Pm defends cuffy 2.49 million dollars medical bills

Re: Pm defends cuffy 2.49 million dollars medical bills

Postby 88sins » February 27th, 2018, 11:05 am

lalloboy101 wrote:Just asking here eh, did manning foot his own bill when he had a stroke or was it funded by the state as well?

iirc patos & his kinfolk paid for the bulk of his expenses out of pocket. There was some small pnm contributions , but it wasn't a whole heaping lot.
Remember, he was ailing for a long time, to the point he decided it made no sense traveling to Cuba or the US for medical care.

Postby De Dragon » February 27th, 2018, 1:08 pm

Redman and token and Zitski get quiet since the information stating that Cuffie isn't qualified for the foreign treatment was put up.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » February 27th, 2018, 3:47 pm

people missing the point here by a country mile.

Its the unwritten rule that any serious medical treatment for ministers and some perm secs in the gubbament (UNC, PNM, NAR) iz done abroad.

Everybody who iz anybody in sweet T&T knows better than to trust the care of their loved ones or themselves to the avaricious T&T Medical Cartel.

Thiz going on lang lang time now.

So here are some examples.

Bas had his heart surgery inna England.
Patos had his heart surgery in Cuba.
Rowley goes to the USA for his annual check up.
John Humphrey used to go to Central Florida.

Allyuh getting the picture?

Iz only the naive people of Trinidad and Tobago who fail to understand what has been going on in front their face for donkey years. The socialized health care system in T&T iz for people who dont know better or dont have a choice.

Ergo the real struggle has never been between the UNC and PNM or south v north or indian v afro.

The real struggle iz the people vs Big Gubbament.

Postby De Dragon » February 27th, 2018, 3:51 pm

Miktay wrote:people missing the point here by a country mile.

Its the unwritten rule that any serious medical treatment for ministers and some perm secs in the gubbament (UNC, PNM, NAR) iz done abroad.

Everybody who iz anybody in sweet T&T knows better than to trust the care of their loved ones or themselves to the avaricious T&T Medical Cartel.

Iz only the naive people of Trinidad and Tobago who fail to understand what has been going on in front their face for donkey years. The socialized health care system in T&T iz for people who dont know better or dont have a choice.

Ergo the real struggle has never been between the UNC and PNM or south v north or indian v afro.

Yes, but who PAID is partly the issue. We like to talk sheit here about medical tourism, but the best and most public examples of our subscribers to our local medical facilities all go abroad for treatment. :roll: My father-in-law had a debilitating stroke, and was treated by a "normal" GP in Princes Town and learned to both walk, and talk again. The lines by this doctor were amazing, as well as the people who swore by him and his methods.
Last edited by De Dragon on February 27th, 2018, 3:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » February 27th, 2018, 3:52 pm

Miktay wrote:people missing the point here by a country mile.

Yes, but who PAID is partly the issue.

Simple answer: The people pay.

The people ALWAYS pay.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 27th, 2018, 3:57 pm

^^ But KPB husband do his heart surgery in Trinidad, Volney do his heart surgery in Trinidad.
Clearly its not a lack of competency issue.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » February 27th, 2018, 5:06 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:^^ But KPB husband do his heart surgery in Trinidad, Volney do his heart surgery in Trinidad.

Not all doctors in T&T are inept. But competency in the T&T Medical Cartel (and the Jcan Medical Cartel) iz the exception rather than the rule. So most medical practitioners have to deal with the shortages and lack of drugs and working equipment that are part of a socialized medicine. Some just give up and coast along. While others try to keep up with the Harrylals and direct patients to more expensive private health care.

A lot of local heart surgeries are performed by surgeons from forin. Thiz was the case with Volney.

Prayers are being said for Justice Minister Herbert Volney as he goes “under the knife” at Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex, Mt Hope, at 8 am today.

Word of this came from Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar who visited Volney at the hospital, hours after he checked into the facility yesterday. “Our prayers are with him as he goes under the knife tomorrow,” she told reporters at the hospital last night.

Persad-Bissessar said Volney experienced chest pains on Monday evening. She said he would undergo bypass surgery this morning and was expected to be out of office for at least two months. Legal Affairs Minister Prakash Ramadhar will act for him from today, she added. “He experienced chest pains yesterday and he checked himself in today,” the Prime Minister said. “They (doctors) spent the day doing spent the day doing diagnostic testing, (which has revealed that) some of the arteries have been blocked, but thus far there has been no damage of the heart,” she added, after visiting Volney for about 15 minutes.

She said the doctors had recommended bypass surgery for Volney, who had been in office for less than one month. “He seems to be in good spirits,” she added. “I think he will be fine. We are only human and these challenges come from time to time.” Persad-Bissessar said Volney experienced heart problems two years ago. But she confirmed that “the blockage in the arteries this time is greater. “The doctors are saying that an angioplasty would not have been able to deal with the problem, so they went for the option of bypass surgery,” she said. She insisted that Volney did not have a heart attack. “The doctors confirmed there has been no heart attack but should he have continued, there was the risk that he could have had a heart attack.”
The two-hour surgery is expected to be conducted by an Italian doctor, who is based at Mt Hope. The doctor works with Caribbean Heart Care.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/archives/news ... ery-volney

Postby 88sins » February 27th, 2018, 5:30 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:^^ But KPB husband do his heart surgery in Trinidad, Volney do his heart surgery in Trinidad.

we have heart surgery down cold
is patient care & rehab after stroke we struggling with :roll:

Postby pugboy » February 27th, 2018, 5:38 pm

unwritten rules = unequal treatment for the party hacks
a bit contrary to the "equality" in the national anthem

Postby rspann » February 27th, 2018, 6:33 pm

All animals are equal.

Some animals are more equal than others.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 27th, 2018, 7:16 pm

Our tax paying money not suppose to pay his bill...they would noy do.that for us...they would not help the young children through the life fund...shame...shame....and they justifying payinh cuffies bill with taxpayers money...shame..

ADONI

Postby ADONI » March 1st, 2018, 11:54 am

Look who is back!!!

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20180301 ... s-minister

Prime Minister Keith Rowley, today advised President Anthony Carmona to appoint Marlene McDonald as a Minister in the Ministry of Public Administration and Communications, where she will assist the Prime Minister who continues to hold the portfolio which he assumed since the substantive minister, Maxie Cuffie, fell ill a few months ago.

In making the appointment the Prime Minister said “Ms. McDonald can make a valuable contribution to the ministry and I am confident that she will meritoriously perform the duties required as a minister in the ministry”.

She will be sworn in at 1:30 pm today at the Office of the President.

From 2010 to 2015 she served in Opposition as the Chief Whip.

She was then appointed Minister of Public Utilities from June 30th 2017, a position she held until July 1st 2017. Ms. McDonald is an experienced parliamentarian and her contribution to the ministry is welcomed, stated a released from the Office of the Prime Minister.

Postby hydroep » March 1st, 2018, 12:18 pm

Nah boi, she have to have something on them...something big... :|

Postby The_Honourable » March 1st, 2018, 12:32 pm

Burkey memes incoming for that swearing in

Postby Dizzy28 » March 1st, 2018, 12:42 pm

I feel at this stage the Les Coteaux $hitkicker is just like "Fcuk it!!! I putting who I want where I want".

steverandolph

Postby steverandolph » March 1st, 2018, 12:50 pm

This is absurd bringing back Marlene. The last time I saw such madness was when Anil was made Minister of Sport.

Postby 88sins » March 1st, 2018, 1:30 pm

hydroep wrote:Nah boi, she have to have something on them...something big... :|

i see what u did there :lol:

Postby 88sins » March 4th, 2018, 9:25 am

Asami wrote:i could understand a lil one million...but once yuh cross that o_o

If a regular citizen that earns on average below TTD $6000 needing overseas care to save their life is only allowed 60K at the most, why the hell should a minister that's being paid a monthly salary more than 10x that deserve even spending a million dollars of taxpayers funds for care for a stroke that he could get here for much less?

He should receive the exact same funding as EVERYONE ELSE, regardless of job description or political affiliation. His stroke rehab & recovery is not any more important than a child's potentially fatal blood disorder.

Postby desifemlove » March 4th, 2018, 9:28 am

man had big wuk overseas.

he had big wuk in T&T.

he can afford medical treatment.

rowley made a big mistake in appointing he.

Postby Redman » March 4th, 2018, 9:30 am

hydroep wrote:Nah boi, she have to have something on them...something big... :|

this.

Maybe she has her constituents putting pressure to give her a 10 days.
Maybe its give me a cabinet seat or I step down.

PNM cant have another reason to call a by election in another seat

Postby 88sins » March 4th, 2018, 10:44 am

desifemlove wrote:
he can afford medical treatment.

rowley made a big mistake in appointing he.

congratulations on your very first coherent and rational post. Keep it up.
And try to not fixate so much on who works where or for how much or their education/qualifications. You'll get lots less flak if you do.

No_Name

Postby No_Name » March 8th, 2018, 6:12 am

The thing is with this Maxie Pad Fella, being a so called Public Figure, he eh ha no Familee o Relatives to at least try to defend his PMs lies or justify update on his status, or simply all ah dem gettin a lil hush $$$ from we tax payin moni too...???

Postby matr1x » March 8th, 2018, 6:33 am

Is he really sick? I smelling fraud

Postby 88sins » March 8th, 2018, 7:14 am

No_Name wrote:The thing is with this Maxie Pad Fella, being a so called Public Figure, he eh ha no Familee o Relatives to at least try to defend his PMs lies or justify update on his status, or simply all ah dem gettin a lil hush $$$ from we tax payin moni too...???

& what you feel they could possibly say to justify this expenditure? That he's a minister? that means less than a boat load of foreign used toilet paper at this point, because as a minister in gov't, he's entrusted to be responsible with public funds & managing state resources, but he so incompetent we the taxpayer have to pay his medical bills because he too irresponsible or stupid to take out a life/health policy.

Famalee eh dotish, ppl will grumble to & about rowley, who will ignore them with resounding silence, & cuffie will continue to receive the benefits at taxpayers expense.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 8th, 2018, 10:14 am

any proof of life yet?

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » March 8th, 2018, 10:26 am

Asami wrote:i could understand a lil one million...but once yuh cross that o_o

If a regular citizen that earns on average below TTD $6000 needing overseas care to save their life is only allowed 60K at the most, why the hell should a minister that's being paid a monthly salary more than 10x that deserve even spending a million dollars of taxpayers funds for care for a stroke that he could get here for much less?

He should receive the exact same funding as EVERYONE ELSE, regardless of job description or political affiliation. His stroke rehab & recovery is not any more important than a child's potentially fatal blood disorder.

Well if you so vex, do something about it nah!

Why do you think they getting away with it? Because people aren't doing a single thing!

Everyone is afraid to be politically victimized and to do so would mean the last remnants of any money you making in this slow arse economy would dry up and your tail would be on the streets within a couple of months.

If you are immune to that, go brave partner! Everyone else is waiting for the election bell to stain their finger, or as the blackest man would say, stick your finger deep in the ink, up to your elbow.

At least inside the voting booth, they can't see your protesting or admiration. If you are bending over for them or giving them the ultimate middle finger.

Postby 88sins » March 8th, 2018, 12:43 pm

lemme set you str8 on a couple things sonny jim.

D Diesel Report wrote: Well if you so vex, do something about it nah!

I do. By choosing to not stain my finger in support of any local political group, & speaking out about the bs they all spew throughout the duration of their lives. I choose to not vote, because of the local options available come election every season your choice it to vote for an bold faced thief, a brazen crook or an obvious conman. I neither know nor care if you happy for voting for either of the 3, that's your business. I have no fear nor love for any politician, whether here or abroad, whether during active term in office or otherwise. Neither can they nor their minions affect me in either positively or negatively. When there are better options for candidates, at that point, then I might consider voting. Till then, no thanx.

D Diesel Report wrote: Why do you think they getting away with it? Because people aren't doing a single thing!

& it seems you do not know why. Trini's by nature are both a cowardly & lazy people that are more akin to sheep. Yeah, I said it. lazy & cowardly, whoever disagree i eh business. Couple that, with the system of "governance" we have wherein the people that are supposed to pass legislation to protect the people & serve the interests of the people are only interested in passing & enforcing legislation to strong-arm & extort from the people & to enrich themselves & those within their own little cliques. So the people live in constant fear & worry. The end result is the ppl put their tails between their legs & pray their elected officials leave them alone & cause them no additional hardships. It doesn't work but the people still hope, because it takes less effort & risk to hope than it would to get off their arse & make a stand.

D Diesel Report wrote: Everyone is afraid to be politically victimized and to do so would mean the last remnants of any money you making in this slow arse economy would dry up and your tail would be on the streets within a couple of months.

I have no political affiliation, neither do I care abut any politician, so it's not going to be easy for them or anyone else to "victimize" me for one. Others, maybe, if they let them. But me & mine? not really. What you & plenty ppl eh know, is there are loopholes & ways around being "politically victimized". Is uo to the potential "victim" to decide if they prefer to play that role or not.
And how would I wind up as you so say "on the streets within a couple of months"? & what you mean "the last remnants" :lol: son, if u eh know what u posting, better u just don't post. What happen to yuh? yuh feel everybody life is similar to yours? what happen, yuh living on other ppl scraps & ketchin yuh royal arse to pay yuh rent & on the verge of eviction & vagrancy owa/ :lol:
I own my own home son, bought & paid for with money out of my pocket (sans mortgage might I add with a smug grin), & my revenue streams & investments are neither state funded nor regulated nor contractually bound to any ministry. allyuh delusional oui. anyway, thanks for your concerns eh but I eh worried :lol:

antlind

Postby antlind » March 8th, 2018, 1:20 pm

Ah few more months of this spending and Cuffie will be the 6 Million Dollar Man.

Postby 88sins » March 8th, 2018, 2:30 pm

antlind wrote:Ah few more months of this spending and Cuffie will be the 6 Million Dollar Man.

even then he still eh even worth 6 tt dollars :lol:

Postby K74T » March 9th, 2018, 8:28 am

The maxi needs more repairs.

IMG_7458.JPG