Skybox companies: Buy less things online

WarrLordd

Re: Skybox companies: Buy less things online

Postby WarrLordd » November 8th, 2017, 7:04 pm

I now coming to ask which is the best skybox keep seeing tons of emails from aeropost

Postby RedVEVO » November 8th, 2017, 7:08 pm

WarrLordd wrote:I now coming to ask which is the best skybox keep seeing tons of emails from aeropost

They are the best ! :D

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 8th, 2017, 7:59 pm

Aeropost is too expensive for what they provide. Try Trincargo/Transexpress

airuma

Postby airuma » November 8th, 2017, 8:15 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
Miktay wrote:The only currency more worthless than TT $ is Vene and Argentina.

Thank our lucky stars we not like dem.

Ok .. Think a little :D

If nobody wants our currency and it is worthless outside of TT , how do we trade ?

Why everybody wants US$ and not TT$ ? :D

Figure this riddle and you will be amazed at what you find :D

How can a country like Singapore be so successful with no natural resources? IIRC they hardly even have water yet almost everyone is a millionaire.
The answer I got from my research is that they use their location to their advantage.... they are a trans-shipping point, but rather than just receive and send out, they add value to the items as much as they can. Trinidad is also ideally located geographically and we have fuel which makes us a better trans-shipping location.... this is why we once had the largest naval air base in the world!
IMHO our "business people" are mainly of the baby boomers generation and are literally stopping the flow of currency... the lifeblood of the economy.

Postby Morpheus » November 8th, 2017, 8:17 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Aeropost is too expensive for what they provide. Try Trincargo/Transexpress

Postby matr1x » November 8th, 2017, 8:28 pm

Currency demand is based on need and want.

In the other Caribbean islands they don't want our cash. Which is why I was against helping Dominica. They wouldn't fart in our general direction when things good. Let them suffer.

Back on topic. Ezone had excellent points in cnc3 business watch. Also, Judy kanhai sweater puppies were high and proud this evening

Postby RedVEVO » November 8th, 2017, 9:35 pm

Morpheus wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Aeropost is too expensive for what they provide. Try Trincargo/Transexpress

Cheap or Best ?

Aero is best !

Postby Morpheus » November 8th, 2017, 9:56 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
Morpheus wrote:

Cheap or Best ?

Aero is best !

Definitely not on the cheap side. Packages ship same day and deliver relatively quick. Order on Sunday and delivered by Thursday. Maybe even on Wednesday depending on how far from Miami of course

Miktay

Postby Miktay » November 8th, 2017, 9:57 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

If nobody wants our currency and it is worthless outside of TT , how do we trade ?

The world reserve/trading currency iz USD. Oil iz priced in USD.

TT$ do not have these supports. Thiz iz just a couple of reasons for the supply/demand imbalances.

Postby matr1x » November 9th, 2017, 1:59 am

I think we need to tackle the bad customer service, horrid pricing, crap return policy. .....damn.

Local businesses doomed themselves.

Postby RedVEVO » November 9th, 2017, 2:05 am

matr1x wrote:I think we need to tackle the bad customer service, horrid pricing, crap return policy. .....damn.

Local businesses doomed themselves.

Aero is is not local.

Postby matr1x » November 9th, 2017, 2:20 am

I mean local business.

car

Postby car » November 9th, 2017, 3:27 am

Glasses frame broke.
Local replacement = $1800
eBay with all taxes=$805
But had to wait 12 days to receive item and realize that the local companies was pocketing the items that came with the frame. Like the extra nylon string and the ribbon to remove the lens.

Postby bluefete » November 9th, 2017, 4:04 am

Conspiracy theorist checking in:

Isn't CNC3 owned by the very top 1%?

Is it a coincidence that the report to 'buy local' came from that station? This from a company that keeps almost all of its earned US$ outside of T&T. Look at the figures for Diamond Motors and then ask what happened to the US$ figures for their luxury vehicles.

What are the mark-ups like for that group?

But on the other hand, they do employ almost 6,000 employees.

Postby bluefete » November 9th, 2017, 4:17 am

airuma wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

How can a country like Singapore be so successful with no natural resources? IIRC they hardly even have water yet almost everyone is a millionaire.
The answer I got from my research is that they use their location to their advantage.... they are a trans-shipping point, but rather than just receive and send out, they add value to the items as much as they can. Trinidad is also ideally located geographically and we have fuel which makes us a better trans-shipping location.... this is why we once had the largest naval air base in the world! Good piece of history there. Many Trinbagonians do not even know that.
IMHO our "business people" are mainly of the baby boomers generation and are literally stopping the flow of currency... the lifeblood of the economy.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 9th, 2017, 6:11 am

Cnc 3 definitely has an agenda...This is not the first fishy story from them.

Postby pugboy » November 9th, 2017, 6:31 am

glasses frames are one of the biggest profit rackets
lot of those frames costs a few dollars usd and they sell for over a grand
ever notice how many optical places keep popping up everywhere?

they rival casinos and chinese restaurants, no other type of business prospering so
many have nigerian optometrists working in them

car wrote:Glasses frame broke.
Local replacement = $1800
eBay with all taxes=$805
But had to wait 12 days to receive item and realize that the local companies was pocketing the items that came with the frame. Like the extra nylon string and the ribbon to remove the lens.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 9th, 2017, 6:45 am

airuma wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

The answer I got from my research is that they use their location to their advantage.... they are a trans-shipping point, but rather than just receive and send out, they add value to the items as much as they can. Trinidad is also ideally located geographically and we have fuel which makes us a better trans-shipping location.... this is why we once had the largest naval air base in the world!

Compare the mentality and work ethic of there vs here.

Postby j.o.e » November 9th, 2017, 7:04 am

eliteauto wrote:all those "big boys" sucking up the $US for the "average man" to consume. Why do people want to portray things in a vacuum?

It strokes their inferiority Complex to portray businessmen and Syrians as wicked

Postby RedVEVO » November 9th, 2017, 7:10 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
airuma wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Compare the mentality and work ethic of there vs here.

Yes, you are correct :D

Syrians come with nothing and take over Trini ..
You not believe . Watch 1% owners rule :D

Chinese come with nothing and take over Trini ..
You not believe . Watch grocery, and restaurants :D

Trini youthman come with nothing and take over Trini ..
You not believe . Watch gun in your face :cry:

Miktay

Postby Miktay » November 9th, 2017, 11:48 am

None of these rackets...the cartels...medicine...lawyers...bankers...retail can exist without the direct or implicit support of Gubbament.

So Gubbament naturally wants to tax online sales to prevent the erosion of markups on consumer products.

That USD iz now in short supply creates opportunities for the rentier class to sustain their profit margins.

Postby Ben_spanna » November 9th, 2017, 1:34 pm

Toys, movies, video games and essential Kids stuff are NOT made locally, so the only way to get it without getting raped by local stores is to import yourself..........
I don't know what some toy stores in Trinidad think it is- their prices are damn well rape! and they buying in bulk and container shipping so you know their markup is almost 200%, amazon for everything.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 9th, 2017, 1:41 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Toys, movies, video games and essential Kids stuff are NOT made locally, so the only way to get it without getting raped by local stores is to import yourself..........
I don't know what some toy stores in Trinidad think it is- their prices are damn well rape! and they buying in bulk and container shipping so you know their markup is almost 200%, amazon for everything.

more than 200%

Local toy store TT$800 for a toy that is sold on Amazon for US$16

Miktay

Postby Miktay » November 9th, 2017, 1:41 pm

So putting aside the lack of customer service in T&T...what kina markup allyuh think iz reasonable?

BIM that USD iz difficult to source and Amazon, Panama and most of forin doh take TT$.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 9th, 2017, 1:55 pm

paid 2500 for a frame locally that cost 200USD online. Not next time nah

For glasses once you have an updated prescription check coastal.com
I picked up a backup pair of glasses with basic lens for a couple hundred TT.

Postby Chimera » November 9th, 2017, 2:08 pm

idk na, on one hand we might find we being robbed but when you consider all the extra fees they/we have

rental fee, commercial electricity rate, insurance for staff and building/stock, payment for staff, risk of being robbed/killed...i have no idea what would be a reasonable markup

100%?

if a item cost $100 landed....sell for $200?

GOAT

Postby GOAT » November 9th, 2017, 2:14 pm

And just to add to Phone Surgeon, remember not everything they bring down selling out.

So its hard to guess a fair price.

Postby Chimera » November 9th, 2017, 2:24 pm

yup a fair amount of items are wastage

for the past 4 years i have 3000 1amp 12v power supplies and half container of pvc moulding that never sold

the pvc moulding the supplier sent the wrong colour
the market for the power suppliers changed when camera equipment upgraded

Ck4Lancer

Postby Ck4Lancer » November 9th, 2017, 2:37 pm

listen nah ppl, what will happen to the small man who does buy online and sell back and make ah honest living. ah lil 20 or 50 dollar profit.

Another thing, when compared the prices of items locally vs foreign, you can purchase the same item 3 or times and you still come out better than local. How was we suppose to survive when local prices are killing.

Remember that them ministers and big business have dem ass full and lift set inno. is we d small dotish ppl who have to suffer.

Thanks to PNM.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 9th, 2017, 3:22 pm

airuma wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Singapore is a dictatorship. Government controls everything basically. Same political party winning elections since 1959. No big differences in race in the population too. Politicians also get paid a ton of money. These things affect culture which allows them to head in whatever direction they deem positive for the society with very little resistance. Nice place though.