Part of Charlotte Street to be designated Chinatown

Re: Part of Charlotte Street to be designated Chinatown

Postby MaxPower » October 28th, 2019, 6:28 am

agent007 wrote:We will see many more Chinese led investment initiatives taking place in this country. We will have banks, insurance and car dealerships coming in the pipeline. Our Chinese presence will get significantly larger in a few short years, in fact, a future PM of this country could quite possibly have Chinese heritage and we don’t have to look very far for this.

Trinidadians continue to be out performed.

Soon there will be no “WE country” and no “WE time now” and all that crap.

Many locals embrace this.

Postby Dave » October 28th, 2019, 6:54 am

And nobody to blame but themselves! Always have to feel sorry for them.

Postby zoom rader » October 28th, 2019, 7:04 am

agent007 wrote:We will see many more Chinese led investment initiatives taking place in this country. We will have banks, insurance and car dealerships coming in the pipeline. Our Chinese presence will get significantly larger in a few short years, in fact, a future PM of this country could quite possibly have Chinese heritage and we don’t have to look very far for this.

Red and ready ppl continue to be out performed.

Soon there will be no “WE country” and no “WE time now” and all that crap.

Many locals embrace this.

Fixed

Postby pugboy » October 28th, 2019, 9:02 am

heard they putting up second structure today or tomorrow

are they changing any of the street signs to bilingual english/chinese ?

Postby zoom rader » October 28th, 2019, 9:36 am

Every Aboud, Chin and Manuel is coming here are making a name for themselves Yet still Kwame blames Kamala while he keeps his fellow kin in power

Postby De Dragon » October 28th, 2019, 9:43 am

Will never happen. Backers of the two main parties know that the face of these parties have to be Afro/Indo, to maintain support from the tribes. You really feel movers and shakers of Syrian/Chinese/Indo/Afro heritage willing to upset that, when there is more profit pulling the strings from behind the scenes?

Postby rspann » October 28th, 2019, 9:50 am

If they put a crapaud, they will vote for it.

Eric Eustace Williams. 1911-1981.

Postby zoom rader » October 28th, 2019, 9:53 am

Will never happen. Backers of the two main parties know that the face of these parties have to be Afro/Indo, to maintain support from the tribes. You really feel movers and shakers of Syrian/Chinese/Indo/Afro heritage willing to upset that, when there is more profit pulling the strings from behind the scenes?
Chin and Aboud will just be the puppet masters for PNM goverments and PNM ppl.

Postby zoom rader » October 28th, 2019, 9:59 am

rspann wrote:If they put a crapaud, they will vote for it.

Eric Eustace Williams. 1911-1981.
Two jack aces, only tuner fake ras will want to hit this
MltGRiVurd.jpg.cf.jpeg

Postby MaxPower » October 28th, 2019, 2:43 pm

pugboy wrote:heard they putting up second structure today or tomorrow

are they changing any of the street signs to bilingual english/chinese ?

Any particular reason why u ask bro?

Cuz its in Chinese the Trinis ARE to get assistance to translate the street signs.

Ask a question, learn chinese, use a app....do what u must to get with the times.

Postby rspann » October 28th, 2019, 2:56 pm

Pugboy , yuh doh like Chinese people?. :D :D

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2019, 3:44 pm

唐人街

Postby MaxPower » October 28th, 2019, 3:54 pm

OMG how beautiful!

Postby pugboy » October 28th, 2019, 5:35 pm

Ah like Chinese food for sure

rspann wrote:Pugboy , yuh doh like Chinese people?. :D :D

Postby Slartibartfast » October 29th, 2019, 9:25 am

Regardless of what you say about PDR China, Xi Jinping knows what he is doing. He is running China like a company. The citizens are his employees and many large companies act like branches of the government. PDR China invests a lot overseas so that PDR chinese can have opportunities to expand internationally. The PDR Chinese government spends a lot of time, effort and resources brokering national alliances and agreements so that their people and businesses can move into other countries and thrive.

Now I'm not in support of a dictatorship and I'm not forgetting the Hong Kong riots or the tiananmen square massacre but I mention this only to point out to show that may of the things that Xi Jinping is doing are actually working. DPR China is (I think) the fastest growing economy and one of the only countries in the world where the standard of living is expected to increase with this generation.

But, a lot of the things that Xi is doing, that is proving profitable to his country, is seen down here as government handouts. I was talking to some people earlier about this "Twinning of the Cities" being a great opportunity if done correctly. They getting access to 1.5 million people that don't like to spend money but we could get a foot into a market that is 1000 times out size. I was saying our government should set up a Trini Town in China and in every major city in the world and start exporting our culture. I was met with 2 counter arguments

1) Why can't business do that for themselves. Why are trinis so lazy. It seems that the idea of a county's government using their diplomatic relationships to help create opportunities for local businesses is a foreign idea to us. Only in Trinidad we see a performing government as a bad thing.

2) What "culture" do we have to export besides drinking and carnival (which is being done better elsewhere). Again only in T&T do we see our culture as something static. Again, our government providing and environment that would allow a culture to grow is looked down on. Consider that our market is too small to support a large number of creative artists locally. Harry Potter is a large part of british culture that didn't exist 30 years ago. We don't build on anything more than reposted memes here. Imagine if we had a national theatre and arts program where funding was not a problem for the artists. Only in Trinidad we see it as a "waste" to spend money on something new but perfectly fine to spend hundreds of millions on projects that we don't need to build so that people that don't need the money can enrich themselves further (e.g. $150,000,000 for the upgrade to Skinner Park). Imagine if we used that money to pay our sportsmen, musicians (not soca) and performers (again, not soca) so that they didn't have to work and could spend eight hours a day actually doing something positive.

I know there are holes in these arguments and I could go on to plug them but I don't want to subject you all to another wall of text. You get the general gist of what I'm saying. Trinis need to stop being xenophobic and anti-progressive and start to learn to see the opportunities that present themselves to us (or learn to create new opportunities beyond figuring out how to get tax payers dollars into private pockets).

Postby Les Bain » October 29th, 2019, 9:30 am

^^^That is a valid wall of text though...

Imagine Trinidadians weren't as vocal about the yellow menace when construction projects were going up full tilt.
It took a friggin sign for a government LED bulb to go off over the heads of lazy voiced xenophobes with YouTube accounts.

Postby adnj » October 29th, 2019, 10:07 am

What gets my attention is the two steel columns mounted in the roadway.

Postby eliteauto » October 29th, 2019, 10:53 am

Some Belmont PH driver go hit that one of these nights

Postby MG Man » October 29th, 2019, 11:27 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
I know there are holes in these arguments and I could go on to plug them but I don't want to subject you all to another wall of text. You get the general gist of what I'm saying. Trinis need to stop being xenophobic and anti-progressive and start to learn to see the opportunities that present themselves to us (or learn to create new opportunities beyond figuring out how to get tax payers dollars into private pockets).

we are an inherently racist culture, so xenophobia is right up our alley

Postby Rovin » October 29th, 2019, 11:39 am

adnj wrote:What gets my attention is the two steel columns mounted in the roadway.

i was watching that as well

dosnt seem to have much options on where securely install it & something that huge u just cant use expanding bolts & say dat go wuk

at least 4ft from d ground they shud paint black & yellow reflective warning stripes ...

Part of Charlotte Street to be designated Chinatown

Postby MaxPower » October 29th, 2019, 11:57 am

adnj wrote:What gets my attention is the two steel columns mounted in the roadway.

Thats all well and fine.

Its great that you noticed it. Now you and others can walk/maneuver around it and just be careful my good lad.

Postby adnj » October 29th, 2019, 12:49 pm

Thats all well and fine.

Its great that you noticed it. Now you and others can walk/maneuver around it and just be careful my good lad.

Since its Charlotte Street, I will cede that stroll to you.

Postby zoom rader » October 29th, 2019, 12:58 pm

Was hoping de chins would have planted a Jhandis instead they put up dey dragons.

Oh well at least eliteauto and the rest of the PNM ppl wont beat up

Postby Ben_spanna » October 29th, 2019, 1:07 pm

Great- now all thats left to do is to drop in some Steel Bollards in the road just in front of that arch and make it pedestrian Only from now on.

Postby pugboy » October 29th, 2019, 1:16 pm

That is to make up for the dragon they take down from the red house and replace with a bird in pooping stance

zoom rader wrote:Was hoping de chins would have planted a Jhandis instead they put up dey dragons.

Postby hydroep » October 29th, 2019, 1:22 pm

Haven't been up there for Christmas in a while but if memory serves they used to block off the lower section of Charlotte Street and allow "local" vendors to use it as a street market.

If they still do that ah wonder what arrangements (if any) will be made for them?...:|

Postby eliteauto » October 29th, 2019, 1:23 pm

zoom rader wrote:Was hoping de chins would have planted a Jhandis instead they put up dey dragons.

Anything installed will be with the blessings of the PNM bro DBU

Postby rspann » October 29th, 2019, 1:38 pm

Or yuh mean in the middle of the drain?

Postby zoom rader » October 29th, 2019, 3:00 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Anything installed will be with the blessings of the PNM bro DBU

Yeah but it was the PNM dat take down de dragon on the Red House .

It in was in 1992, under the then People's National Movement administration, that the dragon weathervane that had been atop the Red House for much of its existence and replaced by the dove which bears an olive branch in its beak, which signifies the international symbol for peace, during a midnight ceremony.

de Dragon back in Trini

Postby pugboy » October 29th, 2019, 4:07 pm

the mayor now say the correct wording for the sign is supposed to be "Chinatown" and not "China town" as it appears to be
a mistake of some sort on the chinese contractor part

he is correct imho