Is the Crime Situation in Trinidad Is Overbearing???

Which party or person has effectively put a dent on the crime situation??

P.N.M.
1%
P.P. or U.N.C.
26%
Ian Alleyne
16%
Inspector Alexander (Former Beyond Tape host)
3%
Jack Warner(Former Minister of National Security)
10%
Edmond Dillon
No votes
Dwayne Gibbs
6%
Citizens of Trinidad and Tobago?
1%
None( As requested)
36%

Total votes: 88

aidan

Re: Crime Situation in Trinidad Is Overbearing...???

Postby aidan » January 24th, 2017, 10:27 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:crime in this country would only get worse. Faris talking ah pack ah fackery wrs to changing motor vehicle laws : oh how the majority of criminal activities are done with the use of a vehicle so time to change the laws....utter BS... before the man concentrate on the laws pertaining to the actual crime he studying that sheit...them just looking for more ways to make money...pnm logic yes

ent, man say how often you see someone on a getaway donkey :lol:

so because the primary mode of transportation is a motor vehicle he must implement changes to the motor vehicle act. #logic :|

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 24th, 2017, 11:00 am

locking up criminals yea sure but where we putting them , d jails done over crowded so we hadda build a new jail or 2 then hire more prison officers etc , no oil $ coming in so doubt that gonna happen

what about d death penalty enforcement ?

why we still following privy council ? ...

Postby Dizzy28 » January 24th, 2017, 11:24 am

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:locking up criminals yea sure but where we putting them , d jails done over crowded so we hadda build a new jail or 2 then hire more prison officers etc , no oil $ coming in so doubt that gonna happen

Pack them in Arouca like Brazilian jails......maybe they will behead each other too!!!!

Miktay

Postby Miktay » January 24th, 2017, 11:40 am

cherrypopper wrote:Image

Runnin things in Trinidad

Ppl really want to ketch Mr. Big(s)?

Forget prison overcrowding...outgunned and outmanned police...joint army/police patrols (stupidness)...air/sea border control...SAUTT...overburdened courts...etc

If u want to really catch Mr. Big go after his banker. You cant keep million$ in illicit profits under a mattress. Those dollars have to be washed somehow.

Follow the money. It always knows.

Postby desifemlove » January 24th, 2017, 11:42 pm

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:locking up criminals yea sure but where we putting them , d jails done over crowded so we hadda build a new jail or 2 then hire more prison officers etc , no oil $ coming in so doubt that gonna happen

cos we need the British to help adjucate cases per stare decisis, and per courts they abandoned long ago..

Postby desifemlove » January 24th, 2017, 11:47 pm

it also is about getting to where we want to be, and how to get there. this is how ANY plan in life is formulated! people used to dis late Manning's 2020 vision (or 2030 vision what Rowley calls it now....) but then it made sense. which successful country don't have a vision? this should include teaching kids in school from small about not only civics, but harsh penalities for crime. and about the importance of standards in public and private life. One thing is that we should split the Ministry o National Security, there is no need to have such a mass ministry. Most smaller countries around the world don't, and bigger ones certainly don't. Let one minister handle the police, armed forces, and immigration. And maybe place the Fire service under Public Utilities. Let rspaner or nervedisorder say i chupid, but societal change and ultimately legal change comes from the bottom up. there are plenty of countries that have lessened crime rates that have changed the entire paradigm, we need to.

I guarantee with these measures, crime would go down. Nobody can even cite WHY crime has gone up, vis a vis long ago!

HSA

Postby HSA » January 25th, 2017, 7:02 am

desifemlove wrote:it also is about getting to where we want to be, and how to get there. this is how ANY plan in life is formulated! people used to dis late Manning's 2020 vision (or 2030 vision what Rowley calls it now....) but then it made sense. which successful country don't have a vision? this should include teaching kids in school from small about not only civics, but harsh penalities for crime. and about the importance of standards in public and private life. One thing is that we should split the Ministry o National Security, there is no need to have such a mass ministry. Most smaller countries around the world don't, and bigger ones certainly don't. Let one minister handle the police, armed forces, and immigration. And maybe place the Fire service under Public Utilities. Let rspaner or nervedisorder say i chupid, but societal change and ultimately legal change comes from the bottom up. there are plenty of countries that have lessened crime rates that have changed the entire paradigm, we need to.

I guarantee with these measures, crime would go down. Nobody can even cite WHY crime has gone up, vis a vis long ago!

doh 4get meee.....i say yuh chupid too

Postby rspann » January 25th, 2017, 9:32 am

Why Desi on me and Nerve so? Is everybody on tuner does say he chupid! He has good points sometimes but the asspergers does affect him most of the time.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » January 25th, 2017, 9:44 am

Give the government a chance .
Can't you see they working on it look at the break through they mast in the last week

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170122 ... -many-guns

TOO MANY GUNS*
Rowley: Illegal firearms fuelling violent society
Published on Jan 22, 2017, 9:43 pm AST
By Juhel Browne
CCN Senior Multimedia Journalist

and

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170122 ... volve-cars

AG: Most crimes involve cars
Published on Jan 22, 2017, 9:20 pm AST
By Sue-Ann Wayow

I patiently waiting for this weeks breakthrough

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » January 25th, 2017, 9:57 pm

What is the actual of murders for the month thus far? One station quoted 35 but another closer to 40.....

Postby De Dragon » January 25th, 2017, 10:01 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:What is the actual of murders for the month thus far? One station quoted 35 but another closer to 40.....

I heard 37 this morning, set to rise as the lawyer's son's body was allegedly found in a river/pond in Woodland.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 25th, 2017, 11:04 pm

Its at least 45 by now people..express and Newsday are on point...guardian checking gone through

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: Crime Situation in Trinidad Is Overbearing...???

Postby bluesclues » January 25th, 2017, 11:16 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:Give the government a chance .
Can't you see they working on it look at the break through they mast in the last week

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170122 ... -many-guns

TOO MANY GUNS*
Rowley: Illegal firearms fuelling violent society
Published on Jan 22, 2017, 9:43 pm AST
By Juhel Browne
CCN Senior Multimedia Journalist

and

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170122 ... volve-cars

AG: Most crimes involve cars
Published on Jan 22, 2017, 9:20 pm AST
By Sue-Ann Wayow

I patiently waiting for this weeks breakthrough

Dear faris.. u dont understand criminal culture... obviously. Criminals do not adhere to restrictions... ie.. they will drive without a license or insurance, they will drive a taxi without a taxi badge.

Postby De Dragon » January 25th, 2017, 11:20 pm

Faris doesn't understand many things except how to deny paternity, and talk all kinda sheit while people becoming extinct here in T&T.

Postby desifemlove » January 26th, 2017, 12:44 am

HSA wrote:
desifemlove wrote:it also is about getting to where we want to be, and how to get there. this is how ANY plan in life is formulated! people used to dis late Manning's 2020 vision (or 2030 vision what Rowley calls it now....) but then it made sense. which successful country don't have a vision? this should include teaching kids in school from small about not only civics, but harsh penalities for crime. and about the importance of standards in public and private life. One thing is that we should split the Ministry o National Security, there is no need to have such a mass ministry. Most smaller countries around the world don't, and bigger ones certainly don't. Let one minister handle the police, armed forces, and immigration. And maybe place the Fire service under Public Utilities. Let rspaner or nervedisorder say i chupid, but societal change and ultimately legal change comes from the bottom up. there are plenty of countries that have lessened crime rates that have changed the entire paradigm, we need to.

yep....cos allyuh three say i post info on sheit to look big...when i supposed to know everything from scratch like allyuh three do!

Postby De Dragon » January 26th, 2017, 5:13 am

desifemlove wrote:
HSA wrote:

yep....cos allyuh three say i post info on sheit to look big...when i supposed to know everything from scratch like allyuh three do!

Why don't you just ever simply contribute to a discussion without all the drama queen behaviour?

Postby desifemlove » January 26th, 2017, 12:52 pm

cos it's what allyuh does say. haha.......hahahaha...hhahahhahaaha!

back to the topic, http://www.americasquarterly.org/node/1500 this could work here too.

Postby rspann » January 26th, 2017, 4:22 pm

Desi, Rspanner have two N's. On a serious note, you cant talk about Trinidad crime and using First world methods to solve it ,when the first world countries themselves have more crime that us ,and they cant do anything to stop it. The only thing could apply would be improving the detection rate and the courts.

Postby desifemlove » January 26th, 2017, 4:41 pm

the usa has reduced crime rates. most european countries have too. is the USA "first world" enough for you? Brazil has too, poorer country than T&T. And Ecuador. http://www.insightcrime.org/news-analys ... urder-rate

Postby rspann » January 26th, 2017, 5:42 pm

Based on the stats we have, our crime rate has dropped a lot too, but the detection is sorely lacking. I now read the link and it talks about murder rate. I am not equating crime to murder. The murders we have is often gang related and nothing can really be done about that and crimes of passion. Crime includes but is not limited to murder. The stats that we have says that serious crimes like burglaries , robbery with aggravation, car theft and some others have dropped.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » January 26th, 2017, 6:55 pm

Well it is good to know that other forms of criminal activity are dropping.

Still though what exactly is the budget for crime prevention spent on? Is it on increased manpower for the police, is in on technology, if so what technology?

Where does the money go????

Isn't the better thing for the crime situation to be legal, justice and prison system reform? Or is that too "pie in the sky" right now?

I agree we need a vision but that vision has to be a shared be all, or at least the majority, for it to take any hold on the general population, not to mention it has to be practical enough that the citizens can see and feel the changes and effects of it on their lives. The vision has to be both inspirational/aspiration and practical.

Not to mention we are at best a "fractured but whole" society so any vision has to be able to reconcile these fractures and reach a common consensus not an easy task.

urabus

Postby urabus » January 26th, 2017, 6:59 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:What is the actual of murders for the month thus far? One station quoted 35 but another closer to 40.....

I heard 37 this morning, set to rise as the lawyer's son's body was allegedly found in a river/pond in Woodland.

According to Ian Alleyne as of tonight's its 45, 5 solved

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » January 26th, 2017, 7:04 pm

Well at 45 that's 1.45 murders a day, might well reach 2.00 this year....hhhmmmmmm

Postby Rovin » January 28th, 2017, 11:58 am

very bloody day from yesterday & into today , take a look at d news making d rounds , this place like it going thru a serious blight

ppl bawlin ohhgodd poo nm eh doing 1 ass bout crime & call election now but at d same time saying they eh want back kamla , so umm who left to vote for now ? , we all know trinis eh gonna stop voting for d 2 old parties & not voting for no new party so i guess is d usual complain going about our business as usual & doing nothing .... :|

Average

Postby Average » January 28th, 2017, 1:04 pm

This whole thing calling for a coup.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » January 28th, 2017, 1:36 pm

50.............Headless / Handless body found in Arouca plus doubles man shot dead in Couva this morning

Premchand1976

Re: RE: Re: Crime Situation in Trinidad Is Overbearing...???

Postby Premchand1976 » January 28th, 2017, 2:37 pm

Average wrote:This whole thing calling for a coup.

Agreed.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 28th, 2017, 2:55 pm

Average wrote:This whole thing calling for a coup.

Like throwing gas on fire in the hope that it'd out.

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 28th, 2017, 8:44 pm

really fed up........ you have to prepare to be more violent than your attacker in a heartbeat

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 29th, 2017, 6:40 am

We reach bout 53 after yesterday. At this rate we crossing 500 this year for sure