The microwave uses power too while not in use. And the stove. But not "pull rel power."

death365

Postby death365 » September 23rd, 2020, 5:00 pm

Is like lining up for hot hops bread to collect 4 light bulb.

Putting my self in more risk of covid.....

Keep u damn light bulb !!!!!!!

Nb. 95% of my house is led already and it does have an effect on the light bill

Postby zoom rader » September 23rd, 2020, 7:49 pm

bluefete wrote:Anyone collect 4 free bulbs yet?
You may never get none,

PNM friends and family probably have them at their homes

Expect to see bulbs to be selling on the streets

Postby De Dragon » September 24th, 2020, 12:19 am

Hope those bulbs taste good with salt and pepper.

Postby Rovin » September 24th, 2020, 1:53 pm

remember this ...

dux

Postby dux » October 13th, 2020, 4:00 pm

Anybody willing? - take a "free" led bulb to your electronic repair friend and get the inside inspected. I am curious to know if spyware is installed (microphone or camera). AWAITS DETAILS !