Should carnival, fetes and so on be banned?

justheretoreadthecomments

Re: Should carnival, fetes and so on be banned?

Postby justheretoreadthecomments » February 7th, 2019, 1:21 pm

Miktay wrote:
justheretoreadthecomments wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
matr1x wrote:Trinidad has never made any profit from carnival. It's there too keep the hooligans happy. Let's be real.
So the
Designers, clothing stores, taxi companies, caterers, scaffold companies,djs, soca artists, trucking companies, make up artists, gyms, personal trainers, health food places, security companies, photographers,shuttle services, taxi drivers, guest house owners,hotel workers, etc.....them is not part of trinidad?

According to central back, in 2016 alone, carnival visitors spent approximately $340M

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/business/busines ... nival-2017

And how much did gubbament spend?

Gov­ern­ment had a $270 million budgetary allocation in 2016. Not quite sure what are the recent allocations.

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » February 7th, 2019, 1:23 pm

timelapse wrote:
justheretoreadthecomments wrote:So because you not into carnival, you think it should be banned all together? K.

If you don't like it, don't participate. Simple as that.

Imbert should tax it like a mofo

It is taxed, also, it is still a choice whether someone wants to participate or not. A few years ago, a front line costume was no more than $5000, whereas in 2019, you can't even get a proper back line for that price. However, year after year, we continue to see people playing mas. We all have our hobbies and interests and this differ from person to person. It's a choice that people consciously made with regard to how they spend their money.

If course, I DO NOT support the idea of persons taking these "carnival loans" and spending on fetes when bills are stacking, but hey, if a person can afford it, then cool. If you can afford but you prefer to find better use for your money, that's cool as well.

Yes it's taxed, but I just want to correct you on costume prices which haven't risen with our inflation rates at all.

First year I played mas was 2006 and a male costume was 2800 female was 3600. Today, 13 years later in the same band (tribe) it's $5000 for a female backline and 4000 a male. Fantasy and other bands are even cheaper but by 1000.

That's less than a 50% increase in prices, how much did everything else increase by since then? Probably almost 100%

Miktay

Postby Miktay » February 7th, 2019, 2:02 pm

Miktay wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
matr1x wrote:Trinidad has never made any profit from carnival. It's there too keep the hooligans happy. Let's be real.
So the
Designers, clothing stores, taxi companies, caterers, scaffold companies,djs, soca artists, trucking companies, make up artists, gyms, personal trainers, health food places, security companies, photographers,shuttle services, taxi drivers, guest house owners,hotel workers, etc.....them is not part of trinidad?

According to central back, in 2016 alone, carnival visitors spent approximately $340M

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/business/busines ... nival-2017

And how much did gubbament spend?

Gov­ern­ment had a $270 million budgetary allocation in 2016. Not quite sure what are the recent allocations.

If that iz so note that gubbment contribution iz a net figure while visitor spending iz gross.

justheretoreadthecomments

Postby justheretoreadthecomments » February 7th, 2019, 2:10 pm

l33t2 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
justheretoreadthecomments wrote:So because you not into carnival, you think it should be banned all together? K.

If you don't like it, don't participate. Simple as that.

Imbert should tax it like a mofo

It is taxed, also, it is still a choice whether someone wants to participate or not. A few years ago, a front line costume was no more than $5000, whereas in 2019, you can't even get a proper back line for that price. However, year after year, we continue to see people playing mas. We all have our hobbies and interests and this differ from person to person. It's a choice that people consciously made with regard to how they spend their money.

If course, I DO NOT support the idea of persons taking these "carnival loans" and spending on fetes when bills are stacking, but hey, if a person can afford it, then cool. If you can afford but you prefer to find better use for your money, that's cool as well.

Yes it's taxed, but I just want to correct you on costume prices which haven't risen with our inflation rates at all.

First year I played mas was 2006 and a male costume was 2800 female was 3600. Today, 13 years later in the same band (tribe) it's $5000 for a female backline and 4000 a male. Fantasy and other bands are even cheaper but by 1000.

That's less than a 50% increase in prices, how much did everything else increase by since then? Probably almost 100%

My package for 2018 was just under $6000, but yes, I get what you are saying.
Last edited by justheretoreadthecomments on February 15th, 2019, 10:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » February 7th, 2019, 2:13 pm

Think of it this way as well.
Dont talk about visitors. Think about the locals who spend a easy 5 to 20k each to party for carnival.if there was no carnival here....many of us would just hit miami/canada for carnival
Or spend that money on vacations abroad.

The money staying here and recirculating

Hush allyuh BUGWAAANAAA and wine on a bumper na

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » February 7th, 2019, 2:27 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Think of it this way as well.
Dont talk about visitors. Think about the locals who spend a easy 5 to 20k each to party for carnival.if there was no carnival here....many of us would just hit miami/canada for carnival

Exactly, another great point. Money spent games, cars, speakers are mostly leaving the country.

Majority of money spent in carnival circulates locally.

Postby matr1x » February 7th, 2019, 3:28 pm

How is central bank coming up with that figure?

Zetski

Postby Zetski » February 7th, 2019, 9:04 pm

matr1x wrote:How is central bank coming up with that figure?

Information Technology... get with the times

Postby Gladiator » February 7th, 2019, 9:38 pm

l33t2 wrote:

Exactly, another great point. Money spent games, cars, speakers are mostly leaving the country.

This can't be furthest from the truth... Carnival is 95% import. All the paraphernalia for costumes, equipment, alco etc cost USD and dont talk bout the all inclusives where almost everything is imported and for what to eat-> drink-> $h1t out and/or-> throw in the dus bin. And we serious about conserving the USD....right

The locals that partying and spending the TTD that "circulate" are using worthless TTD to party and drink the johnny and Hennessy that has to be bought with USD.....

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » February 7th, 2019, 10:44 pm

Gladiator wrote:
l33t2 wrote:

This can't be furthest from the truth... Carnival is 95% import. All the paraphernalia for costumes, equipment, alco etc cost USD and dont talk bout the all inclusives where almost everything is imported and for what to eat-> drink-> $h1t out and/or-> throw in the dus bin. And we serious about conserving the USD....right

The locals that partying and spending the TTD that "circulate" are using worthless TTD to party and drink the johnny and Hennessy that has to be bought with USD.....

Lol ok then, you're literally you're looking at some of the smallest costs. Imported alcohol has extremely high taxes as well.

Carnival and fete costs is mainly labor, services and rentals. But what would I know.

Postby matr1x » February 8th, 2019, 4:18 am

Zetski wrote:
matr1x wrote:How is central bank coming up with that figure?

Information Technology... get with the times

I did a bit of asking around. That figure is based on estimates, not facts

Postby timelapse » February 8th, 2019, 9:12 am

Raise taxes on carnival activities, and also have a visa system for foreigners.Ent de economy bad?

Postby crazybalhead » February 8th, 2019, 10:33 am

tr1ad wrote:OP hit up gym from now, make the right contacts.... you'll get the fete ticket for 2020 and Ashleigh WILL give you the wickedest slam next year

:drinking:

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » February 8th, 2019, 10:43 am

zoom rader wrote:Yes ban the fuvking ting.

Bunch ah noise than promotes violent behaviour & unwanted pregnancies.

It builds racism promoted by PNM kiaso tents.

Schools are affected for about 2 weeks

It teaches little kids to wine like dogs.

More drunk injuns

Productivity at work drops, workers coming to work tired from last night fetes.

Broke arse ppl after carnival

Foreign germs and illness coming in.

Hospital are rammed from all sorts of injuries .

Increase in crime as we note the present PNM murder rate

The faster calypso and those tents die the better for the country

Postby zoom rader » February 8th, 2019, 11:16 am

Add soca chutney aswell

FordeG

Postby FordeG » February 9th, 2019, 3:00 pm

The biggest reason I think carnival should be banned is due to the vulgarity and unadulterated exhibitionism that is 'legal' for two days.

I heard my son talking to his friends last year, he is 15, and they said they saw dozens of exposed nipples on carnival Tuesday!!

That creates a culture of lust and profanity. Soca is a disgusting breed of music all about sex.

Is there any wonder why we are killing and raoing each other.

Postby zoom rader » February 9th, 2019, 3:05 pm

FordeG wrote:The biggest reason I think carnival should be banned is due to the vulgarity and unadulterated exhibitionism that is 'legal' for two days.

I heard my son talking to his friends last year, he is 15, and they said they saw dozens of exposed nipples on carnival Tuesday!!

That creates a culture of lust and profanity. Soca is a disgusting breed of music all about sex.

Yup that's what it is all about
Lust, lust , lust and then get your ashes.

But trinis don't care, women want to sell their goods and weak ass men want to see pum pum.

Postby mero » February 9th, 2019, 3:30 pm

FordeG wrote:The biggest reason I think carnival should be banned is due to the vulgarity and unadulterated exhibitionism that is 'legal' for two days.

If yuh son is 15 he done pulling skin and feeling up gyal already and prob sending porn to his same buddies on the phone u buy him.

Think Carnival should be one of the least of your problems. Nipples are everywhere

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » February 9th, 2019, 5:15 pm

But trinis don't care, women want to sell their goods and weak ass men want to see pum pum.

Carnival has nothing to do with ashes and carnival though. Ash wednesday has to do with the start of lent and easter etc. Whether it has carnival or not, catholics are expected to take ashes, repent and begin fasting.

I personally think that Trinidad's carnival should stop being tied to ash wednesday though. It's more commercial now and not tied to catholicism. Will never happen though cause trinis hate productivity so the country basically shuts down from christmas until after easter finishes.

Carnival is good for the economy because it provides a lot of seasonal employment etc but it needs to be zoned. Too much productivity is lost. POS shouldn't shut down for it. Have strict zoning and streets blocked off where necessary.

Postby zoom rader » February 9th, 2019, 5:28 pm

Redress10 wrote:

Carnival has nothing to do with ashes and carnival though. Ash wednesday has to do with the start of lent and easter etc. Whether it has carnival or not, catholics are expected to take ashes, repent and begin fasting.

I personally think that Trinidad's carnival should stop being tied to ash wednesday though. It's more commercial now and not tied to catholicism. Will never happen though cause trinis hate productivity so the country basically shuts down from christmas until after easter finishes.

Carnival is good for the economy because it provides a lot of seasonal employment etc but it needs to be zoned. Too much productivity is lost. POS shouldn't shut down for it. Have strict zoning and streets blocked off where necessary.
Bro Carnival is a pre-lenten festival to free up yourselfs before your penitence to Easter.

So sin yourself then collect ashes for your penitence.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » February 9th, 2019, 5:48 pm

Carnival started with slaves dressing up and imitating their french colonial masters and a whole host of other cultural additions. Ask yourself this. Why is there no pre lenten carnival in catholic/anglican european countries?
The pre lenten "free up" is suppose to represent glutony. This includes things such as great feasts and eating all the food that you possess.

It has nothing to do with a 2 day drunking orgy in Port of Spain.

FordeG

Postby FordeG » February 9th, 2019, 6:54 pm

Carnival is a devil inspired festival. There are large numbers of us religious minded folks in Trinidad who are proposing (soon petitioning) for reduction of the vulgarity (ban on all thongs and small wire bras), reduction is the season length, reduction in approved fetes.

This wine and Jam, bikini and beads (now it's as bare as string and glitter) needs to stop.

ZR is right, even if this thing earns us money, the long term social cost needs to be evaluated.

Remember what happened to Sodom and Gomorrah.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 9th, 2019, 7:59 pm

Yuh see that sheit stunt machel come up with...singing the ppl bhajan in ah lime...they go crucify he mc...just wait for Sat

Postby 88sins » February 9th, 2019, 8:55 pm

FordeG wrote:Carnival is a devil inspired festival. There are large numbers of us religious minded folks in Trinidad who are proposing (soon petitioning) for reduction of the vulgarity (ban on all thongs and small wire bras), reduction is the season length, reduction in approved fetes.

This wine and Jam, bikini and beads (now it's as bare as string and glitter) needs to stop.

ZR is right, even if this thing earns us money, the long term social cost needs to be evaluated.

you do realize that there is no official launch of the" Carnival season" as far as the Gov't declaring it open is concerned right?

But that aside, tell me something.
if someone enjoys wearing the skimpiest of costumes and wining their backside anyhow anywhere and on anyone, getting drunk or whatever else they are happy to do that's within the parameters of the law, who exactly do you think you are that you can tell them not to enjoy or do those things? I can appreciate that you might not like what they like or may not do what they do, but no matter how hard you thump on whatever version of the Bible you have because of whatever reason, always remember Matthew 7:1, and John 8:7-11.

Don't like Carnival? cool, me neither, so I invite you to do as I do, & stay out of it and away from it, leave it to the people that enjoy it and leave them alone.

Postby De Dragon » February 9th, 2019, 9:13 pm

FordeG wrote:Carnival is a devil inspired festival. There are large numbers of us religious minded folks in Trinidad who are proposing (soon petitioning) for reduction of the vulgarity (ban on all thongs and small wire bras), reduction is the season length, reduction in approved fetes.

I'm confused by this FordeG person. He/she/it claims to be "religious minded" but apparently defended not one, but two racist posts on 2NR. He/she/it also seems to be scoffing at Jesus's well known tolerance for sinners, not to mention advocating a petition :lol: for stopping people's right to get drunk and dance in the street. As 88sins kinda said, "yah don't like it, find yuh rass down Mayaro or stop home"

FordeG

Postby FordeG » February 9th, 2019, 9:44 pm

I am saying, quite simply, Carnival is all about sex. Is that what we want our children exposed too?

Postby Gladiator » February 9th, 2019, 9:47 pm

Carnival's roots has nothing to do with slaves or the Caribbean... Its origin is european. It is a mixture of Nordic festivals that morphed into the Roman saternalia. The church did their modifications when they tried to ban saturnalia and that's how we have lent Christmas Yadda Yadda....
Redress10 wrote:Carnival started with slaves dressing up and imitating their french colonial masters and a whole host of other cultural additions. Ask yourself this. Why is there no pre lenten carnival in catholic/anglican european countries?
The pre lenten "free up" is suppose to represent glutony. This includes things such as great feasts and eating all the food that you possess.

It has nothing to do with a 2 day drunking orgy in Port of Spain.

Postby De Dragon » February 9th, 2019, 9:49 pm

FordeG wrote:I am saying, quite simply, Carnival is all about sex. Is that what we want our children exposed too?

Aren't you a parent? How is it exactly they're being "exposed?" Don't you have control or influence over what view or interact with? :?

Postby pugboy » February 9th, 2019, 9:58 pm

All i know is I living Woodbrook
And can’t sleep

Postby matr1x » February 9th, 2019, 10:08 pm

No offense...but religious ppl need to stay out of way of society. Every single time religion tries to tell ppl what is moral, it's never something positive.

Also, instead of worrying about carnival, worry about them priests. Kiddie carnival is like speed dating for Catholics clergy