High sulphur diesel endangering luxury vehicles

kamakazi

Re: High sulphur diesel endangering luxury vehicles

Postby kamakazi » January 24th, 2020, 6:10 pm

I hear you, and those are valid when comparing a pickup with a car or 2wd SUV... but a gas Hilux also has a diff, transfer case etc. Only thing missing is the turbo.

I'm still trying to wrap my head around the fuel issue though... Is it that the factory fitted filter isn't good enough to remove contaminants from the fuel. Should I fit an auxiliary 2 micron fuel filter.
PariaMan wrote:Problem is not so must the cost of regular maintenance but when things do go wrong it is much more expensive

A used engine for a hilux is 25000 dollars and of all the pickups this maybe the cheapest

Turbos run into the thousands of dollars some where around 5000 is what I hear

One injector is also a few thousand dollars

Also there are a lot more components that needs to be lubricated by oil

Rear diff
Front diff
Transfer case
Gearbox
Power steering
Brake fluid
Engine oil

Also my hilux have 7 points to be greased in the drive train
kamakazi wrote:So did some research and it is more vehicle specific than I thought.
In regards to the hilux; the difference is 1.5 litres more oil and no sparkplugs for the diesel (depending on the oil you buy that could be as low as $50 or more than $200)

BMW like for like, Oil capacity is the same for the 2.0l engines (in gas and diesel)

Mercedes requires a Little less oil in their diesel than the petrol version... If the internet is to be believed (10000km longer change internal as well but that will take a hit with our diesel being burnt).

The Korean twins... Yeah oil capacity for diesel is approaching 2x (5l for gas versus 8l for the diesel)

So it depends.

Joshie23 wrote:
kamakazi wrote:Same vehicle with the only difference being the engine(diesel and gas), maintenance costs are about equal. Replacing non maintenance components is where it starts to deviate in a big way.
PariaMan wrote:With the increase in the price of diesel fuel and the higher cost of maintaining diesel engines do not see the advantage of diesel over petrol vehicles

This is not entirely true. I know people may have different definitions of maintenance, but here's an example. There are two Tucsons in my family, both with 2.0L engines, but one gas, one diesel. The diesel takes almost twice as much oil than the gas version. The fuel filter on the diesel is also changed every service or every other service, something that isn't done as regularly on the gas version. These factors will increase the maintenance cost.

I know the thread has been derailed because Tucsons, Hiluxes, etc. aren't luxury vehicles, but the advantage diesel once held in Trinidad is lost except for heavier commercial vehicles.
Last edited by kamakazi on January 24th, 2020, 6:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 24th, 2020, 6:10 pm

PariaMan wrote:Problem is not so must the cost of regular maintenance but when things do go wrong it is much more expensive

A used engine for a hilux is 25000 dollars and of all the pickups this maybe the cheapest

Turbos run into the thousands of dollars some where around 5000 is what I hear

One injector is also a few thousand dollars

Also there are a lot more components that needs to be lubricated by oil

Rear diff
Front diff
Transfer case
Gearbox
Power steering
Brake fluid
Engine oil

Also my hilux have 7 points to be greased in the drive train

Well to be fair, outside of the engine/turbo/injector replacement and/or rebuild, you've spoken more about the maintenance of a pickup, as opposed to a diesel vehicle in general. Again, I drive hard, the roads are terrible all over the place and I'd like to dip my toe in a little off-roading eventually, so I prefer a pickup or SUV.

kamakazi wrote:So did some research and it is more vehicle specific than I thought.
In regards to the hilux; the difference is 1.5 litres more oil and no sparkplugs for the diesel (depending on the oil you buy that could be as low as $50 or more than $200)

BMW like for like, Oil capacity is the same for the 2.0l engines (in gas and diesel)

Mercedes requires a Little less oil in their diesel than the petrol version... If the internet is to be believed (10000km longer change internal as well but that will take a hit with our diesel being burnt).

The Korean twins... Yeah oil capacity for diesel is approaching 2x (5l for gas versus 8l for the diesel)

So it depends.

I also erred..I didn't do enough research, so I learned that are in fact diesel vehicles that require the same or even less oil.

Postby sMASH » January 25th, 2020, 7:53 am

kamakazi wrote: Should I fit an auxiliary 2 micron fuel filter.

this crossed my mind too, but i am unawares as to the pore sizes of what is available.

Postby pugboy » January 25th, 2020, 9:02 am

so what is the verdict with the recent bad diesel reports ?

is it an issue of dirty fuel, water etc
or an issue of the specs ?

Postby gastly369 » January 25th, 2020, 9:11 am

Let's just say for multiple ppl to have issues at the same time...there is definitely something wrong with the fuel recently
pugboy wrote:so what is the verdict with the recent bad diesel reports ?

Postby toyolink » January 25th, 2020, 9:51 am

I am now convinced that the quality of diesel supplied to consumers up to yesterday 24/1/2020 is 'below acceptable standards.
A control Toyota hilux 1kdftv regularly serviced and fuel delivery system in excellent condition went into distress after taking 3/4 tank load yesterday and service intervention to settle fuel delivery was required.
The particular vehicle had tank clean, fuel filtration system replaced, fuel pump service,and injector nozzle replaced 2/2019.Performance wise the vehicle up to refueling yesterday was actually meeting and exceeding standards.
Yes T&T we have a problem and the diesel injection repair shops are loaded with resulting work.

Postby pugboy » January 25th, 2020, 3:43 pm

Which station ?
I filled up by flour mills this week and so far no problems.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 25th, 2020, 9:06 pm

No problem so far but then I change fuel filter 5000k and use treatment almost every full up
pugboy wrote:Which station ?

Postby rspann » January 25th, 2020, 10:30 pm

Well I expect is only there you filling up now.

Postby RedVEVO » January 25th, 2020, 11:14 pm

Anybody wants to buy a F Upped Audi Q7 due to the sulphur ?

eKeith

Postby eKeith » January 25th, 2020, 11:38 pm

sMASH wrote:
kamakazi wrote: Should I fit an auxiliary 2 micron fuel filter.

this crossed my mind too, but i am unawares as to the pore sizes of what is available.
My diesel experience is different:

I had a secondary Filter installed in my WK Jeep Grand Cherokee for years but have not needed it since the Paria fuel imports. I will reinstall it when the filter element is back in stock. Get one from Budget Marine in Chaguramas.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 25th, 2020, 11:40 pm

Nope... However I would like to get a brand new one to test and see if I encounter the same problems as others utilising what I know about our fuel

eKeith

Postby eKeith » January 25th, 2020, 11:47 pm

I stopped filling up, either gasoline or diesel by Peake's years ago as their tanks/fuel definitely suffer from higher water condensation.

The impact on engine performance is more noticeable with the gasoline engine. I currently fill up at NP's St. Christopher's franchise by Flour Mills.

eKeith

Postby eKeith » January 25th, 2020, 11:51 pm

gastly369 wrote:Let's just say for multiple ppl to have issues at the same time...there is definitely something wrong with the fuel recently

This has not been my experience (knock on wood). I would first choose a different station to purchase fuel. Some stations suffer with higher water condensation in the fuel...

eKeith

Postby eKeith » January 25th, 2020, 11:52 pm

That is the question! At least the first one to ask.

Postby pugboy » January 25th, 2020, 11:53 pm

long time
yuh famalee

rspann wrote:

Well I expect is only there you filling up now.

Postby Slartibartfast » January 29th, 2020, 10:03 am

So the mechanic finally took my van in for a checkup and this is what I was told. The issue with the diesel appears to be that it does not give a proper combustion. This causes a lot of build up in the injectors which starts with a rough idle (caused by non-firing) and then leads to a complete seizure of the injectors. He said once you get to this point you have to change the injectors.

His recommendation. As soon as you start to get the rough idle, take you van to get the injectors cleaned (preferably the entire fuel system). There are places that do a full fuel system cleaning where they run some chemical through your entire fuel system and let the engine run on that for a set amount of time. Once you get that done, try using a little bit of kerosene/pitch oil every time you fill up since most diesel treatments are kerosene based. It is also supposed to help provide proper combustion and prevent further fouling of the fuel system.

IDK much about the van cuz I don't do the maintenance on it so this is just what I was told. I cannot verify the accuracy of any of it but my van is running good since the fuel system cleaning.

Postby eliteauto » January 29th, 2020, 10:10 am

eKeith wrote:

the persons that I know personally that were affected, filled up at the gas station on BWIA Boulevard Piarco and the new gas station on Cocorite Road Arima just off the highway

Postby rspann » January 29th, 2020, 10:37 am

eliteauto wrote:
eKeith wrote:

the persons that I know personally that were affected, filled up at the gas station on BWIA Boulevard Piarco and the new gas station on Cocorite Road Arima just off the highway

So you couldn't say that sooner? I fill up in Cocorite rd on Sunday , but Isuzu like pothong so I not too worried.

Postby rspann » January 29th, 2020, 10:43 am

X5 will be two years old in February , but now doing 900 miles.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 29th, 2020, 10:43 am

eliteauto wrote:
eKeith wrote:

You mean Tumpuna Road at the intersection with the CRH??
That's the gas station opposite Shoppe of Arima entrance.

Postby RedVEVO » January 30th, 2020, 3:15 am

Warning ..

Lots of X5 on the market going cheap ..

Why ?

Sulphur damage

Better BUY GAS engines and you can bling with no problem

Postby sMASH » January 30th, 2020, 7:19 am

Right deh right deh
Screenshot_2020-01-30-07-17-39-980_com.tapatalk.trinitunercomv3forums.jpeg

Postby pugboy » January 30th, 2020, 7:47 am

i bleed my hilux filter canister this morning after a padna get a bad fillup in st augustine.
pretty clean for 9000km
99% fillup by flour mills and other times by new station el socorro

83928AB6-2921-4104-B84C-F079ADB39927.jpeg

Postby rspann » January 30th, 2020, 7:48 am

Or you can buy a used diesel Q7 and don't bling at all , unless you can get it started and driving properly.

Postby sMASH » January 30th, 2020, 8:07 am

buy a x5 and drop in a ld28... saw one selling with a cable tranny.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 30th, 2020, 8:51 am

sMASH wrote:buy a x5 and drop in a ld28... saw one selling with a cable tranny.

2jz to the worl'

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 30th, 2020, 2:14 pm

sMASH wrote:buy a x5 and drop in a ld28... saw one selling with a cable tranny.

rspann wrote:Or you can buy a used diesel Q7 and don't bling at all , unless you can get it started and driving properly.

VexXx Dogg wrote:2jz to the worl'

Borse. 8-)

Bosse

Postby Bosse » January 30th, 2020, 2:42 pm

Guys any issues with the local Prado with regards to the diesel?

Am noticing a few from roll on roll off companies selling quite reasonable

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 1st, 2020, 2:00 pm

I am convinced the high sulphur content is not the problem.
Both power service diesel kleen and redline 85 plus fuel additives claim to reduce wear in vehicle using ULSD to levels similar to high sulphur fuels. That tells me that the high sulphur content offers decent wear protection in the fuel system; at the cost of poor emissions.

Our diesel has poor combustion characteristics (lower cetane than what is required from most diesel vehicles on the market)

Our diesel is seriously contaminated; dirt, water, algae etc.

I also have a theory that the more sophisticated diesel engines (read Euro diesels with higher horsepower and quieter engines) might see more problems simply because of the volume of fuel injected and the number of injection events per cycle (suck, squeeze, bang, blow). Simpler systems care less about noise and emissions... But Euro diesels are pretty quiet and they have been for years (well ...before the injectors call it a day).

Sulphur is just easier to blame so everyone says it. When ULSD gets here, I feel there will be even more diesel vehicles in garages awaiting injectors and pump replacement (unless something is added to the fuel to help its lubricating properties).

Not sure what type of ULSD AM is selling though.