Unemployment Count Thread

urbandilema

Re: Official Unemployment thread due to recession

Postby urbandilema » March 23rd, 2016, 11:49 am

Sorry dude.i meant to say the youth dese days don't believe in starting small and accepting small jobs as trainees in the country...understand?

BRZ

Postby BRZ » March 23rd, 2016, 1:01 pm

^^ that's the new youth, only want big money for doing as little as possible, wont accept responsibilities like keeping their workspace clean, cannot adhere to NO CELLPHONES in the workplace.
I have seen some come out of school, and they now joining the workforce, blatently refuse to sweep up after a day at work , they claim they don't even sweep at home so they not sweeping nowhere.

Postby BrotherHood » March 23rd, 2016, 1:25 pm

Well after someone spends 3-6 years either full time or part time studying and 'toiling' to get not just a degree, but educational and technical prowess in a particular field coupled with psychological and social advancement, then to come and work for a salary that the average person whom may not have any qualifications works for or even lower, is a form of exploitation in my opinion. What is the purpose of educational advancement in the first place? What is the motivation behind it? The belief is that one makes himself better equipped at acquiring high paying jobs and making him/herself more marketable.
An argument can be raised that they have little to no experience. In that case, what about the people that work during the day and go to university part time on evenings?

I can understand why some 'fresh out of university' folks want better.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 23rd, 2016, 1:59 pm

Employers are partly to blame. They need someone with five CXC passes to do a job but they want someone with a bachelors in business and accounting. The problem is they only want to pay the person as though they have the five CXC passes because at the end of the day, that is what their work is worth.

Don't hire overqualified people and then complain they want to be paid for their expertise just because you have no use for it. Give the other ones a chance.

Same goes for those places that want someone with 10 to 15 years experience but only need/ want to pay for someone with 2 years experience. There seems to be a disagreement in the expectations of all of the parties involved.

Personally, I see some fellas working for minimum wage for contractors. They working 10 hrs a day 6 days a week in hot sun (and yes they doing work and yes they are trinis). End of the day reach their boss taking home like 10 times what they earn because he is the man with connections. You can't blame people for getting upset when they realise that money (which can be seen as a representation of labour owed) is unfairly distributed to those that don't substantially contribute.

I only hope when I running by own show in the future I don't turn into one of those lazy money grabbing bosses. Btw, not all bosses like this eh... just saying I have seen it happen.

Postby zoom rader » March 23rd, 2016, 4:57 pm

Men now beginning to understand what I was telling them YEARS ago, but this is tuner and as usual I cuss for saying dem tings.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 23rd, 2016, 4:58 pm

No. Everybody just hates you because you are openly racist.

Postby K74T » March 23rd, 2016, 5:01 pm

Exactly

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 23rd, 2016, 5:13 pm

BrotherHood wrote:Well after someone spends 3-6 years either full time or part time studying and 'toiling' to get not just a degree, but educational and technical prowess in a particular field coupled with psychological and social advancement, then to come and work for a salary that the average person whom may not have any qualifications works for or even lower, is a form of exploitation in my opinion. What is the purpose of educational advancement in the first place? What is the motivation behind it? The belief is that one makes himself better equipped at acquiring high paying jobs and making him/herself more marketable.
An argument can be raised that they have little to no experience. In that case, what about the people that work during the day and go to university part time on evenings?

IMHO purpose of education iz to get a better paying job.

But if there are no jobs...or too many univ matriculates...you might hadda hold strain...
Last edited by Miktay on March 23rd, 2016, 5:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » March 23rd, 2016, 5:16 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:No. Everybody just hates you because you are openly racist.

What I reverberate is the truth and people can't handle the truth.
Not one of my statement concerning the behaviour of people have been proven wrong. When I highlight the culture of people they see it as racist.

Postby K74T » March 23rd, 2016, 5:20 pm

Postby zoom rader » March 23rd, 2016, 5:34 pm

Nothing wrong dey, he get a PNM award.
After all he does own PNM

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 23rd, 2016, 5:51 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:No. Everybody just hates you because you are openly racist.

Not one of my statement concerning the behaviour of people have been proven wrong. When I highlight the culture of people they see it as racist.

Naw dawg. You reverberate racism.

Postby De Dragon » March 23rd, 2016, 6:08 pm

BrotherHood wrote:Well after someone spends 3-6 years either full time or part time studying and 'toiling' to get not just a degree, but educational and technical prowess in a particular field coupled with psychological and social advancement, then to come and work for a salary that the average person whom may not have any qualifications works for or even lower, is a form of exploitation in my opinion. What is the purpose of educational advancement in the first place? What is the motivation behind it? The belief is that one makes himself better equipped at acquiring high paying jobs and making him/herself more marketable.

Two solutions really, go straight for the high paying job, or keep yuh kant quiet and do what is expected of you in the lower paying one that you did manage to land. Keep in mind that these persons less qualified than you academically may have years of experience and can teach you a few things. The sense of entitlement irritates the fack out of people and those snobs quickly realize that their degree don't mean fack all.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 23rd, 2016, 7:25 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

So that's how racists rationalize their point of view.... hmmm... interesting

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » March 23rd, 2016, 9:27 pm

Two solutions really, go straight for the high paying job, or keep yuh kant quiet and do what is expected of you in the lower paying one that you did manage to land. Keep in mind that these persons less qualified than you academically may have years of experience and can teach you a few things. The sense of entitlement irritates the fack out of people and those snobs quickly realize that their degree don't mean fack all.

EXACTLY !!!! just humble yuhself

I work n go to school( MSC ) I did my deg part time ..part of it was when i wasn't working it was very sad .. then I got a job .. and I proved my worth , I tell my CEO yesterday after he quarrel with me for something that was beyond my control de only reason I ain't leave yuh a$$ and go work for your competition who keep asking me to come work for him is coz I get to go to school .. not money not anything else .... I got a stink eye and was allowed to leave work early :lol: ... << thas my story I earned the right to be rude to my boss after he insult the hell outta me and I does still get in trouble with my company for " my tone of voice towards my fellow employees " I dunno na like ppl need to get over themselves .. As mg man does tell me ppl don't have real problems ...

I find some of these kids need to go work in penny wise n pack soap for a couple months or in a grocery and humble they mommy daddy taking care of me forever self ...

or work in a factory .. sometimes I wish I was still working in de factory my overtime use to mine me for the month and my base salary use to go into my savings !!!

Postby tr1ad » March 23rd, 2016, 10:15 pm

If they have to be a janitor to provide for a family I'm sure they might; other than that it's another day

Postby BrotherHood » March 24th, 2016, 12:17 am

Alyuh miss the end of the post. Let me bring it more into the light.
What about those that work within the same field or a similar field, have the experience and expertise, went to school part time and earned their degree, so that they can apply for better paying jobs and climb the ladder or organizational structure within the establishment or field, they have to just humble themselves too?

Postby zoom rader » March 24th, 2016, 5:44 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

So that's how racists rationalize their point of view.... hmmm... interesting

Since when highlighting cultures of ppl is racist

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 24th, 2016, 5:50 am

BrotherHood wrote:Alyuh miss the end of the post. Let me bring it more into the light.
What about those that work within the same field or a similar field, have the experience and expertise, went to school part time and earned their degree, so that they can apply for better paying jobs and climb the ladder or organizational structure within the establishment or field, they have to just humble themselves too?

My thoughts exactly..

Postby De Dragon » March 24th, 2016, 9:56 pm

urbandilema wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:Alyuh miss the end of the post. Let me bring it more into the light.

My thoughts exactly..

Still don't understand your point. If they have experience and academic qualifications and seek higher paying jobs then I have no problem with that. If they have experience and qualifications but are not progressing in the organization, then they need to determine why that is.
The issue is those who by virtue of a degree want to be the CEO/manager/supervisor from day one, and who don't respect that while someone may not be academically qualified as them, they paid their dues by years of hard work and toil. Not everybody has the resources, or even the desire for a degree, and in some jobs that's just fine. Industry has a saying "degrees don't turn valves"

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 24th, 2016, 10:21 pm

urbandilema wrote:

My thoughts exactly..

Still don't understand your point. If they have experience and academic qualifications and seek higher paying jobs then I have no problem with that. If they have experience and qualifications but are not progressing in the organization, then they need to determine why that is.
The issue is those who by virtue of a degree want to be the CEO/manager/supervisor from day one, and who don't respect that while someone may not be academically qualified as them, they paid their dues by years of hard work and toil. Not everybody has the resources, or even the desire for a degree, and in some jobs that's just fine. Industry has a saying "degrees don't turn valves"

Some ppl just small minded.

They doh understand a basic truth: CEO iz the chief everything job. Yuh hadda know ur chit.

Postby De Dragon » March 25th, 2016, 12:05 am

Miktay wrote:
urbandilema wrote:

My thoughts exactly..

They doh understand a basic truth: CEO iz the chief everything job. Yuh hadda know ur chit.

Well for years our education system taught people to believe that a degree would magically make them CEO's and managers from the time they walked into a job. I remember mangers where I worked would tell people with degrees that they would learn the plant in one year and be a supervisor in two :lol: :lol:
Guys working for years, some with degrees, and moving from position to position getting to be supervisors 8-10 years after, and these ignoramuses telling young people this sheit!

Postby zoom rader » March 25th, 2016, 12:10 am

Miktay wrote:
urbandilema wrote:

My thoughts exactly..

Well for years our education system taught people to believe that a degree would magically make them CEO's and managers from the time they walked into a job. I remember mangers where I worked would tell people with degrees that they would learn the plant in one year and be a supervisor in two :lol: :lol:
Guys working for years, some with degrees, and moving from position to position getting to be supervisors 8-10 years after, and these ignoramuses telling young people this sheit!

Trust me Technicians probably know the plant better than the ppl that designed it

Postby De Dragon » March 25th, 2016, 12:24 am

Miktay wrote:
urbandilema wrote:

My thoughts exactly..

Trust me Technicians probably know the plant better than the ppl that designed it

What perplexed me is that mangers who came through the ranks were also telling people this sheit. Some of them were even telling operators that monkeys could be trained to do operator jobs, or that the could swing by the roundabout and get operators :shock: :?
Mind you this on a highly automated DCS plant eh!

Postby zoom rader » March 25th, 2016, 2:21 am

^^^ Reminds me of my old Fisher-Rosemount days on DCS RS3.
Told me the same thing so I stayed away on a fake sick for two days and they couldn't tell their ass from elbow.
After that they got the idea and never pulled that stunt again with me.

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 25th, 2016, 3:44 am

there is just too many degree holders floating around in trinidad and they are all doing the same fields.
engineering, medical and law.
what trinidad needs and is in dire supply of is skilled tradesmen, plumbers, electricians, builders, carpenters, mechanics and most importantly ROAD WORKERS.
The quality of work from these trades on average is abysmal.
Gate should be a dynamically applied tool,
instead of just creating a deluge of people with the same qualifications (Law,medicine and engineering) it should be actively targeted at fields which are in need for the good of the country as it is the citizens paying for this education.
i for one want better roads and the sheer amount of tax i pay i would like some comfort in knowing that some of it is being used to one day produce some ace road repairmen or tradesmen that i can trust to do a job better than i could myself.

Postby S_2NR » March 25th, 2016, 4:38 am

zoom rader wrote:^^^ Reminds me of my old Fisher-Rosemount days on DCS RS3.
Told me the same thing so I stayed away on a fake sick for two days and they couldn't tell their ass from elbow.

This is absolutely true. 95% of people I know are doctors, lawyers, engineers. You would swear these are the only occupations in Trinidad.

zionwarriorz

Postby zionwarriorz » March 25th, 2016, 6:09 am

Fearnly Procter 3
Bakee Hughes 11
Repsol i cah rem
BHP had leggo some too

Postby De Dragon » March 25th, 2016, 6:40 am

zoom rader wrote:^^^ Reminds me of my old Fisher-Rosemount days on DCS RS3.

Still one of the best DCS systems ever IMHO.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 25th, 2016, 7:43 am

Miktay wrote:
urbandilema wrote:

My thoughts exactly..

What perplexed me is that mangers who came through the ranks were also telling people this sheit. Some of them were even telling operators that monkeys could be trained to do operator jobs, or that the could swing by the roundabout and get operators :shock: :?
Mind you this on a highly automated DCS plant eh!

Monkee cyar run a plant. Otherwise mgtment wulda hire dem.

On the other hand...the future trends appear 2 signal less workers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rVlhMGQgDkY&sns=em