Tuners Beware Scamming Is Real Out Here

mitch1980

Re: Tuners Beware Scamming Is Real Out Here

Postby mitch1980 » February 18th, 2020, 9:57 pm

agent007 wrote:Assuming the wreck and the finished vehicle is the same, which I suspect it is based on what I’m reading in this thread, I see the seller obviously changed out the rims to some 17 inchers that looks like the OEM 19” ones found in the top spec model. Attractive so well done there!

But, these Xtrails from Massy never came with the auto dimming rear view / ECM mirror. Not even the one for $419k and $454k known as the Exclusive model came with the ECM mirror. Based on the pics, this black one appears to be the one for $374k known as the Advance. So did the previous owner install the mirror as an accessory item or was this truly imported by Massy or not?

Questions for rspann:

I don’t want to know your trade secrets and supply chain info etc.. but when it comes to wrecks considered to be a Total Loss (TL) and Constructive Total Loss (CTL) do repairers generally have a preference to bring back to manufacturer’s specifications?

If so, I would assume CTL vehicles would be easier because depending on the parts damaged, it can still be determined as Superficial damage. I am under the impression that seatbelts and airbags as well as the sensors and modules etc are difficult to source. In that regard, with the plethora of deployed airbags and locked seatbelts, what do repairers do to overcome same?

It’s easy to source a dash and a steering wheel and trick the ECU into thinking airbags air functional but are the guts in place to re-deploy the airbags in the event of another collision? The body may be structurally returned to specs but do the airbags and seatbelts function like brand new?

Also, do repairers simply don’t care and grab parts to make a complete whole again using both CTL and TL wrecks? If this is the case then I would be buying all crashed vehicles daily and expensive ones too like Xtrail and Tucson etc.

For those who are alarmed by the allegation brought forward here, you have to be wise in purchasing a locally used vehicle whether it came from the firm or from a grey market roro dealer. Why would someone sell a PDW vehicle which was used for 6,000kms and sell it so quickly? What’s the typical reason? Was it migration, loss of job or a medical emergency? If it’s none of those, is it that the owner is upgrading? If the latter, my gut would say not to buy that story. Hardly likely it’s the case. Let people like spann tell you how OEM factory paint supposed to look like vs paint from a local paint shop (even though I think Spann, Bhola, Ventura, WRegis and ABW etc will watch me and laugh cause I’m sure they will vouch that I won’t be able to tell the difference after they finish a vehicle.

I do a little buying and selling myself and I can tell you, most Trinis are dishonest. Unless you know a police officer, a representative from all insurance companies in T&T that insures motor and people from the claims adjusting companies like Cariclaims etc, one can truly never know if a plate number is associated with a RTA history as we do not have a carfax system in place yet.

On a personal note, I do find that this reversed odometer reading is out of control though. It appears every old used vehicle in T&T always have up to 150,000kms on the clock. If a typical person living San Fernando has to report for work in POS, rest assured that vehicle is doing approx. 100kms per day. If that vehicle was purchased in 2010 bearing a PCP or PCR plate, the current odometer reading, all things being equal ought to read around 288,000kms. So if buying, say, a used Tucson for example where the owner works in POS and lives SF and that vehicle is the daily driven one but the odometer says 98,000kms, then most likely you’re being played. Food for thought and as always, I’m open to corrections.

^^^definitely in agreement here.
live south and work north ....i do 105km daily . I sold my hilux 2010 model (TCT) with 234,000 km ....the buyer bought it and resold it within 2 weeks and 100,000km less.

this type of dishonesty is rampant very few honest people out there.

Postby rspann » February 18th, 2020, 10:04 pm

So how you know he didn’t drive it in reverse for the two weeks? 8-)

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » February 18th, 2020, 10:07 pm

rspann wrote:So how you know he didn’t drive it in reverse for the two weeks? 8-)

because Ferris told me ...lol :lol: :lol:

Postby rspann » February 18th, 2020, 10:12 pm

Touché.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » February 19th, 2020, 4:31 am

most people scamming most people out dey, daz y the world in such a mess. i buy a product recently was told 5 years warranty, after two weeks is problems and to be told they will come check it and no one reach yet till dey get fed up ah me calling and issue a lawyer letter in my arse for harassment but say wah, we all see big boys get bring dong to nutting for all the racket they run so let dem dig they own hole.
example a certain credit union in central fool all dem sugar workers for they severance money and where is he now, where will his children be cause of the hole dey daddy dig.
i stop by a doubles man in central opposite kfc in a gas station buy 1 doubles and 2 ah d small water- $15, i put back the water but dat is scheming customers.
yuh go to buy red sand in a hardware and dey send white sand and telling you it is a better sand dat is scheming customers, yuh buy a load and dey send 7 yards and say it wet daz y it looking so.
yuh go tuh church the pastor bracing yuh for titties, dat is scheme
everybody scheming some body yuh make a dollar and the complain when the dollar doh last.
every car i sell i never wash the engine or under wash, never repaint before, let the customer see no oil leak etc, i not diggin no hole for myself.

Postby rspann » February 19th, 2020, 7:09 am

I have a PDS 2 yr old SUV that’s doing 900 miles and a PDU 1 1/2 yr old car that’s doing 1100 km, and another PDU car doing 600 km ,men might say the mileage rolled back. Fact is these cars are hardly used so it’s really hard to say

Postby Dizzy28 » February 19th, 2020, 10:07 am

rspann wrote:I have a PDS 2 yr old SUV that’s doing 900 miles and a PDU 1 1/2 yr old car that’s doing 1100 km, and another PDU car doing 600 km ,men might say the mileage rolled back. Fact is these cars are hardly used so it’s really hard to say

But you probably can show evidence (service history at the dealer etc.) of mileage.

It's when men out there expect you to believe the mileage but they stopped servicing in the firm for quite a while or never serviced in the firm after the 1st year and have no other means to verify the mileage as they go by mechanics that don't give bills.

I sold my last car at 4.5 years old and the person that bought it was doubtful of the 59,000kms on the odometer. However when I told them I never serviced anywhere but Diamond Motors and we can get the full service history from them (because the 1st three years was the Inone I never got the invoices to keep for that period) they finally accepted I was truthful as I had 1.5 years of invoices.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 21st, 2020, 1:44 am

The evidence can definitely be replaced or removed but watch enough vehicles and you will observe certain signs.

Postby rspann » February 21st, 2020, 6:40 am

Seat edge wear, steering wheel condition, brake pedal wear, scuffing on kick panels carpet wear , sludge in engine , brake rotors and drum wear something will show the true mileage.

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 21st, 2020, 8:24 am

screwbash wrote:yuh go tuh church the pastor bracing yuh for titties

Not sure if typo or true story.