Water pump

Re: Water pump

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 1st, 2020, 3:55 pm

Question again: lately Ive been monitoring my goulds, before it comes on I hear a slight humming for like 5-10 secs. Any ideas of what this could be?

Postby pugboy » June 1st, 2020, 4:00 pm

Could be motor capacitor

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Question again: lately Ive been monitoring my goulds, before it comes on I hear a slight humming for like 5-10 secs. Any ideas of what this could be?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 1st, 2020, 4:42 pm

pugboy wrote:Could be motor capacitor

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Question again: lately Ive been monitoring my goulds, before it comes on I hear a slight humming for like 5-10 secs. Any ideas of what this could be?

Change now or wait until it gives out

Postby pugboy » June 1st, 2020, 4:51 pm

Open the back cover and see if it’s swollen.
Also if possible to turn the motor with electrical disconnected to see if anything binding.

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
pugboy wrote:Could be motor capacitor

Change now or wait until it gives out

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 2nd, 2020, 9:55 am

Checked the capacitor this morning. Not swollen, I guess its on to the motor now

Postby pugboy » June 2nd, 2020, 10:03 am

it could still be bad, if you had one to borrow and try

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Checked the capacitor this morning. Not swollen, I guess its on to the motor now

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 2nd, 2020, 10:06 am

pugboy wrote:it could still be bad, if you had one to borrow and try

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Checked the capacitor this morning. Not swollen, I guess its on to the motor now

Well arite, keeping the faith

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 3rd, 2020, 6:49 pm

Update: opened up, checked to see if anything was sticking but that wasn't the case. Decided to interfere with the pressure switch, sand paper and crc...problem solved. Not humming as before

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » June 4th, 2020, 8:38 am

Some really good information here.

Since this thread is named water pump.
What are the reviews on the Sta-Rite Dominator pump? I am interested in purchasing this pump and would like to get some feed back

Postby Ted_v2 » June 4th, 2020, 6:16 pm

pentax vs goulds.
lets talk.

im thinking about the model with the ballast tank and pressure switch in both models, not able with no smarthead.

water source having it for a very very affordable price.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 4th, 2020, 6:31 pm

Have a Goulds I bought from Peake's in 2009, once it just needed spraying the contacts with electronic cleaner(never had issue after), in February the impeller was sticking a little due to buildup, changed all seals and bearings one time, dab some paint... Like oil as they say. Know of a half hp Goulds with the hump going strong 22yrs now rell abuse, only pressure solenoid went twice and service once..
Had a Pentax I try in 2013? 2015? can't remember... Work for 7mths and it burn but that's fellahs run it with a pressure washer for two hours. Willing to try Pentax again if I get chance
Ted_v2 wrote:pentax vs goulds.
lets talk.

im thinking about the model with the ballast tank and pressure switch in both models, not able with no smarthead.

water source having it for a very very affordable price.

sykomekanik

Postby sykomekanik » June 5th, 2020, 1:55 pm

In the market for a pump myself.. Went to water source ltd and this is their price list for the pentax.. Still up in the air about whether to get a goulds or pentax
Last price i got was from ramlagans in balmain for a 1/2hp goulds with pressure tank for $2990 and the 3/4 with pressure tank $4257.90.
20200603_152852.jpeg

Postby Dave » June 5th, 2020, 2:31 pm

Prices are not bad. Deal breaker when looking at a Could unit.
I was watching a Wayne unit from the US but shipping and minor parts may be an issue.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 5th, 2020, 7:19 pm

That goulds 1/2hp price real good. Several other places selling it between 3400-3800. Id buy a goulds though. Bulletproof!!!!! Things to change in between: capacitor, pressure switch and tank

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 5th, 2020, 7:49 pm

Pentax is affordable and good quality.
Stay away from smart head, I on my third in 10 years.
Changed bearings once. I don't really service it like I supposed to, only if sheit breaks

Postby Dave » June 5th, 2020, 9:00 pm

Definitive guide now.... smart head vs pressure tank?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » June 5th, 2020, 9:05 pm

Dave wrote:Definitive guide now.... smart head vs pressure tank?
Also switching from smart head to pressure tank setup....discuss.... advantages/disadvantages

Postby Dave » June 5th, 2020, 9:20 pm

Thank you my good man.

Grew up in a household where there was a pressure tank system, didn't think smart heads were a thing in those days.
From what I get frequent water using then pressure tank and smart when on demand and not as frequent.

Please chime in.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 5th, 2020, 9:32 pm

Pressure tank for me. Using that pain free atm as opposed to my neighbour who always cussing every 2 months when smart giving trouble(pentax). According to him, once a pipe or hose is on(even if there is a nozzle attached to the hose) the pump keeps running and running. Totally different to the goulds.

My old man installed a pentax in an apt building(4apts) and in 6 months it went back to the store to fix(thankfully warranty was honoured)

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » June 5th, 2020, 9:40 pm

Karim Khan wrote:Some really good information here.

Since this thread is named water pump.
What are the reviews on the Sta-Rite Dominator pump? I am interested in purchasing this pump and would like to get some feed back

Pros:
Very good pump, high quality construction originally designed for wells. The pump is very durable as it's built with a Stainless Steel body and Noryl internals.
Pump performance is phenomenal because of its multistage design which is able to deliver high volume for great performance when many outlets are open.
The 20gpm model comes with a 1/2 HP motor and gives the performance of a 1.5HP Conventional Jet Pump.
Pump is very quiet as it's installed in the water tank.

Cons:
Pump is installed inside one of the water tanks, if pump fails you will have to reinstall another pump of the same type which limits options of replacement pump.
If pump fails electrically (e.g capacitor fails or motor burns) there is the possibility of the water being contaminated.
If your installer does not connect a bypass line from the bottom of the tanks to your home, you will not be able to get a gravity fed water supply if there is no electricity or with pump failure.

If you decide to go with this pump I would strongly advise you also get a Cycle Stop Valve if you go with a pressure tank option.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » June 5th, 2020, 10:23 pm

Dave wrote:Definitive guide now.... smart head vs pressure tank?

Smarthead
Pros:
Protects pump from running if there is no water being pumped.

No maintenance until something is damaged.

Ease of installation. Jus connect pipes and plug in.

Simple repairs as it's either the circuit board, diaphragm or base will be the issue with a smarthead. If cost of repair parts crosses 1/2 the price of a whole smarthead, jus buy a whole new smarthead.

Passive protection of motor winding as circuit board will most times burn out in electrical issues before pump motor.

Cons:
Too many cheap poorly made models on the market make sure to buy one originating from Europe.

Circuit Board damaged my voltage issues.

If SmartHead is damaged most times pump will not run at all, this means no pressurised water until repaired.

Very sensitive to leaks on system.

Some models cannot regulate cut in and cut off pressures.

Pressure Tank
Pros:
Can set cut in and cut out pressures on pressure switch.

Once properly sized, it will ensure that pump motor runs for at least 1 min when the motor comes on, this will allow for proper cooling of the motor.

Very simple to repair and conduct maintenance, and if the pressure tank or pressure switch is damaged pump can still temporarily run until damaged part can be replaced.

Cons:
Cannot tell if no water is being pumped (unless a float switch or low level pressure switch is used)
If a valve supplying water is locked off in error to the pump, a normal pressure switch will not know and the pump will run without water and eventually lock up and burn out the motor.
Possibility of voltage drop issues with the use of float switches that are installed without the proper size of wiring
Hassle of having to run a float switch out to water tanks which are sometimes located far from pump
Also, if you don't have a float switch or low level protection installed on a pressure tank/pressure switch system your warranty will be voided.

Needs Maintainance. Pressure tank air pressure should be checked every 6 months.
Pressure Switch and pump motor can be damaged if pressure tank air goes too low and pump begins to short cycle.

Most local distributors/hardwares have options with pressure tanks that are too small for the pump, improperly setting the cut in and cut out pressures with these small tanks will lead to premature failure of the pump.

Alot of cheap, poorly made, disposable pressure tanks on the market which do not have the option to replace the diaphragm.

Larger higher quality pressure tanks that can be repaired are very expensive.

Please make sure you install an outlet check valve to protect both the SmartHead and Pressure Tank from mains pressure.

I will add if I think of anything else.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 6th, 2020, 7:26 am

Most important piece of advice should be : directing people to reliable persons who does repairs on pumps. Almost every johnny come lately is ah pump man but they dont know wtf they doing....and charging real $$ too eh

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » June 6th, 2020, 6:42 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Most important piece of advice should be : directing people to reliable persons who does repairs on pumps. Almost every johnny come lately is ah pump man but they dont know wtf they doing....and charging real $$ too eh

This!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 6th, 2020, 7:07 pm

Pugboy mentioned a guy in diego martin...other than him....I dont know anyone

goviboo

Postby goviboo » June 6th, 2020, 8:20 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Most important piece of advice should be : directing people to reliable persons who does repairs on pumps. Almost every johnny come lately is ah pump man but they dont know wtf they doing....and charging real $$ too eh

This on point, but a higher percentage of people chose not to pay for the proper maintenance. I don’t consider myself a pump technician but I’ve done quite a few of rebuilds of various brands over the years. A lot of times people wouldn’t want to pay for the correct maintenance.

One example would be replacing a mechanical seal, on most pumps the shaft is pitted and requires repair, I advise at this level of tear down to replace bearings, with that being said customers are compelled away as to the amt of work/repairs, same amt of work/repairs on the fluid end that has calcification buildup.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 6th, 2020, 8:39 pm

When you calculate the cost to repair(depending on how bad) throw in a few hundreds more and you'd get a new one.....well, my old lady does do that

goviboo

Postby goviboo » June 6th, 2020, 9:10 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:When you calculate the cost to repair(depending on how bad) throw in a few hundreds more and you'd get a new one.....well, my old lady does do that

Correct.

Most people would not replace the bearings and very few agree to the pitted shaft repair.
Would this be deemed as technician failure? They were advised, But they are the customer and when it fails in the near future, the tech is blamed.
I’m only guessing this to be the reason for the very few techs being mentioned, as this stems an entire debate in entity.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » June 6th, 2020, 10:04 pm

I usually advise my customers that if the cost of repairs crosses more than half the cost of a new pump, they should consider buying a new pump once their budget can allow.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 7th, 2020, 6:15 am

wheelbarrow wrote:I usually advise my customers that if the cost of repairs crosses more than half the cost of a new pump, they should consider buying a new pump once their budget can allow.

Buh buh buh yuh didnt tell we you do repairs man :lol: leave ah lil contact and location nuh

Postby Ted_v2 » June 7th, 2020, 7:19 pm

okay update

i purchased a cam 50 with the 8L pressure tank, many reasons why.

the dealer in south, 20 mins from my work so no issues there.
got 2 year warranty on the pump( my grandpa bought a pump from there and had a issue, they swapped it out no issues)
1 year on the pressure tank
the pressure switch is a standard pressure switch
the gauge is a standard gauge.
unit seems well built from what i can see, works exceptional so far, had some minor tweeking to do with the pressure switch out of the box but thats it.
the smart head is garbage, i scrapped down a version 1 of it from a pentax, seems like its a magnetic float inside with something that receives the signal when the water pressure is up, a lil rust on that particular design and it wasnt working right.
another thing too, how my water is setup, i have two seperate systems, the pump sometimes need to pull water from some tanks across the way.

install went flawless, took 4 hours to swap out, install and fab up a small shed for it 2 ft high. 40 inches long and 18 inches wide, to cover my untidy manifold that i got to my pipework.

my goulds worked perfect till i decommissioned it , the front housing got a leak due to some minor waterleaks on the pipework and being exposed to some good weather, i would say 8 years good service? overheated a few times well when the water ran out, ect. never did any seals, bearing ects.