Postby De Dragon » October 11th, 2019, 4:06 pm

timelapse wrote:
Monk BANzai wrote:
timelapse wrote:
sMASH wrote:well then, they coudl do with some regulations, to ENFORCE some citizen friendly fees.

They are not in business to be friendly to citizens.They in it to make profits and the more the merrier.The only way to fix this is to boycott them.You cannot badjohn them into doing what you think is fair.This is private sector business, government would be playing fass to interfere, seeing as though no laws are being broken.When their desired profit margins are no longer being met, they will close up shop.The end.

im wondering same...true Linx has become a welcomed service over the decades... but if the service isn't available...why is that "unfair"? Since when having a Linx machine considered fair practice? why must one boycott them? Use of the service or not....just asking as one who does make signs like that for a living (not a personal attack to you eh 'lapse....less you lapse and then....lol ok i sthap nao)

I din't say it unfair, so YOU LAPSE.What I saying is that people should expect business to pander to their whims in the name of "fairness" And if you have a problem with the people services or fees, take your business elsewhere instead of whining about it until you have your way. My statement was a suggestion to brother Smash who wanted government to enforce a fee structure, which I disagree with.I fed up with this whiny generation of crybaby SJW entitled type behaviour.
If Linda's Linx unavailable, go to their nearest ATM instead of being a panzy, but no, "lewwe light dem up on social media"

Even you see the contradiction in that statement right? No one should be allowed to withhold a service on such flimsy, unfair rationale. Also, when proper regulations are not in place, you have the fiasco of Bear Sterns, Freddie Mac and Fannie Mae, that crashed the US economy in 2008.

Having Linx available is a fundamental right of citizens by your logic..You don't even know why the linx wasn't available in the first place.What it it just wasn't working? Thats real spoiled brat mentality. If my business place is losing money because it more convenient to how you want to pay , is that fair to me? Not your problem ent, because the universe centers around what you want.

Just how long does it have to not be working for you have a fancy sign? If you're losing money because you've got LINX, then you have options, adjust your price accordingly, and let the service be a cost of business item, or GIVE BACK DE FACKING LINX! Your dumb "spoiled brat" comment also shows how out of touch you are with respect to crime.
You make it sound like there is some sort of banking mafia that is making people take LINX :roll:

First, If the said bakery has a cardboard sign , or they have the foresight to have a decent looking sign for these instances, makes no difference. That is to tell you upfront that it not working so that you don't have to find out after you have taken your time to get your items.This is called professionalism.

The spoiled brat comment shows how entitled you think that you are.Your personal safety is nobody business but yours and the police.They have security in their store for their customers and staff. On the streets is not their concern.See about yourself.If you are afraid of crime, stay home, or better yet, light up criminals on the internet.That seems to fix everything.The universe and Linda's bakery operations does not revolve around you.

Your banking mafia comment shows how much you don't know about linx.Linx is a third party solution provided by a company that works independent to the banks.That is where the fees go and the servicing of these machines is done by other smaller companies.You are barking up the wrong tree.But it makes no difference, as the linx company and its service providers have to pay salaries, overheats, etc. Nobody is going to provide a free service to you because you entitled, and the bakery should not have to pay for YOUR convenience.Learn to bake and stay home.

Your a big steaming pile of contradictions now are you?
LINX is a service primarily so that people don't have to walk with cash, and be a target. You really feel Linda's love you so much that they have LINX :roll:

Re: What the arse

Postby timelapse » October 14th, 2019, 11:41 am

timelapse wrote:
Monk BANzai wrote:
timelapse wrote:They are not in business to be friendly to citizens.They in it to make profits and the more the merrier.The only way to fix this is to boycott them.You cannot badjohn them into doing what you think is fair.This is private sector business, government would be playing fass to interfere, seeing as though no laws are being broken.When their desired profit margins are no longer being met, they will close up shop.The end.

im wondering same...true Linx has become a welcomed service over the decades... but if the service isn't available...why is that "unfair"? Since when having a Linx machine considered fair practice? why must one boycott them? Use of the service or not....just asking as one who does make signs like that for a living (not a personal attack to you eh 'lapse....less you lapse and then....lol ok i sthap nao)

I din't say it unfair, so YOU LAPSE.What I saying is that people should expect business to pander to their whims in the name of "fairness" And if you have a problem with the people services or fees, take your business elsewhere instead of whining about it until you have your way. My statement was a suggestion to brother Smash who wanted government to enforce a fee structure, which I disagree with.I fed up with this whiny generation of crybaby SJW entitled type behaviour.
If Linda's Linx unavailable, go to their nearest ATM instead of being a panzy, but no, "lewwe light dem up on social media"

Even you see the contradiction in that statement right? No one should be allowed to withhold a service on such flimsy, unfair rationale. Also, when proper regulations are not in place, you have the fiasco of Bear Sterns, Freddie Mac and Fannie Mae, that crashed the US economy in 2008.

Having Linx available is a fundamental right of citizens by your logic..You don't even know why the linx wasn't available in the first place.What it it just wasn't working? Thats real spoiled brat mentality. If my business place is losing money because it more convenient to how you want to pay , is that fair to me? Not your problem ent, because the universe centers around what you want.

Just how long does it have to not be working for you have a fancy sign? If you're losing money because you've got LINX, then you have options, adjust your price accordingly, and let the service be a cost of business item, or GIVE BACK DE FACKING LINX! Your dumb "spoiled brat" comment also shows how out of touch you are with respect to crime.
You make it sound like there is some sort of banking mafia that is making people take LINX :roll:

First, If the said bakery has a cardboard sign , or they have the foresight to have a decent looking sign for these instances, makes no difference. That is to tell you upfront that it not working so that you don't have to find out after you have taken your time to get your items.This is called professionalism.

The spoiled brat comment shows how entitled you think that you are.Your personal safety is nobody business but yours and the police.They have security in their store for their customers and staff. On the streets is not their concern.See about yourself.If you are afraid of crime, stay home, or better yet, light up criminals on the internet.That seems to fix everything.The universe and Linda's bakery operations does not revolve around you.

Your banking mafia comment shows how much you don't know about linx.Linx is a third party solution provided by a company that works independent to the banks.That is where the fees go and the servicing of these machines is done by other smaller companies.You are barking up the wrong tree.But it makes no difference, as the linx company and its service providers have to pay salaries, overheats, etc. Nobody is going to provide a free service to you because you entitled, and the bakery should not have to pay for YOUR convenience.Learn to bake and stay home.

LINX is a service primarily so that people don't have to walk with cash, and be a target. You really feel Linda's love you so much that they have LINX :roll:

This is one location on a particular day/period of time.They have Linx at other branches.Not the universe out to get you.

LINX is a service primarily so that people don't have to walk with cash, and be a target. -Wrong
This is an additional way for businesses to collect money.They have to pay for it.Not for you, for themselves.Businesses don't go into operations out of the kindness of their heart.If they losing money, you could haul.

Postby Chimera » October 14th, 2019, 11:58 am

this is what the terminal agreement looks like. my machine not working going on 18 days now....paying $600 for a wireless terminal......that not working ...so switching to a wired terminal

Dear Directors,

As you and your staff are to be trained in the procedures and processes of Debit and Credit Card Acquiring, it is
necessary to highlight the following, which are critical to ensure a smooth operation.
Amendment: (1) Wired - Landline / IP (change from wireless)
A. RATES AND CHARGES
(1) Debit Card Charge - $0.75 cents per transaction
Credit Card Charge - 3% on the value of each transaction
Monthly Rental (Landline / IP) - $400.00 per terminal

(2) The Bank reserves the right to adjust these rates and charges by notice in writing.
(3) The sum of the Discount Rate must not be passed on to the Cardholder and hence the cost of the
goods/services sold must be the same as that for customers paying by other payment methods.
Failure to adhere to this clause would result in the termination of the agreement and the removal
of the terminal.
(4) The new rental of $400.00 will be debited from account number *********. Authorisation for this debit
is granted upon signing of this agreement.
(5) All Transactions processed via the point of sale terminal must be settled daily. The bank will not be
held liable for a merchant’s non compliance as this can result in the loss of these transactions which are
stored by the Payment Associations (Visa and MasterCard). Transactions settled by 7:00pm will be
credited the following business day to account number *******. Transactions settled thereafter will be
credited by the 2nd business day. The settlement is also placed on “hold” for 2 business days to ensure
timely and accurate processing by the Payment Associations.
(6) “The point of sale terminal is to be used for transactions in accordance with the principal activities
and specific categories in which the business is registered. In circumstances where the merchant
has accepted payment, via Debit / Credit Card, for goods and / or services in the specific categories
for which the business is not registered, the bank may refuse to credit the account or may charge
back to such account the amount of any transaction. Further the Bank will at its discretion
terminate a merchant’s service for failing to comply with this requirement.”

(7) In consideration of d bank permitting you to perform the abovementioned transactions, by
signing of this letter you hereby agree to indemnify d bank against all claims which may be
made in consequence thereof and to pay to d bank on demand all payments, losses, costs,
and expenses made, suffered or incurred by you in consequence thereof or arising there from and
you hereby irrevocably authorize d bank to debit to your account number ******* all such
payments, losses, costs and expenses.
(8) In consideration of d bank permitting you to perform the abovementioned transactions, by
signing of this letter you hereby agree to erect and maintain signage at each proposed terminal
location for Acme Trading Co Ltd consistent with that of the registered business name.
B. SECURITY
(1) The Security Features of a Credit Card must be always checked namely,
(a) The Name and Account Number Embossed on the face of the Card
(b) Hologram/Brand Logo
(c) Signature Panel
(2) An Authorization of a transaction does not guarantee that the Card is genuine or that the Card is in the
possession of the true owner. Visual scrutiny of the Card and the verification of the Customer’s
Signature are mandatory.
In the event of doubt, then due caution should be exercised such as the request for some form of positive
photo identification (ID Card/Passport/Driver’s Permit).
(3) Be on the alert for suspicious behavior. Where you believe you have a suspicious transaction, place a
call to the Acquiring Unit and request a CODE 10 AUTHORIZATION.
C. SALES SLIPS/RECEIPTS
(1) Signed Credit Card Sales Receipts must be kept for eighteen (18) months from the transaction date.
Debit Card receipts must be kept for six (6) months from the transaction date. The foregoing is necessary
to cater for when a Cardholder queries a transaction.
NB: In the event of a customer/cardholder query, if you are unable to produce the Transaction
Receipts for Credit Card Transactions the cost of the item will be “charged back” to your account.
(2) Requests for Receipts as stated above must be expeditiously satisfied and it is expected that copies will
be provided within a maximum of five (5) days. Failure to respond within the stipulated period will
result in your account being debited.
(3) Sale Receipts cannot be altered after a Cardholder has signed the Receipt and left your premises. Where
an error has been detected, efforts should be made to contact the Cardholder to have the matter corrected
by either the signing of a new Receipt or the initialing by the Cardholder of all changes on the original
and copies of the Receipt.
D. EQUIPMENT
(1) Care must be taken of the Point-of-Sale and other equipment provided. Normal maintenance will attract
no charge whereas repairs or replacement due to mishandling or negligence will be billed to your
account.
(2) Refer to the guidelines provided when problems are encountered with the machinery. Problems
unresolved should be referred to the Acquiring Unit at the telephone numbers listed.
(3) Voice Authorization must be sought from the Acquiring Unit in the event of a System Failure and the
transaction cannot be processed electronically having swiped the Credit Card.
(4) Equipment shall not be moved and used at another location without the consent of the Bank. In the
event you decide to cease the business and or to wind up your operation, the equipment must be returned
to the Bank. The Merchant shall give the Bank not less than thirty (30) days’ notice so that suitable
arrangements can be made for the retrieval of the equipment, Sales Receipts, promotional material and
settlement of funds.
(5) Where the equipment cannot be located on the Merchant’s business premises during normal operations
or where the Merchant fails to return the equipment upon the cessation and or winding up of the business,
the Merchant shall be liable for the full replacement cost of the equipment as well as for all costs,
charges, taxes or other expenses incurred by the Bank in replacing the same.”
E. MERCHANT’S ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS, UNDERTAKINGS AND OBLIGATIONS
(1) The Merchant undertakes that it will notify the Bank by notice in writing at least twenty-one (21) days
prior to a proposed change, if the Merchant is changing:
(a) the nature of its business;
(b) the ownership of the Merchant;
(c) its contact details;
(d) its legal and/or trading name;
(e) changing its Merchant Account;
F. OTHER
(1) The Visa Electron card, which is a Visa Debit product, can also be accepted for payment but requires
100% online authorization. These cards require either PIN entry or signed customer receipt, which must
be determined by the prompts on the POS Terminal.
(2) All deposits held as security for Merchant services shall be released (no less than) six (6) months from
the last transaction date processed through the Point of Sale terminal upon closure or termination.
(3) The Bank reserves its rights to do the following:-
(a) Revoke certain Merchant services based on the Merchant’s activity; or
(b) Terminate the provision of our Point of Sale service based on our on-going review of the Merchant’s
activity. The Merchant will be informed in writing.
(4) The Bank shall be entitled to treat instructions received by telephone, telex, electronic mail
or by facsimile instructions as fully authorized and binding on the Bank and the Bank shall be entitled
to take the necessary steps in connection and in reliance with such communication as the Bank may in
good faith consider appropriate.
(5) In consideration of the Bank acting in like manner, the Customer shall undertake to indemnify the Bank
against all losses, claims, proceedings, demands, damages, costs and expenses incurred or sustained by
the Bank of whatever nature and howsoever arising out of or in connection with these instructions by
telephone, telex, electronic or facsimile message provided only that the Bank acts in good faith.
We look forward to serving you and request that you sign the attached copy of this letter as confirmation of
your Debit and Credit Card Merchant Training and your understanding of the terms and conditions of the
executed Debit and Credit Card Merchant Agreement.

Postby De Dragon » October 14th, 2019, 10:16 pm

timelapse wrote:
Monk BANzai wrote:

This is one location on a particular day/period of time.They have Linx at other branches.Not the universe out to get you.

LINX is a service primarily so that people don't have to walk with cash, and be a target. -Wrong
This is an additional way for businesses to collect money.They have to pay for it.Not for you, for themselves.Businesses don't go into operations out of the kindness of their heart.If they losing money, you could haul.

Who's arguing that? LINX is a service, and if according to you, if its such a burden, then don't have it. Simple. The LINX at that Linda's is out of service, and instead of a sign stating the obvious, maybe they would have been better served explaining WHY the LINX is unavailable.
Are you really arguing that because a business pays for LINX, that they get to turn it on and off on a whim? They pay for the convenience of their CUSTOMERS, and a place that is more convenient to spend your money, usually has more customers.

Average

Postby Average » October 15th, 2019, 3:56 pm

Way boy, imagine what would have happened if all of you were at that location at the SAME TIME and the OP had made his comment in the line. MAS. Real RAABBBBBBB! Allyuh woulda be there still quarreling lol

Anyhow, OP you buying so much ting by Linda's that you need LINX? The most I taking is ah lil brownie, 2 spicy beef pie or some cookies. The quesito used to be my favorite but since they raised the price they could keep that, I eh here to impress no strangers in the line.

Postby redmanjp » October 15th, 2019, 4:16 pm

Hmm. Didn't know there was a $400 per month rental on addition to the transaction charges. So stores like Pennywise who have like 10 terminals paying $4000 per month?

Then again it's probably safer to have less cash on site if you often have large transactions.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » October 15th, 2019, 4:46 pm

redmanjp wrote:Hmm. Didn't know there was a $400 per month rental on addition to the transaction charges. So stores like Pennywise who have like 10 terminals paying $4000 per month?

Then again it's probably safer to have less cash on site if you often have large transactions.

4000 a month for Pennywise and some stores is small money

Postby Dizzy28 » October 15th, 2019, 4:52 pm

redmanjp wrote:Hmm. Didn't know there was a $400 per month rental on addition to the transaction charges. So stores like Pennywise who have like 10 terminals paying $4000 per month?

I would like to believe someone like a Pennywise or a Massy or Tru Valu with multiple locations and multiple machines in each location gets a bulk discount.

Maybe not as this is Trinidad.

Postby pugboy » October 15th, 2019, 5:07 pm

I think it used to be more years ago like 700

Postby MaxPower » October 15th, 2019, 5:51 pm

Imagine all this beat up for Linx and then is INSUFFICIENT FUNDS in allyuh broke MC.