More Gated Communities coming .........

Re: More Gated Communities coming .........

Postby RedVEVO » December 14th, 2017, 1:24 pm

Gated communities are a must in Trinidad.

Cars and vans and maxi taxis and commercial vehicles come into
residential area for short-cut or to avoid traffic and throw their garbage - such
as snack boxes, beer bottle, soft drink bottles, plastics container etc.,
onto people's property .

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » December 14th, 2017, 4:05 pm

eliteauto wrote:some gated communities keep the criminals in

Ouch..

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 14th, 2017, 4:30 pm

But real gated communities have the biggest set ah dealers and criminals who dress up nice
..i doh see the issue

Postby sMASH » December 14th, 2017, 4:31 pm

the best gated communities would not be labeled 868

Postby Dizzy28 » December 15th, 2017, 9:58 am

Gated communities are a double edged sword. Noticed they put up guard booths at the two entrance/exist to Valsayn North. They were supposed to be manned and entry by invitation (kinna like Millinieum Lakes where you need to give security the name of your expected guests).

For the reason of a there being a log of visitors the residents changed their mind. (Can't have your outside man/woman coming in anonymously when there is a record of who coming in, even with fake names the visitors log to your address)

Miktay

Postby Miktay » December 15th, 2017, 10:33 am

gated communities are not free....they cost money...

Postby hydroep » December 15th, 2017, 10:43 am

People who live in those communities could probably afford it but one side effect is being branded as someone who "have".

Not saying that anything will come of it, just that they're probably visible in a way the average joe isn't which puts them on the radar of those who are up to no good.

Postby zoom rader » December 15th, 2017, 11:01 am

History of gated communities in trinidad is founded on racism and segregation. The British used this on their sugar estates followed by the oil companies like Texaco .

Then the county club barred all non white folk.
We had club coconuts and Genesis that had the same polices.

Recent gated communities is just a modern extension with a strong hint of racism.

But then again having a gated community means folk have no trust with the law enforcement.

Upper class folk don't want certain ppl in and that's ok.
But then again laventille and Beetham also don't want ppl in not even their own ppl can go into those non gated communities.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 15th, 2017, 11:52 am

eliteauto wrote:some gated communities keep the criminals in

Unfortunately they still get out

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » December 15th, 2017, 12:00 pm

Any in south side plz I'm interested

Postby streetbeastINC. » December 15th, 2017, 12:12 pm

Trinidad is like the series walking dead now.....

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 15th, 2017, 1:04 pm

urbandilema wrote:Any in south side plz I'm interested

At one point Gulf View wanted to wall up, but they couldn't, the roads were public roads so they had to remain open to the public.

Try Bel Air or I think there was one in Avocat near the junction or Fyzabad some where.....

Have you considered Gopaul Lands Marabella? Not exactly gated but good community.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 15th, 2017, 1:16 pm

Funny story I remember about the Gulf View owners meeting to discuss making the community gated and you should have heard some of the things said, though not expected, "we don't want those people coming in here". It was so funny to hear it articulated.

It was hilarious to hear them say things that were clearly prejudiced/classist.

airuma

Postby airuma » December 15th, 2017, 1:38 pm

Miktay wrote:gated communities are not free....they cost money...

Exactly! and they are not for everyone. The main feature is security with maintenance of common facilities falling just under that. It is not for everyone. You have to give up some freedom and privacy for it.
It would work good for aged persons who would prefer a small home and cannot physically maintain their surroundings or people who have jobs that require them to be away frequently. It also fetches a significantly higher rental price than a house that is not in a gated community e.g. if you have a house worth 3 million, you might get about $10,000.00 per mth rent whereas if you sell that house and purchase two apartments in a gated community at 1.5 million each, you can get $10,000.00 per apartment. The downside is it will most likely be leased land.

airuma

Postby airuma » December 15th, 2017, 1:41 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Funny story I remember about the Gulf View owners meeting to discuss making the community gated and you should have heard some of the things said, though not expected, "we don't want those people coming in here". It was so funny to hear it articulated.

It was hilarious to hear them say things that were clearly prejudiced/classist.

That real hilarious yes! I wonder if they don't want them coming into their stores or purchasing from their supplies too?

Miktay

Postby Miktay » December 15th, 2017, 2:19 pm

Gated communities are always an option for those who fear crime...but a gate alone wont keep out all the bandits. Multiple solutions are needed to combat crime.

As I have always advocated...if u want more security...gated community or not...get one of these.

Most bandits fraid them.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » December 15th, 2017, 2:20 pm

dbl xxx
Last edited by Miktay on December 15th, 2017, 2:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » December 15th, 2017, 2:20 pm

dbl xxx

Miktay

Postby Miktay » December 15th, 2017, 2:21 pm

dbl 1 xxx

Postby MG Man » December 15th, 2017, 3:50 pm

if I were a velociraptor, I wouldn't be able to type this

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » December 15th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:
urbandilema wrote:Any in south side plz I'm interested

At one point Gulf View wanted to wall up, but they couldn't, the roads were public roads so they had to remain open to the public.

Try Bel Air or I think there was one in Avocat near the junction or Fyzabad some where.....

Have you considered Gopaul Lands Marabella? Not exactly gated but good community.

Thanks again will do. ..and believe or not over gulf view is la romain...just millinieum in arouca next to the prison

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » December 15th, 2017, 4:05 pm

Miktay wrote:Gated communities are always an option for those who fear crime...but a gate alone wont keep out all the bandits. Multiple solutions are needed to combat crime.

As I have always advocated...if u want more security...gated community or not...get one of these.

Most bandits fraid them.

Best breed here...

Postby RedVEVO » December 15th, 2017, 10:11 pm

urbandilema wrote:
Miktay wrote:Gated communities are always an option for those who fear crime...but a gate alone wont keep out all the bandits. Multiple solutions are needed to combat crime.

Most bandits fraid them.

Best breed here...

Those GSD do not exist in Trinidad .

Some Pitt Bulls and Rottweilders are what is needed :D

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » December 15th, 2017, 10:17 pm

I hear ya, but all the places you've listed have had allot robberies/home invasions.
Thet never made the news, nowhere is safe bud.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 15th, 2017, 11:45 pm

eurotuner wrote:I hear ya, but all the places you've listed have had allot robberies/home invasions.
Thet never made the news, nowhere is safe bud.

True...I will say this though, in Gulf View there was a spate of petty theft and the response from the Police was good and as a result it doesn't happen anymore the guys were apprehended.

So it may be that while not immune, they get some kind of preferential treatment which might be appealing to some.

Postby SR » December 16th, 2017, 3:06 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Gated communities are a double edged sword. Noticed they put up guard booths at the two entrance/exist to Valsayn North. They were supposed to be manned and entry by invitation (kinna like Millinieum Lakes where you need to give security the name of your expected guests).

For the reason of a there being a log of visitors the residents changed their mind. (Can't have your outside man/woman coming in anonymously when there is a record of who coming in, even with fake names the visitors log to your address)

Where you got that info from??

There was no talk about issues with a log.......

At present most reliable security companies are overwhelmed with request and are unable to provide services for these booths as yet.

Postby MaxPower » December 16th, 2017, 6:29 am

Yuh cant have a gated community when its bandits being employed to guard the compound..

richardxsingh

Postby richardxsingh » December 17th, 2017, 7:40 pm

Isn't the roads in these places public roads? How can they become gated if so?

Postby Dizzy28 » December 17th, 2017, 8:51 pm

richardxsingh wrote:Isn't the roads in these places public roads? How can they become gated if so?

1% run things. Look at Valpark road and the food trucks

Postby RedVEVO » December 18th, 2017, 5:08 am

richardxsingh wrote:Isn't the roads in these places public roads? How can they become gated if so?

Desperate time calls for desperate measures ..

Also gated communities reduce wear and tear on the roads .

Yet another savings by your friends in Gov't :D