Petrotrin update: now Trinidad Petroleum Holdings Ltd

vaiostation

Re: Petrotrin update

Postby vaiostation » September 4th, 2017, 5:25 pm

Only permanent people receive any sort of perks. It should also be noted that more than half of petro is temporary so they got salt.
Also being temporary means you don't have constant work. They could stop you at anytime. I had a friend work there for a weeks and then salt for two months, but there are also people who get work more regular, so every department is different.
Last edited by vaiostation on September 4th, 2017, 5:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby nervewrecker » September 4th, 2017, 5:25 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:Private companies like BP and service providers like Schlumberger have good reason to offer higher wages as they don't offer permanent employment, the pace and levels of productivity expected are also higher. In these cases these companies do not offer sophisticated healthcare plans and coverage.

Given the perks of Petrotrin, salaries need not be as high, Petrotrin employees act as if they are alone in undertaking risk within the oil and gas sector.

and only few get access to thoes "perks" pal. doh get caught up in the sour grapes hype.

Still though I found that the average worker there does benefit. Do you know every month they got a care package of soap, tissue and toilet paper why?

Not to mention even at the lower employment spectrum they have access to health care which in some cases extends to spouses and children. No problem but why all that....even in retirement the spouses can receive 1/2 of the worker's salary again why? The spouse didn't work there, they didn't expose themselves to hazardous conditions. Stupid perks that do exist at all levels not just at the top.

Things that don't exist in other oil and gas companies that do comparable work.
They pay for that sir. Ask to see a pay slip.

Only permanent men get the care package and as said before the majority of the staff is temp. They get it one month on and one month off now.

I see that snake in the panel real bothering a man yes. That snake is nothing broseph. Men wont take the real deals and post it online, puhleez.
Does he know that the incidence of cancer is usually high among employees because of the fumes they breathing in? Guess not...
Ask the kids and spouses.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 4th, 2017, 5:40 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:Private companies like BP and service providers like Schlumberger have good reason to offer higher wages as they don't offer permanent employment, the pace and levels of productivity expected are also higher. In these cases these companies do not offer sophisticated healthcare plans and coverage.

Given the perks of Petrotrin, salaries need not be as high, Petrotrin employees act as if they are alone in undertaking risk within the oil and gas sector.

and only few get access to thoes "perks" pal. doh get caught up in the sour grapes hype.

Still though I found that the average worker there does benefit. Do you know every month they got a care package of soap, tissue and toilet paper why?

Not to mention even at the lower employment spectrum they have access to health care which in some cases extends to spouses and children. No problem but why all that....even in retirement the spouses can receive 1/2 of the worker's salary again why? The spouse didn't work there, they didn't expose themselves to hazardous conditions. Stupid perks that do exist at all levels not just at the top.

Only permanent men get the care package and as said before the majority of the staff is temp. They get it one month on and one month off now.

I see that snake in the panel real bothering a man yes. That snake is nothing broseph. Men wont take the real deals and post it online, puhleez.
Does he know that the incidence of cancer is usually high among employees because of the fumes they breathing in? Guess not...

Yeah I hear you but don't other industrial workers operate under the same or similar conditions for far less when one considers pay, perks and health care. Not to mention the access to a way better pension plan.

The defenders of Petrotrin still haven't answered what it is they do that is so special that they need all these things/perks, things that other industrial workers don't have access to even though they are in similar environments.

In Petrotrin's case why spend so much on labour with no increase in productivity or revenue? Fine only permanent workers get these perks no problem but if they get so much why do we need contract workers?

Postby nervewrecker » September 4th, 2017, 5:53 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:

Yeah I hear you but don't other industrial workers operate under the same or similar conditions for far less when one considers pay, perks and health care. Not to mention the access to a way better pension plan.

The defenders of Petrotrin still haven't answered what it is they do that is so special that they need all these things/perks, things that other industrial workers don't have access to even though they are in similar environments.

In Petrotrin's case why spend so much on labour with no increase in productivity or revenue? Fine only permanent workers get these perks no problem but if they get so much why do we need contract workers?
Truth be told, other people are paid the same. Is the contractor pocketing the money and paying the employees less.

And you should find our who the contractors are and what agreement they have with the company. All your questions will be answered.

I did just say there is a high incidence of cancer among employees that are in the field. Most dont live to enjoy their retirement.
Oh and the pension plan, ask to see a payslip. They pay for that, came out of their monthly deductions. Them men does go home with just a fraction of their salary.

I think I said that long ago when the salary was nothing they hired any and everyone they could find. Petro men was the men at the bottom of the barrel. Years after when things changed you needed to have some serious papers to work there. So by seniority you have some dunces in high positions and some very intelligent junior staff.
Have a lot of those old guys due to go home. Time to let the younger generation shine. The company can do well.
I went to a course not too long ago. Had a middle aged woman there. I have a bad habit of setting like snake and looking dotish just waiting to astonish them with my intelligence and outspoken nature. Jed, when the woman open she mouth to talk I put meh tail between meh leg one time. Like she boil de dictionary and drink de water. I sure she have some serious papers to back up herself.

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 5th, 2017, 7:56 am

Roget calls for new Petrotrin board to go
LAUREL V WILLIAMS Tuesday, September 5 2017

PRESIDENT General of the Oilfields Workers’ Trade Union (OWTU) Ancel Roget yesterday called for the newly appointed board of directors at Stateowned Petrotrin to be reviewed and reconstituted.

The union leader further suggested that the union is willing to assist by pointing out competent individuals who can effectively take the company forward.

Speaking at a press conference held at Paramount Building at Circular Road, San Fernando, yesterday the union leader charged that it appeared Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley was “set-up” in choosing the directors.

“Somebody gave Dr Rowley the wrong advice for yet another occasion. Somebody in the Cabinet set up the Prime Minister, I want to believe that.

This is a miss jump, not a misstep...For yet another occasion, the Government missed another opportunity to take on board a union representative to contribute,” Roget said.

Only on Friday, before his departure to the USA for a medical check-up, Rowley announced the names of the new directors, whom he hoped would be able to restructure and turn around the company within the next two to three years.

Roget accused the Government of not wanting to select a representative from the OWTU although these workers have the competence to look after the interest of the country. As such, he accused the “one per cent” of pulling the strings of the Prime Minister to sit on the board regardless of their level of competencies.

“What is the level of competence and or experience that Wilfred Espinet will have to bring to bear on Petrotrin’s decision making, policy implementing or direction given to allow for that company to benefit? We feel it is will be a rough road going forward if they do not recall Joel Harding who has no experience, Nigel Edwards, Wilfred Espinet and the likes,” Roget added.

Roget vowed that the union would not sit idly by and allow a “sham board “to be installed as the country will suffer.

Roget further charged that some of the directors want to have the company privitised which is not in the interest of the people of TT.

airuma

Postby airuma » September 5th, 2017, 12:04 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Truth be told, other people are paid the same. Is the contractor pocketing the money and paying the employees less.

And you should find our who the contractors are and what agreement they have with the company. All your questions will be answered.

I did just say there is a high incidence of cancer among employees that are in the field. Most dont live to enjoy their retirement.
Oh and the pension plan, ask to see a payslip. They pay for that, came out of their monthly deductions. Them men does go home with just a fraction of their salary.

I think I said that long ago when the salary was nothing they hired any and everyone they could find. Petro men was the men at the bottom of the barrel. Years after when things changed you needed to have some serious papers to work there. So by seniority you have some dunces in high positions and some very intelligent junior staff.
Have a lot of those old guys due to go home. Time to let the younger generation shine. The company can do well.
I went to a course not too long ago. Had a middle aged woman there. I have a bad habit of setting like snake and looking dotish just waiting to astonish them with my intelligence and outspoken nature. Jed, when the woman open she mouth to talk I put meh tail between meh leg one time. Like she boil de dictionary and drink de water. I sure she have some serious papers to back up herself.

1. "Is the contractor pocketing the money and paying the employees less" - I am not trying to defend contractors, but do you have any proof of this? AFIAK, all (perm., temp., sub) employees engaged in work for petrotrin MUST be paid at least the minimum rate as petrotrin employees as per the scheduled rates agreed between OWTU and petrotrin on the most recent MOU.
2. "I did just say there is a high incidence of cancer among employees that are in the field" - http://time.com/11661/the-5-jobs-most-l ... -you-sick/ puts Agriculture workers at the top of the list for hazardous work conditions "they have an exceptionally high risk of other conditions, according to the National Cancer Institute. Among them: leukemia, non-Hodgkin lymphoma, multiple myeloma, soft tissue sarcoma, and cancers of the skin, lip, stomach, brain, and prostate". I wonder how their remuneration measures up with those of the employees of petrotrin? BUT WAIT! anything at a desk is #5.... I guess management is more risky than we think!
SORRY! oilfield workers did not make it to the top 5!
3. "Oh and the pension plan, ask to see a payslip. They pay for that, came out of their monthly deductions" - Clearly you don't know how this works! Usually the organization covers about 50% of this premium and group insurance is significantly lower than if you take it as an individual?
4. "Them men does go home with just a fraction of their salary" - This statement means nothing if you don't quote their salary..... it could still be >$10,000.00/ mth after deductions and I read on another thread that we have engineers working for $6,000.00.
5. "Petro men was the men at the bottom of the barrel" - Do a little research nah! Oilfield workers worldwide do not need much "papers"
6. "So by seniority you have some dunces in high positions and some very intelligent junior staff" - So you have dunce senior staff issuing instructions to intelligent junior staff and the intelligent junior staff does what the dunce senior staff tells them to do even though you know it's not the best thing...... riiigghhtt! If you had to take the opinion of someone who knows what works vs someone who knows what should work, which would you take?
I can go on but suffice it to say, PLEASE DO astonish us with your intelligence!

Postby nervewrecker » September 5th, 2017, 3:14 pm

Clearly you know more than me.
Wonder why iocl men was striking not too long back? Was for what again...?

Who are these agriculture workers? Where we have agri going on? Have they been using environmentally friendly practices?

You an engineer nah? Usually where there was / is a union seeking the employees interest you wont have people being exploited for dog money. But dont get me started on union. Do your homework on how those salaries came about. It was also when things were good. When things not so good I find maybe they can take a small pay cut. But thats just me.

So tell me why most men I know working there either have a bsc or doing one? Some have masters etc. But like we both know a different set of people.

I take it you unemployed. Cant really bypass senior men with years of service for johnny come lately. Instead of one heap of headache they investing in the younger ones, trying to bridge the gap and just letting the older ones go their way. Not saying there isnt some brilliant older folks eh. But I can tell you never worked / unemployed.

car

Postby car » September 5th, 2017, 3:37 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Clearly you know more than me.
Wonder why iocl men was striking not too long back? Was for what again...?

Who are these agriculture workers? Where we have agri going on? Have they been using environmentally friendly practices?

You an engineer nah? Usually where there was / is a union seeking the employees interest you wont have people being exploited for dog money. But dont get me started on union. Do your homework on how those salaries came about. It was also when things were good. When things not so good I find maybe they can take a small pay cut. But thats just me.

So tell me why most men I know working there either have a bsc or doing one? Some have masters etc. But like we both know a different set of people.

I take it you unemployed. Cant really bypass senior men with years of service for johnny come lately. Instead of one heap of headache they investing in the younger ones, trying to bridge the gap and just letting the older ones go their way. Not saying there isnt some brilliant older folks eh. But I can tell you never worked / unemployed.

Gee dem. Gee dem.
The company matches 3%. Not 50% of the pension.
I saw a contractor pay slip already. She not even making 60k a year. But the company pays the correct rates to the hired contractor. He just pockets the money and pays his workers minimum amount. He even tried to rob the woman her Nis for a few years.

Postby tr1ad » September 5th, 2017, 4:13 pm

And that's what IOCL employees stood for late last year, to get paid / benefits passed onto them

Postby nervewrecker » September 5th, 2017, 7:57 pm

If airuma did her hw she would read between the lines.

Airuma reminds me of the lil indian girl in express facebook page that a petro guy brush and leave sour. She blow up about it being a cult to get in there and how they get free car, house, medical, access to the club etc etc.

car

Postby car » September 5th, 2017, 8:16 pm

nervewrecker wrote:If airuma did her hw she would read between the lines.

Airuma reminds me of the lil indian girl in express facebook page that a petro guy brush and leave sour. She blow up about it being a cult to get in there and how they get free car, house, medical, access to the club etc etc.

Wait nar. I feel I know she.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » September 5th, 2017, 9:15 pm

Hello.. Lemme add my 2 cents in this thing here... as much as i didnt want too....

*2 Cents*

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 5th, 2017, 10:46 pm

Hmmmmm

As I was saying before, any actual petrotrin workers commenting about the operations of the company or just the usual know it alls.......

kstt

Postby kstt » September 5th, 2017, 11:02 pm

:fadein:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Lol @ men beating up about "perks". Yeah is cuz men getting toilet paper and soap the company in a mess. Cut that out and problem solve ent? It's easy for people outside to bump gum but the real problem is huge debt due in 2019.

Can't paint the entire organization with a broad brush either because you hear about a few bad workers. If that was the case governments would have had no problem doing serious cuts years ago.

Do you ever think of the price the company pays for those items. The 1% supplies it and they produce none of it. So that will give u an idea of the cost. I am sure it isn't the price at the grocery. Cutting them out will save money in the long run.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » September 5th, 2017, 11:10 pm

kstt wrote::fadein:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Lol @ men beating up about "perks". Yeah is cuz men getting toilet paper and soap the company in a mess. Cut that out and problem solve ent? It's easy for people outside to bump gum but the real problem is huge debt due in 2019.

Can't paint the entire organization with a broad brush either because you hear about a few bad workers. If that was the case governments would have had no problem doing serious cuts years ago.

Do you ever think of the price the company pays for those items. The 1% supplies it and they produce none of it. So that will give u an idea of the cost. I am sure it isn't the price at the grocery. Cutting them out will save money in the long run.

Man this 1% joke get stale now .
You all letting some one who is seeking his own interest create a divide. There is a famous person in the world who shared this vision; Mugabe . See where his country is now . Yeah he went after the 1% .

kstt

Postby kstt » September 5th, 2017, 11:11 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:

Truth be told, other people are paid the same. Is the contractor pocketing the money and paying the employees less.

Never judge a book by its cover.

Petrotrin has Security personnel with Masters.
Last edited by kstt on September 7th, 2017, 3:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby De Dragon » September 5th, 2017, 11:21 pm

Even employed persons seem immune to the entitlement culture. Soap and toilet paper? The company in a state of deep deep indebtedness, and men not willingly giving these items up? :? No wonder PT in such deep doo doo, everyone looking at someone else to take the load.

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 5th, 2017, 11:30 pm

It goes way beyond toilet paper handouts....these state enterprises clearly are being used to fatten pockets....

Politics

Mismanagement over the years not just during 2010-2015. This didn't occur overnight.

Poorly maintained assets. The company is 100 years old.

No succession planning.

And the list can go on.....

Postby Redman » September 6th, 2017, 2:37 am

De Dragon wrote:Even employed persons seem immune to the entitlement culture. Soap and toilet paper? The company in a state of deep deep indebtedness, and men not willingly giving these items up? :? No wonder PT in such deep doo doo, everyone looking at someone else to take the load.

Wait till the KFC bill is revealed...300k per month....food allowance abuse....using the meal allowances to buy stuff in the general store next door to the food spot...
Same owner...

Medical plan being corrupted from within ...

Factually boss...they need more soap and TP to clean that mess.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 6th, 2017, 6:32 am

kstt wrote::fadein:

At this point I don't think putting out details will help the debate. To answer your question no I do not think cutting out these supplies will truly help in the long term when have 850 million USD to repay in one shot in 2019.

Postby zoom rader » September 6th, 2017, 10:12 am

PNM should get rid of all state owned enterprises. Government have no right running a business to much leeway for underhand dealings.
But then again some of the 1% will end up owning more of this country.

airuma

Postby airuma » September 7th, 2017, 2:56 pm

So let's see, I challenged some of your comments on a previous post, mainly for the benefit of those who may not know better. There is alot of information on the internet, so I don't expect that anyone take what I have posted and run with it. I would, however, appreciate it if anyone does check it and can show where I am wrong, that way all of tuner, including myself, will have a better opportunity to learn something.... no harm in that.

Instead, you engaged in a futile effort to determine my profession, employment status, gender and race as if it is your intention to invite me into a "pissing competition".
The unfortunate thing is, after your useless response, you have managed to rally support in the very next post some 23mins afterwards! And this phenomena happened twice in the same day, the next time 19mins afterwards!

Anyway, carry on in your usual manner, at least I know which posts to ignore! If this is the kind of people we have in petrotrin, we're better of with it being privatized.

Postby gastly369 » September 7th, 2017, 4:38 pm

Pm sent

Rgds shiv

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 7th, 2017, 8:33 pm

gastly369 wrote:Pm sent

Rgds shiv

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 10th, 2017, 2:07 pm

wats d latest on this PNM scandal .. ?

jcrew

Postby jcrew » September 10th, 2017, 2:40 pm

airuma wrote:

So let's see, I challenged some of your comments on a previous post, mainly for the benefit of those who may not know better. There is alot of information on the internet, so I don't expect that anyone take what I have posted and run with it. I would, however, appreciate it if anyone does check it and can show where I am wrong, that way all of tuner, including myself, will have a better opportunity to learn something.... no harm in that.

Instead, you engaged in a futile effort to determine my profession, employment status, gender and race as if it is your intention to invite me into a "pissing competition".
The unfortunate thing is, after your useless response, you have managed to rally support in the very next post some 23mins afterwards! And this phenomena happened twice in the same day, the next time 19mins afterwards!

Anyway, carry on in your usual manner, at least I know which posts to ignore! If this is the kind of people we have in petrotrin, we're better of with it being privatized.

1st wronged by Petrotrin ...now by Petrotrin thread.
Airuma will never recover

airuma

Postby airuma » September 10th, 2017, 4:21 pm

jcrew wrote:
airuma wrote:

Just to put things in perspective, according to:

http://www.finance.gov.tt/wp-content/up ... Nation.pdf

"Petrotrin now has more than 5,000 employees, with an annual wage bill of $1.9 billion, which is close to 50 per cent of its total annual operating costs. This payroll ratio is exceptionally high even compared with that of other state-owned oil companies."

"after 2007 by a significant increase in Petrotrin's debt burden, largely due to two external loans, namely a US$ 750 million loan contracted in 2007 and a US$ 850 million loan, contracted in 2009, used largely to support refinery upgrade projects, which were exposed to some significant mismanagement and experienced sizable cost escalation."

"A dramatic slump in crude oil prices, combined with an ongoing decline in refinery margins and declining local oil production led to a more than 50 per cent decrease in the Company's revenues, from TT$37 billion in 2012 to TT$16 billion in 2016."

This address does not state the currency of the wage bill, has the debt in US and the revenue in TT. In primary school I learned to compare apple with apple and oranges with oranges..... seems like this has changes since then.
US ($850M + $750M) = US $1.6 billion = TT $11.2 billion (using a US $1 = TT $7 exchange). This is not far off from it's $16 billion revenue in 2016.

With this LACK of performance, I think it is safe to say that the general population of Trinidad and Tobago is wronged by petrotrin so this is even less intuitive than guessing my gender and race (which are both 50% probabilities).

What really bothers me though is the ones that know they have a "nice wok" and coming here to defend their inflated salaries by insisting that their jobs are the most dangerous in the country, hence, the justification of the inflated salary. And when they are challenged, question if agriculture workers are 1. existent, 2. following environmentally friendly practices...... how ridiculous can one be to be defending petrotrin and raising the issue of environmentally friendly practices?
None of them has come with information that measures petrotrin's performance against other refineries in the world or specific examples of the non-sense that the "dunce" supervisors do.
If I am the only person who sees this as a serious concern on the forum, I am clearly in the wrong place!

Postby nervewrecker » September 10th, 2017, 4:52 pm

airuma wrote:
jcrew wrote:
airuma wrote:

Just to put things in perspective, according to:

http://www.finance.gov.tt/wp-content/up ... Nation.pdf

"Petrotrin now has more than 5,000 employees, with an annual wage bill of $1.9 billion, which is close to 50 per cent of its total annual operating costs. This payroll ratio is exceptionally high even compared with that of other state-owned oil companies."

"after 2007 by a significant increase in Petrotrin's debt burden, largely due to two external loans, namely a US$ 750 million loan contracted in 2007 and a US$ 850 million loan, contracted in 2009, used largely to support refinery upgrade projects, which were exposed to some significant mismanagement and experienced sizable cost escalation."

"A dramatic slump in crude oil prices, combined with an ongoing decline in refinery margins and declining local oil production led to a more than 50 per cent decrease in the Company's revenues, from TT$37 billion in 2012 to TT$16 billion in 2016."

This address does not state the currency of the wage bill, has the debt in US and the revenue in TT. In primary school I learned to compare apple with apple and oranges with oranges..... seems like this has changes since then.
US ($850M + $750M) = US $1.6 billion = TT $11.2 billion (using a US $1 = TT $7 exchange). This is not far off from it's $16 billion revenue in 2016.

With this LACK of performance, I think it is safe to say that the general population of Trinidad and Tobago is wronged by petrotrin so this is even less intuitive than guessing my gender and race (which are both 50% probabilities).

What really bothers me though is the ones that know they have a "nice wok" and coming here to defend their inflated salaries by insisting that their jobs are the most dangerous in the country, hence, the justification of the inflated salary. And when they are challenged, question if agriculture workers are 1. existent, 2. following environmentally friendly practices...... how ridiculous can one be to be defending petrotrin and raising the issue of environmentally friendly practices?
None of them has come with information that measures petrotrin's performance against other refineries in the world or specific examples of the non-sense that the "dunce" supervisors do.
If I am the only person who sees this as a serious concern on the forum, I am clearly in the wrong place!
Leme stop you there one time miss.
Clearly you have never been in the field one on one with farmers / people involved in agriculture.
Only a handful are involved in environmentally friendly practices and even less use chemicals that are not carcinogenic. Majority use little or no form of protection from the chemicals they come into contact with. No respirator, no gloves, suitable clothing, half the time they barefoot.
You try talking to them about contour ploughing and they will run your ass. Come out from under your rock and take a look at some hillsides that are being farmed.
Go to any agroshop and ask what sells.
Go to the farm and see them use it.
Oh, try talking about slash and burn.
If they aint start the "I doing this so since before yuh born, who is you to come tell me to do other wise with yuh fancy degree from uwi or wherever? Yuh donno nothing" try talking to them about how they cause flooding by leaving land bare, polluting the groundwater with their pesticides, polluting waterways with their persistent pesticides and if you can, convince them to save water when watering plants by watering along the circumference of the leaf spread where the root tips are.
Try it and get back to me....

Postby nervewrecker » September 10th, 2017, 5:01 pm

I went house to house doing surveys to get my degree. The only thing people didnt do was lick me down when I made suggestions.
Two weeks later trinidad express had a pic of men in a fridge rowing in flood water. I have since avoided that area.
They blame kamla, blame highway, I heard men make reference to the moon and heavy rain as well as jesus christ will for sinners.
Jesus gave them cancer probably.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 10th, 2017, 5:28 pm

was listening to aunty kams jus now she tells of the corruption in the company and she called names hence the change in the board etc ... PNM again