shake d livin wake d dead wrote:people would argue that most if not all comments pertaining to afro trinis are racist...they are not....they are just based on observations and proven facts
De Dragon wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:people would argue that most if not all comments pertaining to afro trinis are racist...they are not....they are just based on observations and proven facts
It seems that certain 2NR's feel that being black equals having a monopoly on feeling offended by racial tags.
Ben_spanna wrote:So why is it that People of African background use that "N" word casually amongst each other, that same word is portrayed in so many movies as a casual way for person to talk to person, its used in comedies widespread, it is still used in SO many stand up comedies, yet no one seems to have a problem with it, yet if someone of a different race uses it, its like OMFG, end of the world, look at that racial hater, whats the issue?, [b]is it that Black people have no respect for each other that they think it is ok to use it?[/b]
YOu don't see Indian movies where they refer to each other as Aye" indian" or aye "injun" , and I'm yet to see an Asian film where they refer to each other as "chinee" , I can imagine it now if Bruce Lee were to look at his opponents and say " you dere, all u Chinee, me gonna kick your Asian a55es"![]()
maj. tom wrote:People sometimes use racism as the reasoning behind a lot of the ills of society because they have refused to examine the issues more deeply or with more education. The kind of discussion you want (hope to at UWI) to expect at the tertiary level of education. Race is sometimes as simply identifiable as culture,and if your culture is different from another's in equal strength, it has generally lead to wars in human history. Something like how tribes used go to war.
That kind of biased and illogical thinking has lead to some of the worst atrocities in mankind's history. Slavery, Jewish genocide, Norther American Indian genocides... all these were justified by its perpetrators due to that same racist thinking. So many wars were fought in India's history itself on these same racial grounds.
Ben_spanna wrote:So why is it that People of African background use that "N" word casually amongst each other, that same word is portrayed in so many movies as a casual way for person to talk to person, its used in comedies widespread, it is still used in SO many stand up comedies, yet no one seems to have a problem with it, yet if someone of a different race uses it, its like OMFG, end of the world, look at that racial hater, whats the issue?, is it that Black people have no respect for each other that they think it is ok to use it?
10-01 wrote:so i have a question .... how is it that negro people can call Indians - > Indo Trini , daul back , pundit , rotiman etc but nothing happens ( meaning the Indian person doesn't get offensive ) but when u call a negro -> fella , black etc they get defensive and want to fight and defend themselves ? seen this happen in a few school i attended growing up one instance it ended up being a fight
Redman wrote:Its amazing that the impact of context evades the some when convenient.
The same group will express righteous indignation when called out.
Ben_spanna wrote:So why is it that People of African background use that "N" word casually amongst each other, that same word is portrayed in so many movies as a casual way for person to talk to person, its used in comedies widespread, it is still used in SO many stand up comedies, yet no one seems to have a problem with it, yet if someone of a different race uses it, its like OMFG, end of the world, look at that racial hater, whats the issue?, is it that Black people have no respect for each other that they think it is ok to use it?
YOu don't see Indian movies where they refer to each other as Aye" indian" or aye "injun" , and I'm yet to see an Asian film where they refer to each other as "chinee" , I can imagine it now if Bruce Lee were to look at his opponents and say " you dere, all u Chinee, me gonna kick your Asian a55es"![]()
racedriverpro wrote:From what I gather from some of the sensible points stated here...I think that negros who refer to each other using the n word is a hint of reverse psychology that is meant to take power away from other races in referring to them using the n word.
People in general don't like others to have power over them. A white man for eg calling a black person n... was meant to and can evoke a negative, degrading feeling in that person.
To relinquish that power, black people have said to themselves figuratively, hey! lets turn the tables by referring to each other as n.... in instances of brotherly love, appreciation of good work etc to take back the derogatory power from the white man....Watch us say it...U don't say it..
Picture two best friends, both being black, one says to the other, who now graduated with a degree, 'ma n*****'
His friend is basically saying 'congratulations bro on a job well done when the white man through history said that you were incapable of such achievement, you sure showed them'
mad wrote:Ben_spanna wrote:So why is it that People of African background use that "N" word casually amongst each other, that same word is portrayed in so many movies as a casual way for person to talk to person, its used in comedies widespread, it is still used in SO many stand up comedies, yet no one seems to have a problem with it, yet if someone of a different race uses it, its like OMFG, end of the world, look at that racial hater, whats the issue?, is it that Black people have no respect for each other that they think it is ok to use it?
Doh forget the Black Women used in the rap videos too. They are portraying and degrading black women in their videos but the same women want respect from society and then coming with the "Proud Black Woman" Slogan.
But as one had mentioned it above, you have to blame the white man for this. But to change this their own culture and respect for one another have to change.
But on a next note: Both Indian and Negros are considered blacks especially in Europe. In fact the Indians are more frowned upon by the whites than the Negros. Some places in America and in Europe they call Indians - Sand Ni*****. That is why Trini people should not fight each other (indians & negros) because at the end of the day both races are considered Ni*****.
WarrLordd wrote:Slavery done how long ago? Stupes every time I see a discussion about race I does cringe no wonder every black life matters protestors was a group of racists propaganda in the first place reason why? Their baby daddy's was either shot dead or in jail for criminal activities. And then there's the real black people who's smart and educated enough not to go back down this garbage road of being hurt what happen hundreds of years ago cause it putting nobody nowhere
RedVEVO wrote:WarrLordd wrote:Slavery done how long ago? Stupes every time I see a discussion about race I does cringe no wonder every black life matters protestors was a group of racists propaganda in the first place reason why? Their baby daddy's was either shot dead or in jail for criminal activities. And then there's the real black people who's smart and educated enough not to go back down this garbage road of being hurt what happen hundreds of years ago cause it putting nobody nowhere
It is lack of education .
teems1 wrote:racedriverpro wrote:From what I gather from some of the sensible points stated here...I think that negros who refer to each other using the n word is a hint of reverse psychology that is meant to take power away from other races in referring to them using the n word.
People in general don't like others to have power over them. A white man for eg calling a black person n... was meant to and can evoke a negative, degrading feeling in that person.
To relinquish that power, black people have said to themselves figuratively, hey! lets turn the tables by referring to each other as n.... in instances of brotherly love, appreciation of good work etc to take back the derogatory power from the white man....Watch us say it...U don't say it..
Picture two best friends, both being black, one says to the other, who now graduated with a degree, 'ma n*****'
His friend is basically saying 'congratulations bro on a job well done when the white man through history said that you were incapable of such achievement, you sure showed them'
Be that as it may, you can't use the saying we're all the same colour underneath and then go on to say some words are exclusive to blacks.
What about someone who is half black? Obama could use the word but Mariah Carey can't?
Who is the authority to determine the level of blackness? It is implementing the paper bag test on your own race.
Easier and more sensible to just stop using it altogether.
MrSennin wrote:teems1 wrote:racedriverpro wrote:From what I gather from some of the sensible points stated here...I think that negros who refer to each other using the n word is a hint of reverse psychology that is meant to take power away from other races in referring to them using the n word.
Be that as it may, you can't use the saying we're all the same colour underneath and then go on to say some words are exclusive to blacks.
What about someone who is half black? Obama could use the word but Mariah Carey can't?
Who is the authority to determine the level of blackness? It is implementing the paper bag test on your own race.
Easier and more sensible to just stop using it altogether.
The darker you are the less likely you go get currel with if you use the n word
RedVEVO wrote:WarrLordd wrote:Slavery done how long ago? Stupes every time I see a discussion about race I does cringe no wonder every black life matters protestors was a group of racists propaganda in the first place reason why? Their baby daddy's was either shot dead or in jail for criminal activities. And then there's the real black people who's smart and educated enough not to go back down this garbage road of being hurt what happen hundreds of years ago cause it putting nobody nowhere
It is lack of education .