50%
no
50%

Total votes: 34

EmilioA

Re: Local Govt Election 2016 Thread

Postby EmilioA » November 29th, 2016, 10:19 am

The thing that UNC should be wary off is that the results show the status quo holds. There is no groundswell against the PNM. With 23% turnout people just dropping out of voting.

In 2013 the results was out of 136 seats , 84 for the PNM , 49 for the UNC/COP partnership and 3 for the ILP.

This rounds out of 137 seats, its 83 for the PNM, and 54 for the UNC. The UNC just picked up the ILP seats, and maybe 2 PNM seats.

This is more of a loss for the UNC than you would think because if you added the Partnership and ILP VOTES from 2013, then the UNC should have gotten 70 seats or so time. The ILP vote in marginal areas did not return to the UNC, it simply stayed home. and separately both the PNM and UNC vote was severely reduced.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 29th, 2016, 10:31 am

Les Bain wrote:Oh well, I sure the non voters enjoyed their little office runaway limes, and were VERY invested in the U.S. General election.

Boss our lime was best
stew pork, curry chicken, curry duck provision , some roti (buy)
Local election is a joke

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » November 29th, 2016, 10:35 am

The governance in this country is a waste of time... and this demoralization of the population works in their favour... we still hadda pay taxes and what ever charges thrown our way.. still hadda drive on sheit roads..and they still theefin level...

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » November 29th, 2016, 10:46 am

Ok .... I realized that most unc people don't care to vote. .( talking about my unc friends)

Whereas a pnm will wake up from a coma to stain that finger. .

If there was a 100 % voter turn out in any election what would really be the political result today.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » November 29th, 2016, 11:15 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:No
Waz d point of voting in this country????

Not like if we does get any form of change/progress from either side...this country is a sheitland

^ Exactly what this man said. Voting is useless in this shitland, we have already determined that putting in the UNC does absolutely nothing for this country so might aswell leave the PNM there.

If this is a ****land, why are we still here?
I voted because this is the system I have to register to register my approval or disapproval.
I have never joined a party before. It is time I come out of the shadows and stand for something

While I am on my feet as it were, this notion that Local Government Reform will give more power to the people will not end well for voters/non-voters/those who cannot vote and the poulation at large. Proportional Representation is a farce because it gives the reigning political parties more persons to sit on a Council to give their families wuk and more wuk. Just look at their waist line and for some it is about the free food, manipulating the contracted works for their narrow sielf interest.

Look who got the wuk to handle the tenders for Garbage collection in Local Government.
It is the same clowns who cannot buy medicine for our C-DAP Programme.
And yes Kamala is worried about the plywood man, is it going to be no wuk for the Blue Truck man?

What I want to hear is ways we can go about to change things:
1. Do searches on lands that are overgrown, clean and Bill deliquent owners.
2. Put your garbage in bags and lock up the dogs so they do not burst the bags. It is not the contractor's fault that some areas are like labasse.
3. CMOH to serve necessary clean up order or else the citizen will take them to court to have them function.
4. Buildings contrary to Building Bye Laws be demolished.
5. The Commissioner of State lands start dealing with Squatting on State Lands and stop pretending it is the Regional Corporation's fault.
6. .................. Yes the list long. Thanks for paying attention this long .............

Postby Dizzy28 » November 29th, 2016, 11:27 am

dude2014 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:No
Waz d point of voting in this country????

Not like if we does get any form of change/progress from either side...this country is a sheitland

^ Exactly what this man said. Voting is useless in this shitland, we have already determined that putting in the UNC does absolutely nothing for this country so might aswell leave the PNM there.

If this is a ****land, why are we still here?
I voted because this is the system I have to register to register my approval or disapproval.
I have never joined a party before. It is time I come out of the shadows and stand for something

While I am on my feet as it were, this notion that Local Government Reform will give more power to the people will not end well for voters/non-voters/those who cannot vote and the poulation at large. Proportional Representation is a farce because it gives the reigning political parties more persons to sit on a Council to give their families wuk and more wuk. Just look at their waist line and for some it is about the free food, manipulating the contracted works for their narrow sielf interest.

Look who got the wuk to handle the tenders for Garbage collection in Local Government.
It is the same clowns who cannot buy medicine for our C-DAP Programme.
And yes Kamala is worried about the plywood man, is it going to be no wuk for the Blue Truck man?

What I want to hear is ways we can go about to change things:
1. Do searches on lands that are overgrown, clean and Bill deliquent owners.
2. Put your garbage in bags and lock up the dogs so they do not burst the bags. It is not the contractor's fault that some areas are like labasse.
3. CMOH to serve necessary clean up order or else the citizen will take them to court to have them function.
4. Buildings contrary to Building Bye Laws be demolished. Basically most of Trinidad and Tobago
5. The Commissioner of State lands start dealing with Squatting on State Lands and stop pretending it is the Regional Corporation's fault.
6. .................. Yes the list long. Thanks for paying attention this long .............

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » November 29th, 2016, 11:38 am

nos_specialist wrote:The governance in this country is a waste of time... and this demoralization of the population works in their favour... we still hadda pay taxes and what ever charges thrown our way.. still hadda drive on sheit roads..and they still theefin level...

The last time I checked GOVERNANCE is different to GOVERNMENT. Everyone in the country is responsible for Governance. I carry out myself with a sense of good governance, by observing the laws, etc. Persons in other countries we seem to like, pay their taxes, so why cant we? Governance and waste of time in the same sentence? Morgan Job Did write a book titled 'THINK AGAIN'. Let us take out the taxes we would normally pay for the year and run the country on oil revenues. See where we will be?

Somebody has to pay for the road repairs we are complaining about and the money comes from taxes, whether they be locally or oil revenue.

The simple fact is there are a great many persons who like freeness.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » November 29th, 2016, 11:43 am

TriP wrote:final tally

Looking at the map, Unc win if only by land mass. Growley must be getting wuk belly with all da curry

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 29th, 2016, 12:13 pm

I hope non voters realize that they will be coloured by the majority.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 29th, 2016, 12:28 pm

racedriverpro wrote:I hope non voters realize that they will be coloured by the majority.

Huh ??? coloured ???

Also non voters are the majority.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 29th, 2016, 12:32 pm

dude2014 wrote:

Looking at the map, Unc win if only by land mass. Growley must be getting wuk belly with all da curry
but land mass don't vote. The higher populated areas are PNM.

Sundar

Re: RE: Re: Local Govt Election 2016 Thread

Postby Sundar » November 29th, 2016, 12:53 pm

dude2014 wrote:

but land mass don't vote. The higher populated areas are PNM.

Mostly die hards went to the polls. Younger generation didn't care to go.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » November 29th, 2016, 2:00 pm

And yes the younger gen did not care to vote, they are the new geh meh ah hand out crew.
Why take charge of your future when your parents are killing themselves to provide for you?
How many of them can even use a broom, coceyea or otherwise?

PNM focused on de youths, the vote should advise all political parties that their are older people who working hard and the Great VAT betrayal, no GATE over 50 years, we want the PNM in opposition.

The UNC is more serious about Local Government Reform

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » November 29th, 2016, 2:01 pm

Yeah Dizzy you understand the Governance issue

Postby RBphoto » November 29th, 2016, 2:32 pm

People don't understand the importance of local government elections. I voted for a guy who I can call when the street light is broken, to get truck-borne water supply when there is a shortage and really helps with the development of the community infrastructure and activities for the youth. He just happened to be on a UNC ticket and I believed that he earned a half hour out of my life to be able to continue his good work. No amount of PNM music truck or pre-recorded Kamla messages affected my choice.

boxy

Postby boxy » November 29th, 2016, 3:13 pm

And brother if everyone can think k like you this country would be great voting by performance and not along party lines. Also u owe your boss 1/1/2hours that half hour u take give it back to the company

Postby RBphoto » November 29th, 2016, 3:19 pm

boxy wrote:And brother if everyone can think k like you this country would be great voting by performance and not along party lines. Also u owe your boss 1/1/2hours that half hour u take give it back to the company

Nah.. the rest was in traveling time and dolsing up to go to the poling station. Brows haffi be on fleek.

boxy

Postby boxy » November 29th, 2016, 3:50 pm

Noted.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 29th, 2016, 3:59 pm

At this point these politicians are going to have to buy my vote, I can't be bothered to get up from my chair to go and do something as useless as voting for no reason.

I better off planting ah Ochro tree or something rather than voting for these clowns.

In any event its as I suspected, my neighbor is wearing his darkers, coconut oil in his hair in a side part, his UNC jersey is on his back while he is on his old coco benz bike riding down the road. That can only mean one thing, is Rum drinking rampage by the rum shop, atleast he didn't try to kill himself this time he took it a lot better than I expected

Postby eliteauto » November 29th, 2016, 4:09 pm

So Sangre Grande results were 6 PNM and 6 UNC, the PNM claimed the Corporation on the basis of the popular vote i.e. "proportional representation" (a UNC initiative) and incumbency. The Opposition Leader when called said the matter is in the hands of the UNC's attorneys (again!) and hang up the phone, she hasn't taken any more calls

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 29th, 2016, 4:16 pm

But she was the same one who said Popular Vote means everything, she preach that for years that the constitution needs to change because the PNM will never get the popular vote...

This woman has a lot in common with Hillary Clinton Kamla 1.0 and Kamla 2.0

Postby sMASH » November 29th, 2016, 4:21 pm

Only the diehards on both sides came out. What is significant, is that they are less in numbers than in times passed. When before u had the swing from either side to the other side, that pendulum stopped yesterday.

There is room for another group of personas willing to hold the reigns.

But they can't be doing the same rum/roti, pave road, music truck, motorcade rally thing, as it has proven to be be pandering to a dwindling portion of voters.

That new bunch of candidates will have to show a record of performance, to convince the majority of voters to hand them the reigns.

The citizens yesterday, have made the point, politics has to change. The stalwarts have the positions and the power, but by default, they are not welcomed.

Postby eliteauto » November 29th, 2016, 5:06 pm

how does one show a record of performance before being elected in? Lots of people keep saying there is room for a third party but no third party has made a dent in politics here, they either become absorbed by the UNC or as in the case of the PP align with the UNC, the change ppl seek is within the main parties, the members are too weak, blind, loyal or content to effect the change

Postby rspann » November 29th, 2016, 5:21 pm

Kamala still win though!

Postby MaxPower » November 29th, 2016, 5:34 pm

Kamala grabbed my penis..

Postby sMASH » November 29th, 2016, 7:21 pm

With out holding Ministerial office, they would have to be able to demonstrate their capabilities at other positions. Be it corporations, businesses, movements, not for profit organisations.
They will have to build up their resume` so to speak.

The system isn't geared towards performance , but personality. And that must be changed. Even if it changes, it would take some time to see the fruits of it.

It comes like u now start a new league with teams of players. Without having performed in the league there is no way to rank. So, is either have preliminary rounds to gauge to establish a performance rankings. This analogy when applied to government positions, is give them a chance and see what they would do. Which will be too lengthy to be practical.
Another scenario is to consider how they performed in other games and use those examples to tout suitability for the position. In a league, that is stupid, but for government, it would be ur resume of managerial skills and accomplishments in other ventures throughout ur life.

The bad thing is, plenty people can do the work but don't want the burden of being s counselor or minister.
And then the greedy person who want the wuk to suit their own personal agenda will be the only options we have.

So, if u want change, u guys who had run businesses successfully, and managed projects well, will have to take one for the team and vie for councillor and ministers.
Its there for the picking if u so choose...

Postby Redman » November 29th, 2016, 8:24 pm

RBphoto wrote:People don't understand the importance of local government elections. I voted for a guy who I can call when the street light is broken, to get truck-borne water supply when there is a shortage and really helps with the development of the community infrastructure and activities for the youth. He just happened to be on a UNC ticket and I believed that he earned a half hour out of my life to be able to continue his good work. No amount of PNM music truck or pre-recorded Kamla messages affected my choice.

Well.we.had the opposite experience...and the unc called...having gotten our home number and names from a call we made to the regional county council for them to come and spray during the Zika issue.

They never came.....but used the number for political purposes.
Not to do their basic jobs.

A low voter turn out is due to LAZY VOTERS.

We should be adding other issues to the ballot paper in order to get public feedback on issues.

We already go through the cost of local and gen election s....if we add 5 to each ballot we will have 5x the feedback in order to be able to base public policy ......on public opinion...God forbid.

Postby sMASH » November 29th, 2016, 8:27 pm

^agreed on having a down ballot.

Postby Redman » November 29th, 2016, 8:27 pm

rspann wrote:Kamala still win though!

Well is Trinidad...nobody loses elections anymore.

They all win.

Like certificate of participation for the slower kids.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 29th, 2016, 8:32 pm

hmm my neighbor just told me UNC won.

Granted he was drunk but he he can tolerate a lot of rum. He was on a level head when he said this, his reasons are that people didn't turn out to vote and UNC almost beat the PNM which he says he will consider a win.