All things Presidential thread *now with state housing

The Paleontologist

Re: President knocks performance of National Anthem at Carifesta

Postby The Paleontologist » October 31st, 2019, 6:45 pm

matr1x wrote:
rspann wrote:Anybody else find Paula=Mae real hot?

If you find a pile of dinosaur sheit attractive, then have at it bro.
What's wrong with dinosaur sheit?

Postby hydroep » October 31st, 2019, 7:45 pm

No law eh? Well look at that...you learn something new everyday...:|

screwbash

Inside President’s House

Postby screwbash » December 15th, 2019, 4:51 am

The Ur­ban De­vel­op­ment Com­pa­ny of Trinidad and To­ba­go (Ude­cott) on Fri­day, de­liv­ered the keys of Pres­i­dent’s House to the Of­fice of the Prime Min­is­ter (OPM), fol­low­ing years of ex­ten­sive re­pairs. The OPM will in turn hand over the keys to the Of­fice of the Pres­i­dent at a date to be de­ter­mined, al­low­ing Pres­i­dent Paula-Mae Weekes to move in­to the his­toric build­ing. Ude­cott host­ed a me­dia tour of the build­ing on Fri­day. Here are some pho­tos of in­side the house.

i hope they buy dem tings local and not waste us $ to import when it have plenty woodwork men in trinidad that need the business.

vaiostation

Re: inside presiden house

Postby vaiostation » December 15th, 2019, 6:44 am

Hope they build up a winery for de president and she girlfriends.

Postby Rovin » December 15th, 2019, 2:43 pm

brb using imagination of how it now looks .... :|

Postby zoom rader » December 15th, 2019, 2:49 pm

Dem kinda inside house is not for 99% of us.

Only men like Burke have that privilege

Postby maj. tom » December 15th, 2019, 3:11 pm

Thread have no pictures. Or even a link to follow. Or even a coherent title. OP why you even bothered making this thread if you're so lazy? Check yourself first nah. Stay off the internet if you eh know how to use it and communicate with other people.

The Ur­ban De­vel­op­ment Com­pa­ny of Trinidad and To­ba­go (Ude­cott) on Fri­day, de­liv­ered the keys of Pres­i­dent’s House to the Of­fice of the Prime Min­is­ter (OPM), fol­low­ing years of ex­ten­sive re­pairs. The OPM will in turn hand over the keys to the Of­fice of the Pres­i­dent at a date to be de­ter­mined, al­low­ing Pres­i­dent Paula-Mae Weekes to move in­to the his­toric build­ing. Ude­cott host­ed a me­dia tour of the build­ing on Fri­day. Here are some pho­tos of in­side the house.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/inside- ... bb79056fdc

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 18th, 2019, 5:09 am

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/12/17/weekes ... ide-in-tt/

what have we to feel proud about with your house????

Postby Les Bain » December 18th, 2019, 7:42 am

So all this stuff affecting this country doesnt overwhelm Political Mandingo but a fancy renovation did the trick?

He could go and lie down in something wet and mysterious, yes. WOFT.

Postby maj. tom » December 18th, 2019, 7:48 am

This woman like she want to remain relevant to the public by letting them know that she does nothing but waste taxpayers money. She just can't keep she useless ass quiet and live out her life with her secret partner and just sign the bills that the PNM need her to Assent.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 18th, 2019, 8:49 am

maj. tom wrote:This woman like she want to remain relevant to the public by letting them know that she does nothing but waste taxpayers money. She just can't keep she useless ass quiet and live out her life with her secret partner and just sign the bills that the PNM need her to Assent.

I find the postion of President to be wasteful and a relic of the past. However to be fair to the current waste of national resources there would they not have renovated regardless of who was there?

And it goes to whowever is there afterwards.
Kinna like Manning's palatial PM Residence which we were all vex at its cost but which Kemler occupied and Shieitlicker now occupying.

Postby hydroep » December 18th, 2019, 10:03 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:https://newsday.co.tt/2019/12/17/weekes-presidents-house-will-boost-pride-in-tt/

PNM has a penchant for spending on projects that supposed to elicit Pride:

*President's house
*White Hall
*Red House
*Prime Minister's Residence in Tobago
*Stollmeyer's Castle (and associated PM's cocktail parties)
*Piarco Airport, Project Pride (this one even have "Pride" in the name)
*Gary Hunt's Gigantic $M flag (for National Pride)
etc...etc...etc...

Those involved with said projects probably have pockets bursting at the seams with "pride" too...:|

Postby RedVEVO » December 19th, 2019, 9:51 am

President house renovation for $90 M ?

Why ?

Break down that colonial relic and build a modern house ..

President ? They do nothing but spend tax payers money $$$$$$$$ big time .

Should cost $30 M

And why is Madam Pres taking so long to proclaim the marijuana thingy .. ?

Can we impeach ?

Postby goalpost » December 19th, 2019, 1:11 pm

Apparently after spending 89mill, she not going to actually move in?

Postby rspann » December 19th, 2019, 1:28 pm

hydroep wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:https://newsday.co.tt/2019/12/17/weekes-presidents-house-will-boost-pride-in-tt/

PNM has a penchant for spending on projects that supposed to elicit Pride:

*President's house
*White Hall
*Red House
*Prime Minister's Residence in Tobago
*Stollmeyer's Castle (and associated PM's cocktail parties)
*Piarco Airport, Project Pride (this one even have "Pride" in the name)
*Gary Hunt's Gigantic $M flag (for National Pride)
etc...etc...etc...

Those involved with said projects probably have pockets bursting at the seams with "pride" too...:|

Nah. I saw the pics this morning and got a lot of prouds when I saw it.

Postby Redman » December 19th, 2019, 1:56 pm

maj. tom wrote:This woman like she want to remain relevant to the public by letting them know that she does nothing but waste taxpayers money. She just can't keep she useless ass quiet and live out her life with her secret partner and just sign the bills that the PNM need her to Assent.

I find the postion of President to be wasteful and a relic of the past. However to be fair to the current waste of national resources there would they not have renovated regardless of who was there?

And it goes to whowever is there afterwards.
Kinna like Manning's palatial PM Residence which we were all vex at its cost but which Kemler occupied and Shieitlicker now occupying.

At the risk of invoking the wrath of the peanut gallery....I think we need to keep certain things in place...but I see both sides of the argument.

Given how we feel about the Political directorate-we need somebody to act as a buffer.

If they pass a chit bill-cant the President withhold assent?

This came up under Carmona- and there were dissenting opinions -but at least a President can seek further advice etc and delay the chit bill becoming chit law.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2. ... a585562907
Hamid Ghany

Last week, Pres­i­dent An­tho­ny Car­mona is­sued a state­ment an­nounc­ing that he had as­sent­ed to the Strate­gic Ser­vices Agency (Amend­ment) Bill 2016. The re­lease said in part:

"The as­sent­ing to bills can nei­ther be pre-emp­tive or in­stan­ter, of­ten de­pen­dent up­on His Ex­cel­len­cy's con­sul­ta­tion and re­ceipt of le­gal ad­vice. Ac­cord­ing­ly, as­sent­ing to bills of this Re­pub­lic, will con­tin­ue to be for His Ex­cel­len­cy the Pres­i­dent, a process of con­sti­tu­tion­al and le­gal re­flec­tion, analy­sis and de­ter­mi­na­tion vis-a-vis his du­ties and re­spon­si­bil­i­ties pur­suant to sec­tion 61(2) of the Con­sti­tu­tion of the Re­pub­lic of Trinidad and To­ba­go."

Sec­tion 61(2) states:

"When a bill is pre­sent­ed to the Pres­i­dent for as­sent, he shall sig­ni­fy that he as­sents or with­holds his as­sent."

This is rewrite of sec­tion 44(2) of the 1962 in­de­pen­dence Con­sti­tu­tion with the words "Gov­er­nor Gen­er­al" be­ing re­placed by "Pres­i­dent".

In ef­fect, the re­lease from Pres­i­dent's House said that the Pres­i­dent can make a de­ter­mi­na­tion af­ter his self-ini­ti­at­ed process of "con­sti­tu­tion­al and le­gal re­flec­tion, analy­sis and de­ter­mi­na­tion" to with­hold as­sent from any bill if he thinks so.

The Row­ley ad­min­is­tra­tion has been put on no­tice by Pres­i­dent's House that the with­hold­ing of as­sent to leg­is­la­tion could lie over the hori­zon if the Pres­i­dent is not sat­is­fied with any bill passed by the Par­lia­ment.

That is a dan­ger­ous pres­i­den­tial path­way. How­ev­er, we did not get to this point by chance. In 2000 and 2001, then pres­i­dent Robin­son open­ly de­fied the ad­vice of then prime min­is­ter Bas­deo Pan­day to refuse him the re­moval of two sen­a­tors in Jan­u­ary 2000. This was fol­lowed by a fur­ther re­fusal in De­cem­ber 2000 of his de­sire to have sev­en de­feat­ed can­di­dates ap­point­ed as sen­a­tors af­ter the 2000 gen­er­al elec­tion.

It was po­lit­i­cal­ly con­ve­nient back then for some peo­ple for such overt pres­i­den­tial de­fi­ance to take place. Along­side all of that, there was al­so Robin­son's tardy re­sponse to the re­quest of the Pan­day ad­min­is­tra­tion to ap­point a com­mis­sion of in­quiry in­to the ju­di­cia­ry un­der the chair­man­ship of Lord Mack­ay of Clash­fern.

Fast for­ward to to­day, and we can re­alise that the zone of pres­i­den­tial de­fi­ance of the Ex­ec­u­tive has the po­ten­tial to grow in­to with­hold­ing as­sent to leg­is­la­tion.

All of this has to be un­der­stood as a de­fi­ance of Sec­tion 80(1) of the Con­sti­tu­tion which reads in part as fol­lows:

"In the ex­er­cise of his func­tions un­der this Con­sti­tu­tion or any oth­er law, the Pres­i­dent shall act in ac­cor­dance with the ad­vice of the Cab­i­net or a Min­is­ter act­ing un­der the gen­er­al au­thor­i­ty of the Cab­i­net, ex­cept in cas­es where oth­er pro­vi­sion is made by this Con­sti­tu­tion or such oth­er law...."

Sec­tion 61(2) cit­ed above, must be read in con­junc­tion with Sec­tion 80(1). The Pres­i­dent just can­not de­cide that he wish­es to refuse as­sent to any bill prop­er­ly passed by Par­lia­ment. Un­til such time as the Con­sti­tu­tion is changed to per­mit the move from a qua­si-cer­e­mo­ni­al pres­i­den­cy to an ex­ec­u­tive one, the Pres­i­dent must act in ac­cor­dance with Sec­tion 80(1) re­gard­less of whether it is the Row­ley ad­min­is­tra­tion or any oth­er.

Pres­i­dent Car­mona may have read com­men­taries by two se­nior coun­sels, Ramesh Lawrence Ma­haraj and Fyard Ho­sein in 2014 when they were com­ment­ing on the Con­sti­tu­tion (Amend­ment) Bill 2014 that had just been passed with amend­ments in the Sen­ate.

Writ­ing un­der the head­line Ramesh: Pres­i­dent can ve­to Con­sti­tu­tion Bill on Sep­tem­ber 5, 2014, News­day re­porter Sta­cy Moore wrote as fol­lows:

"Pres­i­dent An­tho­ny Car­mona has the pow­ers in his hands to de­ter­mine whether the Con­sti­tu­tion (Amend­ment) Bill 2014 be­comes law by his de­ci­sion to ei­ther giv­ing as­sent to the bill, or ve­to it. This was yes­ter­day re­vealed by for­mer At­tor­ney Gen­er­al Ramesh Lawrence Ma­haraj who said the Con­sti­tu­tion of Trinidad and To­ba­go gives the Pres­i­dent the right to ve­to leg­is­la­tion passed by both Hous­es of Par­lia­ment. Ma­haraj is of the view that the Pres­i­dent must have ex­ten­sive dis­cus­sions and con­sul­ta­tions with groups and in­di­vid­u­als in or­der to 'prop­er­ly ex­er­cise his dis­cre­tion whether he should as­sent to the Bill, or ve­to it'. The for­mer at­tor­ney gen­er­al was speak­ing at the launch of the 'Democ­ra­cy Watch' at a press con­fer­ence at his of­fice on Irv­ing Street, San Fer­nan­do."

Mean­while, Se­nior Coun­sel Fyard Ho­sein writ­ing in the Sun­day Ex­press of Sep­tem­ber 14, 2014, un­der the head­line The Lim­its of Pres­i­den­tial Au­thor­i­ty said in part:

"The plain mean­ing of the Con­sti­tu­tion is that the Pres­i­dent may with­hold his ap­proval of a bill passed by the Par­lia­ment. That is not in it­self ex­tra­or­di­nary. Af­ter all, the process of mak­ing a statute is not com­plete un­less the Pres­i­dent as­sents. His Ex­cel­len­cy ex­er­cis­es an in­de­pen­dent law mak­ing pow­er, which forms an in­te­gral step in the leg­isla­tive process. To de­ny the ex­is­tence of that pow­er is to de­fy the plain mean­ing of the Con­sti­tu­tion and to de­ny the true mean­ing and in­tent of Par­lia­ment."

In dis­agree­ing with both points of view, it is nec­es­sary to point out that our sys­tem of gov­ern­ment gives po­lit­i­cal re­spon­si­bil­i­ty to the Cab­i­net and not to the Pres­i­dent for the gen­er­al con­duct of the af­fairs of the State for which Cab­i­net is ac­count­able to Par­lia­ment. The Pres­i­dent is not ac­count­able to any­one.

Impeach the T&T President ?

Postby RedVEVO » December 19th, 2019, 7:31 pm

Open letter to the President .

Dear Damme , your Lordship etc. etc.

Why Madam President does not want to live in the $89 M house that
WE the people build for YOU ?

Eh ? Please tell me .

Poor People in this country pay tax, tax, tax and what is wrong with YOU ?

Is it a woman thingy ? Did they NOT consult you or too many security cameras etc.

Is it because you vex about the Marijuana Bill ?

You want us to Impeach you ?

Call me.

Regards,

Women do the strangest things .

Lets us hear some examples of your woman doing strange things ?
Last edited by RedVEVO on December 19th, 2019, 7:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Impeach the President ?

Postby Rovin » December 19th, 2019, 7:45 pm

Last edited by Rovin on December 20th, 2019, 1:48 am, edited 3 times in total.

Re: Impeach the President ?

Postby RedVEVO » December 19th, 2019, 7:55 pm

So why tax payer and the Gov't spending $89 M on a stupid foreign look alike relic ?

I think it's not pride ..

And whosoever is proud of that relic have no education about the history of TT.

It's modern day legal corruption .

Maybe this is the reason she refuses to reside in HER house ..

Maybe is shame ..

Re: Impeach the T&T President ?

Postby Rovin » December 19th, 2019, 8:00 pm

Last edited by Rovin on December 20th, 2019, 1:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rovin » December 19th, 2019, 8:02 pm

d millions spent is 1 issue where we d public dont know what this sort of work really costs or how much kickback $$$ gone

but imo i doh see wais d beatup about paula not living in d pres house , its more of an office for official state business , she cud go to work in d morning jes like d rest of us & go back home normel , so she eh bong to live\sleep there

d PM doesnt live or have to live in d official pm residence neither ....

Postby Rovin » December 19th, 2019, 8:17 pm

i like this post on fb ...

Hansley Ajodha

Good morning. I saw the reports of our President rationalising the spend to refurbish President's House.
I understand perfectly what Her Excellency means, when she refers to "National Pride". But how many of us can embrace that idea of National Pride?
How can we have National Pride:
1) When thousands were marooned, some losing everything, and not one Government official shows up, even to show empathy?

2) When a group of our citizens are referred to as the 1% by the rest of the country?

3) When whole communities are cut off from national development, kept in subjugation and dependency, and we we have to send soldiers and police in to control them. Their sons continue to kill each other, believing their only hope is to resort to a life of crime?

4)When since our Independence we looked on helplessly at the rape of our treasury by self serving individuals?

5) When Tribalism is the order of our politics? We are a divided nation whether we like to admit it or not.

National Pride can only be felt when the quality of one's life is unquestionably good. When the people and their leaders are united under progressive ideologies, understanding what it takes to make a great nation.
I admire the optimism of President Weekes, and the beautiful house, but it takes much more to instill National Pride.
Stay proud my friends.....if you can

Postby maj. tom » December 19th, 2019, 8:35 pm

well doh worry, if anyone sings the national anthem wrong the President will be there to protect our National Pride.

Postby rspann » December 19th, 2019, 8:48 pm

Allyuh don't understand it. I went in town today , saw the residence twice . Twice I got prides.

Postby Rovin » December 19th, 2019, 9:26 pm

d country cud fall dong : we priding still ......

Postby sMASH » December 19th, 2019, 11:26 pm

Rovin wrote:d country cud fall dong : we priding still ......

boom

Re: All things Presidential thread *now with state housing

Postby pugboy » December 19th, 2019, 11:50 pm

All that missing is she ex borse(cj) to show the rainbow pride

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 20th, 2019, 5:00 am

I sure they coda break down that house and build it over for a lot less than 89 milli....imo Paula is shaping to possibly be the most hated president in Trinidad...it would have been better for her if she had just stayed quiet......remind me again, why we need a president????????????

Postby 16 cycles » December 20th, 2019, 6:08 am

Prefer pres be commander in cheif rather than any PM...

Postby Slartibartfast » December 20th, 2019, 8:58 am

MaxPower wrote:Hope she dies,

I mean that.

This

is

extreme

!!!

Yeh bro,

Harsh but the disgusting actions of the government are the reason for my thoughts.
I like how you just suggesting your preference seems extreme yet when a politician's decision causes not one, but two deaths, nobody bats an eye or attempts to hold him accountable.