Employee/Worker Rights

Benfizz50

Re: Employee/Worker Rights

Postby Benfizz50 » May 7th, 2024, 8:43 am

Benfizz50 wrote:In reference to this, if an employee stays at home Thursday and Friday, are they required to submit a sick leave and fit for work upon their return to duty as it hasn’t exceeded more than 2 days and if yes, how does company policy overrule government laws, as stated by the manager that he/she can request medical documentation even if it’s for 1 day.
The manager needs to read the laws.

By TT laws you have to provide med cert exceeding two consecutive days.

Nothing in law says what the manger said about a 1 day cert, meaning it is not required.

If the manager persists, then let them provide their requirement in writing for 1 day cert or show the company policy document and then you get a lawyer to write to the manager

Well I had stayed at home for 1 day a time and a message was sent to my phone about me providing sick leave and fit for work. And then the two days and was also asked for those documents.

Postby bluefete » May 7th, 2024, 1:28 pm

This reminds me so much of Food Basket - just from a customer perspective.

Anytime, I pay for my goods, staff want to check my receipt. I had to tell them they are not a members club and their store policy does not trump the law of the land.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 7th, 2024, 2:18 pm

bluefete wrote:This reminds me so much of Food Basket - just from a customer perspective.

Anytime, I pay for my goods, staff want to check my receipt. I had to tell them they are not a members club and their store policy does not trump the law of the land.

which law in particular are you referring to?

Postby 88sins » May 7th, 2024, 4:49 pm

bluefete wrote:This reminds me so much of Food Basket - just from a customer perspective.

Oddly enough, plenty grocery stores does have the security checking customers receipts. What's odd about it, is that the security is not checking the receipts against the goods in the bag. That's nonsense, and I personally don't encourage that stupidity. You as a security hadda see my receipt? Why? You cannot and will not look through my bags I'm leaving with to verify the accuracy of the receipt, because to put it bluntly that's a stretch beyond the scope of your authority. so other than to delay or annoy me, you have a purpose for this exercise?
I feel grocery operators does just have them doing that dotishness just to have them looking like they doing something. Which leads to another question.
While security busy minding people business and watching their receipt, if a bandit run up on him while he doing that chupidness, then what? He was watching ppl receipt and he eh see d bandit until it was too late?

Postby bluefete » May 7th, 2024, 6:05 pm

There is NO LAW that says I must show my receipt to a staff member of a company after making a purchase.

Postby maj. tom » May 7th, 2024, 6:16 pm

Yes you're right, but after such an incident they could just say haul yuh ass and doh come back here. It's a private business and can refuse to serve you for their personal security reasons. That won't be discrimination. Just like casinos.

You can shop at the government grocery called Charlotte street without any receipts. Yuh beating up over something meaningless. But what this have to do with sick leave?

Postby nervewrecker » May 7th, 2024, 9:53 pm

Benfizz50 wrote:
Benfizz50 wrote:In reference to this, if an employee stays at home Thursday and Friday, are they required to submit a sick leave and fit for work upon their return to duty as it hasn’t exceeded more than 2 days and if yes, how does company policy overrule government laws, as stated by the manager that he/she can request medical documentation even if it’s for 1 day.

Nothing in law says what the manger said about a 1 day cert, meaning it is not required.

If the manager persists, then let them provide their requirement in writing for 1 day cert or show the company policy document and then you get a lawyer to write to the manager

Well I had stayed at home for 1 day a time and a message was sent to my phone about me providing sick leave and fit for work. And then the two days and was also asked for those documents.
You see, historically people abused the systems where they would take a sick followed by a casual, by a sick, then a casual and so they would go. Employers faced with no staff for more than a week sometimes and the repucussions from this on productivity proved negative so this is thier response.
As usual Peter pay for Paul.

There have been incidents where people in the public service would be on ESL for long periods of time and when the time with no communication on their status. When time up for them to probably face action / termination / ask questions the employee would come to work for one day and then go back on ESL.

Postby nervewrecker » May 7th, 2024, 9:54 pm

bluefete wrote:There is NO LAW that says I must show my receipt to a staff member of a company after making a purchase.
It's a way on picking up on stolen goods or suspects without being obvious.

Again, Peter pay for Paul so it's become company policy. I got no issue with it. Plenty times security does just tell me fix up or just scratch something on the receipt as I don't fit the profile of a suspect. Heck sometimes when someone is mandated to run through everything I give them a hand with checking everything..

Benfizz50

Postby Benfizz50 » May 7th, 2024, 9:58 pm

Benfizz50 wrote:

You see, historically people abused the systems where they would take a sick followed by a casual, by a sick, then a casual and so they would go. Employers faced with no staff for more than a week sometimes and the repucussions from this on productivity proved negative so this is thier response.

There have been incidents where people in the public service would be on ESL for long periods of time and when the time with no communication on their status. When time up for them to probably face action / termination / ask questions the employee would come to work for one day and then go back on ESL.

I stayed home Thursday Friday and had no work on the weekend…to which I couldn’t attend…I returned on Monday and the manager telling me that I not supposed to be here and company policy states a manager could request medical documentation at anytime…when I asked the HR department about this they said they don’t know anything about it…an employee can stay home for two days without providing documentation but after the third day it’s mandatory.

Postby zoom rader » May 8th, 2024, 12:52 am

Benfizz50 wrote:

I stayed home Thursday Friday and had no work on the weekend…to which I couldn’t attend…I returned on Monday and the manager telling me that I not supposed to be here and company policy states a manager could request medical documentation at anytime…when I asked the HR department about this they said they don’t know anything about it…an employee can stay home for two days without providing documentation but after the third day it’s mandatory.
Your HR already cleared you, so move on and ingore the manger.

Your manger needs some training on TT employment laws

Postby zoom rader » May 8th, 2024, 12:55 am

MaxPower wrote:Frequent sick callers with their bogus “medical certificates” need to be fired to set an example.

The piss poor Trinidadian work ethic/etiquette has our discipline and productivity level where it is.
Why don't you say piss poor abusive managers?

Workers sometimes need to take a mental break.

Sick leave is part of your compensation package and benefits. It is there to be used for ur benefits.

Postby MaxPower » May 8th, 2024, 1:45 am

zoom rader wrote:Why don't you say piss poor abusive managers?

Sick leave is part of your compensation package and benefits. It is there to be used for ur benefits.

Correct, the piss poor abusive managers contribute as well to this behavior.

But, every weekend so?

Anyways, it has alot to do with the culture.

Postby zoom rader » May 8th, 2024, 11:19 am

zoom rader wrote:Why don't you say piss poor abusive managers?

Correct, the piss poor abusive managers contribute as well to this behavior.

But, every weekend so?

Anyways, it has alot to do with the culture.
Every weekend until ur lawful 10 days is over.

In Europe u seldom get workers that take a sick day, cause most Euro nations work reduce hours and or 4 day a week. Plus most European countries give an agv of 28 days vacation leave.

Work life balance produces happier employees.

Japan is a workaholic nation, but look at their suicide rate and family life.

Postby matr1x » May 8th, 2024, 11:41 am

Japan is a country not to follow. They want to work themselves to death, dat is them

Employers who decide to replace their trini workforce with venes need to be investigated since there have been several violations in terms of labor laws, and osha violations. But if trinis were there, how much would the employer get away with?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 9th, 2024, 5:54 am

Be a man
Take no sick leave
Die on the job

one eye

Postby one eye » May 9th, 2024, 6:49 pm

For those who are not aware.

If you took a sick day on Friday then on Monday, you would have to submit a medical certificate for 4 days.

Postby MaxPower » May 9th, 2024, 10:15 pm

one eye wrote:For those who are not aware.

If you took a sick day on Friday then on Monday, you would have to submit a medical certificate for 4 days.

Really?

So if i was sick on the Friday…felt better over the weekend but then got sick again the Monday…they need a 4 day cert?

Nooo meh boy

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » May 9th, 2024, 10:38 pm

Unless Saturday and Sunday is a working day, no eh!

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 9th, 2024, 11:37 pm

The Friday-Monday sick days rule has been around donkey years

Postby MaxPower » May 9th, 2024, 11:52 pm

Get to work Trinis.

Postby Les Bain » May 10th, 2024, 9:03 am

Really?

So if i was sick on the Friday…felt better over the weekend but then got sick again the Monday…they need a 4 day cert?

Nooo meh boy

Only reason to throw a 90 degree wrist fit is if you're the average Trini trickster and you're not sick. Most of these tricksters get genuinely sick if management gives them a HR generated report of their sick days. A sick leave is nothing if you have decent interaction with a GP.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » May 10th, 2024, 12:16 pm

Paid sick leave = more vacation leave

Sent from my SM-A145M using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby redmanjp » May 10th, 2024, 2:32 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:The Friday-Monday sick days rule has been around donkey years

yeah i think we have a rule like that- any other day it would be more than 2 days require a cert but taking both a friday and monday sick requires a cert as well - either that or maybe it only applies for taking 2 day sick with a long weekend :?:

Team W.M.A.

Postby Team W.M.A. » April 29th, 2025, 5:23 am

They could actually be right asking for a sick leave and a fit for work note. From my experience, once you miss more than a day or two because of illness, especially if you went back to the doctor, a lot of companies will ask for proper documentation before letting you return. It's to cover themselves legally and also to make sure you're not coming back still unfit and causing bigger issues.
And yeah, starting a thread like this real smart. A lot of people don't really know their basic rights, and HR or managers sometimes take advantage. Also, if anyone ever needs official documents verified for work stuff like visas or work abroad, I had a good experience using https://apostillelondon.com/ when I needed to certify my documents fast. They handled it proper without stress.
Last edited by Team W.M.A. on May 12th, 2025, 3:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 88sins » April 29th, 2025, 5:56 am

Really?

Nooo meh boy

Now see this
Max, where's your work ethic? :lol:

trinislick

Postby trinislick » April 29th, 2025, 1:02 pm

Sounds like your nephew needs a doctor’s note for Monday. Companies usually require proof after a few days off, especially if it’s more than just a day. Check his contract for specific sick leave policies.