NP says there is no fuel strike, assures reliable fuel supply

Re: NP says there is no fuel strike, assures reliable fuel supply

Postby sMASH » October 30th, 2019, 9:59 am

they could raise it a small ting, let them get a lil more comfortable margin. but in the hopes that places with less traffic, in the nether regions of the country, be able to provide the service and still live.
this is where government need to take lead and approach people to stet up or restart in the other places.

and/or give a small concession/rebate to the smaller stations based on the volume, so that they can help out the situation.

the bad thing is, i seeing the future as ev, and its near, cause ev tech already at a good stage, and will get better. imagine, is just to buy a car and plug it in. a 400km range is good enough for one day. and some backsides, like me, will scrap batteries and add it to increase capacity

Postby Redman » October 30th, 2019, 10:21 am

Ragnor-keep in mind that this is a 10+ year argument.
Those numbers have been supplied to every minister and every Perm Sec. since Manning.

Keep in mind that the GORTT sets the Cost Price,Selling Prices and the Taxes that erode the margins.
In your order

1)-Gas stations dont need to dress their Taxable Income down-it already woefully small given the capital deployed.
2)There are 3 structures that exist in the biz-Im not sure of the mix-but 2 of the models put the financial performance on private sector operators.
3)Thats WIDELY variable-to run a effective C store you need to fuel management systems.To get the fuel mgt you need new tanks and pumps....to get all of that is a 4 year process-that is full of delays-some of the big stations take longer....So the accessories tend to be 10% of your biz until you upgrade and have a proper C store.
4)If he doing 500k or less-he eh lasting long enough for VAT to be an issue.

Postby zoom rader » October 30th, 2019, 10:27 am

This is just a tale of greedy gas station owners

Postby Rovin » October 30th, 2019, 10:53 am

which businessman wud want to invest so much $ daily with high risk especially with crime for a measly 2.5% even if its volume , percentage is percentage ...

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2019, 11:03 am

Some of the big ones are a group of shareholders too so the profits split even more

You better off buying stock market shares and get a 2-3% dividend payout

Postby Redman » October 30th, 2019, 11:54 am

Lady Hailes
Cost about 25-30M to get to where it is. 40% was Land Acquisition.

They do about 2X that in Gas sales.
Probably 2M in C store sales.

At that level there are many alternatives uses of the land in order to generate the ROI.

If the GOVT controls the industry-part of that control is to make the industry attractive to capital.

It is borderline

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 30th, 2019, 12:23 pm

If the outlook is that bad, why are more stations opening?

Postby matr1x » October 30th, 2019, 12:30 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:If the outlook is that bad, why are more stations opening?

Because the quik shoppes making?

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2019, 12:50 pm

The new ones all have big shop and associated other business tied in paying them rent as well
Eg royal castle, Wendy’s

These big ones usually own the land from before or have a good deal on it as opposed to somebody who just out and rent/buy a big piece of land on open market.

Postby Dave » October 30th, 2019, 1:40 pm

I don't know if ppl live beyond their means but I have done work for a few gas stations and I have never seen a poor gas station owner....

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » October 30th, 2019, 2:11 pm

Alright folks, nothing to see here. Business back to normal. Unipet "try ah ting" but didn't get thru. You would think that if they wasn't making money they would close for more than ONE day. If they closed for an entire month or year is not like they have much loose anyways seeing that they not making anything.

Postby aaron17 » October 30th, 2019, 2:11 pm

What is the update? They still closed?
Ok nvm

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 30th, 2019, 4:35 pm

I think np stations are owned by np and unipet stations are owned by private operators
If np is government essentially.

Postby Dave » October 30th, 2019, 4:35 pm

There is only one legally operating np station.

Postby toyolink » October 30th, 2019, 4:54 pm

Pressure seems to be building to adjust retail prices to allow for more margins.
The question now becomes ….How much longer will existing prices hold?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 30th, 2019, 4:55 pm

I think they achieved their desired effect.

Postby wagonrunner » October 30th, 2019, 5:39 pm

Dave wrote:I don't know if ppl live beyond their means but I have done work for a few gas stations and I have never seen a poor gas station owner....

THIS!!!

Unipet and Independent Petroleum Dealers are offering us the public great advice that benefits not us but solely themselves. In an election year persons/groups/unions all try to see if they could wring out some form of concessions from the government to enrich themselves at the expense of public. Whether it's good for the country or not is irrelevant once they are good then the devil takes the hind post.

The cry that profit margins are slim that's why they need an increase but the government should not look with a keen eye at the issues of overabundance of stations in certain areas is indeed a recipe of courting disaster. There's the thinking that gas stations are an easy profitable cash cows but owing to the proliferation of stations this is not the case. So now the above mentioned groups are using the threats of shut down, uttering foolish statements that the CNG pumps is the cause that they electrical utility bill is ten thousand dollars and they are too poor to pay their share of taxes.

The government should not even entertain their request and if they continue to press the "no gas" gun at the public's head then the state should just revoke their respective licenses. The public should not be burdened by your inefficiencies or the lack of know how on how to run a small margin retail enterprise in a competitive environment. The only issue the government has to sort out is the timely repayment of the "fuel subsidy" cost to Unipet that is it. To the dealers who cannot cope at this juncture they should be thank for their services and shown the door. As the old people say cockroach have no right to be in a fowl party and those who are attempting to hold the government/people to task should take heed of that adage and conduct themselves accordingly.

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2019, 5:40 pm

nah these days NP doh put out capital money
you have to build and get a license from NP afaik
its not like the old days where NP paid for everything except the rent and staff

kamakazi wrote:
I think np stations are owned by np and unipet stations are owned by private operators

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 30th, 2019, 6:04 pm

Dave wrote:I don't know if ppl live beyond their means but I have done work for a few gas stations and I have never seen a poor gas station owner....

THIS!!!

Unipet and Independent Petroleum Dealers are offering us the public great advice that benefits not us but solely themselves. In an election year persons/groups/unions all try to see if they could wring out some form of concessions from the government to enrich themselves at the expense of public. Whether it's good for the country or not is irrelevant once they are good then the devil takes the hind post.

The cry that profit margins are slim that's why they need an increase but the government should not look with a keen eye at the issues of overabundance of stations in certain areas is indeed a recipe of courting disaster. There's the thinking that gas stations are an easy profitable cash cows but owing to the proliferation of stations this is not the case. So now the above mentioned groups are using the threats of shut down, uttering foolish statements that the CNG pumps is the cause that they electrical utility bill is ten thousand dollars and they are too poor to pay their share of taxes.

The government should not even entertain their request and if they continue to press the "no gas" gun at the public's head then the state should just revoke their respective licenses. The public should not be burdened by your inefficiencies or the lack of know how on how to run a small margin retail enterprise in a competitive environment. The only issue the government has to sort out is the timely repayment of the "fuel subsidy" cost to Unipet that is it. To the dealers who cannot cope at this juncture they should be thank for their services and shown the door. As the old people say cockroach have no right to be in a fowl party and those who are attempting to hold the government/people to task should take heed of that adage and conduct themselves accordingly.

Unless you see it you will never believe it.

Had the opportunity to see some accounts and calculations from a station. If they go to get a loan to upgrade and make their stations like NPs they will get blank. The little profit they make are being eaten out by

Business levy
Green fund

Which is a tax on sales, so you can’t even get loss relief

Also the electricity used to pump CNG exceeds the sales. The operators take on this cost, however NGC is going to address this.

While I understand that customer shouldn’t be burdened by inefficiency. In this instance I can say this is not the case

You giving men a slim margin, but in the last few years you raised wages, taxes

OPEX cost is a thing, and from what I saw it didn’t look like it was considered in the margins

Postby Dave » October 30th, 2019, 6:22 pm

I have seen and done audits already so I know. Always analyse the directors account, you will find all there and not one of them suffering personally so feel sorry for them....I think not. Minority I do feel sorry for, majority nope.

Postby Rovin » October 30th, 2019, 7:10 pm

Last edited by Rovin on October 30th, 2019, 9:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » October 30th, 2019, 9:23 pm

kamakazi wrote:

donno why they dont try to get the corn fuel here. :cry: :cry:

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 30th, 2019, 10:10 pm

kamakazi wrote:

We only have one fuel supplier... No pumps or storage tanks to handle the different fuel, etc.

To whoever mentioned free market.
You think you want an open an free market. Let one entity buy out all the competition and control the price... We all know what happens then

Postby Redman » October 31st, 2019, 6:37 am

kamakazi wrote:

You would need a whole new supply chain-for the same subsidized price at the pump.
I think we never had the scale to make it feasible either

Postby zoom rader » October 31st, 2019, 7:04 am

Dave wrote:I have seen and done audits already so I know. Always analyse the directors account, you will find all there and not one of them suffering personally so feel sorry for them....I think not. Minority I do feel sorry for, majority nope.

Greed is the name of the play.

Nasty businessmen again