What is Courts interest rate

PariaMan

Re: What is Courts interest rate

Postby PariaMan » August 8th, 2024, 8:53 pm

Just open a credit union account put some cash then take a loan and buy cash. It will save alot

killercow

Postby killercow » August 8th, 2024, 9:49 pm

PariaMan wrote:Just open a credit union account put some cash then take a loan and buy cash. It will save alot
While this is the best advice on the thread, for a certain financial category of trinis, money does only save for boat ride, shoes and gold to present the false 'I have' image.

Either credit union or a reliable trustworthy sou-sou is the best bet.

Postby Chimera » August 9th, 2024, 12:40 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:that qualifies as predatory lending in my book.
their target market can't afford it, and don't have much options elsewhere.
I disagree.

Christmas 2023 I gave out over 70 phones pn courts financing
Atleast 30 of those people never made a single payment for their item and courts has to fight up with bailiff and trying to recover funds

When someone takes a 4 year plan for an item courts doesn't get back their principal investment for the first 2 years.

Postby pugboy » August 9th, 2024, 7:32 am

courts might decide to be selective on what they provide financing for based on product

Chimera wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:that qualifies as predatory lending in my book.
their target market can't afford it, and don't have much options elsewhere.
I disagree.

Christmas 2023 I gave out over 70 phones pn courts financing
Atleast 30 of those people never made a single payment for their item and courts has to fight up with bailiff and trying to recover funds

When someone takes a 4 year plan for an item courts doesn't get back their principal investment for the first 2 years.

Postby Chimera » August 9th, 2024, 7:50 am

They changed recently. Cellphones you can only get up to 2 year plans. Other electronics and items you can get 4 years

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 9th, 2024, 3:48 pm

Since people have to satisfy more or less the same requirements for loan from the credit union or hire purchase I think they are just making uninformed decisions and are honey trapped by the buy now pay later schemes.These things would never be allowed in proper countries.

Postby Chimera » August 9th, 2024, 4:13 pm

If thats the case why wouldn't people go to the bank and get the cash and buy the item if it's the same requirements?

Postby adnj » August 9th, 2024, 4:46 pm

Chimera wrote:If thats the case why wouldn't people go to the bank and get the cash and buy the item if it's the same requirements?

^^ Trick question.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 9th, 2024, 7:43 pm

Chimera wrote:If thats the case why wouldn't people go to the bank and get the cash and buy the item if it's the same requirements?
I can think of three reasons

1. Banks do no like to lend small amounts of money like day 5000 dollars

2. Courts could offer 3 months or some other amount before you make your first payment

3 . the convenience of one rather that two institutions to deal with

That's why credit union works better for these purposes

Postby pugboy » August 9th, 2024, 8:07 pm

the main answer is risk management
courts would have a high debt failure % which they are fine with
banks operate with as little risk as possible

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 10th, 2024, 5:58 am

pugboy wrote:the main answer is risk management
Not following you as a response as to why people doh go to the bank.

As far as I know because of loan fees and paper work involved banks will not really lend say 5000 dollars

Credit Unions how ever will

When I bought things at Courts even with 3 months for cash I still need job letter ect

Postby pugboy » August 10th, 2024, 6:16 am

the banks don’t give loans for things of such risk
the riskiest thing a bank will give a loan for is a car and even that will be insured

if a cars were $5k they still wouldn’t give out a $5k loan for non car use since you can’t insure a phone

PariaMan wrote:
pugboy wrote:the main answer is risk management
Not following you as a response as to why people doh go to the bank.

As far as I know because of loan fees and paper work involved banks will not really lend say 5000 dollars

Credit Unions how ever will

When I bought things at Courts even with 3 months for cash I still need job letter ect

Postby Chimera » August 11th, 2024, 1:36 pm

Banks does give loans for carnival costume and laptop and anything

Screenshot_20240811_133547_Chrome.jpg

Postby pugboy » August 11th, 2024, 1:39 pm

with full collateral coverage ent

Postby 88sins » August 11th, 2024, 2:59 pm

pugboy wrote:with full collateral coverage ent

Not necessarily, but they have some mechanisms in place, so thay if a borrower defaults, the loan is not a total loss.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 11th, 2024, 7:10 pm

I would think all these personal loans would be handled the same: JMMB express finance, term finance, massy finance, make it happen loan etc

Postby pugboy » August 11th, 2024, 7:16 pm

don’t forget island finance, credit chex and your friend whe whe banker

Postby Chimera » August 12th, 2024, 10:02 am

i always thought island finance was a local company or owned by someone in the caribbean

google them and check them out and their parent company