Venezuela Government thread

Re: Breaking News: Venezuela 2019 new President Juan Guaido to be sworn in

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 24th, 2019, 6:17 am

The_Honourable wrote:Study Young batting for Maduro instead of his stepdaughter.

Man still has hopes for the gas deal

Postby 88sins » January 24th, 2019, 6:47 am

l33t2 wrote:The amount of ignorance in this thread is absolutely sickening.

No, this is not as simple as “USA acknowledged the opposition as president over Maduro”. By Venezuela’s constitution, Maduro is not legally the president anymore. In the case that Venezuela is going through right now the head of the National Assembly becomes the president, in this case it’s Guaido.

Why is this happening? Because Maduro’s government called for Constitutional Assembly to basically have a re-election and change the constitution to their view. In Venezuela the government does not have that power, the people do. Due to this illegality Maduro losses his presidency and Guaido will LEGALLY become the interim president..

in any event, it's nobody's business but Venezuela's , & everybody need to keep their arses out of it unless a direct request is made for a particular nation to provide assistance

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 24th, 2019, 7:30 am

According to al jazeera a short while ago..."russia warns the US against military action"...

Guess Putin answered

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » January 24th, 2019, 9:21 am

I hope this is a break through for my Vene bros and sisters

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 24th, 2019, 10:41 am

this was last month

CNN

RT

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 24th, 2019, 10:48 am

T&T has been weak in its negotiations and decisions with several nations in terms of trade and foreign policy matters etc.

It profits the T&T govt and the puppet masters to have weak borders thus allowing thousands of illegal immigrants pouring in here on a daily basis. Decisions signed by a Maduro govt can be possibly vetoed by the new elect (should it happen successfully). This has the possibility to affect us here since our govt has been subservient to Maduro since day 1.

Meanwhile, the POTUS is noting all those countries that did not vote and also abstained from voting in matters raised by the US in past UNGA sessions.

If T&T continues to walk down a road suggestive of a lack of support or concern to US foreign policy especially during a Trump administration better be prepared to discuss what next. We are already in bed with the Chinese - soon they will own the majority of the country because we sold out to them more than a decade ago and US ships have to dock in Grenada yet we allowed a Russian ship to dock here.

Our country is heading for collapse rapidly whether its UNC or PNM but this can be accelerated based on our decisions from all now towards the US and its allies and similarly Russia and its allies. If we chose the latter, have Expedia open in a new tab and keep your passports on person because you might not get time to fully pack luggage.

The 1 and 2% of this country as large and connected as they are cannot prevent a domino effect arising out of a poor decision. If we really tumble, they have the ability to actually go meet their billions of dollars saved in foreign accounts and live large in Panama, US, Canada, all over Europe and Australia etc. In addition, all those corrupt politicians and mega contractors with their billions saved overseas can easily leave this country and it would be us left behind studying who is Indian and African etc.

Postby hydroep » January 24th, 2019, 11:25 am

^Nail on head business there.

Devoid of any meaningful ideas, Sh!tkicker & Co. were looking for "quick fixes" instead of developing a long term strategic plan for the country. And that shortsightedness has now come back to bite them...and the rest of us in the arse.

For the record, the Government was warned about this possibility from several quarters eh, including this fella:

Warning over Dragon Gas Deal
Anna Lisa Paul
Sat Nov 24 2018

Op­po­si­tion law­mak­er, a mem­ber of the Venezue­lan As­sem­bly, Car­los Valero is warn­ing Gov­ern­ment that any treaties or con­tracts signed be­tween the two coun­tries and which have not been passed by the Na­tion­al As­sem­bly in Venezuela might not be ho­n­oured in the fu­ture.

In an in­ter­view with CNC 3 yes­ter­day be­fore head­ing back to Venezuela, Valero claimed the Na­tion­al As­sem­bly was the on­ly le­git­i­mate body in Venezuela with the au­thor­i­ty to en­sure that agree­ments were le­gal and would be ho­n­oured mov­ing for­ward.

Valero urged lo­cal law-mak­ers not to be swayed or ma­nip­u­lat­ed by the promis­es of the cur­rent Venezue­lan ad­min­is­tra­tion.

The Op­po­si­tion UNC had raised queries about the le­git­i­ma­cy of the deal in Par­lia­ment when Pointe-a-Pierre MP David Lee asked if it was ap­proved by the Venezue­lan Na­tion­al As­sem­bly.

In re­sponse, Prime Min­is­ter Dr Kei­th Row­ley said: “I am Prime Min­is­ter of Trinidad and To­ba­go and I could on­ly speak to and for Trinidad and To­ba­go’s in­volve­ment in this mat­ter. What goes on in Venezuela is a mat­ter for the Venezue­lans, and I can­not speak to what the as­sem­bly is re­quired to do.”

On Au­gust 27, the Prime Min­is­ter and Venezue­lan Pres­i­dent Nicolás Maduro signed an agree­ment in Cara­cas that will al­low the is­land to ac­cess gas from the off­shore Drag­on field.

Row­ley had told the me­dia then, “We may have been able to save our in­dus­try by get­ting a se­cure source of gas for the down­stream sec­tor. It may over time al­so al­low us to look at the ex­pan­sion of the down­stream sec­tor and in­vest­ments there, as long as we can show in­vestors we have a se­cured stream of gas.”

The Prime Min­is­ter was not will­ing to dis­close the price of the gas, point­ing to com­mer­cial con­fi­den­tial­i­ty, but he re­vealed it will be 150 mil­li­on stan­dard cu­bic feet per day (mm­scf/d), with the pos­si­bil­i­ty of it in­creas­ing to 300 mm­scf/d.

The pipeline car­ry­ing the gas from Venezuela’s Drag­on Gas field in East­ern Venezuela to Shell’s Hi­bis­cus plat­form off the North Coast will be built and owned in a joint ven­ture be­tween the NGC and Shell Trinidad. The es­ti­mat­ed cost of the con­struc­tion of the pipeline is close to TT $1 bil­li­on.

T&T has been suf­fer­ing from gas cur­tail­ment for the last six years and it has led to a short­fall in the pro­duc­tion of all the com­mo­di­ties in­clud­ing LNG and Petro­chem­i­cals and as a con­se­quence sig­nif­i­cant loss of rev­enue to the trea­sure and for­eign ex­change. Trinidad and To­ba­go will re­ceive its first gas from Venezuela’s Drag­on Field in 2020, ac­cord­ing to Bo­li­var­i­an Re­pub­lic’s Min­is­ter of En­er­gy, Manuel Queve­do, last month.

Open home to Venezue­lan refugees—Valero

As­sess­ing the refugee sit­u­a­tion in Trinidad, Valero plead­ed with lo­cals open their hearts and homes to those flee­ing the eco­nom­ic cri­sis in Venezuela.

He said it was im­por­tant now to en­sure there was a co­or­di­nat­ed ap­proach to the hu­man­i­tar­i­an cri­sis - both in T&T and Venezuela.

Valero said in 2018, in­fla­tion reached one mil­lion per cent in Venezuela.

And with the In­ter­na­tion­al Mon­e­tary Fund (IMF) pro­ject­ing it would reach 10 mil­lion per cent in 2019, he said this was why three mil­lion peo­ple had fled Venezuela.

He ad­mit­ted a large num­ber of these per­sons had come to T&T, but he claimed the is­sue was a “tem­po­ral” one and as such, he was im­plor­ing Trinida­di­ans to help as much as they could.

Valero called for Gov­ern­ment’s sup­port to ad­dress the is­sue on a mul­ti-lat­er­al lev­el us­ing re­sources from the US and EU.

He said Venezuela was de­ter­mined to get through this cri­sis but need­ed the help and sup­port of oth­er coun­tries in the mean­time.

Valero said he and his coun­try­men were em­bar­rassed by the cur­rent cri­sis which had re­sult­ed in hun­dreds of Venezue­lans il­le­gal­ly en­ter­ing T&T.

How­ev­er, he ap­pealed to the pub­lic to un­der­stand that the on­ly guilty sec­tor in this sit­u­a­tion was the Venezue­lan gov­ern­ment as he prayed noth­ing like this ever hap­pened in T&T.

From dis­cus­sions with Venezue­lans liv­ing in T&T, Valero said many had re­port­ed go­ing to the Unit­ed Na­tions High Com­mis­sion­er for Refugees (UN­HCR) for help, but in the ab­sence of any leg­is­la­tion to reg­u­late their mi­gra­to­ry prob­lems - they felt they were not pro­tect­ed by the State.

As such, Valero re­newed a call for bind­ing le­gal agree­ments to ad­dress the cri­sis.

Ad­di­tion­al­ly, he in­vit­ed the Gov­ern­ment to make this prob­lem vis­i­ble and in­crease aware­ness of this prob­lem - as there were 10,000 Venezue­lans cur­rent­ly seek­ing asy­lum in T&T.

He claimed there were 60,000 Venezue­lans in T&T, but warned this could reach as much as 100,000 or even 200,000 as he said the sit­u­a­tion in Venezuela was not go­ing to im­prove any­time soon based on the cur­rent Gov­ern­ment’s po­si­tion.

Valero said Venezuela did not have any mal­ice or ill-will to­wards T&T and its’ peo­ple, but that his peo­ple need­ed the help of this coun­try to get through the cri­sis.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/warning-over-dragon-gas-deal-6.2.722552.6150df67d4

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » January 24th, 2019, 11:37 am

I'm surprised there hasn't been more public outcry about Rowley's deals with Maduro. I don't dislike Rowley as a person, but his administrations long term plans for Trinidad are sorely lacking.

Say what your want about UNC/PP or even Manning's PNM, but guys like K Ramnarine, Bhow Tewari, Conrad Enill etc were real strategic planners who you could trust to do what's right for the future of TT. Rowley's PNM is a sham, and I'm truly concerned about our future.

Postby Redman » January 24th, 2019, 11:49 am

The Dragon Gas deal has been negotiated by ALL govts since early 2000s.

People here sound happy that the situation in Venezuela is possibly delaying the first gas to TnT.

Bhoe Tewari a strategic planner??
rofl.

Postby zoom rader » January 24th, 2019, 11:55 am

Rowlee is doing some serious damage and the CIA is watching over this banana republic.

Remember when the CIA coined Manning as megalomaniac, I wonder what studies they doing on the PNM prime minister now.

Postby aaron17 » January 24th, 2019, 12:03 pm

Yea but Maduro aint stepping down.

Postby sMASH » January 24th, 2019, 12:19 pm

Redman wrote:The Dragon Gas deal has been negotiated by ALL govts since early 2000s.

People here sound happy that the situation in Venezuela is possibly delaying the first gas to TnT.

Bhoe Tewari a strategic planner??
rofl.

US sanctions

Postby Redman » January 24th, 2019, 12:26 pm

Get worried when they shut down Citgo.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » January 24th, 2019, 2:22 pm

zoom rader wrote:Rowlee is doing some serious damage and the CIA is watching over this banana republic.

Remember when the CIA coined Manning as megalomaniac, I wonder what studies they doing on the PNM prime minister now.

Town say...them Christians In Action wanted to lick up yuh boy Bas before he was PM...

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » January 24th, 2019, 3:12 pm

Redman wrote:Get worried when they shut down Citgo.

city gate ?

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » January 24th, 2019, 3:15 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:https://twitter.com/cristalpalacios/status/1088185431638925328?s=12

Thanks for posting this Duane

Postby The_Honourable » January 24th, 2019, 3:25 pm

Young say GORTT supports Maduro... but not getting involved...

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/gov ... dent-young

Postby teems1 » January 24th, 2019, 3:32 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Young say GORTT supports Maduro... but not getting involved...

Poor decision imo. Look at the countries in red vs those in green.

Red = Maduro

Green = Guaido

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » January 24th, 2019, 3:33 pm

teems1 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Young say GORTT supports Maduro... but not getting involved...

Red = Maduro

Green = Guaido

When you think PNM couldn't be worse eh, they hit you for surprise.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 24th, 2019, 3:35 pm

they shoda put the red dot

Postby rspann » January 24th, 2019, 3:52 pm

teems1 wrote:

Red = Maduro

Green = Guaido

Red and ready. Russia is PNM too?

Postby teems1 » January 24th, 2019, 3:58 pm

You all laugh, but I'm sure Rowley would rather not be associated with Erdogan/Putin.

Postby hydroep » January 24th, 2019, 4:02 pm

Dem mofos trying to play both sides and using technical mumbo jumbo to justify the sheit...:|

Postby sMASH » January 24th, 2019, 4:38 pm

they need to be neutral, but they coming off as pro maduro...
i am anti american, but u have to dock this rounds. this is not a squabble to be pushing up in.
most i would do though, is mediate a lil bit, as maduro IS the regime, russia IS invited, and amercia ISNT invited, and america is ONLY there for the oil .

Postby shogun » January 24th, 2019, 4:44 pm

Lmao.

This thread proves the prevailing cluelessness in a section of Tuner. I think people are forgetting that even though Maduro is unpopular and even his core support seems to be evaporating, he's still the elected leader of a sovereign nation? Just because Trump is too stupid to not just blurt out an outright call for regime change, means that our leaders (Kamla) should jump on that toxic bandwagon? Especially when we don't know how far they'd be willing to go? Being neutral is the wisest bet, for now, because while we're with the people to remove him from office, it should be done by calls for diplomatic transition talks and not merely picking sides, interference, or force. Yes sh!t-eaters, some situations are more complicated than black and white.
Last edited by shogun on January 24th, 2019, 4:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby teems1 » January 24th, 2019, 4:46 pm

Actually the guy is updating the image as frequently as possible.

China, South Africa, Iran, Syria and Laos back Maduro now

https://twitter.com/TomaszRolbiecki

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 24th, 2019, 4:55 pm

TT-govt-supports-Maduro-as-President.jpg

Postby The_Honourable » January 24th, 2019, 5:09 pm

You know what it is to lose Sandals and the Gas Deal in a month? Younglings and Growlers praying.

Be neutral and diplomatic with a dictator? LOL

Postby shogun » January 24th, 2019, 5:11 pm

Rofl @ Trumplings calling out "dictators."

This place sweet.