No more credit card payment at gas stations.... Cash only!

Re: No more credit card payment at gas stations.... Cash only!

Postby SR » October 25th, 2016, 9:47 pm

I think this is a bad move by these gas station owners. Todays generation uses plastic and many will simply go to stations that accept it....more loss of buisness for those who chose to refuse plastic

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 25th, 2016, 9:50 pm

^ it was stated in an earlier news report that the convenience stores are the real money makers in a gas station, not the sale of fuel.

Postby pugboy » October 25th, 2016, 9:54 pm

For sure peakes will continue to accept cc in their store
The amount of alcohol they sell to the boat ride crowd is insane
So much so Naughty grape open a shop nearby

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 25th, 2016, 9:55 pm

Anytime the bank raise their price of anything nobody ever says anything. Then they publish their massive billion dollar profit at the end of the year to show how good their "management" is, nobody says anything and we continue to support it.

Nothing the gas stations can do, this is 3rd world Banana Republic

Postby Redman » October 25th, 2016, 10:01 pm

From the PDA release...they make it out to be concern for their employees...which is a joke...

Most of the NP c stores are company owned any way....so they can't stop without authorization....NP will benefit from the increased volumes.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 25th, 2016, 11:02 pm

Backward forever.....forward never....

Postby Ted_v2 » October 25th, 2016, 11:18 pm

Trinidad have gas cards?

i eh mind paying a 500$ and swipe at the pumps. brisk brisk movements. or scan via barcode.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 26th, 2016, 1:42 am

What employees are they trying to save....a load of b.s.....we all fill our own gas.....the only employee may be the cashier and a lone pump man who really don't help do nothing......All the gas station owners are already millionaires.....and look at them now ...trying to cut back on cost to further increase profits....saying it's for employees sake...backwards for sure yes...

Let the pump attendant take my cash and full up for me like long time days and I'd be ok with it... but not having to go line up by a cashier....nah....

I wonder if this is just np....or unipet as well. So they actually letting potential bandits know that they gonna have loads of cash on site....nice.
So they will also have to increase security now....leading to a greater rise in cost.....hmmm....

Postby desifemlove » October 26th, 2016, 2:00 am

what shits run NP?

so this increases chance of robbery, both fro THEIR workers and customers.....lol.

And we KNOW security firms are corrupt! they have to take cash to deposit in their vans to the bank, and what then?

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: No more credit card payment at gas stations.... Cash only!

Postby bluesclues » October 26th, 2016, 5:07 am

eliteauto wrote:
eliteauto wrote:As inconvenient as this is well done by the gas stations
how now?

At some point business owners have to stop being taken advantaged of be it by the State or the Banking Cartel or both, sometimes to get action one has to make your powerful adversary your ally. For years gas station owners have been clamouring for an increase on the percentage of gas sales they retain, this has been ignored for over a decade whilst the cost of doing business has increased by the hundreds of percentage points, ok so earlier this year they started saying that smaller stations would be closing and that failed to prompt any response from the State. So now, hit the Banking Cartel, who I'm sure has the ear of the Min of Finance, I look forward to more such actions by others who are discovering their economic power

+1000 x1000

Now is the banks under pressure because of their high rates. You see this is how its done. When government laughing at you like 'what can you do if we dont listen'. U show them what u can do.

Just wait for the banks to finish calculating how much money they gonna lose from this direction and that is at least half finance sector voting against the pnm nov 28th. Also they have no way to get out of this without reducing fees r unless impsbert, having been forced to, renegs with the stations. Like he should have but didnt find it important enough.

Re: RE: Re: No more credit card payment at gas stations.... Cash only!

Postby RASC » October 26th, 2016, 5:18 am

eliteauto wrote:
eliteauto wrote:As inconvenient as this is well done by the gas stations
how now?

At some point business owners have to stop being taken advantaged of be it by the State or the Banking Cartel or both, sometimes to get action one has to make your powerful adversary your ally. For years gas station owners have been clamouring for an increase on the percentage of gas sales they retain, this has been ignored for over a decade whilst the cost of doing business has increased by the hundreds of percentage points, ok so earlier this year they started saying that smaller stations would be closing and that failed to prompt any response from the State. So now, hit the Banking Cartel, who I'm sure has the ear of the Min of Finance, I look forward to more such actions by others who are discovering their economic power

Well said.
I think it's a smart move! The banks need to feel it and the public needs to be made aware
As a result of the oligarchy, not even e-commerce stands a chance in this backward nation! Maybe the gas station owners can get some traction?!?

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » October 26th, 2016, 6:04 am

Those gas stations owners scared that they might have to downgrade to prados

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » October 26th, 2016, 6:04 am

Set this up at the pumps and not cashers then yes
This is a viable option

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » October 26th, 2016, 6:06 am

I will try this out

Postby pete » October 26th, 2016, 6:10 am

You have to pay more for gas if you use that.

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » October 26th, 2016, 6:19 am

Well charges at atm $5 to withdraw I think, cause I can never get my own bank atm sometimes or 3% on Ccard
Yes it's a bit more for
6%-$100
4%-$300
3.6%-$500 card but I was now reading below n this sucks

Also u know all them Atm is empty at Sunday morning, I had this experience many times.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » October 26th, 2016, 6:36 am

So you still have to go to the cashier with the card? Wtf?

castortroy

Postby castortroy » October 26th, 2016, 6:54 am

Pablo660 wrote:Well charges at atm $5 to withdraw I think, cause I can never get my own bank atm sometimes or 3% on Ccard
Yes it's a bit more for
6%-$100
4%-$300
3.6%-$500 card but I was now reading below n this sucks

Also u know all them Atm is empty at Sunday morning, I had this experience many times.

Preach bro, so the average consumer will now be forced to use ATM's to obtain cash to pay for fuel AND pay these ridiculous services charges!!

Either way it goes.. The banking cartel wins. The most legal form of robbery (second to car insurance)

Postby *KRONIK* » October 26th, 2016, 7:25 am

So basically from what i reading here....nobody does have a lil gas money in their wallet?
Allyuh cyah keep a lil change for gas handy?
Things so bad allyuh need to use a CC to pay for gas?

Fact is...all over trinidad CC customers getting some kinda shaft.
Was hearing on the radio sometime last week that some chinese groceries and restaurants are illegally applying a service charge to credit card customers.
Also, a lot of small businesses are refusing to accept CC as payment.

786 Accounting

Postby 786 Accounting » October 26th, 2016, 7:33 am

The Best and easiest way to cook accounts is too implement a cash only system , I am not saying this is the fact here eh lol.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2016, 7:41 am

pugboy wrote:For sure peakes will continue to accept cc in their store
The amount of alcohol they sell to the boat ride crowd is insane
So much so Naughty grape open a shop nearby

I'm pretty sure this issue is for fuel only and not the convenience stores

Kronik

Postby Kronik » October 26th, 2016, 7:54 am

Unipet in Couva has a separate cashier for gas and one for the convenience store, a time I gone and they taking cash only for gas, but was taking linx for the store

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » October 26th, 2016, 8:35 am

Cash encourages laundering of money also, my wife brought that up to me
Soooooooo
Well as per a little gas money in wallet , I full up on empty so I don't carry cash cause Atm always empty lol

On another note, here's a trick I learned lol, when atm only has 20s lol and you have to withdraw large amount maximum of$520 works at a time lol nothing higher
So when pesky atm has dispense error for bills lol try it.

Postby Redman » October 26th, 2016, 8:45 am

Cash doesnt encourage laundering....a lack of enforcement does.

Gas stations need a wider margin.
and
the banks need to make an accommodation...

The OWNERS you talk about have been doing this for years and have busted their tails to succeed.

unless youre a gypsy and selling methanol...

The industry needs to be updated,modified and rationalized.

Postby teems1 » October 26th, 2016, 8:53 am

While it is true that gas stations only make cents per liter of fuel sold, a large number of liters are sold per day.

Fuel is still subsidized by the taxpayer so if the gas station owners are willing to inconvenience the public, we should really see how much the cc charge is hurting the bottom line.

It's easier to feel sorry for a business owner who is barely scraping by as opposed to one who is making millions a year.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 26th, 2016, 8:54 am

As much as I am inconvenienced I am with the gas stations on this. However I fear the loss of sales increased cash Management costs etc may come back to bite them.

Postby tr1ad » October 26th, 2016, 8:58 am

*KRONIK* wrote:So basically from what i reading here....nobody does have a lil gas money in their wallet?
Allyuh cyah keep a lil change for gas handy?
Things so bad allyuh need to use a CC to pay for gas?

this day and age on a regular day you have 300 for gas 120/diesel in your wallet?

i choose not to walk with cash for safety reasons.... with technology aka linx and machines why did i ever need to walk with cash?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 26th, 2016, 9:07 am

I wonder if any gas stations oppose the decision of the association?
If a station puts up a "We accept Credit Cards" sign, they will rake in more customers than others.
It's an easy way to have a competitive advantage over other stations.

Postby Redman » October 26th, 2016, 9:18 am

teems1 wrote:While it is true that gas stations only make cents per liter of fuel sold, a large number of liters are sold per day.

Fuel is still subsidized by the taxpayer so if the gas station owners are willing to inconvenience the public, we should really see how much the cc charge is hurting the bottom line.

It's easier to feel sorry for a business owner who is barely scraping by as opposed to one who is making millions a year.

With the margins and expenses as they are- many of them are barely scraping by.

Volume does not necessarily equate to profit or the dot com bubble would have ended differently and Duane would be driving a(nother?) Veryon.

4% margin with transaction fees AND top line REVENUE (not Profit based) taxes mean that that 4 % is cut in half.

Most of the stations are operated by private people but owned by NP.
NP charges franchise fees,rent, and whatever else.
So it isnt about what the perception of the owners(a minority in the business) is.

The question is whether we should expect ANYBODY to stay in biz and lose money.
would you?

Cash management isnt relevant-they would have systems in place to handle it and as such would just have to scale up slightly.

Postby Chimera » October 26th, 2016, 9:24 am

silent_riot wrote:I wonder if any gas stations oppose the decision of the association?
If a station puts up a "We accept Credit Cards" sign, they will rake in more customers than others.
It's an easy way to have a competitive advantage over other stations.

no they wont

the lines will be that much longer and annoying

you know how annoying it is to have to wait behind someone or a few people who have to pay with CC or Linx at the cashier
seeing as many times the card machine at the pump isnt working