Re: No New CoP ? Dulachan Ditched

Postby RedVEVO » June 9th, 2018, 4:43 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:So why did the Opposition support Dulachan ?

Not necessarily because they support Dulalchan. Their point is basically if we don't get a CoP and a DCP, the PNM failed in their manifesto promise (ammo for 2020 election). Also, Kamz agreed that the process have some flaws but she doesn't think it was fatally flawed so the CoP and the DCP should be elected despite all the flaws unearthed and the legal challenges by applicants (Gary Griffith being one of them) that will come the PSC way.

I answered all your questions but like yuh fraid to answer mine. Did Dulalchan apply for commissioner of police? Yes or No?

If you not going to answer, don't bother asking any more questions.

Texting to TUNERS in a thread , not YOU.

You just happen to answer questions in a voluntary explicit manner.

You are expendable .

With expendable opinions.

But I will answer YOUR question directed @ RedVEVO.

Dulalchan from what I have read in the daily did not apply for the CoP position.

Subject to correction - He did apply for DCP.

The PSC decided he should be CoP .

They ( in their wisdom ) choose him as CoP

They did their job.

PM Rowley's Administration & by extension PNM supporters did not agree .

You embarrassing yourself. You didn't expect someone to take you up on your comments and now you have trouble defending them. You feel is facebook where you can make an uninformed comment on a news story, hope for a like and run.

WISDOM!? So the PSC didn't follow proper procedures where legal proceedings have started against them, screwing up the process and you call that wisdom!?

Tell me RedVEVO, you and your colleagues apply for a bess position in your company. You and the same colleagues went through the process fully and honestly only to find out in the end that the person who got the job DID NOT apply for it in the first place. You have evidence showing that it had underhandedness in the HR department where their actions cannot be defended in any inquiry or investigation.

By your logic, the HR department "in their wisdom" was correct to hire that person over you and your colleagues?

HR Department's job is to pick the BEST candidate .

PSC did their job.

PNM did not agree.

Postby The_Honourable » June 9th, 2018, 4:47 pm

LOL! so therefore in my example, you have no problems HR screwing you and your colleagues because they pick the "BEST" candidate who didn't apply for the job.

Aright sir carry on :drinking:

Postby RedVEVO » June 9th, 2018, 5:00 pm

The_Honourable wrote:LOL! so therefore in my example, you have no problems HR screwing you and your colleagues because they pick the "BEST" candidate who didn't apply for the job.

HR's job is to pick the best candidate .

If HR sees a candidate that is best suited for a job they can recruit that candidate .

Again, HR's job is to pick the best candidate .

PSC did their job.

PNM did not agree and there were no specifics as to why .

Remember it was Hinds who complied the report .

Another Minority report was submitted .

It was rejected by the PNM .

PNM did not agree .

Postby RedVEVO » June 10th, 2018, 7:37 am

" .. THE OPPOSITION is questioning the legitimacy of proceedings in Parliament last Wednesday, including Government’s rejection of the nomination of acting Deputy Commissioner of Police Deodat Dulalchan for the position of commissioner of police .. "

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/lo ... 0aedc.html

Postby RedVEVO » June 10th, 2018, 7:38 am

" .. Minister in the Office of the Attorney General Fitzgerald Hinds has lamented the controversy surrounding the selection of a Commissioner of Police (CoP), saying it has been a “national failure” ...

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/lo ... 86a4d.html

Postby Redman » June 10th, 2018, 7:59 am

RedVEVO wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:LOL! so therefore in my example, you have no problems HR screwing you and your colleagues because they pick the "BEST" candidate who didn't apply for the job.

If HR sees a candidate that is best suited for a job they can recruit that candidate .

PSC did their job.

PNM did not agree .

HR cant chose some one that didnt apply.

and NO in this context you cannot just recruit a NON APPLICANT for a job that requires publication and responses within a specific time.

Postby RedVEVO » June 10th, 2018, 8:04 am

Redman wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

PSC did their job.

PNM did not agree .

HR cant chose some one that didnt apply.

and NO in this context you cannot just recruit a NON APPLICANT for a job that requires publication and responses within a specific time.

This was never an issue .

Dulalchan did apply for the DCP .

PSC can then choose as they see fit .

PSC has a constitutional authority .

To date the "flaws" were minor with no real legal implications .

Postby Redman » June 10th, 2018, 8:09 am

Except that you cannot apply for both offices at the same time

Postby RedVEVO » June 10th, 2018, 8:13 am

Redman wrote:Except that you cannot apply for both offices at the same time

He was chosen .

PSC did their job.

They picked the BEST candidate from their list .

PNM did not agree .

Postby RedVEVO » June 10th, 2018, 8:14 am

Redman wrote:Except that you cannot apply for both offices at the same time

In any company you can apply for any number of jobs you think you qualify .

Postby Redman » June 10th, 2018, 8:15 am

chosen from what group?

You repeating your position doesnt make it any less untenable

There are applicants.....and non applicants.
The PSC can only chose from the applicants.

Postby RedVEVO » June 10th, 2018, 8:19 am

Redman wrote:chosen from what group?

You repeating your position doesnt make it any less untenable

There are applicants.....and non applicants.
The PSC can only chose from the applicants.

No, there is a list .

All applicants .

PSC can choose , they have a constitutional power.

Rowley did say he had no power in the selection .

But when it came to him he vetoed the candidate .

There was a Minority Report but before it was submitted to the President , PNM closed off debate .

Postby RedVEVO » June 10th, 2018, 8:31 am

Dulachan has a few options:

1. He can take Gov't to Court. Hinds etc., will have to then give full disclosure .

2. He can re-apply . IF selected by PSC again, the PNM will veto him again.

3. He can retire and enjoy his pension.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » June 10th, 2018, 8:32 am

Ben_spanna wrote:typical stupid fking politicians, don't want ah man in a position of power because of his ethnicity.
The best we had was the Canadian - but due to the stupid small minded false pride attitudes of our locals it could not work, same sh1t as why Uber pulled out of trini, the average trini is a dotish jacka55 with ignorance levels so high in false pride this country will never get any developed status.
This a black man county bro and PNM rule

Agreed. That is why we will remain a banana republic.

Postby Redman » June 10th, 2018, 8:34 am

wrong.
the Firm shall select, from the applications received, the most suitable candidates for the assessment process;

The Firm is limited to select from those who applied ...SHALL leaves no discretion

The firm draws up a short list from on the applications received.
The list is submitted to the PSC

the Commission shall conduct its own assessment of not more than the five highest graded candidates on the short list;

The PSC 's discretion is limited to the APPLICANTS that made it onto the list.
They use that discretion(they are allowed to source additional info...and recieve feedback from the candidate) to establish an Order of Merit...which based on the rules can only originate from the Short List submitted by the firm.
The short list SHALL originate from those who APPLIED.

If the man did not apply-he cannot be considered.

what you are saying is that the PSC has the authority to recommend who they see fit.
And that is simply not true.....

So long before Parliament gets the veto...the process was fatally flawed..

Postby RedVEVO » June 10th, 2018, 8:38 am

Redman wrote:wrong.
the Firm shall select, from the applications received, the most suitable candidates for the assessment process;

The Firm is limited to select from those who applied ...SHALL leaves no discretion

The firm draws up a short list from on the applications received.
The list is submitted to the PSC

the Commission shall conduct its own assessment of not more than the five highest graded candidates on the short list;

The PSC 's discretion is limited to the APPLICANTS that made it onto the list.
They use that discretion(they are allowed to source additional info...and recieve feedback from the candidate) to establish an Order of Merit...which based on the rules can only originate from the Short List submitted by the firm.
The short list SHALL originate from those who APPLIED.

If the man did not apply-he cannot be considered.

what you are saying is that the PSC has the authority to recommend who they see fit.
And that is simply not true.....

So long before Parliament gets the veto...the process was fatally flawed..

Again he was on a list of applicants .

The PSC choose the BEST .

The Opposition will challenge "the flaws" hence my previous post .

Postby RedVEVO » June 10th, 2018, 8:45 am

You can have "flaws" in a system but that does not make the entire system useless .

PNM Hinds as JSC Chairman played the "flaws game" and having the majority in Parliment they vetoed Dulalchan.

Postby Redman » June 10th, 2018, 8:47 am

and again...the Law does not indicate BEST.

If you can find the word BEST in the order to describe the qualification process I would agree.

Link it nah-cuz I have not seen it.

Postby RedVEVO » June 10th, 2018, 9:11 am

Redman wrote:and again...the Law does not indicate BEST.

If you can find the word BEST in the order to describe the qualification process I would agree.

Link it nah-cuz I have not seen it.

The Courts (Law) will examine the "flaws."

PSC chose the BEST.

Both mutually exclusive .

Some time aback the PNM attempted "to get rid" of the PSC.

They failed .

Postby Redman » June 10th, 2018, 9:30 am

the PSC is a body that has a process outlined...and rules that govern the process.

BEST is not part of the rules.
Its not part of the order.
Therefore the subjectivity of 'BEST' is not within the remit of the PSC.

ergo you are still wrong.

Postby RedVEVO » June 10th, 2018, 9:34 am

Redman wrote:the PSC is a body that has a process outlined...and rules that govern the process.

BEST is not part of the rules.
Its not part of the order.
Therefore the subjectivity of 'BEST' is not within the remit of the PSC.

ergo you are still wrong.

Best is not in the description .

It's just semantics .

Best from a list of > 3

Better from a list of 2

PNM like a list of 1

One they can control :D

Postby The_Honourable » June 10th, 2018, 11:06 am

RedVEVO wrote:
Redman wrote:

If you want to use the "BEST" argument, you can only choose the best candidates WHO APPLIED for the job in the first place.

Farmer Dulalchan did not apply for Commissioner of Police. You cannot give a job to someone who did not apply, and screw the persons who applied and went through the process.

You do not bend and break established and strict rules to make a "BEST" decision which has not stood up for scrutiny for a sensitive and executive position such as Commissioner of Police.

Postby De Dragon » June 10th, 2018, 12:04 pm

What of the suggestion by the Opposition that Harold Phillips' recommendation for DCP also be scrapped? They are saying if the process was so fundamentally flawed then all recommendations arising should be thrown out. Has the GORTT said why they allowed the DCP process to continue?

Postby Redman » June 10th, 2018, 12:36 pm

Sure I think it's better we do this right.

Whoever has the job is going to be under fire from all sides.
The leadership of the TTPS should have attained their office beyond any question and not undermined from the start by a questionable selection process.

Postby RedVEVO » June 10th, 2018, 6:03 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
Redman wrote:

If you want to use the "BEST" argument, you can only choose the best candidates WHO APPLIED for the job in the first place.

Farmer Dulalchan did not apply for Commissioner of Police. You cannot give a job to someone who did not apply, and screw the persons who applied and went through the process.

You do not bend and break established and strict rules to make a "BEST" decision which has not stood up for scrutiny for a sensitive and executive position such as Commissioner of Police.

Semantics .

Farmer Dulalchan was the best candidate :D

We are in the Tuner's Forum "ole talk".

T&T Opposition will handle :wink:

Family had a great barbecue today ! :D

Time to go Gym :D

Postby The_Honourable » June 10th, 2018, 7:31 pm

lol watch yuh, *shakes head*

Carry on...

Postby RedVEVO » June 11th, 2018, 7:47 am

The_Honourable wrote:lol watch yuh, *shakes head*

Carry on...

You not have faith in T&T Opposition ?

What about TTPS ?

Postby The_Honourable » June 11th, 2018, 11:04 am

Nope...

Nope...

Postby The_Honourable » July 8th, 2018, 11:18 pm

Young defends Government’s decision to refuse notification of Top Cop

Communications Minister Stuart Young has sought to explain why the Government refused to debate the new notification for the nomination of acting DCP Harold Phillip for the post of Commissioner of Police, in the House of Representatives on Tuesday.

Acting DCP Phillip was the second-ranked nominee by the Police Service Commission after Deodath Dulalchan, whose notification of nomination for the Top Cop position was rejected by Government on the basis that the process was flawed and must be restarted.

Leader of Government Business Camille Robinson-Regis on Tuesday indicated that she was informed by the Clerk that a document had come to the House as it relates to the notification for the nomination of acting DCP Phillip to post of Commissioner of Police.

The Minister said she instructed the Clerk that the matter will not be proceeded with.

The Communications Minister was questioned by reporters at the post-cabinet media briefing on Thursday, as to what transpired in Parliament earlier this week.

“What happened on Tuesday is that the Leader of Government Business was giving an indication of Government’s position really to negate any mischief that we’ve seen in the past. And to be quite blunt to kill any conversations that we expected to do with race and other issues that those in Opposition may want to raise and really to indicate the Government’s position that we will be sticking to what has been said before, that the process is flawed so anything coming out of the same process, the government will be taking the same position.”

Debate on the notification of the nomination of Phillip will now take place on Monday.

Young said the government will clearly state its position then.

“As you will be aware right now, on the order paper, there is a sitting on Monday in the House of Representatives. We will deal with what has been sent by her Excellency from the Police Service Commission, which is the nomination of the acting DCP Harold Phillip for the post of Commissioner of Police,’ Minister Young indicated.

On Wednesday, Opposition Leader accused the government of gross competence over what she said was moves to subvert the Constitution with regard to Minister Camille Robinson-Regis’ instruction to the Parliament not to proceed with laying and debating the President’s notification of a nomination to the office of Commissioner of Police.

Source: http://www.looptt.com/content/young-def ... on-top-cop

Postby The_Honourable » July 8th, 2018, 11:19 pm

House to debate motion on 2nd-ranked CoP nominee

Government has changed its mind and agreed to debate the new notification for nomination of acting DCP Harold Phillip for the post of Commissioner of Police after the Police Service Commission (PSC) cited several reasons why the matter should be debated.

On Tuesday, Government had refused to entertain debate on the notification, but within 24 hours, agreed to debate the matter next Monday.

The turnabout came after Government—belatedly—perused recent information from PSC chairman Bliss Seepersad on notification of Philip’s nomination.

Seepersad pointed out that according to regulations (Legal Notice 218 of 2015 ) which governs the process, the second-ranked candidate on the Merit List is nominated for the post of CoP if the first is not accepted.

Philip was the second-ranked after acting DCP Deodat Dulalchan who was recently nominated for CoP. In Parliamentary debate on the issue last month, however, notification of Dulalchan’s nomination was rejected by Government which said the PSC’s process was flawed.

In that debate also, Government rejected the notification of nomination regarding Philip for deputy CoP. Government said the process had to be reviewed.

However, in Parliament on Tuesday—just before the annual recess was announced—Leader of Government Business Camille Robinson-Regis said she was “informed by the Clerk that a document” had come to the Parliament regarding notification for appointment to the post of CoP. This was a new notification after the failed process regarding Dulalchan.

Robinson-Regis said Parliament recently determined the PSC’s process in this matter was lacking in transparency and “that one can come to no other conclusion than the Commission did a job which cannot be explained and which was wholly unreliable.” Consequently, Robinson-Regis said any recommendations from that flawed process” cannot and will not be accepted” and she had instructed the Clerk “this matter will not be proceeded with.”

However, UNC MP Ganga Singh said her announcement was a subversion of the Constitution and walked out of Parliament. Robinson-Regis later stood by her position saying there was nothing stopping the Opposition, if they wished, to debate the matter—but Government maintained the process was flawed. Guardian Media understands that after Tuesday’s sitting there were Government discussions on the issue including on a July 1 letter from PSC chairman

Seepersad and PSC’s new notification of nomination regarding Phillip which was dated July 2. The information prompted Government’s move to debate the nomination next Monday.

Commenting on the developments yesterday, Singh said, The Leader of Government Business “clearly erred in seeking to instruct the Clerk of the House not to proceed with the notification from the President, that’s why I spoke out against the subversion of the Constitution and usurping of Parliament’s power to debate the process. The Speaker also erred in allowing an impermissible intrusion on Parliament’s role in this matter.”

“Their action created gridlock between the constitutionally entrenched PSC, the President and Parliament. It demonstrates Government’s incompetence and insidious attempts to stymie democracy and ‘strongarm’ the Parliament’s processes. The Speaker attempted to give me a ‘red card’ when the ‘foul’ was really committed by Government. It’s clear: democracy requires eternal vigilance.”

Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar added “Once again, we see the gross incompetence and deceit of this Rowley Government. Government has now backed down on that position following the Opposition’s strong objections.

They cannot unilaterally decide they will not proceed with Parliamentary debate on the President’s Notification—the law must be followed.

PSC chair: No money to redo entire process

Parliament confirmed the Secretary to the President wrote the Clerk of the House on Tuesday, enclosing Seepersad’s July 1 letter, plus the July 2 new notification.

In Seepersad’s letter which noted the failure of the process regarding Dulalchan, she said Senior Counsel advised the Commission that the existing Merit List on the issue is still valid and the process stipulated in Legal Notice 218 (16 December 2015) dictates the PSC should submit the next highest ranking candidate on the Merit List for the post of CoP.

Seepersad noted Phillip was the second-ranked name on the Merit List presented by the previous Commission.

Seepersad cited the state of the economy, adding PSC “simply doesn’t have the money, time and other resources to allocate to conducting a completely new process.”

Seepersad noted the rising crime rate and “unprecedented” length of time since T&T has had an appointed CoP. She cited an “untenable” situation where all top positions in the Police Service are held by people acting in the posts.

As a result of the information, Robinson-Regis, yesterday announced the decision to debate the new notification on Monday.

“Despite the concerns shared by both sides of the House regarding the flawed process, the advice of Senior Counsel is that the merit list remains valid. The government will, therefore, move to act in continuation of the process,” she said.

Source: http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2018-07- ... op-nominee