zoom rader wrote:The key to living cheap as a man is to not get married.
Married life will leave you broke.
The_Honourable wrote:children cost money. Cost of living is going up and it is increasingly expensive to take care of a child.
*KRONIK* wrote:zoom rader wrote:The key to living cheap as a man is to not get married.
Clearly u dont know where to find a good woman.
adnj wrote:*KRONIK* wrote:zoom rader wrote:The key to living cheap as a man is to not get married.
Clearly u dont know where to find a good woman.
"He may know how to find a good woman but does he know how to keep a good woman?"
In general, men who get married live longer, are happier and are wealthier than single men, worldwide.
AbstractPoetic wrote:Date or marry someone who has similar financial goals in mind. If he/she is one to want the latest fashions and designs, and always want to be seen, you will most likely end up broke.
eurotuner wrote:I remember some years back, i had a coworker that made almost twice as me.
- Her Rent was TT8500
- She LEASE a car (Mitsubishi 2.0, it was fresh then, so expensive)
- She bought food (breakfast dinner, snacks) EVERY SINGLE day
The last week of the month, she totally broke, asking me for $20 for buy a snack to eat
and trying to beg for my lunch that i brought from home.
OHH she also does not believe in buying a house.
She's has this "millenial" mind state, were life should be happy and free and
avoid of all encumbrances. Totally freekin' nuts.
zoom rader wrote:The key to living cheap as a man is to not get married.
88sins wrote:zoom rader wrote:The key to living cheap as a man is to not get married.
investing our efforts in baddists now are we![]()
but it can be true, dependent on the individuals to some extent. to expound...
life being married a PITA will leave you forever broke & always be in dire need to the point of desperation & exasperation & feeling miserable most times
life married to a good spouse you might be broke sometimes, but never ever really in dire need or miserable.
it all boils down to whether or not you have the skills as a man to reprogram a female to meet your required specs, & if you willing to make some changes about yourself for the sake of the person yuh think yuh want to be with.
88sins wrote:zoom rader wrote:The key to living cheap as a man is to not get married.
life being married a PITA will leave you forever broke & always be in dire need to the point of desperation & exasperation & feeling miserable most times
life married to a good spouse you might be broke sometimes, but never ever really in dire need or miserable.
it all boils down to whether or not you have the skills as a man to reprogram a female to meet your required specs, & if you willing to make some changes about yourself for the sake of the person yuh think yuh want to be with.
The_Honourable wrote:88sins wrote:zoom rader wrote:The key to living cheap as a man is to not get married.
I hear you on "re-programming" but if the system corrupted beyond repair, a man could know all the reprogramming and will still end up with a dud.
That is why men (& women) need to ask the tough questions before getting serious with someone. People walking around with baggage but will be on their best behavior at the beginning of the relationship. By the time red flags come up, you already invested yuh money, time and emotions in that person. You might even rationalize away dem red flags where eventually you realize you are with some demon. Good men and women turn bad when they encounter these beasts.
A good spouse will keep you on track, especially with your finances. A bad one will leave you sick and broke.
rspann wrote:Guntresses does flex real good, easy to see why men fall for them.
#baddistsahtherealest
airuma wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I hate to hearing working people make excuses because of their children...when something not going right, blame the child...you signed up for that responsibility when yuh lay down and take yuh piggy...your child is your responsibility not a burden or something to be used as excuses....
reach tuh work late...blame the child
can't meet a deadline...blame the child
This is as sad as calling in sick the day after you had one too many the evening before! This "abuse" certainly makes things difficult for parents who are genuinely "slowed down" by the fact that they have "dependents".
Thankfully, there seems to be more awareness about the challenges faced by parents. One example is an advertisement with a man asking to take the day off and then the camera shifts to his toddler in a crib. How exactly does he take a day off from that? Children do not plan and parents have to share alot of their time with their children if they want to raise them up right.
I felt truly sorry for that man who was arrested when the child drowned in POS (east dry river I think). The man was trying, school starts at 8:30am and he has to be at work for 8:00am, maybe 9:00am. Depending on the distance between school and work, he may have to drop them of very early (and risk increasing their exposure to bullies) to make it to work on time. One may say he could hare a school van, or use the school maxi-taxi. But then, who stays with them while they wait for the transport if he is a single parent? Then we have the pick up, school finishes at 2:30 - 3:00pm and work will finish at 4:00 - 5:00pm.
I must say that I respect Fitzgerald Hinds for giving his support to this man!
The fact remains, if we are to preserve the existence of human beings, we need productive, goodwill people to make AND properly raise children. Not what is happening now.... some of us happy with getting cheap/ free HDC houses and having children for different men to get maintenance money to dress up, lime and make more children!
To answer the OP question, it's not how much you make, it's what you do with it. I have seen people with very small income live a comfortable life, especially people who do farming. IMHO, the social life does not have to be at the movies, bar, club etc. It should just be time spent with your close friends at your home/ apt. Cook your own food, even if it costs the same, it will certainly save you on the medical bills. Limit your visits to the grocery, the more you go there, the more likely you will buy unnecessary things. Buy only what you need and be sure to compare prices of 1. things you buy often, 2. things that are expensive. Don't keep too much money in your wallet, if you have the money, you might be tempted to spend it. A budget is probably the most effective thing but it has a steep learning curve if you are not too disciplined. And of course, some of the posts before have very good suggestions.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:with respects to the OP's question...it really depends on the type of lifestyle you wish to live...you can't have mauby $$ with champagne taste, it won't work.....I have seen several families get by with small salaries no matter how pricey things get..
adnj wrote:teems1 wrote:If you're buying a 1.5m starter house in central, usually 150k downpayment and a 1.35m loan.
A 30 year loan at 6% interest rate would be $8093.93 per month. For that $8093 to be 30%, that would mean the total income after tax for the household is $26,976 or approximately 27k.
The average income per household in TT is far below 27k.
The mortgage qualification estimate rule is 31% of gross income. The 31% must also take into account property insurance, loan insurance and property taxes.
That would likely move the gross combined household minimum income to ~$28,700 to qualify for the loan.
The_Honourable wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I hate to hearing working people make excuses because of their children...when something not going right, blame the child...you signed up for that responsibility when yuh lay down and take yuh piggy...your child is your responsibility not a burden or something to be used as excuses....
can't meet a deadline...blame the childshake d livin wake d dead wrote:Comments are not biased..i agree men complain...but some women do it more
I have seen this happen many times at my workplace in different departments. Yes men will state at times that having children "nuh easy" but i have seen many women use their children as an excuse (sympathy card) to come late, leave during work, or leave before the end of their shift to collect their children. Then when they get reprimanded, they more vex than you and say "meh children first", "there need to be more allowances for women", "man does get away with ting", "the manager doh like meh" etc. Whoever want to get emotional and bawl sexism can suck salt.
I had a manager above me who is a single mother and made it her business to be at work before 8am and leave after work hours. Is not often she will bring the child to the workplace, and if she does, she will get permission to do so. She never uses her child as an excuse and works hard.
Ben_spanna is correct. At the end of the day, whether you find a child is a blessing from God, or you want to make one so you can fit socially with family, church, friends and get dem likes on facebook, or even to lockdown the woman or man, children cost money. Cost of living is going up and it is increasingly expensive to take care of a child. It's not easy to have a worklife and be a parent at the same time but both the male and the female should know this before bringing a child into the world. Plan accordingly and use birth control until you are ready.
AbstractPoetic wrote:cracker wrote:I believe there was a post about this issue sometime ago but I have to say that to maintain a decent lifestyle in this country is becoming very expensive!!! When you look at the cost of living, insurance premiums, gas, food, shelter/rent I really don't know some people are surviving. On the topic of food, at one point in time it's like every day I was spending $100 and the grocery (I do buy in bulk mind you). Even if you are socializing with friends or taking out your companion some where nice for example the movies. That could easily run up to $400 or more. The cost of tickets , food gas to reach there etc. A general question what type of earnings does one have to make on a monthly basis to maintain your life style. Keep in mind that it's not my intention to make a this post political. If you don't like pnm/ unc you can say so if you want but that's really your business. What are your thoughts?
The key is to live like well below your means You can make $60,000/month but live like you make $10,000/month.
- Cook food and bring to work instead of buying breakfast/lunch daily. I note that I can save thousands per year by bringing meals to work.
- Walk, ride a bike, or take public transport to work.
- Shop on sales for everything and buy in bulk to save even more (ie PriceSmart).
- Date or marry someone who has similar financial goals in mind. If he/she is one to want the latest fashions and designs, and always want to be seen, you will most likely end up broke.
- Always save extra and diversify your saving options. Invest in stocks, bonds, mutual funds, commodities, etc.
I think the two biggest expenses are FOOD and CHILDREN, but with proper planning and budgeting those expenses can be cut in half.
adnj wrote:The_Honourable wrote:children cost money. Cost of living is going up and it is increasingly expensive to take care of a child.
This is the insightful thing that I've read today.
cracker wrote:The_Honourable wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I hate to hearing working people make excuses because of their children...when something not going right, blame the child...you signed up for that responsibility when yuh lay down and take yuh piggy...your child is your responsibility not a burden or something to be used as excuses....
can't meet a deadline...blame the childshake d livin wake d dead wrote:Comments are not biased..i agree men complain...but some women do it more
I have seen this happen many times at my workplace in different departments. Yes men will state at times that having children "nuh easy" but i have seen many women use their children as an excuse (sympathy card) to come late, leave during work, or leave before the end of their shift to collect their children. Then when they get reprimanded, they more vex than you and say "meh children first", "there need to be more allowances for women", "man does get away with ting", "the manager doh like meh" etc. Whoever want to get emotional and bawl sexism can suck salt.
I had a manager above me who is a single mother and made it her business to be at work before 8am and leave after work hours. Is not often she will bring the child to the workplace, and if she does, she will get permission to do so. She never uses her child as an excuse and works hard.
Ben_spanna is correct. At the end of the day, whether you find a child is a blessing from God, or you want to make one so you can fit socially with family, church, friends and get dem likes on facebook, or even to lockdown the woman or man, children cost money. Cost of living is going up and it is increasingly expensive to take care of a child. It's not easy to have a worklife and be a parent at the same time but both the male and the female should know this before bringing a child into the world. Plan accordingly and use birth control until you are ready.
I have seen this over and over again with regards to some women in the workplace
Ted_v2 wrote:Trinidadian too damn happy, Yall ever saw steel or toppers on a weekend? jesus.
Numb3r4 wrote:Ted_v2 wrote:Trinidadian too damn happy, Yall ever saw steel or toppers on a weekend? jesus.
Exactly...I still wonder where Trinidadians getting this money every week......
Either they are more people in debt than we care to admit or the working public are living paycheck to paycheck.
gastly369 wrote:Numb3r4 wrote:Ted_v2 wrote:Trinidadian too damn happy, Yall ever saw steel or toppers on a weekend? jesus.
Exactly...I still wonder where Trinidadians getting this money every week......
Either they are more people in debt than we care to admit or the working public are living paycheck to paycheck.
Lifestyle image to maintain....