Black Panther movie

Re: Black Panther movie

Postby Ronaldo95163 » February 25th, 2018, 11:00 am

WHy black people using this movie as some kinda pride thing?

I mean is JUST a movie based on a FICTIONAL character in a FICTIONAL place. I sure some of these mother africas feel wakanda is a real place. I seeing pictures of fools walking in the cinema wearing curtains and carrying dem baptist brooms....these people have no shame at all.

In the future, younger generations prolly gonna feel black panther free they ancestors from slavery and sheit

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 25th, 2018, 11:25 am

Boy i swear after seeing the traditional clothing tha this was a true story based on emancipation....u sure this is fictional ?

Postby Dizzy28 » February 25th, 2018, 11:42 am

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Boy i swear after seeing the traditional clothing tha this was a true story based on emancipation....u sure this is fictional ?
Lupita Nyongo did say Wakanda is what Africa would have been like if not for Whitey.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 25th, 2018, 11:52 am

I walk through trincity mall yesterday and men dressed in dashiki to see this movie...like wtf

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 25th, 2018, 11:55 am

But y?....i dont see ppl dressed in indian wear going to see a shah rukh khan movie..

I really dont understand y the african and baptist wear...can anybody enlighten us..

Postby maj. tom » February 25th, 2018, 12:18 pm

how some of allyuh having a problem with what other people wearing and the praise and kudos given to this representation of black recognition? When people dress up like characters to go see Star Wars and Batman, these same comments ever came up?

If you all can't understand the cultural impact such a film has for so many people, don't make any murky comments like that. Read a history book or watch a documentary or something if you want to understand.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 25th, 2018, 12:20 pm

What cultural impact would a fictional movie give?

I have no problem with the wear...jusy trying to understand y...

Postby Les Bain » February 25th, 2018, 12:36 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:But y?....

At its simplest, representation. This is a high profile blockbuster release that has a predominantly black cast. Any other time a movie comes out with a similar amount of blacks in it, it's some Boyz in The Hood derivative, a Tyler Perry celluloid drivel, a historical slavery film or a modern slavery film like Blood Diamond.
The novelty of Black Panther is that it's supposed to sit on the same tier with the other Marvel movies, but it's set in a fictional African kingdom that shut out Whitey and the other African states.

Why weren't people dressing up in "traditional African garb" to see the other black hero type movies? Those represented African Americans.

*$kїđž!™ wrote:But y?....i dont see ppl dressed in indian wear going to see a shah rukh khan movie..

I really dont understand y the african and baptist wear...can anybody enlighten us..

As stated before, the novelty of African being represented on film outside of the major tropes that call for a ton of blacks in the cast. India has Bollywood. Outside of the 2 lovers singing and rolling down a hill during a musical number while the female's overprotective policeman father plots to make the male regret being born, Bollywood has offered more than that in the past.

*$kїđž!™ wrote:I really dont understand y the african and baptist wear...can anybody enlighten us..

Bandwagonism tends to bring out a wide range of well-intentioned behaviour and you know the whole story of the road to hell blah blah blah. Some may hope this leads to an elimination in the need for minority representation in entertainment, and have roles open for any actor regardless of race. Others may hope this opens opportunity for non-American or European films to get international releases. Others see it as a chance to act extra for 10 minutes of social media fame.

In the end, this is the modern spectacle based society. We'll be obsessing over something else in a few weeks, or when the next landmark Marvel movie comes out.

I hate superhero movies and i don't mind torrenting this and watching it eventually.
All the crowds at the cineplexes looking like a parking nightmare and they might teef my humble Nissan or worse, dent it.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 25th, 2018, 12:36 pm

maj. tom wrote:how some of allyuh having a problem with what other people wearing and the praise and kudos given to this representation of black recognition? When people dress up like characters to go see Star Wars and Batman, these same comments ever came up?

If you all can't understand the cultural impact such a film has for so many people, don't make any murky comments like that. Read a history book or watch a documentary or something if you want to understand.

Relax buddy....how come when they made the mandela movie this type of support was not shown...this I could understand if it happened....not black panther

matix

Postby matix » February 25th, 2018, 12:52 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
maj. tom wrote:how some of allyuh having a problem with what other people wearing and the praise and kudos given to this representation of black recognition? When people dress up like characters to go see Star Wars and Batman, these same comments ever came up?

Relax buddy....how come when they made the mandela movie this type of support was not shown...this I could understand if it happened....not black panther

Makes sense since it was about an actual person. This fantasy world these fools live in.

Postby Gem_in_i » February 25th, 2018, 1:14 pm

Saw it in 4dx. Was interesting viewing

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 25th, 2018, 1:20 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Saw it in 4dx. Was interesting viewing
Kool man...Southpark?...how was the crowd there...and whats the cost for a ticket in 4dx?

buscax

Postby buscax » February 25th, 2018, 1:36 pm

Uganda forever

Postby zoom rader » February 25th, 2018, 2:00 pm

Men forget it have nollywood making black movies donkey years now.

Postby goalpost » February 25th, 2018, 3:01 pm

shogun wrote:
goalpost wrote:Saw it. It was good. 7/10

Ah! finally! Someone whose opinion I trust. Will see it soon.

Shogun, just to be clear, given the extreme hype not just from moviegoers but from film critics, it was disappointing.
A good film, derivative, just like nearly all other MCU movies. I just can’t find the “special” feature that gives this movie the hype it has right now.

Postby st7 » February 25th, 2018, 3:29 pm

6/10

movie introduced us to a progressive, forward-thinking people living in a country with the furthest in tech and science advancements on earth.... then as the movie went on - it bring down those same people to ones of a 3rd country mindset. felt like i was watching trini's for the final fight scene. perfect example, a man toteing cause the king didn't catch the bad guy on the first mission as king (lolwtf), and he side with a outsider who want to take the throne and go to war on the world...

CGI was really bad... like superman mustache bad.

apart from that - m'baku (his scenes were good!) and the female characters (esp suri because of her witty remarks and her tech inventions) made that movie for me. they really underutilized t'challa and he was portrayed better in civil war.

killmonger was just another generic marvel copy-the-hero villain, and a literal hitler.

Postby Gem_in_i » February 25th, 2018, 3:36 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
Kool man...Southpark?...how was the crowd there...and whats the cost for a ticket in 4dx?

Yes, South Park. Adult is $90.
Crowd was not bad. Everyone sit according to their seat number so was organised.
I bought my tickets online but you can also go there and buy in advance.

Postby matr1x » February 25th, 2018, 4:20 pm

With black ppl charge, African countries look like south africa, Zimbabwe, Uganda and Somalia.

Postby matr1x » February 25th, 2018, 4:23 pm

zoom rader wrote:Men forget it have nollywood making black movies donkey years now.

And like donkey, it ain't worth one azz.

Have you ever seen nollywood movies? They are terrible

rayrayray

Postby rayrayray » February 25th, 2018, 5:52 pm

Just view in 4dx ....it Bess ... :-)

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » February 25th, 2018, 5:53 pm

wais da 4dx scene ?
u get fry chicken watermelon and kool aid when u was watching d movie ?

Postby skylinechild » February 25th, 2018, 5:54 pm

dean_spleen09 wrote:

wais da 4dx scene ?
u get fry chicken watermelon and kool aid when u was watching d movie ?

you forgot the mashed potatoes and corn....and the short NBA intermission....

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » February 25th, 2018, 6:00 pm

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:But y?....i dont see ppl dressed in indian wear going to see a shah rukh khan movie..

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » February 25th, 2018, 6:04 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:But y?....i dont see ppl dressed in indian wear going to see a shah rukh khan movie..

Can u visualise the next chinese movie to be released ???? Those ppl gonna be moving with their dragon costumes, fireworks, chopsticks and worse yet if they going all " gujilla, gujilla during the movie "........presshah.

Postby A172 » February 25th, 2018, 7:02 pm

peep it today@ imax
makes u wonder why dc even bother making movies

Postby Gladiator » February 25th, 2018, 7:20 pm

Now if you want to see a movie to make you feel African Pride watch this one below... I coulda understand the Dashiki wearing crowd to see this one. One of the best movies I have ever seen...

rayrayray

Postby rayrayray » February 25th, 2018, 7:27 pm

Yh , that movie ^ was great , but we don't always wanna see blacks as Slaves or bandits / gangsters in every damn movie , black panther was truly refreshing and I again say , if u view it in 4dx as with me , it's quite impressive.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 25th, 2018, 9:21 pm

Gladiator wrote:Now if you want to see a movie to make you feel African Pride watch this one below... I coulda understand the Dashiki wearing crowd to see this one. One of the best movies I have ever seen...

Im with you on this movie

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » February 25th, 2018, 9:31 pm

Gladiator wrote:Now if you want to see a movie to make you feel African Pride watch this one below... I coulda understand the Dashiki wearing crowd to see this one. One of the best movies I have ever seen...

Bess movie.......la esclava Blanca was a Bess series too. Bess

hondablood

Postby hondablood » February 25th, 2018, 9:35 pm

where was the pride for blankman?
blankman.jpg
blankman.jpg (24.55 KiB) Viewed 3306 times